Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Lavish buffet offering wide range of African specialities, along with more familiar offerings.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 34 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/30/03
Reviewer: bellefan Upstate NY     July 10, 2003
I can't even begin to stress how wonderful this restaurant was! We had dinner there and luckily made priority seating reservations - there was about 20 people waiting when we arrived but we got seated within 3 mins! The food was amazing - lots of variety and even some staples (fried chicken, mac-n-cheese, etc.). My favorite was the curry salmon and pineapple cheesecake. Pace yourself - you'll want to try everything!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/19/2003
Reviewer: vbdad55 Chicagoland     July 01, 2003
After reading all the reviews I was still skeptical - with two daughters 18 and 8 that like what they like- we decided to book Boma this trip. All I can say is it was outstanding.
If you went for only the soups ( 5 total ) - and desserts you could be very happy. However then you would miss items like Coca Cola Pork (yes, marinated in real Coke ) - Nut crusted Salmon, a wonderful roasted chicken and many many vegetable dishes. Don't pass on the hummus - especially the white bean variety. The seasonings are very flavorful without being overpowering in all of the dishes. ( They do have mac and cheese, etc for any little ones that back out of trying something new).
The service was fantastic and the servers there went out of their way to ensure you knew what exactly was in each dish. They were very knowledgeable.
As far as dessert-- ensure you save room. In addition to the Zebra Domes ( which are as good as people brag about) - there were at least 15 other selections, one better than the next. After 10+ years of dining a lot at WDW - this has become one of our favorites.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   16 December 2002
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 08, 2003
Dinner, 16 December 2002

Service: Excellent
Price: Extremely good value for the range of exotic foods available in the buffet
Food: Wonderful, the taste of it was out of this world
Atmosphere: Excellent - a taste of Africa!

Our meal at Boma was the highlight of our first day. I had heard so much that I was worried that we'd be disappointed by what we actually found - that was not the case at all.

The restaurant makes you feel as if you're in Africa the moment you arrive. It's set out completely differently from every other Disney buffet and you really can forget you're in Florida there, let alone Disney. The food is laid out in a number of pods and you move from one to the other. Unlike many of Disney's buffets, the food isn't duplicated on two matching sections, but you start at one end with appetisers, go through to entrees and then end up at dessert. The array of food on offer is quite daunting - there's certainly plenty of it and lots of choice.

Our server, Lissa, was extremely attentive. Every time we drank any of our water or Coke, it was immediately refilled. She was more than happy to chat to us, as were all the CM's there.

I managed to make my way along most of the buffet, sampling as much as I could and there was a lot available for vegetarians. What a beautiful set of flavours in all the food I had - what did surprise me was that they were all quite understated, nothing was too spicey, which had been my initial fear. The chefs were exceptionally good about explaining what things were and making sure that I kept to the vegetarian dishes. The corn soup was just the best (I asked for the recipe for this one) and some of the vegetable accompaniments were just perfect. I worked on the theory that I'd try anything once and if I didn't like it, I didn't have to eat it. That theory worked well, as I did enjoy most of what I sampled and was able to go back for seconds of what I did like.

It was well worth every penny and we will be back here in future trips. Including tip and a couple of alcoholic drinks (two cocktails for me and a beer for DH), the bill came to $70. Another Boma convert.
 
9 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 30, 2003
Reviewer: AVP Anaheim, CA     April 10, 2003
*Date of visit: March 30, 2003
*Type of meal: Dinner
*Service: Absolutely fantastic
*Price: $51.10 for two, plus tip
*Food: Amazing
*Atmosphere: Stunning

Boma is a do-not-miss dining destination. The serious foodies in your group will find dozens of tempting treats to explore. The fussy eaters will find enough familiar comfort foods to satisfy. Everyone will be overwhelmed by the service.

We arrived for our Priority Seating time, and were given a pager so we could explore the hotel while we waited. (The restaurant was a bit busier than I think they expected) When we were called, the hostess asked if it were our first trip to Boma, and gave us a quick tour on the way to our table. Then our server took our drink orders, and we were off to explore the "pods"(Buffet line)

After reading countless reviews of Boma, I headed straight for the dessert pod, and the zebra domes.

Seeing the selection of hummus, I took a small spoonfull of each, and returned to our table. Our drinks were already waiting for us, and I sampled my selections. I think I'll make MousePlanet history by saying that I wasn't overly fond of the zebra domes. Of course, I don't care for kahlua at ALL, so there was no real surprise there. The hummus was a completely different story. The white bean hummus was so good that I would have been perfectly happy eating it for my meal. But there were still seven other pods to explore.

I believe the food changes at Boma pretty frequently, so I won't go into too much detail about each dish. There were five soups available, and I tried a few spoonfulls of each. As I went back for soup #4, they had replaced the first pot with a completely different soup, so we actually got to try six soups. There wasn't a single one I wasn't happy with, but the fish stew, with clams and shrimp, was incredible.

The "potatoes with Afritude" were amazing, as was the pureed sweet potato dish. In fact, my husband says that his aunt's famous recipe for Thanksgiving sweet potatos has finally met it's match. The roast beef was as good as any buffet, but the brown mustard made all the difference.

In all, we each probably each made 10 trips to the buffet, taking tiny samples of almost every dish. Yes, we even ate the watermelon rind salad, which was infinitely better than it sounds. Our waiter was simply, truly fantastic. He cleared our plates just as soon as we left the table, and made sure that our beverages were constantly full. He offered to have recipies for our favorite dishes sent to us - they arrived just yesterday. Victor was truly one of the best waiters we have ever had, which says a LOT for a buffet restaurant.

We will definitely be back.
 
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Feb. 24/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     April 06, 2003
Eating at Boma is an adventure that has to be experienced to be truly appreciated. The atmosphere is incredible - like being in Africa. The service was fabulous. Our cast member was friendly, attentive, and most forthcoming in his descriptions of the various items available at the buffet. Then there was the buffet itself - WOW!!!! And this coming from two people who really don't normally like buffets all that much. Boma is the exception to the rule. There was a vast array of foods to choose from: everything from the traditional prime rib and baked ham to the amazing and unique soups and salads. Even the accompanying dishes had something dazzling to offer. My personal favourite of these was the potatoes with Afritude. We tried all the soups and each and every one was wonderful. In actuality, we did not try even one item that we did not like. I always enjoy spicy and unusual dishes but my daughter hates really "hot" food and tends to like more traditional fare. But in this case, even she found nothing to complain about with Boma. She tried a few new things and was blown away by the heavenly taste sensations. Then came the dessert bar and talk about a perfect ending to a perfect meal. There were items there to appeal to every type of dessert lover - from chocaholics like myself to pastry connoisseurs to fruit lovers. You name it and it was probably on Boma's dessert table. Both my daughter and I were in agreement that the zebra domes were the best dessert offering of all. In conclusion, all I can say is that if you only hit one buffet restaurant at WDW, then Boma should be your choice hands down. In fact, we preferred it to all the table service restaurants we tried with one exception: the Hollywood Brown Derby but Boma ran it a very close second.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 13 and 14, 2003
Reviewer: Lani Oakland, California     January 21, 2003
Nearing the end of my incredible meal at Boma, I turned to my husband and said, "I know what 'Boma' means in African. It means 'HAPPY MOUTH'."

"Happy mouth" is the best way I can describe the wonders that await and tempt you at Boma in Animal Kingdom Lodge. The servers are very knowledgeable and helpful if it is your first time, explaining many of the more unique dishes that you might want to try. Each of the food tables are staffed closely by various chefs as well, and they will be happy to explain what you are looking at.

If you eat nothing else, try the soups. Each night, the chefs prepare different soups, which for us meant that on the two nights we ate there, I got to sample 10 different soups including dishes like chicken curry, seafood stew, and corn and potato stew. I am not a huge soup fan, but the ones at Boma are to die for. Just take a tiny few bites worth into the soup bowls, and try them all out. Not all will be to your particular liking, but the contrast in flavors is a very good way to pretend to be a dish taster.

If you feel a bit timid about trying unusual dishes, you can complement your plate with American comfort food like mac and cheese and chicken strips. In fact, I saw plenty of folks (including hubby) who chose a bit of the "regular stuff" to fill their plate.

One warning: You've heard about the delicious "zebra dome" kahlua-chocolate mousse desserts. They ARE truly lucious, however, they are also VERY delicately flavored. Do NOT eat any of the other desserts before you have a zebra dome, particularly anything chocolate-flavored. Whatever dessert you have beforehand will overpower the soft flavor of the zebra dome, and you will not enjoy it nearly as much. Yes, I speak from experience (based on my first night, vs. my second night there).

If this review system allowed for six planets, it wouldn't be enough for me to praise the wonder that is Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge. After reading [url="http://www.mouseplanet.com/sue_holland/boma.htm"]Sue Holland's glowing report on MousePlanet[/url], my husband and I just had to give it a try. We were NOT disappointed! In fact, we were so pleased the first night, that we went back to dine at Boma the very next evening! As a couple of serious food afficionados, this is almost an unprecedented act for us.

Most importantly, if you find some dishes you absolutely adore, ask the server for a recipe-request form. They will either postal mail, or e-mail you the recipes of whatever dishes you ask for.

This rendered me speechless in stunned awe, albeit with a permanent HAPPY-MOUTH smile pasted on my face.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 08, 2002 Satuday
Reviewer: akdisney Cal.     December 15, 2002
12/08/2002
type of meal: dinner buffets
No Priority seating (PS) did walkup check-in seating wait (15 min- 45 min) table for One
Note you will nees (PS) on the weekend and some weekday. If it rain all day, YOU must get a PS Long wait or goto downtown disney
atmosphere: I was seat by the window with place lighting It was hard to see out. IF you forget that you are at WDW resort, You will think that you are at africa resort with the color and lighting of the place.
the room flow is nice but the flow for the food need a little work (plate placement ).
price about $32.00 this with 2 cup of wine ($12.00)
the service is great, the castmember will make sure that have full drink and clean the table fast.
foods is best with full flavor of africa. Some of the food can have hot spices that add flavor to the food. there is beaf and fish and chicken. there is a lot of dessert to eat. dessert from cookes to pies & cake and bread pudding with banana as thick and creamy.

 
3 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 14, 2002
Reviewer: LauraD Alberta, Canada     November 18, 2002
Meal: Dinner
Price: Expensive
Service: Attentive

Wow! The food is excellent! Loved the buffet style. My husband is choosy on his food and he could find plenty to eat. I had 4 helpings of mixed green salad with the apple vinegrette. Be sure to save room for dessert. Many of the desserts seemed to have alcohol in them, but there were still plenty without for us. We were seated at a window and could look outside towards the pool. A lovely relaxing meal.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/19/02
Reviewer: WildGrits Cape Fear, North Carolina     September 22, 2002
Because of all the wonderful reviews this resturant had received, we just had to go. If you eat nothing else, have the soups. That was my favorite part of this buffett. They had an Ox-tail stew which was much like a Brunswick Stew. A Seafood soup with mussles, shrimp and scallops. And a Chicken Coconut soup too. They were all awesome. For the not so brave, they had prime rib that had been cooked rotisserie style. Even my 5 and 6 year old girls walked away full. Smartly they put P B & J on the buffett. The only reason I did not give this resturant 5 instead of 4 planets, is because unlike other reviews I have read, I was not not impressed with the desserts. But other than that, I would highly recommend the resturant for something different.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 6-14, 2002
Reviewer: disneygirl1955 Mammoth Lakes, CA     August 12, 2002
We heard so many good things about Boma and the Animal Kingdom Lodge that, like others, we thought it'd be great to head over there for dinner after a day at Animal Kingdom. We had never tried African cuisine, and this was the perfect way to do it. Everything my husband and I tried was tasty, there was lots of variety, and the presentation of the buffet was also appealing. We're big dessert fans, so having all kinds of sample-size desserts included in the buffet was heaven.

The restaurant's atmosphere (like the rest of the Lodge which we checked out before our seating time) was imaginative and visually open. Though the restaurant was busy, we still felt relaxed because the tables and buffet area are spaced out well. Our service was good, also. The $45 bill (before gratuity) seemed very reasonable considering the great experience and all the food (it also included soft drinks). It is very quick and easy to get to after a day at Animal Kingdom and certainly worth a visit.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page