Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Port Orleans Resorts Port Orleans Resorts
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 66 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Feb. 14-19-Riverside
Reviewer: liroi Katy, TX     February 21, 2007
So many thing to discuss. First, I'll go over the postives. The grounds are lovely and the buildings are nicely themed. We were in Parterre Place near the pool. IT was a pleasant room in a quiet cove. The beds were comfy and the room was clean when we arrived. The bus stop was not all that close, but we had a choice of two to use, which was convenient.

Oh but the bad. And it was bad from the moment we stepped off the Magical Express bus. The line was horrible. We, unfortunately, got a new CM to check us in. Not only was our room nowhere near the requested spot (for which we paid extra), but we were a party of 8, put in buildings two apart in smoking rooms. Through over an hour of negotiation, we were finally moved into the same building, though at opposite ends and floors and our rates adjusted accordingly. We ended up paying $140 per night, reasonable. During our check-in, we overheard another CM telling their patrons that the food court was under renovation and there would only be a set buffet style menu. Horrible for those of us with little kids. We actually tried to have breakfast and dinner there, but there was not enough my kids would eat for the price they were charging. The refill cups were still used, though. We ended up eating all of our meals in the parks.

When we got to our room, after horrible directions from the CM, it was obvious it hadn't been used in some time..it was stuffy, the towels on the floor and the soaps and shampoos in the sink. Turns out, the a/c unit was schizophrenic and would sometimes blow hot instead of cold.

After five nights, we got our bill and were charged a different rate for our final night. Another 30 minutes at the front desk to sort out their mistake. Then, we had to wait another 20 minutes for someone, anyone to show up at the luggage station so we could stash our bags and go to the parks before leaving. Then the CM gave me a spiel about how busy they were and they weren't expecting this kind of check-out activity. At that point, I was just tired and ready to get out of there.

Oh forgot. The store is amazing. A really nice selection of merchandise and some really quality munchies and emergency items.

The grounds were lovely and, maybe at another time, this would have been a great trip. However, it was not. The cast members were all glum and not a single one was helpful or went even out of their way to say hello. I was incredibly dissapointed and the three people with us, who had never been, weren't able to experience the Disney Resort magic. Thankfully, the parks made up for it.

Funny, in thinking back over this trip, only once before have I ever had a problem with my room reservation in almost 10 years of going at least once a year...and it was at this resort. We will not be returning unless it's the only place to stay. I was disappointed in Disney that we didn't receive something in writing informing us ahead of time of the food court disaster. We would have changed hotels and had time to do so. As it was, we had a bad experience in a mediocre hotel.
 
14 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 2006
Reviewer: kittylovesthemouse Marshall, Michigan     January 15, 2007
We stayed at POR-Riverside 3/28 to 4/04/2006. We chose Alligator Bayou and stayed in Building 18. From the minute you arrive at the main building, the themeing "transports" you. The resort is beautiful and has lots of fun little surprises--carriage rides, fishing holes, boat trips down the Sassagoula to DTD. There's this goofy theme music playing...lots of banjo, lol...it just put us in "relax" mode. While it was a bit of a winding little walk to the main building (we all--hubby and two kids ages 7 and 9--got lost at least once), the layout and landscaping was so lovely, even after a day walking in the park, we didn't mind the extra steps. The grounds are beautifully kept, we saw lots of flora and fauna. One night there was an eerie mist coming up off the ground, and combined with the little critter sounds, well...I almost forgot I was in a busy WDW resort and not lost on the bayou! Felt very remote and unpeopled. Just for kicks, we walked over to POR FQ a few times...used the pool, ate a beignet.

We ate at the food court--one breakfast, a few snacks and a late dinner (it's a WDW foodcourt--crowded, loud, long lines, overpriced, undergood, but physically convenient), the sit-down restaurant (average food, great service) and went to the lounge (we were drawn in by a very cool older gent who plays piano and puts on a great show). Quite frankly, we'd much rather eat in the parks or at DTD. The selection is better, and it's much more fun. We did get the refill cup...worth the bucks.

The main pool was a bit cold and the kids lost interest right away, but they LOVED the little "quiet pool" behind our building...warmer, deeper, and much less busy. We mets lots of nice families in the pool. Very pleasant.

Mousekeeping was excellent...kept clean, in soap and tp, and our maid did all kinds of fun things with the towels and kids' mouse ears. One day we forgot to take the "dnd" sign off the door, and our maid left us a big plastic bag full of clean towels and toiletries! Room itself was perfect for us; spacious enough for us, with refrigerator, privacy curtain between sleeping area and sink/closet area, private toilet/tub room. The bayou rooms have a trundle bed, so kids got a break from each other at night. The decor was fun "cabin" stuff...very little boy-friendly.

The main building bus stop was the one we used...very convenient, never much of a wait, and the area is covered. No problem with bus system...they came often, and we only had to stand once (on the way back from MK).

The gift shop was popular with the kids. We bought a jug of milk, peanut butter, jelly and bread there...more than you'd pay at your grocer, but you still save money by eating in your room once a day! I also got sick (sinus stuff) mid-trip and paid only mildly inflated prices for the meds I needed; they had a decent selection, too.

We paid $122 per night for our stay, which is the annual passholder rate. It was easily worth the price. We'd love to visit again.

Only negative comments: Mosquitos (bring OFF wipes!), and the CMs at the front desk were a little...slow.
 
37 out of 38 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 2005
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
Sorry for the delay in posting. I wanted to express how wonderful POFQ is. This is the 2nd time we've stayed here, and we have another trip booked for October 07, staying at French Quarter.

We happened to be at WDW during Hurricane Wilma. Do not be concerned about being at the World during Hurricane season. The CMs were wonderful about keeping us up-to-date on information. On the night before the hurricane actually hit, we were told that the parks would be closed, there would be no bus transportation, and that they wanted us to stay inside our rooms until the storm was over and then at the resort until we received the all-clear. Sounded scary, but well-planned strategies were obviously in place.

We slept through the storm during the night. There was driving wind and rain, but the windows didn't rattle; rooms were tight as a drum. There was no mousekeeping the next day, but they did have CMs come by to pull trash and hand you some new towels.

I was amazed at how quickly they cleaned up the grounds. Employees had everything pretty much back to normal by noon. We wandered into the food court which was busy, but fully-stocked. They even brought Mickey, Minnie, and Pluto to sit with the kids in the Food Court. It was a great opportunity for one-on-one time with characters!

MK and EPCOT were opened to WDW hotel guests only by 3:00, and they even stayed open until midnight. We went to MK. CMs were unbelievably friendly. There was every imaginable character out and about. Bands were playing everywhere. It seemed like a party just for us.

Food was available in the park, but in limited supply and only in certain restaurants/counter services. EPCOT ran out of food and stories from there were not as favorable.

We had all services by the next day. Port Orleans front desk personnel were wonderful about getting guests in/out of town and helping with flights.

The experience was very positive! I wouldn't ever spend the extra money to upgrade to a deluxe resort. Good things come in small packages!
 
28 out of 30 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 7 to June 15, 2006
Reviewer: coachyo Lakewood, CO     August 25, 2006
Fantastic!!! I was a little nervous of how my DD's 10 & 13 would take to the place as our '04 trip we stayed at AKL and that was great. DD's loved the place and I think may have enjoyed the overall experience at POR better thank AKL. I asked for and got bldg 14! We also got a corner room which was nice with 2 big windows. The room was very spacious and we never felt cramped and we had a lot of luggage. We used all the drawer space and had filled the hang up area. I called down and requested more hangers which they happily brought right away. The bathroom was of good size and the curtain was nice for when the girls wanted privacy or for me when I wanted privacy getting ready. The fridge was of nice size and held a bottle of wine and a few cold beers and some water bottles. The table and chair area was a little cramped if you wanted 2 people to sit at it with both chairs. I hung a closet door shoe organizer off the side of the tv cabinet and put shoes and misc stuff in it. That helped keep the clutter out of thte way. We were on the 2nd floor with a standard view which was just fine. We could see the main bldg and the parking lot but there was plenty of very nice landscaping between us. I would not pay for a waterview here as the grounds are so lush and beautiful. If I was on the manor side I might as the landscaping seemed less. Still very nice but much more open so I think your standard views would be much more of a parking lot. We paid about $139 for our rooms. We really enjoyed the pool area and liked the fact it was open so late. We took several evening swims and met some really nice people from NO with 2 DD's the same age as ours and they really hit it off. The check-in was very simple and easy and the parking for our rental was nice and close. The food court was great! We were on the dining plan and they had just started the addition of all the new things you could get with a snack!!! Our 1st day we hung out and went for a snack at the food court. WWWOOOOOOHHHOOOOO the best snack on all of DW property is right here. The homemade icecream sandwich! You can feed a few of the smaller countries in the world with this thing. You pick your own cookies and then you can pick 2 flavors of ice cream and then they heap it on. Boy howdy are they good and filling. Using the dining plan and staying here is a great option. We really enjoyed it. We did not ever use the bus system so I can't give a much info. We never did see any big crowds waiting to head out to the parks but at night there were long lines to get back. The pool area is really nice and the bar with it was good. We made use of that and the hot tub a few times. The quiet pools looked very nice. We did not swim but I did do laundry and hung out a little while I waited. I wouldn't mind having one near by my room.

I would highly recommend this resort.

Good luck to all and enjoy, YO
 
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/16-23/2006
Reviewer: Jodi Lawndale, CA (20 min from Disneyland)     August 24, 2006
We just got back from a week at Riverside, and we loved it. Even thought the resort was filled to capacity, it was still a peaceful, serene retreat after hectic days at the parks. The kids loved seeing lizzards, frogs and rabbits along the paths. The scenery is beautiful.

We requested building 14, but it was unavailable, and we got a room in the back side of Parterre Place. It was quite a walk after a long day, but not nearly as far as some buildings. The room was nice, and clean. It was more spacious than I had expected based on some reviews. There was a seating area and a dressing area with a curtain for privacy. The rate was $155 per night.

The pools were great. The kids loved the slide on Old Man Island, and I enjoyed having the "quiet"pool close to the room, when we just wanted a quick dip to cool off.

The service in the lobby and general store was quick and friendly. The only problem we had was with the service in the food court. We only ate there twice, but the service both times was very slow, and rather unfriendly. One CM at the bakery section was downright rude.

All in all, we loved POR, and will likely be back.
 
17 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 26 - June 9 2006
Reviewer: karen humphries Aylesford, England, UK     June 24, 2006
Great hotel, kids (6 & 8) loved the pool. Stayed in building 1, (1319) on 3rd floor, nice & quiet. Not too far to the pool and reception. The ice cream cookie sandwiches are great (coming from England we do not have that over here). Mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary whilst staying at hotel and could they recommend anywhere to eat, but reception seemed unhelpful in that matter. Transportation ok, but if you do extra magic morning hours, better to use your car as you get to park at the front car parks. Wildlife interesting, saw rabbits, lizards and a snake coming back from the pool. Mousekeepers ok, only one towel animal during our 2 week stay. The soaps and shampoo came in handy for gifts back home though! Would return if we could afford it.
 
18 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 8th-15th 2006
Reviewer: hansel1 Arkansas     February 27, 2006
This was our first trip to disney since the opening of epcot way back when. We booked a king bed non-smoking room with no preferences. We were given a corner room in building 28 of alligator bayou.

The room was clean and pleasant with a comfortable bed. We were never rushed out by mousekeeping so they could clean our room and we were supplied with plenty of soap and towels.

The room was decorated nicely with a color tv and internet connection. A mini-fridge and safe were also located in the room for our convenience. A curtain partitions the sink area from the rest of the room if modesty is needed. I found the chairs uncomfortable as they were a rustic wood decor with hard backs and arms. The room would have been much more comfortable to have a couch to lounge on. We used the bed for a seating area most of the time.

We requested one wake-up call and we recieved it promptly from the character STITCH.

Room service was unavailable, but you could have pizza delivered.

The food court had a wide variety of things to sample along with the usual burger and fries. The drink station was nice with hot chocolate and coffee along with soft drinks.

The scenery was beautiful and the short walks to the bus stops or food court were pleasant. The buses were never full heading to the parks, but at park closing they usually were.

The staff was courteous and the price was reasonable at $155 per night.

We tried out the pool which felt luke warm but not really heated as claimed. The one hot tub seemed to always have someone in it even late at night.

We used the laundry facility located at the west quiet pool and found it very clean, but bring your quarters as the dryers took two cycles for each load to dry.

We have already booked our Jan '07 trip and we are staying at Port Orleans Riverside.
 
84 out of 85 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 18-25, 2005
Reviewer: Marvo     January 02, 2006
PROS: For me the biggest plus was the food court. The well-themed (a "working" mill) POR food court was very large with a very high ceiling which resulted in quiet, peaceful, spacious dining areas. Also, excellent choice of food options. We had breakfast each day at the food court. We also had two evening food court meals during the stay. (My most recent Disney stay prior to POR was Caribean Beach Resort. I loved most things about that moderate resort, however the CBR food court was so cramped and noisy that I did not want to stay there again.) Next, I really liked the decor of the main POR building areas (lobby, store, check-in) both inside and out which created the river dock and landing effect. Third "Pro" for POR is the "southern" landscaping. Finally, the boat to Downtown Disney was very enjoyable and a nice benefit.

Cons: Not really any. The deluxe hotels do have larger rooms and queen size beds which are nice. However our POR room was very clean and comfortable. For the savings in cost vs a deluxe and the other Pros above, I would stay at POR again.
 
81 out of 83 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Dec 2 - 10, 2005
Reviewer: 58Chet Salem, Massachusetts     December 17, 2005
We stayed at Riverside and unfortunately so did the cheerleader convention. Never again! 1000 Screaming teens until 11pm every nite - couldn't get near the pools or the food court. They even put soap in the fountains. It's a shame to spend all that money to stay at Riverside and have the conditions no better than at an All Star. We walked to the French Quarter where it was peaceful and quiet! No Teens!! The only plus was that we got towel sculptures every day - snowman, candy cane and wreaths!
 
12 out of 38 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Dec 4-10, 2005
Reviewer: Bizzybop NE Ohio     December 15, 2005
This was the second time we have stayed at French Quarter. Checked-in at 3:30pm on Sunday with virtually no waiting after using Magical Express from MCO! We were given a room on the third floor of building 3 - it was VERY quiet and just a short walk to everything. The food court is kind of small, but adequate, and they have a kid sized table with crayons and coloring pages for the kids, which is really nice so moms and dads can sit and relax for a few minutes. Busy in the mornings, but we always found a table. Pool and hot tub areas are well maintained - it was on the cool and cloudy side that week, we only spent an hour or so one day in the pool. Busses came frequently, and since they usually stopped at FQ before going to Riverside, we never had a problem getting on. The boat to DT Disney is nice - it does run in the rain, just be forewarned that there are no plastic sides or anything on the boat and you will probably get wet unless you can sit in the very middle. That week was also Pop Warner week and ended up being very busy at all the parks (in my opinion). We saw just a few families at FQ who were with cheerleading squads, but no big groups of unruly kids (which has been reported at most of the value resorts). Our room was clean and made up nicely every day, but a disappointment to me was no towel animals. Maybe our mousekeeper didn't know how to do it ... I really like FQ - it's a small, compact and very relaxing resort.
 
24 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page