Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Polynesian Resort Polynesian Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista
On the Resort Monorail Line
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 15 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   September 30-October 2
Reviewer: tinkaparis Massachusetts     October 15, 2011
Standard View Room 3rd Floor, Second building on the right. (forgot the name).
Even though our stay here was very short, we wanted to stay at an original for the 40th Anniversary Weekend.
The theming of the resort was amazing. You definately felt like you were in a different place. With 3 women in a room however, the bathroom set up with the sink and toilet in 1 room, proved to be a challenge. Our view was great and our balcony looked right over the Volcano Pool.
Beds were comfortable but unfortunately the sheets, and covers were not the usual deluxe blankets but rather the same as POFQ. The shampoo was also not the deluxe but rather the teal green bottles from the mods.
While the room was quite large, it didn't feel luxurious like staying in other deluxe resorts, and for what we were paying a night, we expended the same feeling of grandeur and the same service. We were paying close to $400 a night.
The food court was awful. Service was awful and the manager on duty disregarded our food allergy and served an item that contained what we just spoke to him about. It was smaller than our room and we had to order on touch screens so if you couldn't figure out what you wanted, and needed to modify, you were out of luck.
Funny thing we noticed that if you are laying down in bed, you can feel the whole floor shake if someone is walking around the room.
We spoke at length with a CM about our observances and she said that the POLY is slated for deluxe level upgrades in the future.
The pool was not heated so we didn't swim since it was only about 60 degrees in the evening.
The absolute best part about the hotel was the proximity to the TTC and being able to take the monorail to the MK.
I would not stay there again.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 28-June 3, 2011
Reviewer: 3colliers Atlanta     June 02, 2011
The resort is beautiful and very relaxing. We had a std. view rm which overlooked quiet pool in Rarotonga bldg and was very happy w/it. Although for a deluxe, we only had one sink in the bathroom! Main pool was nice, bit on small side, they have music and activities offered daily poolside and in the evenings they have campfires and movies on the beach,which was really Awesome!!
The quick service rest. was horrible for breakfast, very limited choice and the portions were tiny and the bacon was horrible and thin! They have changed from french toast on bounty to two f.toast sticks and horrible, cheap bacon!! The lunch was not much better w/very few selections and way overpriced for offerings. Kona Cafe was wonderful, we ate there for breakfast,and dinner and both times were great. I ordered pancakes for breakfast and at dinner ordered the wahoo? fish and it was delicious!! My husband and daughter got asian noodles and tuna for dinner and both were great!! The location can not be beat and is very convienient for monorail use to parks. It was very expensive to stay there and don't know if I pay that much again for the Polynesian. I have stayed @ Contemp,Wilderness,Carribean and will be staying in Oct. @ A.K., but don't think I pay the $$$ for Poly. again, nice location, but nothing really Special.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 27, 2008-September 1, 2008
Reviewer: wishiwasthere Old Bridge, New Jersey     September 04, 2008
· Type/Class of room: Garden View
· Rate/Night (for your stay): $300

Parking- We often had to park at the way back of the lot. Luckily we were staying in the Rarotonga building which was the first building from the parking lot which made the walk pretty short.

Room Location- Our room location was fantastic. We were in the Rarotonga building, third floor, Room 3824. When you walked out of the side entrance of the Great Ceremonial house the entrance to our building was about 5 steps away. I have never been so close to a main building/food court/pool before. We were about a 7-10 minute walk to the ticket and transportation center.

Building-I highly recommend requesting the Rarotonga building if you intend to stay at the Polynesian. I also recommend requesting a balcony floor because the first floor only has a patio and I dont think the view is that great. If you are on the first floor you do get the advantage of not having to walk up stair cases or take an elevator, but the view is not as great and if it rains a lot you just get a lot of puddles around your patio. We had third floor and we were on the same level as the monorail so it was great to just sit and watch it go by.

Room-There was more than enough room for 4 adults. First of all you have six drawers and two closets for your clothing. One of the closets has two rods and the other closet has one rod, a few shelves, and the safe.

In the bathroom there was also a ton of space too. We often pack an over-the-door plastic shoe hanger to store our stuff in while at the hotel. We didnt even need it this vacation. We had one sink and there was a shelf above the sink and then all the area under the shelf. Then underneath the sink there were two shelves on each side. The only downside to the bathroom was that compared to the Moderates and Values the bathroom is all in one. We like the door separating the sink area from the toilet and shower. One person can shower while one person can get ready. Also, the shower head is meant for someone less than 5'5". I am around 5'7" and my face was above the shower head so it was a little awkward at first but I got the hang of it. My dad though at 6'2" had a tough time.

I also want to comment on the shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and lotion the give you at the Poly. Its called h20 and it was great. We brought our own not knowing what it would be like and my family ended up using what was given to us. Nowadays with the airlines charging for second bags I would say leave your stuff at home and use theirs. Once mousekeeping saw we were using it they gave us plenty more to keep us stocked up.

There is a little bar area in between the two closets. It hides the fridge underneath and next to the fridge there are a few shelves which are good if you buy some food and you want to store it.

The beds were extremely comfortable and were great because they were queen sized. The pillows are on the small side, but they were so comfortable that I often fell asleep within minutes. There is also a small couch in the room that pulls out into a single bed. My sister wanted to sleep on the single bed. She is about 5'7" as well and she fit fine length wise in the bed.

The flat screen TV was great and the space that it created was even better too. There is also a small shelf above the TV which is where we kept our refillable mugs.

Grounds-I thought the grounds were beautiful. At night it really feels like you are on a tropical island. The torches being lit and the plant life really doesnt give you the feeling you are in WDW. Its quiet and if you find yourself by the Marina at night you feel like you are the only one around for miles. Also if you are looking for quiet time do not use the beach by the pool at night because it is filled with kiddies.

Food- This was the one major downside for my family at this resort. We often come back from the parks looking to get a bite to eat. We found the menu to be extremely limited. Also, they are now using touch screens for you to order which was just a pain. The one night we ate there I wanted fries with my burger and could not do it!

CMs- I have to say that the CMs at the Poly are some of the nicest I have met on property. No matter where you are in the resort, every CM you pass says Aloha! They always seem to be smiling and having a great time. Really made me feel at home.

Pool- My family did not have a chance to swim in the pool, but at night the main pool area was crowded! The kids looked like they were having a blast. The slide always had a long line with kids eager to get on it again.

The quiet pool was really that! Whenever we passed there were only a few people (mainly adults) in it. I probably would have headed to the quiet pool.

Location- We absolutely loved having the 5 minute monorail to MK. To know at the end of the day that we didnt have to run to our car was great. The walk over to the TTC for Epcot wasnt too bad but we did attempt to take the monorail to the TTC to then jump on to another monorail for Epcot and that took forever! I definitely recommend walking to the TTC. It was a short car ride to DHS and AK. I cannot comment on the bus system because we had a car.

Torch lighting ceremony-only about a minute long. It is at 6 PM every night and if you have the chance check it out.
 
52 out of 52 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/22 - 4/25, 2007
Reviewer: Turnbull2357 Boston, Massachusetts     August 04, 2008
Date(s) of stay: April 22nd to the 25th

Type of room: Garden View

Rate/Night (of your stay): About $500/night

Ease of Disney Park Access: Since we stayed at the Polynesian, we mostly took the monorail which was not very cramped to other hotels and the MK and Epcot. We rented a car so we did not have to take a bus. Traffic was packed since it was during april vacation but everyone in my family didnt mind.

General Restraunt/Lounge Impressions: One night we had dinner at this hotel. Since we had to wait, we took a little stroll and sat down and bought a drink at the Kona Cafe. We ate dinner at 'Ohana which was a little expensive. The food was good but the kids did not like it alot since some of it was adult food. A man would come out and walk and sing for the kids that were there and they woulld follow him. My kids did that and they had much fun.

Pool Descriptions/Comments: There were 2 pools. The one that was closer to our hotel room was more deserted then the other one but it was pleasant. We hung out at the other pool which was PACKED. My daughter loved the water slide and I went on it also. Theres a stoplight sign thing at the top so no one crashes during the water slide which is a good contrapion i guess. The more packed pool was very cold. It also had a few hammocks and a beach so you could go in the pool or relax on the beach. The boat to somewhere (we did not use it so i dont know) looked like it was convenient.

I reccommend this hotel to people who would like to relax and have a fun time at the same time since its more of a family hotel. = )
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/15-7/21 (2007)
Reviewer: skodousek (skodousek@gmail.com) Wisconsin, USA     July 24, 2007
This was our first trip to the Polynesian resort. Overall we liked the resort. However, since we spend most of our park time in Epcot it just wasn't for us because of the close proximity to the Magic Kingdom. The rooms were nice, along with the grounds and pools. The dining was exceptional along with housekeeping. However, the check-in efficiency was horrible. There was a big wait and the people at the front desk were rude and unhelpful. Also, we didn't get our room until 5:00 PM which was unacceptable.
 
17 out of 31 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 2005
Reviewer: Tikiman California     November 02, 2005
I was just at the Polynesian in August as well as staying at the Animal Kingdom Lodge for the second time. It was a good way to compare the two resorts again (split my stay in 2003 with the AKL and Polynesian) and on this trip I was there to spend most of my time at the resorts to really check them out. The AKL is a great resort but the transportation at the Polynesian is much better with more options. Also after most of the day spent at the AKL I started to run out of things to do and no where to walk since the only paths are around the pool and a small animal viewing area. The Polynesian had many areas to walk or hang out at the beach. If that was not enough I could walk to the Grand Floridian or get on the monorail and visit the Contemporary but I never got tired of walking around the Polynesian. Also the rooms were much larger at the Polynesian and I actually was in two different rooms at the Polynesian so I saw both size rooms the Polynesian has. The AKL room was 339 sq-ft and the Polynesian rooms were 415 and 476. Almost half the rooms at the Polynesian are the 476 sq-ft and they are all being redone with a new design and new amenities including my favorite the 32 flat panel TV. My two rooms were from one extreme to the other. The first room was a standard garden view room and the second room was a concierge lagoon view room. Both were great. Obviously the lagoon view concierge room was very nice but the garden view room was a great room with a nice view of the paths and tropical plants and it was so nice and quiet. The whole resort was relaxing to just spend the day at and access to the Magic Kingdom and Epcot were so easy that I could jump on the monorail to Epcot and be there in less that 15 minutes. I would find that I would go into the parks for one or two things and than head back to the resort. It was that easy. Every CM I came into contact with at the Polynesian was very friendly and the food at Kona Café just keeps getting better each time I visit. There are many great resorts at WDW but I would be happy to stay at the Polynesian for every trip.
 
147 out of 149 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 9th - 14th 2005
Reviewer: jbird327 (jay.info@covad.net) Ambler, PA     June 16, 2005
My second stay at the Polynesian (the first was in 1985). I was in Tahiti with a Lagoon view - ground floor. I love the setting and atmosphere. A great place to walk around in when the torches are lit. The restaurants are good and it is very convenient to get to MK and Epcot. The boat launch is a great way to get to MK. The beach was very pleasant with a nice view. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. My first choice of Disney hotels.
 
27 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 8 to May 13, 2005
Reviewer: azgdave Massachusetts     May 16, 2005
This was our ninth vacation at the Polynesian and while it has suffered the same types of cutbacks as DW in general we were well pleased with our stay. This relaxing resort in perfect proximity to the parks will always remain our first choice. The dining is excellent, the grounds are perfect, and the rooms are of resonable size (who spends time in their room anyway!).

Our only complaint is the bell service. These guys could use a refresher course in customer service. The rest of the staff (housekeeping, restaurant, desk, etc) are outstanding.

Summary: expensive but if you can afford it your stay will be memorable.
 
25 out of 29 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10-04
Reviewer: randall8060 Indiana     May 03, 2005
Great hotel, wonderful views even if you don't get a lagoon view, meandering sidewalks....lush landscaping, huge sliding glass doors, enormous bathrooms! The only bad thing I could say about this hotel is that the pool could probably be a bit bigger to accomodate the number of people, but it's still really beautiful! The restaurants and ease of access to monorail makes this a great choice!
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   8-29-04
Reviewer: kat408 The peach state     September 10, 2004
NEVER AGAIN WILL I STAY AT A DISNEY HOTEL! MY EXPERIENCE WITH DISNEY TIME AND TIME AGAIN HAS ALWAYS BEEN BAD! WILL NEVER TRY AGAIN! RIPOFF!! SOMEONE WAS IN MY ROOM TAKING A SHOWER WHEN I WENT IN MY ROOM FOR THE 1ST TIME! NOT A PLEASANT START! THEN THEY WOULND'T GIVE ME ANOTHER ROOM,AND THEN MAID SERVICE DID'NT COME THAT DAY SO THE ROOM WAS DIRTY AND HAD UNMADE BEDS! UNEXCEPTABLE! SERVICES SHOULD BE GOOD BUT BEWARE IT IS NOT!
 
11 out of 113 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page