Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Pop Century Resort Pop Century Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1050 Century Dr, Lake Buena Vista
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 36 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   June 6th thru June 15th 2005
Reviewer: Goinginjune     August 12, 2005
I booked a standard room for my family of 4 at Pop Century becuase I thought $59 per night was a bargain price to stay on Disney property. I really wish I would have stayed somewhere else.

Pros.

(1).The airconditioner kept the room very cool.
(2). The time capsule theme was unique but not as appealing as the motel add makes it out to be.
(3). 3 pools
(4). Parking was O.K.
(5). Bus service to the park was fairly good if you don't mind a crowed ride at busy times. On the other hand coming back to the motel on a bus at a busy time looks unappealing compared to Disneys deluxe motel transportation services by Bus, boat, or monorail.

Cons.

(1).The rooms are very small. Don't use one room for 2 adults and 2 older children as we did, maybe 2 adults and 2 small children could get by in one room on a short stay but I'd never push it further than that in the future! The standard rooms are very Motel 6ish quality but on the smaller side.
(2). Its a lot of walking to and from the main office when staying at certain buildings on Pop Century property. You will probabliy find yourself doing alot of walking back and fouth for pop refills and information.
(3). 75 cents for just a local call in your room and $2.50 for a can of pop out of the pop machines. What a ripoff!
(4). The pools are just ordinary theme shaped pools without any extras, like cool slides for instance.
(5). TV channels are very limited unless you like to watch alot of Disney advertising.
(6). The whole motel atmosphere took away from our vacation experience becuase the place is so open and exposed to the hustle and bustle of tired worn out guest. As soon as I walked out my door from my tiny closterphobic room I felt like I was in the middle of an paved outdoor daycare.
 
5 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/18-4/25 2005
Reviewer: Jenny Drake Lancaster, TN     June 05, 2005
Again, the front desk people were great, especially with my repeated trips and weird requests for shipping stuff out. The food court seemed bigger than AS. Checkout was efficient, but counter service was sluggish. The food choices were numerous and quite varied. The grilled flatbreads took a bit of time, but were very, very good.

Cathy found the resort to be simply garish, but didnt mind the toned down theming and color scheme of the rooms. I could have done without the phrases on the buildings, but being used to the cheap seats at the AS, I expected over the top. I MEANT to ask for 4th floor so there would not be anyone taking clogging lessons at 3 a.m. on our ceiling, but I forgot that it had FOUR floors. It didnt matter in the end as noise outside the room was not an issue.

We had a lake view that overlooked the soon-to-be-more Pop Century. The view was quite nice. Our requested 50s building could not have been better. VERY close to food court and pools w/o the additional charges of a preferred location.

Bus service was not as horrible as foretold, especially TO the parks. I really like it that the waiting ques are roped off. NO more line darters and you can see JUST how many people are in line for each bus. We waited no more than 20 minutes for a bus, and most waits were around 10. Bus service FROM the parks was worse, but I dont think any worse than I have experienced for AS. Even at peak exit times, we waited less than an hour. During the day we would wait about 10-15 minutes.

My only complaint was this noise the fan in the bathroom made. It was a metal ping ping like setting a metal lid down on a sauce pan. It made this noise randomly and for up to 20 minutes at a time day or night. It would wake me, but not keep me awake. More annoying than anything. I commented at the front desk and they offered to send someone in to look at it. I later learned that ALL rooms have this issue. It helped to keep the bathroom door closed.

All in all, I was pleased with PC and would stay there again! I dont see significant differences pro or con between it and the AS, but I havent seen an As food court in 3 years. The flatbread things alone would sway me toward PC if they are not offered at AS.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/23/05-4/30/05
Reviewer: DisneyMomof2 New Jersey :)     June 02, 2005
Loved-Loved-LOVED the Pop Century Resort. The decor around the entire resort was just fabulous, the kids (and adults) had a blast taking pictures everywhere we looked. We had two standard rooms in the 80's building (VERY COOL) Although the week we were there the temperatures were only in the low to mid 80's we didn't get much time in the pools, especially at night when it dipped down into the upper 40's (We were freezing!!!) Who'd have thought? ? ?

We have stayed in a moderate resort in the past (Carib. Beach) and find that the rooms are about the same size. The only difference in my opinion is CBR had nicer furniture in the room. If you are like us and don't spend much time in your room I would HIGHLY recommend staying in a value resort.

We didn't have any issues with noise. There were not too many people so that could be why but considering our two children (ages 11 & 7) were back and forth between the two rooms we had (grandma's in the other) we never heard any commotion while they were in the next room.

We are planning out next trip back to WDW and plan on staying at the Pop Century Resort again. This time we will request a room in the 60's area to be close to the Hippy Dippy Pool and to be a bit closer to the front desk area which is also where the food court, gift shop & arcade is located.

The food at the food court was very good and priced right. There were many different meals to choose from and kept the entire gang happy on nights we dined there. They have an AMAZING cheesecake topped with chocolate and marshmallows that we shared one day and if you see a rice crispy Mickey Mouse head with chocolate ears, grab as many as you can they are DELICIOUS!!!
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   november14 th 2004 to november18th 2004
Reviewer: simbas mom 47 waukesha wisconsin     May 11, 2005
went to waltdisneyworld for second time ,first was in 2002.me my husband and 16 year old daughter.we loved pop century, stayed in 90 bld 2nd floor was very quiet never heard neighbors,clean clean clean.maids left washrag mickeys extra soap and shampoo daily. i always left a 2 dollar tip each morning before we left for parks. I was so impresed with the friendly maid and staff people.I hate onions so food court would make my tv dinner every night without onions just ask when ordering.Cups are a must get them, i used filtered water bottels filled them each day for parks as water will cost u 2.50 at parks.The pools were warm to swim in well heated.We are going back may13 to may18, then going to try carribian beach will let u kinow how it is when we get back.In novenbers trip 2002 we left pop to stay at animal kingdom for 2 nights, they gave us a savana room at no extra charge ,that was nice to see all the animals out my patio but i have to say maids were not friendle never left cute washrags of mickeys ,no extra soap or shampoo, and room was not as clean as pop centry i also left maids tip every day but they never did extra, so more money is not always a better deal.pop centry friendly people animal kingdom snobs the maids did more talking in halls then there job.cant wait to go on next trip. mrs ann hennecke.
 
9 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 3-9, 2005
Reviewer: DWFan Tacoma, WA     April 23, 2005
We (M&D, 2 boys)arrived around 9 am on the morning of March 3rd - transferring from the AKL (see other review - loved it!) - and our room was ready! We took our keys, went to our room, and offloaded a few things from our backpacks before heading to a park. We stayed in the 60's building of the Classic Years - Mowgli/Baloo side, second floor facing the Hourglass lake ($101/night). The room was clean, colorful, on the smaller side - but very sufficient for spending the majority of the time away from your room. I really liked that our room didn't face the main pool area - it made it quieter and more secluded. The boys loved the oversized Mowgli, Baloo and PlayDoh can in the 60's section. The resort itself is very bold & colorful and all staff were very friendly.
We did swim in the flower shaped pool two different evenings and had a great time - it was not crowded at all.
At Pop Century, their food court is large and it was, for the most part, not too busy. There were a couple instances where the line I needed to be in was a 10-15 minute wait, but for the most part, it was quick - including the cashier line. We did buy the refillable mug and got our money's worth from it. I tried the Tye-Dye cheescake - yum! The boys liked the Mickey Mouse shaped waffles.
The gift shop was good and attached to the food court. We used the laundry room one night and it wasn't very crowded. The arcade was great, never crowded, and our boys really enjoyed it the two times we had a moment to check it out. You could even earn tickets to trade in for prizes, unlike some hotel arcades.
We used the WDW Bus Service every morning, waiting anywhere from 5-20 minutes. We had a couple of books with us in our backpack for our boys to read while waiting, along with looking at the park maps for that day's park, so no wait was unbearable. We really had no issues with the buses.
If you're looking to stay at one of the WDW Value Resorts, we definitely recommend it. We had just come from AKL (which we preferred), but for being a Value level resort, it was good.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 3, 2005 to April 8, 2005
Reviewer: KimberlyV14 Atlanta, GA     April 10, 2005
We stayed in a preferred room (60's) at the Pop Resort. Still a long walk for the parking, but not as bad as some that I saw. Was close to the main building; handy for the buses to Disney parks. The buses were great, never had to wait over 10 minutes, mostly just a 5 minute wait, if that.

Employees at front desk were very friendly, same with bus drivers. Prices in shopping area were very spendy, food prices weren't too bad.

Ordered pizza from the hotel (room service) - was terrible! Tasted like cardboard, we ended up throwing it away, and people in other rooms said the pizza was just okay.

The pools were very crowded, probably because of spring break.

My biggest complaint would be that the rooms were not very soundproof - could hear people above and next to us- considering it was opened in December '03, thought it would be constructed better. Because of warnings on this site, we brought a small mini-fan, turned it on high, and that helped keep out the excess noise! Also rented a fridge in the room (small), but it was handy for keeping drinks frozen/cold for bringing into parks and saving money!

I would go back to this hotel, but wanted to try out the All-Star Movie Resort. Definitely wouldn't go during spring break time again - too busy and couldn't get a great deal on the prices for rooms, etc.

It was nice to be able to go into the park for extended hours - lines were not as long, although still busy.

 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   November 30-December 7, 2004
Reviewer: dbrunnerwi (dbruner@execpc.com) Wisconsin     January 04, 2005
Regular room. 4th floor of the 70's building facing the courtyard. The room was average, and very clean. We had adjoining rooms with the other travel party. Their room however had been smoked in. Maintenance came up and cleaned the air but we still smelled the smoke when we checked out.

We had a CRM rate of $49+taxes per night.

The walk to the foodcourt was short and the busses a bit longer. I hated walking through the gift shop to get to the food court. Expecially with a stroller. The food was very good at the foodcourt with many options.

Busses ran well, but we stood quite a bit.

We only used the Hippy Dippy pool and thought it was nice.

For overall theming we enjoy All-Star Movies much more. For a newer resort and maybe a few improvements over the All-Stars I would still prefer the Movies.
 
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Oct 22-24, 2004
Reviewer: Drince88 New Orleans, LA     November 07, 2004
I got a great rate in an email from Disney (better than the AP code that came out later), and decided to do a quick weekend by myself - not planning on being at the resort much, and with just one person, a Value Resort seemed like the smartest move, and since PopCentury was the newest value, I decided to try it out.

My room was ready at check in (late morning on a Friday), so I had no problem parking near it (though it looked like parking could be a problem). Two adjoining rooms' doors are angled toward each other, so the door doesn't enter the room at a right-angle, which makes it so you could walk into one bed fairly easily when you enter. The room seemed clean enough, though there is no hair dryer (I understand you can request one, but not a coffee maker).

Bus service was ok - didn't have to wait too long for a bus to appear, though I did have to wait for multiple buses a couple of times, due to the crowds (especially after SpectroMagic in the Magic Kingdom - at midnight).

Food court was ok, though the melon in the fruit cup I had one morning wasn't too ripe. They did have 2L bottles of coke, though, which was nice for me (since I wasn't there long enough for a refillable mug to pay).
 
3 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Jan.26-Feb.2
Reviewer: shopgirl146 North West, Florida     September 27, 2004
I LOVE this resort! I think for the price that you pay the service and quality can't be beat. The staff are very friendly and helpful in assisting the guests find their way around. I thought that the bright colors and larger than life icons were adorable and that they give the resort that magical Disney feel. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff even made animals out of our towels every day, just adding to the sense of the magic felt at this hotel. I also thought the food court had a very good selection and the price of the food won't break the bank. For dessert I recomend the tie-dyed cheesecake, it's delicious!=) Overall I found this resort clean, well themed, and definately up to the Dissney standard. For this price range you definately won't find this at your average Motel 6!
 
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/29/03 to 1/5/04
Reviewer: LDeb10 New Jersey     August 19, 2004
When we arrived it was a WOW kinda experience. Just the size of things and how they picked certain icon was just amazing. We checked in and it was pretty quick, but it was early and our room wasn't ready yet, so we went off to the parks(I think it was the "Twist" came on and all the CMs behind the counter started to do the twist. Pretty neat!!) But not before we went to the food court for lunch. It was clean and fresh, not too busy. Many things were made to order with not much wait. Prices for the food were reasonable for the size portions you received. Some things could even be shared. The one thing I noticed, was "the mug wash". A little sink that I don't remember being in any of the other value or moderate food courts. Parking was not good, but we didn't move car while we were there (the reason for the 4 & not the 5 planets). We asked for a ground floor room and it was close to the bus pick-up. We are going in Sept. 04 and have asked for a preferred room instead of a standard. The other thing I didn't like was how people left their table when they were finished. Not the fault of the cleaning people. Can't wait to stay there again. The pools were mainly quiet and clean. Also, pretty empty.
 
18 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page