Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Port Orleans Resorts Port Orleans Resorts
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 66 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 31-September 8, 2014
Reviewer: bkeith Dallas, TX     January 18, 2014
We loved it! It was perfect for a family of five people. The pull-down Murphy bed was excellent for our third child. We paid only $130 in the value fall season for a preferred location room. The service was great and they gave us a free upgrade from a standard room. We had the free meal plan with the free refillable cups. The food court was the best out of any of the six Disney hotels we have stayed at. The main pool was big enough, the slide was fun for our boys, and the poolside entertainment was an added bonus. The bus service was fine with the exception of trying to get to the Animal Kingdom Lodge for breakfast at Boma in the morning. The lack of any good bus option to get there caused us to be late for our reservation and almost late for our plane home. The boat service to Downtown Disney was efficient and helpful. An interesting entertainment option was the nightly appearance of an energetic pianist in the food area. Huge crowds gathered each night to hear him. All in all, it was a great place to stay and we will definitely be back for more in the future!
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/10/2011 - 1/20/2011
Reviewer: Minnie Dress Oregon     January 31, 2011
Right when we arrived at this Riverside resort it echoed "Bayou!" The room was pretty clean. (They need to clean the bedside drawers though, the kids found a wrapper to something bad right off the bat.) But I still was pleased with the size and decor of the our room in Alligator Bayou. The trundle bed was a little hard and would have been too small for anyone over 10 years old. The landscaping is beautiful. The pool on Ol' Man island was good. The busses seemed to come within 15 minutes everytime. The food court was large with a better selection than the other resort food courts we checked out. I still miss the create-your-own pasta with penne and basil along with a sugar cookie. The refillable mug is a must! The Nescafe coffee was so good. And there are pin traders (some with full boards) all around. I don't know what rate we payed with the package, but we booked during a free dining promo which saved us tons and tons of money. The DOWN SIDE is this resort is kinda too big. I tried to request a building close to the lobby but they are now "preferred" and cost an extra fee. I didn't like all the extra walking when I needed something near the main building. And we were not nearly as far as some buildings are! I think next time I may spend a tiny more and stay at the French Quarter. It is smaller and we enjoyed the theming more. Our bus on the way back home pulled into the also-moderate Key West resort, and from what I could see from the outdoor tropical theming there, that might be the place we stay next time. So whatever theme "floats your boat" and how much you want or don't want to walk may help you decide if this is the place for you!
 
19 out of 27 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 6-10, 2010
Reviewer: mickeymom5 North Carolina     September 04, 2010
We are a family of five so we were assigned a room in the Alligator Bayou in Building #37. We had a second floor room and there was no "convenient" staircase to use. We weren't too close to the food court either. However, we were really close to the North Bus Depot. That was really nice.
We enjoyed two suppers at the Food Court. There are a lot of food selections. We especially liked the make-your-own pasta. We also ate breakfast one morning. It was good.
We did not even make it any of the pools so I can't comment on them.
The CM's were great. Housekeeping was great. We would definitely recommend staying here.
 
16 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept 2-Sept 9, 2009
Reviewer: Deb951 Barto, Pa.     October 03, 2009
My husband and I celebrated my birthday at the Port Orleans French Quarter. This was our first visit to this resort. When I called for reservations I requested a water view and a 1st floor room. Our room gave us a great view of the river and it was in building 6. The area was quiet and a short walk to everything. This was our 4th trip to Disney World and we both agreed the best yet. The housekeeping services were excellent. WE want to thank Maria for a great job. She kept us supplied with animal towels. My husband ordered flowers to be delivered to the room and the Disney florist sent beautiful orchids. We ate 2 breakfasts at the resort and kept our mugs filled with the delicious ice tea selections. The pool was a must in the afternoons and everyone was friendly. The resort is beautiful and we will definitely stay at French Quarters again.
 
68 out of 72 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 24th - 31st 2009
Reviewer: NoelSBurt Grand Blanc, Michigan     June 24, 2009
Port Orleans French Quarter has become our family's favorite resort. Having stayed at 3 of the 4 moderate resorts, and a value resort this is the first resort we have stayed for a second time.

We booked a standard room early on and then took advantage of the great pay for "4 day get 3 days free deal" plus got the added $200 gift card and a 1 hour arcade card. We requested a room in building 4 - which is where we stayed previously - and our request was fulfilled. We liked that building for 2 reasons: close enough to the food court, and close to the bus stop.

The size of the resort suits us - not overwhelming - but quaint. The themeing is wonderful with its mature landscape and narrow New Orleans streets. We like walking around and hearing the soft sounds of jazz music in the air. Also the option of being able to take a leisurely boat ride to and from Downtown Disney is a plus. We like the themed pool with the large lizard slide and the bayou characters that align it - even though we have yet to use the slide as it has been closed each time we have visited the pool.

The rooms are nicely sized and included a refrigerator which accommodates our family of 4 just right (Dad, Mom & 2 daughters 14 & 10). Our mousekeeping staff did a good job of keeping our room clean but did not provide any Disney Magic this time around (no towel animals or toys arranged special upon our return). The resort staff gets top marks for their friendliness as they were always engaging and we received more than our fair share of beads and coins. We also enjoyed the one-man show who entertained nightly by the food court with singing and instruments.

The food court is decorated with hanging Mardi Gras items and is small but fits with the size of the resort. I'm sure during the busy season it could be a challenge to find a table. We recognized many of the staff we had seen from our previous visit and they were cordial.

Port Orleans French Quarter sits close to Downtown Disney and it makes it conveniently located for most of Disney World locations. The longest trip by bus is to the Animal Kingdom which takes about 20 minutes. Bottom line, for price, convenience, and themeing our family thinks it is one of the best resorts and we will most likely be returning there for our next stay.

 
43 out of 43 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/17/09-4/18/09
Reviewer: mickeymom5 North Carolina     May 03, 2009
We really liked the POFQ. The grounds and exterior of the resort are super! The interior of the room looked a little beat up, but it was very clean. Buses were prompt. We would definitely stay here again. It was so peaceful to come back to this resort after a long day at the parks. Beignets are awesome! We were in Building #3 (standard room). We had a great view of the courtyard and water fountain. We requested a pack-n-play through on-line check-in. It was not there when we went to our room, but after a quick phone call it was promptly brought to our room. We would definitely stay here again!
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/30-12/6/2008
Reviewer: Ripley68 Huntsville, AL     December 10, 2008
The resort was beautiful and we loved the amenities. Son especially loved the fishing. We were housed in Parterre place (9757). Room had plenty of room and I liked the set up. The reason for 3 stars is completely because of mousekeeping. They did a horrible job. They never cleaned the sinks or tub (I know this because I deliberately left the coffee pot on the sink to see if they would clean). They didn't vacuum or mop -(I know this because a magazine subscription card was on the floor by the garbage can for 2 days - again deliberately). One night my son had an accident and they didn't take the soiled sheet away when they cleaned.

My in-laws were below us and were very happy with their mousekeeper, so we just got the luck of the draw I guess.
 
21 out of 23 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 15,2003
Reviewer: JEANYLASER34 MIAMI, FLORIDA     November 23, 2008
Our family loves the Port Orleans French Quarter! It is awesome with the sights and sounds of New Orleans! and the music of New Orleans to dance too! and the Jazz Cat is awesome to listen the blues! My heart is hurt when they sings the blues! But! The shops and Dining looks awesome! The Intire Family wanted to go back to the Port Orleans French Quarter once again.
 
7 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/24 - 10/30/08
Reviewer: virginiamere Annapolis, Maryland     November 10, 2008
My husband and I just returned from our visit to Walt Disney World, where we stayed at Port Orleans Riverside Resort. While my husband visited Riverside several times in the past (when it was "Dixie Landings"), as well as being a cast member through the College Program, it was my first time to have an true WDW vacation that involved an on-property stay (my other time at WDW was a two day stay with my sister, at which time we stayed at an inexpensive hotel off site).

I was quite pleased with our stay at Riverside, even though I arrived as a skeptic after reading all the reviews! We stayed in the Alligator Bayou portion of the resort (strangely enough, my husband has never stayed in Magnolia Bend, always in Alligator Bayou). We had about a 5 minute moderate to fast-paced walk from the hotel lobby/dining areas, across the bridge to Old Man Island, and across another bridge before arriving at our building, #37. The walk seemed annoying at first (I was grateful we utilized Disney's Magical Express so that our bags would be delivered to our door) with my carry on bag in the humidity of the night, but it wasn't a big deal and was a quaint and attractive walk overall (except in the rain!).

Our room was well-cleaned every night, never noticed any issues with that. We even arrived "home" to find a happy 1st anniversary card from Prince Charming and Cinderella the 1st night, then one from Mickey and Minnie on the 2nd night! Always had plenty of towels and our king-sized bed was always turned down beautifully. We even received new bottles of Mickey shampoo and soap....even though we clearly were stashing it away (for stocking stuffers!) and using the toiletries we brought!

We ate at the Rivermill food court area each morning for breakfast, using the Deluxe Dining Plan. This entitled us to 2 beverages each and one entree for breakfast (1 entree, 1 beverage, 1 desert for lunch or dinner). We got the bounty breakfast most mornings, decent food, great beverage selection. LOVED the yogurt/cereal bar that I finally tried the last morning there! The deluxe plan was a little confusing at first and we wished we could have traded one of our two allotted breakfast beverages for fruit (they let us once or twice, but some cashier cast members were a little cranky when we tried it), but.....oh well.

As far as transportation goes, we utilized two of the four Riverside stops -- the South Depot stop when we went straight from the dining area to the parks, the North Depot stop when we went from our room (it was a 1 minute walk, typically uncrowded!)

We tried out Old Man Island and the massive pool complex one night -- hot tub was a little crowded but the temperature was perfect! The pool was very well designed and we enjoyed dodging children at 10pm -- seriously, we had enough room to enjoy ourselves without being disturbed :)

All in all, I would love to stay there again. Great value for the money. We're thinking about trying out the Yacht Club over by Epcot, but I'll definitely miss the quaintness and value of Riverside!
 
29 out of 29 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   9/8-9/16
Reviewer: reon1301 Cleveland, OH     September 18, 2008
At first view, the resort was clean and tidy. The resort is very large especially long walks necessary to get from Alligator bayou to the lobby of the hotel where food was located. First night found a very moldy shower curtain. When called to replace, Disney promised to replace it the next morning. When returned from the parks, the curtain had not been touched. Spoke to the hotel manager who promised would be replaced the next day. It finally was replaced the following day. The transportation at POR was a nightmare. It had one of the longest lines at Magic Kingdom taking 1 hr 15 minutes to get back to the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel. It was very "Un-Disneyesque". For a better moderate hotel, would highly recommend Coronado Springs Hotel.
 
7 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page