Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Port Orleans Resorts Port Orleans Resorts
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 66 ( Displaying Reviews: 41 - 50 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/17/04 - 12/22/04
Reviewer: marksullivan4 (mark_sullivan4@excite.com) Louisville, Kentucky     December 27, 2004
Riverside Resort
3 adults, 2 children, 1 room

We are Disney veterans but had never stayed in Disney Riverside before but when offered an excellent room rate of $94 a night during the holiday week we bit and off we went.

We arrived on 12/17 and were greeted with long lines at check-in but the line when quickly and while I watched our two kids my wife and mother-in-law moved through the line quickly and without hassle. Our room was on the second floor of building 46 in the Alligator Bayou area which was beutiful but...was a winding walk from the lobby and back especially when you followed the signs from the lobby to the room. My MIL has to use a cane and would highly advise on any future visits that if you have issues with walking ask for a room near the lobby. We opted not to get the unlimited soft drinks b/c of this distance and the fact of our short visit.

The room was nice and we liked the two sinks but did not have enough counter space for all of the sundries we brought along. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were so soft that my wife and I both had headaches waking up the next morning. She asked for additional pillows from housekeeping and the nights after this we slept well. Housekeeping did an adequate job of cleaning but it was not spectacular.

The first night we ate at Boatwrights and enjoyed appetizers and tried to relax after a busy day of travel. The food and service was excellent but we only had appetizers and could not vouch for the entire menu. We ate at the food court twice and were not happy with the service or the food selections at Riverside, the first time the eggs were runny and the bacon limp and the second time we got to the food court right at the switchover from breakfast to lunch and the workers seemed confused about what was going on and it took about 15-20 minutes to get the food. On our last day we took the time to go to the food court at Port Orleans and ate until we couldn't eat no more. WORD OF ADVICE: if you stay at Riverside...eat at Port Orleans food court, it is worth the boat ride.

Transportation to and from was great and we did not have to wait for buses very long at all even at the outlying depots. We found the travel distances very quick and the frequency of the buses adequate also.

One of the nice features we took advatage of this visit was the wheelchair rental available available at the hotel and not needing to rent a wheelchair at each park. This ended up being an absolute necessity for getting around the hotel itself b/c of the large site so we rented it the second night and kept it for the rest of our stay. It ended up easier to push by mother-in-law around the parks instead of her avoiding running over several people with the electric cart.

Overall, Riverside was a great place to stay, mind you it is no Contemporary, but if you want to relax and not concentrate on the parks as much, this is the hotel for you. As we visit more and more the less I am interested in spending every minute in the parks but want to spend more time at the hotel and this will be my choice for a longer stay.

 
22 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 29, 2004 - Nov 1, 2004
Reviewer: MiMa Derry, New Hampshire     November 05, 2004
We stayed in the Alligator Bayou section of Port Orleans, Riverside (building 16, standard). This was our first time staying in a moderate resort; we are working our way up the ladder, we have stayed at all four value resorts (All Star Sports three times) and really liked them. We got a great discount rate of $55/night for POR, who can beat that?!

We absolutely fell in love with the surroundings. Once we stepped through the doors of the main building, we felt like we had been transported in time to New Orleans (or what we figured New Orleans would look like!). The walk to building 16 was confusing though and we had to turn around once because we were heading in the wrong direction even with a map in our hands. I didn't mind because I was busy taking in all the beauty. The building was set back with shrubbery all around and it was no more than two story's high so you had to walk up to the second floor which if your luggage is heavy can be cumbersome. The rooms were bigger than the value resorts and very comfortable. The furniture was rustic. The beds were very comfortable and we had a trundle bed for the four year old. It was nice to have two seperate sinks too. The bathroom was the same size as the value reort though. But we had a coffee pot and coffee which was very tasty. I loved this because I am a little grouchy before my shot of caffeine. It was close to the bus stops and a quiet pool. They have a bigger pool which was a little further away with a big slide, but I liked the quiet pool and had it all to myself most of the time. The laundry facilities were right there too. I cannot begin to tell you how much we loved this resort. It had so much more to offer than the value resorts; we fished, we rented a boat, we rented a bike built for four people, we took the river boat to Downtown Disney, we fed the ducks, we did all this and still had time for the parks. I never thought it mattered where you stayed before because you were only in your room such a short time, but I was wrong. You need at least a full day just for the resort alone. And we were there for Halloween and the games and crafts they offered the young children were awesome. What a great resort! And it was nice to be the second spot at the bus stop at the end of a very long day! The only one thing I will note is that the customer service people seemed a little less likable than those at the value resorts.
 
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 16-23, 2004
Reviewer: Klutch Colorado Springs, Colorado     October 24, 2004
For the money, you cant beat Port Orleans French Quarter. I cant imagine getting a better value at an on-property Walt Disney World resort. This was especially true for my trip which was a 7 for 4 package (7 nights for the price of 4).

My party was seven family members who shared two rooms with a door between them. I never did figure out the difference between connecting and adjoining. If you want two rooms with a door between them, I recommend requesting just that (although, its not guaranteed).

We arrived on a Saturday around 3:20 PM. POFQ has an area next to the entrance for Bell Services. This is quite nifty and avoids the proverbial jungle of luggage in the lobby area. The Bell staff quickly and efficiently stacked our NUMEROUS bags onto carts and put our groceries into plastic bins. We were handed claim checks and instructed to call when we were ready for our bags.

The line for check in was short. Our CM seemed somewhat new and a bit slow. She was very nice and eventually got us everything we needed. I opted to add the option of charging up to $1000 between the four card keys for my room (my kids are 16 and 21 and very trustworthy). My dad opted not to do so for his room.

Our rooms faced away from the pool into a courtyard with a small fountain. This was a very nice, quiet area. We had requested building five and refrigerators. We got building two which is pretty much the same; its just on the opposite side of the pool. There were no refrigerators. The resort is in the process of permanently installing refrigerators in each room. They will be available at no extra cost. We requested our bags and refrigerators and were told it would be about 20 minutes. We didnt really need them so I asked just to leave them inside. The bags showed up just as we were leaving and we tipped the guy who delivered them. When we returned from the parks later that evening, we had a refrigerator.

The rooms at POFQ arent very large, but adequate. A curtain provides a separate dressing area which my wife really liked. There are two sinks in this area. The tub/shower and toilet are in another area. The rooms are surprisingly quiet. My parents and brother were directly next door making a lot of noise and all I could hear was an occasional, muffled toilet flush. Sometimes I could hear people above stomping about. Otherwise, it was perfectly silent.

The pool at POFQ is great. Its set up mostly for kids, but adults can also have a good time. Theres plenty of room. The famous dragon slide empties into an area by itself and doesnt intrude on swimmers elsewhere. There are two life guards on duty during the day who are always vigilant. The pool bar is open daily and closes around 4:00 PM when the Scat Cats lounge opens inside. The resort provides large bins for clean pool towels and several bins for returning used towels. I used the pool once and the hot tub once and each time there were no towels available. I recommend grabbing pool towels early in the day and saving them for later.
As for the hot tub/spa, well, its way too crowded. Just about everybody wants to soak in the hot tub after a long day at the parks and they all bring their small children. Every time I went to the hot tub it was full of little kids splashing about in their floaties; even after midnight. I suppose they have just as much right to use it as I do. On the other hand, the resort has a small wading pool just for small children. In my opinion, there should be a hot tub just for grown-ups. More often than not I was unable to use the hot tub because it was full. This was the only thing I didnt like about POFQ.

The Sassagoula Float Works and Food Factory is a top-notch food court. Dont expect gourmet meals, but otherwise, itll do ya. There are four stations: 1 dessert, 1 entrée area, 1 burger/dog, and 1 pizza/spaghetti. The food court opens for beverages at 6:00 AM. They start serving food at 7:00. Like all such establishments, if you get there between 7 and 8:30 you can have a quiet, leisurely breakfast. If you wait until 9:00 the place will be mobbed. The lines for checking out were never very long during my stay. Since the facility is large and very open it gets very noisy. There are tables outside where you can eat in peace. I ordered two large pizzas one night for dinner. They were ready in about 10 minutes. They werent the best pizza Id ever eaten, but not bad either. Room delivery for pizza is available. Much has been made over refillable mugs. Heres the deal; technically, you can only use the mug you bought during your stay. In reality, you can fill a 2 liter beer stein with juice, coffee or soday and nobody would notice.

POFQs gift shop is pretty big, pretty well equipped and pretty convenient. It was open 8:00 AM to 11:00 PM daily during my stay. If you buy anything in the parks or at Downtown Disney, you can have it shipped back to your resort where you pick it up at the gift shop the next day (this alone is worth staying on-property!). In addition to numerous gift and clothing items, the store carries juices, soda, and snacks. I didnt see any milk available, but the food quart sells pint cartons.

By adding charging to my room key, I had also added express checkout. I highly recommend doing this. On the day we checked out, the lines in the lobby between 11:30 AM and 1:00 PM were quite large.
 
42 out of 42 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 8-14 2004
Reviewer: pokie413 CT     August 17, 2004
Port Orleans was great! We were here for our honeymoon. Disney sure knows how to treat honeymooners. We were scheduled to have a standard room and they upgrated us to a king room in Acadian House. It was really big. During the hurricane we were kept informed. The pools, dining, and housecleaning staff cannot be beat.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/3 - 7/9/04
Reviewer: marcngin (marcngin@yahoo.com) Richmond, VA     July 13, 2004
We had stayed at the AKL with our first son, and had been at the All Stars and Beach Club before our children were born. The French Quarter looked small and manageable, and we were not disappointed about how easy it was to get around the hotel. We were in bldg. 5, and close to everything, pool, cafeteria, transportation. The PO refill mugs are 12 bucks, but still a great deal if you are there for a few days. My oldest LOVED the pool, Doubloon Lagoon, with the (tame compared to the Beach Club) slide and the alligators. The buses were for the most part very helpful, except for July 3rd, when it took us over an hour to get from DOWNTOWN DISNEY back to the hotel (a five minute drive) Granted, the boats were down.
I'm not an ugly american, but the parks REALLY need to consider adding buses for the disabled specifically, since there were TWO electric wheelchairs on our bus - and the driver had NO CLUE how to secure the vehicles OR how to operate the bus lift. Three days later, we had our own PRIVATE bus TO AND FROM the Magic Kingdom, so you could say it balanced out. Of the four parks, it appears that the MK is the only one that has buses that are dedicated to going to the French Quarter specifically, while the other park's buses go to both the FQ and Riverside. My wife and I couldn't figure out when the FQ was the first stop or when Riverside was, it seems to be at the whim of the driver usually. So be prepared for a FOUR stop trip through Riverside at times when the bus goes to both...
For a moderate resort, you can not beat the French Quarter for its size relative to Riverside (and its FOUR bus stops!!) and of all the resorts I have seen, you can truly be in ANY building and you are close to everything at the resort.
The food selections are pretty good, jambalaya, seafood creole, etc, plus the usual stuff. I will say that we had the meal of our LIVES at BOMA at the AKL (our favorite of all WDW restaurants). Even with special dietary needs, they treated our children like royalty.
Anyway, a great stay at the POFQ, be warned about the park crowds though this time of year, especially the MK, wall to wall (as we knew it would be) but a great time none the less.

One other note about the bus ride from h*ll - I left our bag on the bus with my wife's purse, my digital camera, basically our lives...I ran down to see the bus pulling out, went to the registration desk in a panic, and within 10 minutes, they had my bag at the Pleasure Island bus depot, safe and sound. Now where else in the WORLD (literally) could you hope for an outcome like that? Thanks WDW Transport, you always manage to earn your ears!! : )
 
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/11/2004 - 6/19/2004
Reviewer: andrelaplume East Coast     June 28, 2004
We stayed in Dixie Landings, (Ok Riverside) for the second time this past June. We had stayed here about 4 years ago. CB was sold out. CS was nice but PO really has the most to offer. Our Standard room was #2828 in the Aligator Bayou. It was not too far from the Pool / Food court but with two kids (3 and 8) a little closer would have been better. Our room faced other rooms and a small pond. It was a shaded quiet and lovely area. We were expecting to over look a parking lot. The room itself was very clean and included a trundle bed. Even though there were only four of us the trundle bed came in handy with the kids...though you can not see the TV from this little bed. The room had two sinks separate from the bathing area. There was no curtain in front of the sinks for privacy as they now have in some of the other moderates. These upgrades did not yet make it to PO I guess. The room was always cool, comfortable and quiet. It seams less noise emenated from other rooms than did so at CS, or we just had quieter neighbors. We had a medical fridge. It was a waste and did not get very cold. Disney told us we could have a fridge for $10 a night. I said it should be included in the AAA rate of $140 we were paying. I opted for an extra ice bucket. All pools were we warm and towels were plentiful at the BIG pool. The quiet pool was generally less congested and more quiet. The BIG pool was more crowded but for peak season it was not too bad. We had no trouble getting chairs, even mid day. Generally you could even move your chair to a spot in the shade but bringing a little clip on umbrella might not be a bad idea. Pools were open until midnight and were clean. The rooms were also kept clean, we were very satisfied with our maid service. We left the room at a different time each day and the room was always ready when we returned; if only a few hours later. The staff, (maids, bell hop service and food service) were always smiling and polite. This was a big change from our prior off season Disney stays. The bus was a bit a of a hike from our room but they were always timely and generally we were able to get a seat. The drivers were quite friendly. The biggest surprise was that most of the help actually were able to speak understandable English, again in opposition to what we found on our last trip. Check In and Out was quick, no waits were encountered when we checked in at noon Friday; our room was even ready though not in Magnolia Bend where we requested. Still the Bayou was nice. Several times I mentioned we were in for my wife's 40th Birthday. We got no 'favors' of any kind. I had read about a free baloon or upgrade offered at times; I guess that only applies when you stay at the BIG $300 resorts. We did the Surrey bikes for $20 a half hour. The ride is a bit tireing do to a bit of a hill as you round the resort. We did a horse and buggy ride ($30 for a half hour trip). It was very nice though a bit expensive. The fishing was fun and a deal at $3.75 for a half hour, pole included. While fishing an otter jumped up and ran around and a turtle was near by as well. The fish were always biting when we used bread as bait. The kids loved the fishing. The kids also enjoyed the Pools. We went down to the French Quarter pool one day and ate lunch there. It was very nice but the Dragon pool/slide/waterfalls are nearly as nice (in my opinion)
as nice as Riverside; though the French Quarter did seam less crowded and more relaxed. We lived in the food court where we found the food variation fine. The food itself was fairly reasonably price and ususally tastey. Many times my petite wife ordered herself a kids meal or we split an entre. The food court itself is very nice and has a TV. The legos at the once lego table has been replaced with crayons and coloring books to occupy the kids while Mom and Dad enjoy their meal. We used our old Dixie refillable mugs and bought one ones for the kids. They said it was ok to do so. The boat to Downtown was quite pleasent and the driver pointed out many things along the way. it made a nice diversion from the bus rides.

The only bad part of our trip was the emense crowds at the parks. We will never do the parks again at this time of year but might return if only to enjoy the resort. Disney's Fastpass stinlks as far as we are concerned. You get there at 9am, run to an attraction and then need to get a fastpass because the lines are so long. So now its 11am and the fastpass says to return at 5pm So much for the trip back to the resort for a dip in the pool. FastPass appears geared towards keeping you off rides and shopping in the parks. It should be called FastPa$$!! We boycotted Disney park souvineers as much as possible!

PO has many activities (Bikes, boats, fishing, Theme pool at Riverside, Theme pool at French Quarter, walking trails), it has decent varied fairly priced food at the food court, a nice looking sitdown resturaunt and a great gathering place where a dude appeared many nights to play a piano for a sing-a-long. It also has decent transportation to the parks and courteous staff. I think this just may be the best moderate to stay at. I like it better then CS. I'll need to try CB again to know for sure. I hear though that CB makes you pay extra for room closer to the food and pools. I think th efurtherest room at PO is way closer than the furthest at CB. I really was impresee
 
15 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 16 to 25, 2004
Reviewer: Susan1950 Central Pennsylvania     June 21, 2004
Spent 1 hr at the Pop Century and relocated to the French Quarter, couldn't take noise and filth of PC, annual passholder rate $84. Room newly refurbished, beautiful, quiet, could not hear a peep from either side or above us. Grounds are beautiful, impeccably taken care of, room comfy. Staff very nice, buses prompt, overall I love the Port Orleans, no matter which area I have stayed in. It is a great value and you will not be disappointed with this hotel or any of the others.
 
11 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   6/10/04 to 6/14/04
Reviewer: hkordsmeier Arkansas     June 15, 2004
I wanted to express how disappointed I was in the Port Orleans Riverside Resort. We arrived as it started to rain. They told us that they would keep our bags until we asked for them. We wanted to eat before going to our room. Once we were finshed eating we returned to the luggage hold and asked if they could take us and our luggage to our room. (it was raining very hard at this point) They said that they weren't running the golf carts in the rain and we could either wait or walk. There were nine people in our party including three children under 6 years old, but we decided to walk. It took us a good 30 minutes to find our room (the paths are like following a maze). We were soaked and had nothing to change into because our bags weren't with us. After calling the check in three times (and being told that it was just rain) 5 hours later we got our luggage.
One of our cards to our rooms didn't work and when we asked to get another one they blamed us for it not working and made it very difficult to get it working. The cleaning crews were the only people that actually treated us good. Our magical adventure turned out to be very disappointing when it came to our lodging and the management.
The rooms weren't bad. We enjoyed the refill cups from the resort resturant. You need to try the family bicycle ride. It was kind of pricy but fun.
 
6 out of 31 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 2002
Reviewer: Princess Washington state     June 07, 2004
I fell in love with Port orleans riverside. The rooms although small were always clean and ready when ever I retuned. The staff were friendly. The gift shop was great
they always had anything I needed. I like the fact that the
laundery was right by the pool. So i could swim and do the laundery. I would really like to stay here again.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11/9/02-11/14/02
Reviewer: katmac974 Boston, Ma     April 08, 2004
My husband and I went to Disney on our Honeymoon with our three childen. We had been to Disney before, but always stayed off property. We had a very LONG day prior to check in, as nothing had gone right. We were late for check in, so I called ahead and spoke with a very nice woman, who pre-checked us in, when we got to the hotel all we had to do was pick up our keys! The room was very nice, very clean, and comfortable! We found it easy to get to the Bus System. The cost was $139 per night, I believe we did the Dreams Package. The only complaint I had was during the reservation process. At the time our youngest was three years old, and as a money saving attempt, we wanted to stay at the Sports Resort... this was not possible because the rooms only hold four people. Upon explaining that one of the children was three and would not require his own bed the only suggestion the gentleman made was that I could get 2 rooms. I had just explained that the children were 3, 7, and 8...what was he thinking!? So the "family" resorts at a lower price really aren't that family friendly!
 
6 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page