Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge!
 
Want to tell someone about Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge
Description:
Lavish buffet offering wide range of African specialities, along with more familiar offerings.
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 34 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 2011
Reviewer: Kaits Inside Dish (kcap92@comcast.net) Orlando     December 18, 2011
The restaurant was vibrantly decorated with bright African inspired colors ranging from bright yellows, reds, purples, and greens. The Large buffet wrapped around the front of the restaurant showcasing the lively open kitchen which was situated behind.

Now normally I am not into buffets, theres something about the idea of food which is openly exposed to the public who messily grab plates full of food, just disguising. Plus a buffet with an endless supply of food can be very dangerous for an over eater like me. Boma however, was the exception; the buffet was kept extremely clean, and was supervised by a culinary cast member, who also freshly restocked each buffet offering within minutes of the dish becoming half empty.

Once sat in the large airy restaurant the chef came over to discuss my special dietary need, upon telling him I was a vegan he knowingly led me through the buffet pointing out all the vegan offerings which I would be able to eat. With a large selection of salads, soups, and rice dishes, I was excited to grab a plate and dig in.

I started out with the Harira Soup, a delicious hearty African spiced soup made with lentils, chickpeas, stewed tomatoes, cilantro, and onions. The soup was delicious and hearty, yet because it had a vegetable broth base it wasnt overly filling on the stomach.

Next it was onto a sampling of hummus, my favorite. I tried both the creamy sun dried tomato hummus and the savory black bean hummus served with soft Pita points, yum whats not to love about the creamy pureed spread, I honestly could have made a meal purely from the hummus and pitas, but with a buffet full of vegan offerings it was time to try next thing.

Next I had a helping of white Basmati rice topped with Chakalaka, a spicy sauce made of freshly stewed tomatoes and onions. This dish had just the right amount of spice and sweetness to it.

Next I had a heaping helping of the tunisian cous cous salad, a salad severed at room temperature made with corn, red onion, parsley, and red pepper. The cous cous salad was delicious and had a slightly nutty flavor.

I then helped myself to the refreshing watermelon rind salad, which was made with thinly sliced watermelon. The dish was quite interesting and had an immense gingery flavor. The combination of sweet watermelon and spicy ginger flavor made for one delicious combination.

I was doing a last browse through the buffet line when I noticed an offering of root vegetable that happened to look quite appealing, however, I didnt remember the chef ever saying that the selection of root vegetable were vegan. I questioningly inquired with my sever as to whether or not I could have the root vegetables. she promptly checked with the chef and reported that I was unable to have the root vegetables because they were finished with an herb butter (always ask first, a lot of restaurants use ingredients you otherwise wouldnt think to make the dish look more appealing, in this case the butter was used to add a delicate sheen to the dish). However, she did report that the chef would be happy to make me a vegan version of the dish, I was ecstatic.

Upon returning to the table I saw a plate filled with delicious seasoned root vegetables including parsnips, and carrots, plus there was a side of crisply seasoned broccolini and asparagus waiting for me. I couldnt be happier, the root vegetables were delicious and lightly seasoned in a buttery olive oil.

Although I was pretty much stuffed I did manage to save a bit of room for dessert. I decided on a selection of assorted fruit. Fresh honey dew, sweet pineapple, cantaloupe, crisp red grapes, and sugary red strawberries.

My Dad who claimed he was stuffed and only wanted coffee for dessert returned to the table with a plate full of mini desserts. Amongst the dessert was a caramel bread pudding which he claimed was absolutely decadent, there were also several creamy custard desserts which he noted were also delicious.

The chef then brought over a bowl of raspberry sorbet topped with fresh blueberries and raspberries which Dad and I split. A perfect light finish to our exotic African meal.

Boma was a delicious meal and definitely lived up to its highly talked about reputation. Boma is also open for Breakfast and from what I hear it makes for one amazingly delicious experience.

I definitely advise you to come hungry and be prepared to leave Boma completely stuffed, be advised to wear stretchy pants, buttons or tight skinny jeans are definitely are not recommended.
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/17/07 & 3/12/08
Reviewer: csuwyn Sacramento, CA     October 16, 2008
Boma is the only table service restaurant that my family has gone back to for a second time, and we'll probably be going back there again this January. The food is superb! The buffet has a variety of African dishes, as well as some delicious "safe" dishes for those of you that aren't too adventurous. This is my wfie's favorite restaurant in all of the Disney parks. The atmosphere is wonderful, all of the deep rich woods and African themes are beautiful. I've never been there for anything but dinner, but I'm sure the views out the windows would be wonderful during the day. The service, as it is at most of the Disney restaurants, is top notch. And the buffet line is always filled, you never have to wait for anything. I can't comment on price, because we use the Disney Dining Plan, but I'd say it's the best buffet for the money. If you're in for trying new things, this is the place for you. I recommend everything, but my wife would smack me if I didn't recommend the bread pudding to you. Enjoy!