Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Pop Century Resort Pop Century Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1050 Century Dr, Lake Buena Vista
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 36 ( Displaying Reviews: 31 - 36 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/11-6/18
Reviewer: bellefan Upstate NY     June 24, 2004
I stayed at the Pop Century for a week in June and really liked it! It was definitely crowded and busy, but never felt as crazy as the parks. I stayed in the 50s, building A and it was centrally located - next to the main bldg (w/ food court, store & buses), had its own pool and was close to the parking lot. The parking lot was a MAJOR bone of contention - there were NEVER any open spaces, and we had a handicapped person with us. The 50s parking is way past the actual bldgs so we parked in the 60s lot but people drove in circles all night just to find a spot in any lot. The rooms weren't too small though they did not have the typical double sinks. Overall, I liked it - especially for the money.
 
9 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   May 15, 2004
Reviewer: Susan1950 Central Pennsylvania     June 21, 2004
I thought I could take almost anything for $59 a night (AP rate), but within one hour of arrival, I asked to upgrade to Port Orleans. Our room had stains all over the carpet, standard view was facing parking lot, room very small and bland, millions of kids everywhere, screaming, arrived at 10pm, food court was FILTHY, and the upholstered booths had food caked on the highback part. I have stayed in the All Star, and it was much better, but prefer the moderates even over the deluxe hotels. This hotel would be ok if you were really on a tight budget or you were with a group. I was really disappointed, and I am a Disney fanatic. I wanted to go home, or go back to work, rather than stay here. Sorry, Disney.
 
7 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/15/04-1/25/04
Reviewer: stacie5593 (stacie5593@yahoo.com) Waterford, NY     April 08, 2004
I LOVED IT!! This was a wonderful place to stay for the price. Everything was clean and everyone working here was very friendly and helpful. It was not so crowded when we first got there but right around Friday the 23rd the place did get pretty crowded- the only thing that was a problem with that was the parking situation and that is why I only gave it 4 stars. If that gets resolved this will be the most affordable pleasant stay you can get in disney.
 
13 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   2/8/04 - 2/13/04
Reviewer: disneyveteran California     February 15, 2004
We were extremely disappointed with the Pop Century hotel. We have been to WDW many times and stayed at several of the other hotels. Pop Century is way at the bottom of the list. It is a Motel 6 by another name. Not only is the exterior and interior decor ugly, the rooms are small and noisy. We could hear every toilet flushing and every shower running in all the rooms around us. The big hall (check-in, food court) was mobbed all the time. We never ate there but the coffee was weak and service was poor. One morning my husband bought a cup from the espresso cart. The next morning they told him he couldn't buy one there. The third morning they sold him a cup but made him go and get his own from the drink island.

The room was clean, although we found food under the bed where it obviously hadn't been vacuumed. Maintenance was quick - we had a toilet that stopped up and they unplugged it but it never really worked right. We had adjoining rooms and the lock between the two rooms broke the first time we used it. We couldn't leave it locked - the kids were in the next room - so the maintenance guy had to come at 10 pm to fix it. He admitted that it might break again - said the locks were "cheap".

We were in the fifties section. The bowling pin pool was just a plain pool - nothing fancy. We didn't get to the other pools.

I would not stay at the Pop Century again. Compared to the other resorts (Carribean Beach, for example) it is definitely a step down. If you just want the basics then it would be ok, but if you are looking for more atmosphere then Pop Century is not the place.
 
14 out of 58 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec. 28-Jan. 2, 2004
Reviewer: MrsGrumpy San Diego, CA     January 16, 2004
We loved Pop Century!!!

We stayed there 5 nights and then moved over to POR. We wished we would've just stayed at Pop Century the whole time.
We stayed in the 60's building, the view from our window (preferred) was of Hour Glass Lake. It was beautiful at night, and there were a lot of birds around. The rooms were small, but the space was used wisely, plenty of storage area. (Look closely at the wall paper in the bathroom.)
The parking was not really convenient. I asked the CM where we should park when we checked in, and she showed me where the 60's parking was, but then suggested that the 70's parking was actually closer and it was okay to park there. All in all, the parking was a short hike, but everything is anyway when you're in the parks, right?
The pools were wonderful. The kids had a great time in them. It was too cold for me at night, so I didn't go in. They had lifeguards on duty 'til 10 p.m.
The food in the food court was decent. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't made fresh (at least it didn't taste that way) either. The beverage bar has slurpee-type drinks, cola and blueberry, which were included with the free-refill mug. We thought that was pretty cool. One of my boy's does not like carbonated drinks, and the only other cold drink they had was lemonade. It would've been nice if they had a fruit punch too like some of the other resorts. It had great theming, and was a fun place to eat.
The buses ran frequently. I don't think we ever waited longer than 10 minutes.
If you get the chance, make sure you walk around the resort. We took a lot of pictures posing with the icons. The kids loved going up & down the "yo-yo" stairs. Make sure to take a "Stroll Down Memory Lane." They have a sign for every year from 1950 on, highlighting the events of that year. We each posed for a picture with the sign of our birth year. It was a nice quiet walk near the lake in the evening.
We would definately stay there again!
 
66 out of 66 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1-03-04 - 1-10-04
Reviewer: dansan Murfreesboro, Tennessee     January 12, 2004
The Pop Century Resort was new when we stayed there so everything was exceptionally clean. The CM's were all very nice and helpful. The children loved the larger than life size yo-yo's and rubik's cubes but adults will find them a little cheesy. The only Disney transportation available are buses but we only had short waits to all of the parks and little or no waits for return trips. The only complaint I had was the food in the food court was terrible and over priced. We were there in the off season so it was not too crowded but I can see where I would not want to be there in the Summer. The lines at the food court in the morning and evening are a little long and check in was about 30 - 45 minutes. The food court is extremely loud so for a little quiet time go some where else or take it back to your room. There are 3 large pools, a game room, playground, souvenior shop and a large lake for a quiet walk. For a Value resort it is staffed well and very clean. We were staying at the Port Orleans but with 3 small children the room was a little small so we transferred to Pop Century with 2 adjoining rooms and found them much more comfortable at about the same price. I would reccomend this resort for budget minded travelers wanting to stay on Disney property. The outside may look a little cheesy but the inside is very clean and comfortable.
 
65 out of 68 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page