Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Port Orleans Resorts Port Orleans Resorts
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 66 ( Displaying Reviews: 61 - 66 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11/23/02-12/7/02
Reviewer: Susan1950 The Pennsylvania Dutch Country     December 10, 2002
After faxing a request for a quiet room with a waterfront view, we arrived at the Riverside and were pleased with the room assigner's choice of 3rd floor Parterre Place. Our room was spotless, the grounds pristine, and the foodcourt had great food for reasonable prices. We have stayed at the Wilderness Lodge several times, but found this resort to offer much more in terms of the grounds, lots of space to walk, and quiet solitude away from the parks. The horse and carriage rides at night, as well as the riverboat to the Downtown Disney area at sunset are so romantic. Bus service was excellent - no more than 5 minute wait. Our annual passholder rate was $79 a night plus tax. This is now our resort of choice. We walked through the Bayou, but it wasn't for us - we liked the Southern Plantation Mansion. I think kids would love the Bayou or the French Quarter (we have stayed there previously too). I was worried after reading these reviews that we may have made a mistake, but to each his own - we love this resort!!
 
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/2002
Reviewer: garettdoyle (garettdoyle@yahoo.com) Golden, CO     November 12, 2002
After enjoying my last visit to Dixie Landings (1995), I recommended it to my family for a mini-family reunion. There was a total of 14 of us (6 kids and 8 adults) We had a total of 4 rooms in Building 17 (Bayou). We had a great rate of $85 per night. All this said, we had a great time and everything went very well for us.

Highlights:
-Great rate
-Beautiful grounds
-Good food at the Food Court and Boatright's
-Great transportation. Can't remember ever waiting more than 5 minutes for a bus.

Lowlights:
-Mold on bathroom ceiling
-Small TV (only 20")
-Long walk to Food Court and main buildings
-One of the family member's had to move rooms because it smelled so bad. The plumbing was leaking onto the carpet. Disney moved them and then put another guest into that room.

I am not sure I would stay at Port Orleans (Riverside) again unless I received an exceptionally good deal. The rooms are not worth the rack rate of $150. Basically, Disney needs to remodel the rooms and that would fix some of the problems. I know CBR is under renovation, I hope PO is next.

But for me, I am tired of walking so far to get a cup of coffee in the morning. The Food Court food is not bad, but it is always so busy. It is hard to get a table. The beverage bar is always a zoo and a mess (sticky and spills). They only have two hot cocoa machines. One was broke the entire week we were there. The other cocoa machine was almost always out. So I would have to hunt someone down to refill it. The food court fails to understand that a significant amount of the guests are getting their food to go. Why don't they offer to bad it? or give you beverage carriers? It is a bit a of walk back to the rooms. Plus they don't have condiments to go. It is a huge pain to carry ketchup and syrup back (plus bugs get in it). The food actually was pretty good. The prices were typical disney prices. The refillable mug program is not a bad deal (remember that you will need to walk!). The mugs themselves are not all that attractive.

It seems you are always better off staying at the newest Disney Resorts. They are in the best condition. I stayed at the CBR when it first opened and everything was very nice. If you are looking for a nice moderate resort, you might try the Coronado Springs Resort as it is somewhat new. You can cut your walk down to the main buildings by staying in the French Quarter. Understand that it took me 20-30 minutes round trip to walk by myself to the main building, get a cup of coffee and return to my room. If you stay on the 2nd floor, keep in mind there are no elevators. So I had to take my two sleeping kids out of their strollers and carry them up the stairs everyday. We also had a crib in our room, this made the room feel even smaller. The room size was manageable but not ideal.

We had a nice visit. I would still recommend the resort but just know what you are getting. The setting and grounds are very nice. Keep in mind that this is not a full service resort. Make sure you understand the differences (i.e. room service, room size, resort layout). As far as room views go, I would recommend the standard view. We spent so little time in our rooms and when we did it was dark. The rooms don't have balconies, so I am not sure how you would get much out of a view.
 
7 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   10/11/02-10/19/02
Reviewer: domogala New Hampshire     October 28, 2002
The hotel room was dirty (dusty on entertainment center top, rug on all the edges was caked with dust, cobwebs on ceiling in bathroom, mildew on bathroom tiles, air conditioner emitted musty odor). The room was never recleaned during our stay which was 8 days (vacuumed, dusted, or floor washed). The bus transportation was extremely slow. Most of the time we waited 30-60 minutes for a bus. The pools in Port Orleans were nice and the kids had fun on the pool slides. The ferry boat to Downtown Disney ran on time and was able to keep the wait down to 20 minutes. Boatwright's food was good but expensive. The food court was okay but boring and overpriced.
 
8 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   9/16/02-9/21/02
Reviewer: WildGrits (wild_g_r_i_t_s@hotmail.com) Cape Fear, North Carolina     September 22, 2002
We reserved this resort with the Fall Fantasy Package at $1800 for two adults and two children. Our room was very clean, the grounds were pristine, and the resturants were very nice. But, the buses were terrible. Being that we went during value season, I was tottally surprised that we ended up standing on EVERY bus we took. We stayed in room 9426 in the Oak Manor. We had paid for a water view and had asked for a room on the first floor facing the river, ended up on the 3rd floor facing a tree with the laundry building/pool behind it. On the upside, the room was very sound proof. In all fairness to this resort, the themeing was lost on me because I live in the south and have a yard full of Azalea and Magnolias. If we stay inside again, I think we will go back to the Carribean because we all liked that better.
 
9 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/1/01-6/3/01
Reviewer: atmoure Florida     August 20, 2002
This is the closest moderate hotel to the Magic Kingdom, so bus rides were shorter and hassle-free. The pool was a great respite from the heat in the park. Our 2yr.old enjoyed it and the playground tremendously. The boat ride to Downtown Disney was very convenient, although DD itself was horribly packed--not worth the visit. We stayed at the French Quarter Resort. Very charming.
 
14 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   09/10/01-09/17/01
Reviewer: justclem Deptford, New Jersey     June 15, 2002
We stayed at Port Orleans Riverside Alligator Bayou Building 28. We had a standard corner room which was big enough to fit 5 people. The rate per night was $119 through our travel agent. The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. We were right across from a quiet pool, which was open 24 hours. The main swimming area, Ol'e Man Island, was a 5 minute walk from our room and featured a swimming pool with a slide, a kids pool and a hot tub. It never seemed crowded and was opened until midnight. The sliding board was a great for kids, as was the kid's pool and playground which was located right next to the main pool. The Food Court there was great. They had everything from Nachos to Philadelphia cheesesteaks. The bakery there had excellent goodies like donuts and lots of different cakes. We ate most of our meals here. We did eat at Boatwrights Dining Hall one night and the food there was great too.It wasn't too expensive, about $50 for two adults including drinks. There is a lounge which offers live entertainment and has a big screen TV. There is an arcade with alot of games and a man who does charachters. You can also rent Surrey bikes or regular bikes and tour the grounds. They have a place to go fishing and a boat ride that takes you to Downtown Disney. We used the busses to get to and from the parks and never had a problem. The busses were never packed and we always got a seat. The only bad thing about the busses was that Port Orleans was the furthest depot at all the parks which wasn't too big a deal. We never waited more than 5 minutes for a bus. We did try to get a bus back to the hotel from Animal Kingdom one morning and were told that busses didn't run back to the hotels until after noon, but the CM's called us a special bus and got us back. The parks were not crowded at all and we had no problem with security. The lines weren't long and it only took the security people 5 seconds to search our bags. We never waited more than 10 minutes for any ride. We didn't use Fastpass because all stand by lines were no more than 10 minutes. It did ,however, rain every day we were there, so it was kind of chilly being wet from the outside and then going into the air conditioning on the inside. If you are deciding to go in September, I would definitely bring a umbrella or rain jacket. In my opinion, this resort has a ton to offer both couples and families. There is a lot to do, even if you decide not to go to the parks.
 
135 out of 144 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  << 1 ... 6 7
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page