Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Old Key West Resort!
 
Want to tell someone about Old Key West Resort? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Old Key West Resort Old Key West Resort
Description:
1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   October 19-23, 2009
Reviewer: BrandonHRich (brandonhrich@gmail.com) Nashville, Tennessee     December 07, 2009
We are Disney Vacation Club members who had our first experience with the Old Key West Resort this Fall. We have stayed at Saratoga Springs, Villas at Wilderness Lodge, Boardwalk Villas, Animal Kingdom Villas and some off-property hotels in Orlando prior to our OKW experience. First I will speak to the positive aspects of the stay. I thought the theming of the resort was very well done, with many touches that reminded me of its namesake. Our 2-bedroom villa was clean (except for some mold in the guest shower) and it had a very nice view of a waterway and a golf course. Also, I love the close proximity of parking at OKW which is similar to Saratoga Springs. The overall experience and theming at OKW is pleasant, but not awe-inspiring like some of the other Disney resorts. Now to my dislikes. We took friends with us and, to save DVC points, spent our first night in a studio then transferred to a 2-bedroom villa. Our studio was on the ground floor and was perfectly fine. Our 2-bedroom unit was on the third floor. Much to my shock and horror, we discovered that there are no elevators at Old Key West Resort!!! I don't even know how this is legal. Not only did we have to lug our baggage up and down thoses steps upon arrival and departure, but at the end of a long day in the parks I was in no mood to climb to get to my villa. I cannot imagine why nobody with DVC bothered to tell me about the lack of elevators. I was not told this when we bought our DVC points nor when we booked this trip. I was horrified, especially since we had brought friends with us to share in our awesome DVC resort experience. Aditionally, the decor and furnishings in the villas are in desperate need of updating. The beds in both the studio and the 2-bedroom were very hard and uncomfortable. Not firm. Hard, like you would expect from a very cheap, poor quality mattress.
If you like the Key West, Florida theming and if you like the close proximity of parking and if you like the proximity to Downtown Disney and if you want to be on the cheaper end of the villas, and as long as you don't mind climbing steps...then this is a good option. If you are spoiled like I am and want an elevator and a plush bed...book Saratoga Springs or another of the villa options.
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 16 - December 23, 2007
Reviewer: sjsjbrook Ontario, Canada     January 27, 2008

The Hotel Theme really doesn't have a Disney look to it. However my entire family loved loved loved the resort.

We were Welcomed home when we entered the lobby. The kids were given flower baloons.

Our room was huge, which was great for our family of five. As we were on vacation, with a 4 and 6 year old, we didn't rush out of our room in the morning. We were able to have a leisurely breakfast every morning. During rest times, they was plenty of room for everyone to do their own thing.

When we went to the parks, we returned to find that the dishes did themselves (I thought that was absolutely wonderful).

They were happy to bring us a bed rail for our 4 year old who did fall out of the high beds several times our first night.

The pool staff were friendly and the pool was warm and a perfect depth for none swimmers. I got to sit on the edge and avoid going in ( it was quite cool the week we were there).

The staff here were very happy, they waved and smiled whenever they past us.

I would definately stay at this resort again.