Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Lavish buffet offering wide range of African specialities, along with more familiar offerings.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 34 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct 05
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
Four adults out of five named this their favorite restaurant in our 10 day trip (and we ate at at least 1 table service per day).

The volume of food is, of course, tremendous. There will be something for everyone, even vegetarians. For those less adventurous, there's mac & cheese and chicken strips. The price per person is worth the cost.

I can say that I have never eaten African food and the experience is unlike anything else. It is full of flavor; spicy but not hot. There's also a lot of sweetness, especially with the meats. The salads were different and delicious, and the sweets were truly yummy.

Our server was really nice. He was attentive and inquisitive. As this was our last hurrah of our trip, he chatted with us about our highlights even though he was really busy. He made each table seem like it was his only one of the night.

He helped me pick out a wonderful rooibus tea, and since leaving WDW, I was able to get it at my local store. It is light in taste, red in color, and full of antioxidants. I never would have tried it without his urging.

Service: 5 planets
Price: 4 planets
Food: 4 planets
Atmosphere: 4 planets
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   08/20/2006
Reviewer: Jodi Lawndale, CA (20 min from Disneyland)     August 28, 2006
We went to Boma for dinner. It was crowded (probably because of the free dining plan), but the wait was not too bad, maybe 15 minutes.

My husband was very happy with the selection, as he is adventurous about trying new foods. He said that everything he tries was good, but not extrordinary. The kids stuck with the mac and cheese and chicken wings (which they were very happy with)

I on the onther hand am a pretty picky eater, and had to walk the buffet line a few times before I had the courage to try anything. I ended up having green salad, pasta salad (with curry, which I would not usually eat) some sort of couscous, and falafel. The food was not bad, I ate enough to fill me up, but I guess it just wasn't my cup of tea.

The only desserts that appealed to me and my kids were the chocolate chip cookies, which were good. I also really liked the strawberry/raspberry smoothie that the waiter had recommended.

The service was very good, we did not have to ask for drink refills, they were brought just as we needed them.

I don't think we will go back, but if you are adventurous eaters, you might really enjoy Boma.
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 24, 2006
Reviewer: Jenny Drake Lancaster, TN     July 13, 2006
This was my third trip to Boma with previous visits in December 2005 and the first year it was open. We had ADR for 6:50 and we arrived at 6:30. There was quite a line for checking in. We searched for a seat and found one near the stairs to wait. We were seated at 7:20. the waiting area REALLY needs some work/planning. We counted forty people clustered in the area in front of the bathroom. It clogged the entrance to both the bathroom and the stairs. Clearly the popularity of the restaurant was underestimated when it was built.
Paul was our waiter and he could not have been better. He was attentive and helpful without hovering.
You msut know that I raise and market meat for a living, so I am very much a self proclaimed food snob, especially when it comes to meat. The prime rib served at Boma ranks among the best meats I've ever had. Of course the variety there never fails to fascinate and delight. I just wish I could catch their smoked tomato soup again.
What keeps this great place from earning a '5 planets' from me is the atmosphere, which is outside teh control of Disney. The long wait can be tolerated, but teh waiting area is inexcusable. Crowded, noisy with way too much through traffic. Originally Boma was something of an adult restaurant and it was a welcome break. Small, unsupervised children ran amok during our entire meal. They rudely cut into buffet lines, and once there, understandably couldn't make a decision. We even had kids crawling UNDER our table. This chaos marred and otherwise delightful dining experience.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 2, 2006
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     June 25, 2006
My wife and I decided to leave our kids in the hotel room with a babysitter and go on a "date" by ourselves for breakfast at Boma. Very smart move! The buffet had a great selection with something for everyone, a tremendous omelet-as-you-like-it bar as well as a wonderful assortment of fresh fruits and breads. The quality of the food was excellent, the atmosphere was nice, and the service was great! We will definately eat here again!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 14, 2004
Reviewer: Joanna Virginia     December 02, 2004
We decided to sleep in and do a late breakfast instead of lunch. This buffet was wonderful and everything we had heard about. I had an Omelet with Green & Red Pepper, Onions & Tomato; ½ Grapefruit with Strawberries & Quinoa. The quinoa was lightly sweetened the brown sugar. The potatoes with Afritude...oh they were good. The seasoning was unique and wonderful. I also had some delicious slices of roast pork that had been seasoned with cinnamon and brown sugar. In addition to the eggs, bacon and fruit, DH tried some of the juice punch and also some grapefruit juice. While I love coffee, I have had to cut it from my diet so we both had iced water. We came back here later in the trip. Price for the buffet for 2, including tip was $39.06.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 2004, March 2003, January 2002
Reviewer: tinkertoad Marietta, Georgia     July 24, 2004

We've eaten dinner at Boma at least once a year since it opened and have observed with disappointment the changes in menu variety. This used to be a great place for adults to have a quiet dinner, exotic food and no characters (even though I love the characters). There are still no characters but a lot more families with young children often running into you at the buffet. Our service has always been excellent and the quality of food outstanding. The entree items are no longer unique: roasted chicken, prime rib, carved pork, and bbq salmon. All good and all available elsewhere. The soups, however, are fantastic. Made from scratch and always hot, they are a meal all by themselves. I could eat the gumbo all night! I highly recommend the curry coconut soup! YUM YUM. The watermelon rind salad is cold, crisp, sweet and delicious. The zebra domes are famous and fun but don't skip the bread pudding with sauce anglaise---it's yummy. The waiter suggested we put a few cookies in my purse for a late night snack. For $25 this is an incredible meal deal. For fun, try to get a window table with a good view and a tall peacock chair.

The one time, two years ago that I had breakfast at Boma, everything was excellent. Made to order omelettes could be stuffed with everything you can imagine. Pastries were fresh and tender especially the almond bear claw. The fruit was cold and fresh. African spices and selections abound. At the time I belieive the cost was $15 including beverage.

Boma stays busy and even with PS we have always had to wait.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/23/04
Reviewer: teryl MA     July 13, 2004
Something for everyone-even picky children!

Great atmosphere, friendly and helpful waitstaff and a fabulous VARIETY of delicious new tastes and presentations of food. PLUS Boma has THE BEST desserts-traditional as well as fare not normally found in U.S. restaurants.

Even with PS, we still had to wait 30 min, but it was a party of 8 and we asked to be seated together.
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/24/04
Reviewer: PAOil Pennsylvania     January 30, 2004
This was our best meal at Disney. There are enough unusual foods and recipes that you can "experiment" with new tastes--yet they also have familiar food for those who aren't adventuresome. The staff was the friendliest we encountered and they emailed recipes to us.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/8/04
Reviewer: whopper65 Hershey, PA     January 23, 2004
If you're a meat & potatoes dude, don't try it. But if you like variety, this is a must do. Great service and atmosphere enhance the dining experience. Tasty but not overly spicy describes most unfamiliar dishes. All were explained by the friendly chefs and waiter. Try a little of everything, then go back for more of the things you like. Food pods distinguish Boma from the other WDW buffets, and it seems to heighten the craving for each item. Soups are all great, desserts are very good. We will make this our one repeat each time we visit WDW.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/11/04
Reviewer: Family5LovesDisney New Jersey     January 22, 2004
WOW!!!! We had read all the reviews about Boma before deciding that we must go there and try it for ourselves and we were very happy that we went!!!

The buffet was wonderful!!! Lots and lots to select from. I especially enjoyed the coconut chicken soup, the pork that was marinated in Pepsi, and those pieces of flat bread that you spread with different types of dips. (I had some kind of white bean spread) I even tried some lamb and I have never eaten lamb before.

My children were able to find some pasta and meatballs, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches on zebra bread, and some french fries so they were happy. My youngest son (who is three) couldn't find anything to eat. (he doesn't like jelly.......just peanut butter) But the waitress was wonderful and she offered to bring him out a peanut butter only sandwich so he was happy when that arrived.

The desserts were delicious. I enjoyed the chocolate mouse crunch and the passion fruit meringue torts (a wonderful twist on the traditional lemon ones) My husband enjoyed those zebra things that everyone talks about.

Our bill was about $96 with tip for our party of five (two adults and three children)

On a side note.......our table location was great. I wouldn't have enjoyed it as much if we had to sit in the middle with people walking back and forth to the buffet but we were in the back against a window and it was much less hassled back in that area.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page