Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Old Key West Resort Old Key West Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 16 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/11/04 - 1/16/04
Reviewer: Family5LovesDisney New Jersey     January 21, 2004
We rented points from a DVC member and stayed in a one bedroom villa. We had a no-smoking unit with a water view. We paid $210 a night.
We were treated like royalty at check-in. Each of my three children received a balloon and that was a big hit.
The villa was wonderful! Everything had just been refurbished so we had fresh paint and all new appliances. The crown molding, tile work, bathrooms, and other features really made this a lovely place to stay.
We found this resort to be very quiet at night. That was a nice bonus. All of us were able to enjoy a good night's sleep before heading off the parks each day.
We also enjoyed the boat service provided by Old Key West to Downtown Disney. The boat had plush leather seats and it was a relaxing and scenic ride.
It never took us more then 8 minutes to reach the parking lot of any of the theme parks. Epcot and MGM were the closet to the resort.
I would highly recommend this resort!
 
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7/31/02-8/9/02
Reviewer: vbdad55 Chicagoland     November 11, 2002
The oldest (and best) of the DVC's, the bonuses to this resort are many;1/ the room sizes are second to none on the grounds, if you are looking for space to relax and a home away from home feeling this is it, the 2 bedroom will easily accomodate a combo of 6-8 of adults and kids , all rooms have a balcony or patio for early morning breakfast or late night cocktails 2/ as much as I love WDW this is the one place where you can 'get away' from the hustle and bustle of the parks and downtown Disney - book a building in the middle of the resort and except for being able to see the fireworks from downtown ( a plus) you might be anywhere in Florida and it is quiet at night 3/ the general store and reception center personnel here are second to none -- when they say Welcome Home they reallymean it-- after over 15 visits they are still outstanding 4/ Olivia's -- one of the hidden gem restaurants at WDW -- great food, relaxed atmosphere, you can dress up or come casual -- you make the experience what you want-- Conch Soup- A++++ 5/ Extras - rent a boat from Hanks and tour the canals, play tennis, basketball, as well as many events to sign up for geared to the little ones.
The signature Lighthouse is beautiful and if you want a little peace and quiet in the middle of your WDW fun, book a room around buildings 42-43-44-- a very short walk to Turtle Crawl pool ( slightly smaller than main pool, but less crowded) with it's own snack stand -- amidst the Palms--, and these building back to the golf course-- so at night it only adds to the quiet and view---- take me back now !!!
 
15 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 1999
Reviewer: poweraap Millburn, New Jersey     August 09, 2002
The accomodations at this resort were great. While there, we stayed in both a studio and a one-bedroom. Both were very large and had bug bathrooms and lots of place to put your clothes. The grounds were gorgeous. The deck off of the one-bedroom was quite large - it fit a table and chairs. It was really nice to sit out there in the evening. We dined at Olivia's while staying there which was also quite pleasant. The decor was lovely. The only thing that keeps Old Key West from receiving 5 planets is how long it took the busses to arrive at resort. We waited for a long time every time. It was quite inconvenient. If I ever stay there again, I will be sure to rent a car to transport myself.
 
13 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   jan. 30 2001
Reviewer: LPnerd Cape Coral, Fl.     July 14, 2002
we have stayed here many times in all types of rooms.The 1 or 2 bedrooms are the best at WDW. Unfortunately there r some downfalls. The rooms are CLEAN and COMFY!!! TV VCR, full kitchen withh all cooking implments . wirlpool bath and sep. shower. Washer and dryer. The food at Olivias is good but overpriced. Great stuff for the kids to sign up for. Try not to miss Very merry unbirthday party. Downfalls.Busses are just awful!!! For what you pay 45min to 1 hr. is not acceptable. and the front desk people can't compare to Boardwalk, CBH,or WL.Really bad. Horror story story bad. If you prefere to drive to parks, and no enough that you won't have to deal with FD staff. This is a good stay. Pool is for younger and older folks. no water slide and toddler theme. Gen store folks Very nice. Boat to DTD is great.Needs to be open later. Last boat at 10 PM and like I said, avoid the bus if you can. It's faster to walk.
 
9 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/15/02-4/21/02
Reviewer: Anonymous Connecticut     June 11, 2002
Stayed in a Studio in Building 64. Sorry don't remember the room #. Short walk to the Quiet pool as well as to the main pool and Turtle Crawl. Only used the Trumbo Ferry to DTD for transportation, otherwise used own car. Ferry was a very nice ride. Runs every 20 min. As always a very relaxing stay.
 
3 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Several times from 1994 through 2001.
Reviewer: Anonymous Saginaw, Michigan     March 11, 2002
Rate / Night (for your stay): Used DVC Points
Date(s) of Stay: October 26-November 2, 2000
Accommodation Used: Two Bedroom Vacation Home / Condo
Accommodations Review: Old Key West's two bedroom "vacation home" is a fantastic place to stay if you're traveling with friends or family. The master bedroom has a king-sized bed, a Jacuzzi, two sinks, a shower, and toilet -- plus a TV. The second room has two queen beds, a full bathroom, a TV, and a table and chairs. The living room/dining room/kitchen, though, is what sets this apart from the "typical" hotel room or suite. The kitchen is a full one, with all appliances (including a microwave), dishes, and so on. The refrigerator has an ice maker. The dining room area has a good sized table, and the living room has a queen sleeper sofa and a love seat along with a larger TV (35", I think).
Why Did you Select This Resort for your Stay? We're DVC members, and OKWR is our home resort.
Room # and Location Description: 4813, for this stay. It's located in the far end of the resort, right across from the Southpoint bus stop.
Room Location Pros & Cons: Building 48 seems to be a less busy building than some. It's not a bad location, though. The bus stop, as I said, is right there. The Southpoint pool is just a couple buildings away. The main drawback, is how far the building is from Hospitality House and Turtle Krawl, the main resort area. If you like using those facilities (the sauna, main pool, exercise room, etc.) you'll want to be closer than building 48.
Check-In / Check-Out Comments: Check in was great! The room wasn't ready, but they did give me our room keys and the phone number for the front desk. Later in the day, we returned to the resort and called to find out what room number we had, and we were able to go right there. Check out was pretty painless, too, although I did have them take off some local phone calls that hadn't gone through (so I didn't think it fair for them to charge me for them).
WDW Transportation Comments: We didn't use the water taxi on this trip. The bus service was uniformly good this time around. I have no complaints.
Restaurant / Lounge Review: We didn't use any of the resort food or beverage services this trip.
Pool Description / Comments: We used the Southpoint quiet pool a few times. It has a great view of Trumbo Canal. The OKWR pools are always kept clean, and the hot tubs are great (and big). The crowds, even at midday, are pretty small during the Fall, when we typically travel, too.
What Suggestions Would you Give Anyone that is Considering This Resort? You can't beat the two-bedroom if you're traveling with others. Compared to the palatial accommodations we enjoyed at Westgate Lakes on this trip (before we moved over to OKWR), the OKWR rooms are more homey and comfortable. Being onsite is a huge benefit, too, because of the WDW transportation.
Other Comments: Not Reported
 
33 out of 38 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page