Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Pop Century Resort Pop Century Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1050 Century Dr, Lake Buena Vista
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 36 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 19, 2006 - December 24, 2006
Reviewer: CraigC Memphis, Tennessee     January 07, 2007
We are a family of three with two adults and one 10-year-old daughter. We stayed at the Contemporary for our last two trips to WDW, but we didn't want to spend as much money this trip. So, we opted for Pop Century. We really enjoyed our trip, and the Pop Century more than met our needs and expectations.

I don't think you can really compare the value resorts with the deluxe resorts since they are designed to serve different purposes. So, my 4 planet rating for Pop Century is rating it against what I expect from a value resort - not comparing it with other resorts where we have stayed.

Our biggest concern was about the noise level. With so many families with small children walking through the resort and enjoying the pools, it can get noisy at times. So, after some research from other reviews, we sent a fax the week before we arrived requesting a room on the top (4th) floor on the back side of the 70's "Big Wheel" building. We got the exact location we requested, and we never had any problem with noise. This location is away from the main "walkways" through the resort and the pools. An added bonus is that it is a short walk to the bus stops and the lobby/food court. It was the perfect location for us, and our big noise concern turned out to be no problem at all. (Tip - bring a "white noise" sleep machine just in case).

The room was clean and everything was in working order. We came back to the room for a rest mid-afternoon most days. On several days, the maid service had not cleaned our room when we got back. This was not a problem for us - we just put the do not disturb sign out. But, if you must have maid service every day - this might be something to remember. On the days when we put out the do not disturb sign and skipped the maid service, we did call and request more towels. They were always delivered promptly, and we even received follow up calls to make sure we received the towels we requested. Our only real complaint - the beds really are hard. (But at the value price, can you really complain?)

We only ate in the food court one morning, and the food was okay. The food court gets very crowded and loud. We did buy the refillable souvenir mugs and used them for coffee/hot chocalate/soda daily. The gift shop is fairly large and has a good variety of items. It was a nice place to pick up souvenirs on our last morning.

We never had a problem with bus service. We never had to wait more than 10-15 minutes for a bus. A big benefit of Pop Century over the All Stars is that Pop Century has its own bus routes - no stopping at other resorts. The All Stars share buses which takes more time.

Overall, Pop Century more than met our expectations for a value resort. We do think it is a good value. All of the benefits of staying on property (extra magic hours, bus transportation, package delivery to resort, etc....) at a fraction of the price of other resorts. The theme is fun, and the rooms are well maintained - though small.

You can't expect luxury at the value price, but in our opinion - you do get more than your money's worth at Pop Century.
 
97 out of 97 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 2005
Reviewer: kansaskix KS     October 02, 2006
We stayed at this hotel the end of September and overall it is one that I would return to again.
I am a very light sleeper, so asked for a quiet location, but not in the 80's or 90's buildings. We were given a room in the 70's section, the Big Wheel building, facing the back courtyard towards the 80's. It was a great location for us. (If you don't want to walk too much, then ask that you aren't situated in the 80's and 90's areas. They're the farthest away from everything.)
The Room: pretty much like all the other value resorts=small. But it was spotlessly clean. Funky, brightly decorated. Kids thought it was fun. The bathroom is small, but we don't spend much time in the room, we're at the resorts all day. You get cute Mickey soap and shampoo. The thing I really didn't like about the room are the beds--they are ROCK hard. I had visions of Fred Flintstone sleeping on a rock bed. Other than that, everything else was okay (but that is one of the reasons I'm rating this a 4 and not a 5--the beds are that hard!)
The Resort: I found the decorations and themeing to be very fun and lively and extremely enjoyable for kids. I thought the word phrases every where were pretty corny and cheesy, though. Could do without those. There's TONS of theming everywhere. My kids loved the huge big wheel and the foosball field. There's a water play area which was a HUGE hit! It has a vintage red sports car with a statue of goofy and a surfboard on a large, foam covered surface area. Water streams and spouts randomly out of holes in the foam and the kids run through it and screech and laugh. It was a popular spot. They also have big Tic-Tac-Toe and Twister games set up to play. My kids enjoyed those. Sometimes it took a while to get anywhere, because there are so many props and things set up all over the resort, that my kids got pretty distracted :-) The resort is very clean, but I was annoyed by all the rude smokers everywhere. They need to enforce a stricter smoking area policy. I got tired of walking through nasty cigarette clouds.
Gift Shop: Great and very extensive. Enjoyed some nice shopping and last minute souvenir pick up. A good assortment of items. Super annoying placement in that you have to go through the gift shop to get to the food court! Hate that--all parents will hate it. It's a bad design.
Check In: Would have been better if I hadn't of had the bad luck to get someone in training who apparently is going to need a lot of training. They handed out free Disney Adventures magazines, which was nice and the kids liked them. Lines moves quickly despite looking quite long.
Food Court: Fair. Food quality is fair--worst employees I have ever encountered anywhere on Disney--Ever. Super slow and super don't care about anything. Especially the pizza ladies. They are horrible. Skip the pizza section unless you like to wait and wait and wait. Pretty good selection. Kids liked the dessert variety. Can get crowded but we never had problems finding a seat.
Swimming Pools: We first tried out the Computer Pool, and since this is not the main pool, it is much quieter, much less traffic. It was great! Wonderful pool area. The kids then decided they wanted to try the Hippy Dippy Pool, so we trekked over there. NOTE: the Hippy Dippy Pool is the only location you can get life jackets or noodles or other pool items--so if you want to swim at the other pools, but want these items--go get them at Hippy Dippy first. Hippy Dippy pool is humongous and was also colder for some reason. More traffic as it is the largest, central pool. We really enjoyed both of them.
Transportation: was fine. We didn't have any problems except coming home one night from MGM the line was SOOO long. Not sure what was up that evening, but we waited about an hour (and this was in September). We never had a problem leaving PoP Century, and were very glad for the metal queue lines (unlike the All-Stars where everyone globs together in a rush and there's no order). The metal rows at Pop Century keep everything in order and fair, so it's much improved over All-Stars.
Make sure and take some time to walk around and tour the resort. We got some great pictures with giant Mr. and Mrs. Potato Heads and huge Lady & the Tramp. My kids really enjoyed this resort and it was a fun place to go with children. I would not recommend or want to stay at this resort if I weren't taking kids along. Just be sure and cut down on traffic/noise by asking for the top level or floor--each building has 4 floors, so ask for the 4th floor so that there is no one above you. And ask for a quiet location and you'll be just fine on noise (unless you have someone in your room who snores :-).
 
36 out of 37 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   July 2006, November 2005, June 2005, June 2004
Reviewer: steamboatpookster Murfreesboro, TN     September 09, 2006
My wife and I have stayed at Pop Century Resort numerous times. We have always stayed at a value resort becuase we are both teachers and can't really afford anything else. I definitely recommend PC or the All-Star Resorts.

Keep in mind that depending upon when you visit WDW, the resort will reflect that. We stayed at PC from July 5th thru the 11th, 2006 and had a miserable time there. Too crowded, loud, kids up at all hours of the night without adult supervision and we were asked on two different occassions by teenagers if we had any pot to sell them. We complained to the concierge, but there was nothing he could do.

We have reservations for Animal Kingdom Lodge for October 1-5, 2006. We got a great Annual Passholder deal! CAN'T WAIT!

I recommend PC for the budget conscious--or to people that are ALWAYS in the parks and just need a cheap place to crash--otherwise, if you are looking for a quiet, comfortable resort...don't do it!
 
12 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   04/01/05-04/07/05
Reviewer: supertechdude04 (supertechdude04@sbcglobal.net) Columbus, OH     February 20, 2006
This hotel was my favorite Disney stay EVER. My mom wanted to suprise me with a trip to Disney (My Favorite Vacation Destination), but I got to her too quick. She wanted to stay on an off-property hotel, and I quickly looked for the cheapest on-property hotel to change her mind. We have priviously stayed at the ALL-STAR sports and the Contemporary Resort, and she agreed to try this one. It was a loud resort, but the cast members were new and fresh, as were all of the rooms and facilites. We stayed in the eighties (Rubiks Cube) in the ninth building the third floor, tenth room (9310). Even though it was a value resort, our experiance from arrival to departure was 10x better than when we stayed at the deluxe contemparary. I would also reccomend the Disney primeum dining package. Expensive, yes, but we ate at Wolfgang Puck's, Crystal Garden, Citricos, Bongo's, Rainforest Cafe and all of our other meals, plus Cirque du Soliet tix and free watercraft at the contemp. marina, we even went parasailing. And that annoying bill they give you at check-out, was only 19.50!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
41 out of 43 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/4/05 - 12/10/05
Reviewer: heidiwhr Salem, Oregon     December 11, 2005
This was my 2nd stay at the Pop Century, and was very pleased with it. Air, 6 nights hotel, and 2 adult/1 child 5 day park hopper passes cost $1953.35 through a package on expedia.com. I figured the hotel came out to around $65/nt. I booked the package with a standard room before I became pregnant, and am now 6 months along, so I asked at check in if there was a room that required as little walking as possible. The CM was VERY helpful, and gave us room 9117 on the 1st floor in blg. 9 of the 80's section, facing the parking lot. This worked great for us. Our rental car was parked right outside the room and it was just a short walk through the 90's lot to the food court/gift shop! The only noise I ever heard was early in the morning when people in the rooms around us were getting ready - showers going, doors closing as they left, and the occasional excited voice as they passed in front of our door. Mousekeeping kept our room very clean, and supplied more towels every day than we could ever need in a lifetime! The end of the week was a little rainy, so they came in handy to take a couple of them with us to the park to dry off after being caught in rain showers. We only used the food court 3 times, and my impression was that it was not as good as I remember, and fewer selections. We did buy the refillable mugs, and made sure to fill them up at least twice a day - very handy! We didn't have time to use the pool this trip, but the one in the 80's section never seemed crowded - possibly because it was too cold to swim! We didn't use the busses to the parks becuase we had our rental car, but there never seemed to be more than about 15-20 people in any one line, and there was ALWAYS a bus going to one of the parks or Downtown Disney loading people up. It was impressive! Overall, if you are on a budget and just need a quiet place to sleep and eat a couple meals, the PC is a great choice. The theming is excellent with all the icons that remind you of your childhood (I loved the 70's section the best!), and it is just a fun place to stay!
 
36 out of 37 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/7-10/13/05
Reviewer: coloradomousefan Aurora, CO     October 16, 2005
After only staying at Deluxe resorts prior to this trip, staying at a value resort was a bit concerning. After staying at Pop Century, I can safely say and recommend values very highly. We were most pleased with our stay and the hotel in general. Our check-in was quick and efficient, lobby was beautiful and all our room requests were met. Pools were great and never crowded. I might suggest late night swimming as well, it was a blast; pools are open until 12:00am. Food court, gift shop and arcade were all Way above average and I loved the theming of the resort. The only downside is the lack of elevator service to all areas. We stayed at the end of the 50's building (which was nice and quiet) and were stuck with climbing 4 flights of stairs usually once per day. Apart from that inconvenience, the huge money savings and overall charm of resort more than make up for it. I will only stay at a value from now on! The money I save doing this gives us more financial freedom to visit more often and do more while in the parks. Loved Pop Century!
 
41 out of 44 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sept 17-23
Reviewer: rob hanson1979 Ottawa, Canada     October 13, 2005
After some mixed reviews, I must say I was very happy with this hotel.
We were greeted at the front gate by a very friendly security guard, and we never once met an unfriendly employee, from the front desk to the mousekeeping to the lifeguards.
The pools were great. Not too crowded. Always at least 3 lifeguards on duty. Fun music all around the resort. The pop icons can be a bit tacky, but they're fun and well done.
The store had almost anything you would need, and the staff was friendly. The food court was usually fairly busy with decent lines, but the food was not too bad. Not gourmet by any standards, but certainly good. Try the grilled flatbreads. They were great.
Bus transportation was good. We never waited more than 20 minutes for a bus from the resort, and only once had to stand. Coming home from Epcot one night was had to wait about 40 minutes, but that was the only exceptionally long line we had.
I absolutely recommend every takes advantage of Disney's dining plan. It may cost more when you first book, but compared to what it would have cost us on site, it was absolutely worth it. We made reservations ahead of time to ensure we get some great restuarants, and all were amazing. Plus it is nice to have everything consolidated. We had one card, which was our room key, our charge card, our disney parks pass, and our meal plan. It was great.
 
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 1 - August 4, 2005
Reviewer: lrmcneely North Augusta, SC     October 05, 2005
Hi - this was our first trip to WDW...we were in Orlando for 6 nights, we were committed to PopC during the above dates but decided to stay at Shades of Green July 31st and August 5th. The rates for both were very comparable and of course SOG had larger rooms, but PC was great also. I will be harsh about PC, but my wife and daughter loved it, it is a value resort. The noise was never a problem, as some have written. Okay here I go - the parking was quite a distance, the carts to load luggage had to be back in 45 minutes - we had preferred rooms, but 20 minutes from car to room and do this twice, well you can see why I felt pressure. The check-in was great, we inquired about Cirque de Soliel? tickets and bought them there. I won't go in any type of order with events but will add highlights --- As we purchased gifts, they were shipped back to PC for us, but they were not there as promised and we cut it close getting our stuff before checkout -- the Pina Coladas at poolside were the best we've had -- the maid service was great, extra items and towels shaped into animals -- the rooms were adequate for 3 people - The AC was great - the TV was limited and the most annoying brunette emcee'd the Disney Promotionals on all the WDW channels. We grew very tired of her, quickly. -- the food court is not crowded early hours <7am but after, watch out! The breakfast was greasy all the days we were there -- the pool was not used and it really didn't appeal to us that all pools there are only 3 feet deep! no slides either -- we explored Polynesian, GF, Contemporary, Wilderness, and Animal Kingdom lodge - we took advantage of the openess of the resorts - even if you are in the values, you have access to all of it. We did it, rails, boats, busses. The busses coming back late from Downtown Disney were the worst. We left the Cirque and waited for an HOUR for PC bus. We were told that they had broken down. Of course, people were nearly fighting to get on the first one, we waited for the second and it was standing room only. My wife grew sick days later, as an elderly sick man was on the bus, suffering, coughing, sneezing...I struggled to hold the hand rails.- PC is cool though really, it suits your needs, we didn't really stay there until we needed to sleep and shower. The early magic hour for the morning of Magic Kingdom, that was the worst for crowds at the bus stops in front of PC. We could see that we were the 4th or 5th bus back so we decided to catch the opening at AK...and we did, it was great. We love WDW and we HIGHLY recommend that you stay at one of their resorts...don't stay off-site since you will not get the immersion - the music constantly playing, the CM (some were stressed though), the convenience...We paid I believe, with tax $72 or something?? We noticed this too - that the bus lines were very crowded for All Star resorts, whether that line was at the parks or DD, they were always busy or crowded, we felt blessed that we had chosen PC over AS. (That we know for sure) Go Pop Century, not All-Stars, if the crowds at the AS busses are any indication of the crowds over there, go to Pop Century. One last thing, as we explored the other resorts, we noticed that dining and gift shop hours were different...the value resorts open the cafeterias and gift stores much earlier and close much later. They work the value CM's to death!
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   15/03/2004
Reviewer: yellowangel uk     September 19, 2005
it is such a fun hotel lovely and clean even though it had only been open a few months . the rooms were everything you needed . the food court had alot of variety of food there and the waiting lines for the buses were hardley ever big . it has music played everywhere you go its such a fun and magical hotel i would recomend this hotel
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Feb 26,2005
Reviewer: pixie18 South Cali     August 14, 2005
I stayed at the world a total of 9 days and found I could stand the Pop for one night! I tried out this hotel because it had a good rate of $50 a night and never having stayed at a Value resort before had heard great things about this one. I was mis-lead the Castmembers were all very nice and out-going but the good thing about this resort end there. The bed was rock hard and you could reach the door from the first one it was so tight in the room. The nosie level is expected at a family resort but not at 3 am from kids going wild and playing ding-dong ditch on your door all wll you are hearing the running water of the room next door and the flush of the one above. Needless to say my best friend and I high-tailed it back over to a resort I know and love the Port orlans Riverside with it's quiet and wonderful charm.

I understand that some people love this hotel and I can see why with bright colors and such but one good thing that came out of this trip it showed my friend and I how much a nice room and resort matter in the long-haul because when you can sleep and love the feel and mood of your room and resort it makes your trip what it is ment to be along a vaction.
 
4 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page