Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Pop Century Resort Pop Century Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1050 Century Dr, Lake Buena Vista
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 36 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 09
Reviewer: gabrielle2106 Australia     March 28, 2010
We arrived at Pop Century very late at night after spending nearly 22 hours in transit (its a long way from Australia). We found the reception area almost empty and the cast members very helpful in getting us to our room and settled as quickly as possible. My husband and I were on our first trip to WDW (after being frequent DLR visitors), and were a little nervous as to what we'd experience.
The room were wonderful, large, clean with comfortable bedding, serviced perfectly everyday. The food court proved to be great, it was a nice stroll down every day, it provided HUGE servings (which we are not used too) and great value for money. We used the bus system for transport, and never waited more than 15 minutes, it is a great service and so convenient even though some people seemed to take great pleasure in complaining because they had a 5 minute wait. It was only a short ride to all the parks and was always very enjoyable. The cast members at Pop were wonderful and nothing seemed to much to them. We didnt use the pools, we are there for the 'disney' not the holiday, so we dont spend our valuable time laying around...we spent 14 days at the resort and highly recommend it.
 
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   3/28/09-4/4/09
Reviewer: menicksmom California     April 14, 2009
We had a 9:30 pm arrival at the hotel and there was no wait in line at Check-In. We stayed in a standard room in the 90's section. There were 2 adults and a 10 year old boy, with 2 standard beds. A little tight for a week, but a nice clean room with a small table & 2 chairs, no microwave or refrigerator. We paid $1033 for the room for 7 nights and included 7 day Magic Your Way tickets for Mom and the 10 year old, a $200 Disney gift card and a coupon book with items like Planet Hollywood coupon, free photo, etc. I actually booked the room for me and my son so we could have Disney tickets and added my husband at check-in because he was there to work and didn't go to WDW except for 2 days. The front desk said there would be no charge for him since the room could accommodate 2 adults and 1 child. They said if there were 3 adults they would have to charge $15 a night. We used Disney's bus transportation and were always picked up within 10 minutes...perfect! The Food Court was ALWAYS busy and as the night progresses, items were gone (like cupcakes & cookies) and not replaced. Understandable! The 80's/90's section is a long walk to the Food Court, but very close to parking. I'd walk to the Food Court at night to get a hot tea and cookie and it would take me at least 30 minutes to walk there, stand in line to pay, and get back. I'd have no issue with staying there again but would request a room closer to food.
 
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 27-June1 2008
Reviewer: JGF9149 Atlanta, Georgia     June 07, 2008
This was our 12th trip to Disney, and we celebrated our daughters 16th birthday this trip. We have stayed at several of the on property hotels in the past, and this was our first stay at Pop Century. On arrivial it's slightly confusing as to where you should go to check in. There is a sign directing you to a large parking lot for check-in. After that ..take a guess. At check-in we did not find the front desk staff as accommodating as we have encountered at other properties. For example, we were given some poor information regarding park tickets at the desk which became a very expensive error. We found our standard room in the 1970's clean, and in some cases cleaner than even some of the higher end Disney hotels (I'm not kidding). The bed's were small and hard,but the thing that sticks out in my mind the most was you could hear every toilet in the building flush.Ugh! Also, I think the bathroom was retro since the fixtures looked like they were actually from the 70's. We found the food court better than most with lots of choices which helps with an army of kids who all want something different. One night two kids wanted pizza, and one wanted asian chicken salad and it was no problem at all. It tends to get crowded at the times as you would expect, but never felt the wait was out of hand. The refill cups are a good way to go if your going to stay more than a day or two.They quickly paid for themselves in drink prices alone. The bus service to/fromwas less than stellar. For example, not having a covered que in the broiling sun and risking heat stroke before you go anywhere was not fun. At the parks it seemed Pop Century was at the most distant pick-up spot. After a long day at the parks it felt like a death march to reach the bus. They failed to mention one of the extended magic hours would be used standing in an never ending line waiting for a bus back to the hotel. The pools were really great with plenty of seating and choices of pool to use so finding a place to park your stuff was no trouble at all. Enjoy!
 
33 out of 42 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   1-7-08 to 1-12-08
Reviewer: cactusgirl Texas     January 16, 2008
I had mixed feelings about this resort. My hubby and I nicknamed it the Disney La Quinta. Previously we have stayed at Deluxe resorts but since we were pairing this with a conference we decided to "go budget." We stayed in the 50's section on the 3rd floor. We had a nice view of the pool. The decor outside the hotel was nice and fun but not nearly as lavish as the deluxe resorts. Some of the displays in the main building were neat. The room was very spare and had a weird odor to it. We could hear our neighbors every time they flushed the toilet, took a shower or turned on the sink. Our room had 2 full beds (no kings were available). The beds were what one would expect in a Days Inn or other budget hotel chain.

The hotel worked. The staff was nice. We typically did not have a wait for buses and the gift shop was well stocked. The food court was always crowded. There are four stations plus a little grocery area. Each station will have different selections. Thus, if you want pancakes and an egg sandwich in the am, you have to wait in two lines and then go to the line to check out. One morning I waited 35 minutes in lines. My suggestion is to just wait until you get into the parks. That being said, we had lunch here one day. The hamburger my hubby got did not have any vegetables. He joked that it took him back to the 80's lunchroom cafeteria. I had a parm crusted chicken breast with spring greens and a bread stick. It was divine. We also had a turkey cibatta which was great.

If you just want a place to crash, this is a great hotel. Since we were child free we had planned on relaxing at the hotel some. We didn't feel the environment here was one that we wanted to leave a park to come back and just hang out.

Like my hubby said, it is Disney's La Quinta.
 
29 out of 38 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 16-21, 2007
Reviewer: amc1217 San Antonio, TX     September 11, 2007
This was my first time staying at this hotel. I've previously stayed at POR, AS Music, AS Movies, Wilderness Lodge and Carribean Beach. I can't say this hotel is a favorite, but I liked it just fine. I'm one of those who is on the go from as early as I can get myself out the door until I just can't go anymore, with only an hour in the room midday or evening to freshen up. So while I prefer the nicer resorts, I usually can't justify the added expense when it's a stretch for me to get to Disney World at all. I do feel more relaxed and more like I'm on vacation when I stay at a moderate or deluxe because the atmosphere tends to be more peaceful and there's the convenience of being close to other things. But if it's a choice of a value resort or not going (or staying off-site), I'm content with a value resort. We were on the top floor of the 70s building overlooking the foosball area, near the Mickey phone. I don't remember noise being an issue for me, and I tend to be a stickler about that, but maybe I'm more forgiving of hotel noise. You do hear ppl's toilets flush, but I don't remember being bothered by slamming doors or anything like that. The beds were hard and I think mine had a spring sticking out in the middle, but I slept well enough. The food court selections were good, many options to choose from. The food court is insane at popular eating times though. I liked to get in and get out as quickly as possible, preferring eating outside or getting it to-go to the noise and mess inside. Not to say the food court wasn't well-kept, but it gets messy during meal times. In fairness, I will say we had breakfast at Captain Cook's at The Poly one morning, and while it was smaller and less noisy, ppl were tripping over each other, it took forEVER to pay and I preferred Pop's selections. I think we waited more than 10 mins for a bus a few times, but it wasn't too bad. If we had been during a really hot time though, the lack of cover at the bus stops would have been unpleasant. The resort is pretty far from almost everything and I was caught off guard by how long some of our travel times were, but I think that's just part of using the bus system. You can't always get where you want to go as quickly and by expending as little energy as you might like. I think for the money, Pop Century is a great value and I would stay there again, although I'm leaning toward trying ASM again next visit.
 
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Three times during 2006 and May 2007
Reviewer: lowryd1 (mrdlowry@sc.rr.com) Columbia SC     August 20, 2007
I had been a Florida resident for three years, staying at 3 delux, 4 moderate, and finally found Pop centry. Each type of accomodation offers facilites for different types of clients. The delux speeks for itself, although I was not overly taken with the Comtempary. The moderates have a nicer, calmer feel, larger rooms, bed, fridge and aminities etc. However, comparing the cost between the moderate and the value, the value resorts win each time. Pop century is newer, and stands alone, whilst the other value resorts are all clumped together. Food courts can be busy, be patient. Great choice of food, coffe plus a small bar. Nice pools with outdide bar. Remember as with all disney hotels, drinks and food are not cheap, but thery are a little cheaper at the value resorts. Buses, well I never waited more than 15 minutes. Would take you longer to drive and does not cost you $10 to park With Pop century, park your car and forget it. Come back to the hotel with small kid's in the afternoon to relax, swim, sleep. The simply get on a bus and go back to the park. Pop century has small rooms, basic cable and no fridge. SO WHAT. Take a cooler with your own drinks, do you go on vacation to watch TV ?, the room is some where to sleep. I would recommend the prefered room. You are closer to everything, although ther can mean more noise as you are close to the pool etc. Remember this is a value resort, and the client group it attracts is often a value type of client. If you are used to five star then do not choose this hotel and then whine. If you are a pass holder or Florida resident you cannot get a better deal for a hotel in Disney world. I am planning on returning to Pop century Dec 19th - 23rd before my anual pass expires. Five night for under $500, show me a better deal. Oh yes, buy the Mugs, unlimited refils on every thing. A great deal after the initil purchase. We have been using the same mugs for al;most two years.
 
40 out of 42 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 17, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 09, 2007
One night stay Thursday June 17, 2007.
Booked through the WDW website after we already had our nine day vacation planned through AAA.
Cost was about $90.
Stayed in the 80s section, building A, first floor, next to hourglass lake.

We arrived at the resort just after 11am and the first thing we see is lines of people waiting for busses to the parks. We waited a bit to see how many of the people were going to get on the first Magic Kingdom bus that arrived and sadly less than half in the MK line made it on the first bus. At this point we are glad to have rented a car for this trip. I asked someone walking away from the lines if that was typical and she stated only for that time of day, otherwise the wait was less than 15 minutes almost everytime.

As we walked up to the registration counter we are quickly greeted by a cast member who confirms what we are there for and ushers us directly to an open window. The cast member at the window zips us trough the check-in process and issues our two room keys and informs us that it will be after 3pm before we can get access to the room and to just call a phone number on a business card to get the information rather than go back to the registration desk.

We called at 3pm and received our room number without a problem. I had requested a room in the 80s section away from the pools and did not pay for any upgrade to the room. We were placed in the requested section on the first floor with a great view of hourglass lake. This spot was away from all pools and pretty close to parking without being on top of the lot. (If you read the July 9, 2007 WDW update here on MP you can see a picture of our room in the picture of the smoking area at Pop we were the second unit from the corner on the first floor just to the left next to the Rubiks Cube stairs is the lake)

The room is the same as every value resort and a bit tight for any more than two people and a couple bags. The first bed is very close to the door with barely enough room to swing the door all the way open next to the bed. The carpet in this room has a couple good stains on it but they were not recent so we passed on complaining as we enjoyed the location and didnt want to change. The theme in the room was very plain (nothing like the room theme we had at All-Stars) with just some simple centuries bed comforters. The sink area was sufficient with one sink and a little space on either side of the sink for toiletries. There was also a 20 TV plus a very small round table and two chairs. Tight but would work for the night.

We found both the 90s pool and the main Hippy-Dippy pool to be nice and big with a great theme. The small pools closed by 9pm and the main pool remained open past the 12am midnight closing time by more than a half hour. After a stroll through the entire complex I realized we did have a great room location and that some rooms in the 60s section were very far from parking and busses but the 90s building was even further from the busses and food court. The outside themes were fantastic along with the pool themes and landscaping along the lake and in the building sections was colorful and well planted. The smoking areas were very close to each building and the only drawback there was that all the areas were on the main paths and occasionally in the evening there was a cloud of smoke coming from them. Considering the value aspect I was surprised to find almost no trampled or bare grass areas and all the exterior walkways were clean and well painted.

I give the resort only three stars because of the very small room and the carpet stains but compared to what is available outside WDW property for the same money I would suggest a stay at Pop Century.

 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/13-14/07
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 16, 2007
Moved to Pop to add one night to our WDW vacation. Room requested was standard, 3rd or 4th floor, nonsmoking, NOT by the pool. Request was honored. Building 6, 3rd floor. We were near the giant Mickey telephone. Resort room was a pleasant surprise-clean, well-stocked with a puppy towel animal to greet us. Yes, you feel the smallness of the room after staying at a moderate. Beds seemed much harder than what I had grown used to at a moderate. I also missed the privacy curtain between the vanity and bedroom as well as missing the fridge and the coffee maker. I felt the room at Pop was actually closer to the food court, pool than our "preferred" location at CBR. I also liked that there was a single bus stop before leaving for the Parks rather than the multiple bus stops at some other resorts. Food court was a surprise as well. Liked that "different" choices that were available here such as icees and apple juice in refillable mugs; twinkle tiramisu and tye dyed cheesecake; pizza delivery in a "groovy" van; as well as "Mom's blue plate special" for lunch and dinner. What I didn't like was that you "felt" your neighbors-showers, doors slamming, elevators, pool and food court were busy even at "off" times. This resort felt much more "on the go" than relaxing. The decor-was fabulous-very well done. Props to Disney on the detail! My 20 year old son, loved it-loved the theme and the feel. I however, would prefer a quieter resort for a long vacation. That said, I absolutely would return for a night or two.
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   3/10/07-3/17-07
Reviewer: Mermaid Glendale, AZ     March 31, 2007
We checked in late on the night of the 10th. We were assined to the 80's section, 4th floor, pool view. I like things QUIET so I thought this may be an issue but their computers were down so we took it. We got one king bed which was a surprise, but fine. The first night we crashed. The next night these teenagers there for Senior Trip screamed for the sake of screaming at the pool until 11PM. I called the desk and they said they had already been notified and were on the way. The were quieter after that but remained noisy until the pool closed at Midnight. I called to switch rooms the next morning. We packed up our stuff and they said they would move it to the new room and to check back after we returned from the park. We got a new room in the 70's section, ground level. Much quieter but we ended up having to get the luggage their ourselves because they were very busy. This room would get a strong cigeratte smell coming from the bathroom. All we could guess was someone else was smoking in their bathroom and it was coming into our room. One day it smelled like they were cooking rotten garbage in there!

Other than the room issues, we liked POP fine. The busses were great! We never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus, usually under 5! We liked the theming and the gift shop. We used the package pick up many times and it was easy and we really liked not having to carry our stuff all over. We only ate a Twinkie Tirramasu at the food court and it was good!

All in all, this was an okay hotel. We liked the transportation and perk of being able to get the Dining Plan. I would recommend the hotel but I would probably not stay here again due to the room problems.
 
17 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 1-7, 2007
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     March 30, 2007
We were fortunate to get a very unexpected 7-day trip to WDW. We had 5 days to book, plan, and travel to FL. Because of a lack of substantial budget and time, we chose to go to Pop Century. As a value hotel, we expected the hotel to feel much "less" than the moderate hotels we always frequented. We were wrong.

The check-in Cast Members were very accommodating, including fixing a problem on the reservation. While we waited, another CM came by to chat. We requested a refrigerator for our son's medicine and were given one for no charge. His meds ran out 1/2 way through the trip and we kept the fridge at a rate of $10.65 per day.

The hotel is quite large. I would say that this is the only major negative of the site. Our room was in the 50s section, facing the little lake. To walk to the pool and the laundry facilities were quick; to walk to the main building for food court, main pool, or bus station, was a bit of a hike. We didn't use our mugs as much as I expected to because it was a 10-15 minute walk round trip.

The room was very clean and our Mousekeepers were excellent. Requests for extra towels or shampoo were met immediately. Even received warm towels one day! The room itself was smaller than at the moderates. For the three of us staying there for one week (DH, me, DS-4yo), there was JUST enough room. We stashed some things under the bed so it didn't look so cluttered around the room. There was a single sink, a nice-sized hanging/shelf area, a 3-drawer armoire w/TV, a tiny table w/2 chairs, and a toilet/shower area. All were in good condition.

Beds were comfortable; they were full beds. The one complaint I had about the room is that the temperature couldn't go below 68 degrees. Sounds reasonable, but it felt like a very warm and sticky 68. We propped the door open if we were sitting on the bed and that cooled off the room to a realistic temperature.

There was only one bus stop at the resort. This was very nice, but caused long lines on some days. The area is not covered. Not a problem for the time we were there, but could be one during summer months.

The package pick up and the store were excellent!! CMs were very nice and helpful. The store was well-stocked and had interesting purchases in case one didn't want to "shop til you dropped" in the parks.

Food at the food court was absolutely excellent. We had several meals there. My favorite was a flatbread w/ham and havarti (see food reviews for more details). Lines were sometimes long, especially in the morning. They seemed to be training new CMs. You could get frozen cokes and apple juice as well as pop, tea, hot chocolate, and coffee in the refillable mugs.

I did use the laundry facilities and they were top notch. There was plenty of machines available and the area was spotless. One could gain access to the room 24/7 with your room key.

Don't hesitate to stay here. It was quite nice. If we return again and our "regular" resort isn't availble or not in our budget, we will return here.
 
26 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page