Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Lavish buffet offering wide range of African specialities, along with more familiar offerings.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 34 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 2011
Reviewer: Kaits Inside Dish (kcap92@comcast.net) Orlando     December 18, 2011
The restaurant was vibrantly decorated with bright African inspired colors ranging from bright yellows, reds, purples, and greens. The Large buffet wrapped around the front of the restaurant showcasing the lively open kitchen which was situated behind.

Now normally I am not into buffets, theres something about the idea of food which is openly exposed to the public who messily grab plates full of food, just disguising. Plus a buffet with an endless supply of food can be very dangerous for an over eater like me. Boma however, was the exception; the buffet was kept extremely clean, and was supervised by a culinary cast member, who also freshly restocked each buffet offering within minutes of the dish becoming half empty.

Once sat in the large airy restaurant the chef came over to discuss my special dietary need, upon telling him I was a vegan he knowingly led me through the buffet pointing out all the vegan offerings which I would be able to eat. With a large selection of salads, soups, and rice dishes, I was excited to grab a plate and dig in.

I started out with the Harira Soup, a delicious hearty African spiced soup made with lentils, chickpeas, stewed tomatoes, cilantro, and onions. The soup was delicious and hearty, yet because it had a vegetable broth base it wasnt overly filling on the stomach.

Next it was onto a sampling of hummus, my favorite. I tried both the creamy sun dried tomato hummus and the savory black bean hummus served with soft Pita points, yum whats not to love about the creamy pureed spread, I honestly could have made a meal purely from the hummus and pitas, but with a buffet full of vegan offerings it was time to try next thing.

Next I had a helping of white Basmati rice topped with Chakalaka, a spicy sauce made of freshly stewed tomatoes and onions. This dish had just the right amount of spice and sweetness to it.

Next I had a heaping helping of the tunisian cous cous salad, a salad severed at room temperature made with corn, red onion, parsley, and red pepper. The cous cous salad was delicious and had a slightly nutty flavor.

I then helped myself to the refreshing watermelon rind salad, which was made with thinly sliced watermelon. The dish was quite interesting and had an immense gingery flavor. The combination of sweet watermelon and spicy ginger flavor made for one delicious combination.

I was doing a last browse through the buffet line when I noticed an offering of root vegetable that happened to look quite appealing, however, I didnt remember the chef ever saying that the selection of root vegetable were vegan. I questioningly inquired with my sever as to whether or not I could have the root vegetables. she promptly checked with the chef and reported that I was unable to have the root vegetables because they were finished with an herb butter (always ask first, a lot of restaurants use ingredients you otherwise wouldnt think to make the dish look more appealing, in this case the butter was used to add a delicate sheen to the dish). However, she did report that the chef would be happy to make me a vegan version of the dish, I was ecstatic.

Upon returning to the table I saw a plate filled with delicious seasoned root vegetables including parsnips, and carrots, plus there was a side of crisply seasoned broccolini and asparagus waiting for me. I couldnt be happier, the root vegetables were delicious and lightly seasoned in a buttery olive oil.

Although I was pretty much stuffed I did manage to save a bit of room for dessert. I decided on a selection of assorted fruit. Fresh honey dew, sweet pineapple, cantaloupe, crisp red grapes, and sugary red strawberries.

My Dad who claimed he was stuffed and only wanted coffee for dessert returned to the table with a plate full of mini desserts. Amongst the dessert was a caramel bread pudding which he claimed was absolutely decadent, there were also several creamy custard desserts which he noted were also delicious.

The chef then brought over a bowl of raspberry sorbet topped with fresh blueberries and raspberries which Dad and I split. A perfect light finish to our exotic African meal.

Boma was a delicious meal and definitely lived up to its highly talked about reputation. Boma is also open for Breakfast and from what I hear it makes for one amazingly delicious experience.

I definitely advise you to come hungry and be prepared to leave Boma completely stuffed, be advised to wear stretchy pants, buttons or tight skinny jeans are definitely are not recommended.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/17/07 & 3/12/08
Reviewer: csuwyn Sacramento, CA     October 16, 2008
Boma is the only table service restaurant that my family has gone back to for a second time, and we'll probably be going back there again this January. The food is superb! The buffet has a variety of African dishes, as well as some delicious "safe" dishes for those of you that aren't too adventurous. This is my wfie's favorite restaurant in all of the Disney parks. The atmosphere is wonderful, all of the deep rich woods and African themes are beautiful. I've never been there for anything but dinner, but I'm sure the views out the windows would be wonderful during the day. The service, as it is at most of the Disney restaurants, is top notch. And the buffet line is always filled, you never have to wait for anything. I can't comment on price, because we use the Disney Dining Plan, but I'd say it's the best buffet for the money. If you're in for trying new things, this is the place for you. I recommend everything, but my wife would smack me if I didn't recommend the bread pudding to you. Enjoy!
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 20, 2008
Reviewer: mouseketeer70 Northport, Alabama     June 22, 2008
We wanted to see this resort as we are DVC members and like to scope out options for future trips. On the way over on an empty bus, the driver recommended Boma to us. As it was 5:00 we thought, why not. We were blown away by the beauty of the lobby but Boma is what will get us to return. We walked up to receptionist at the front and fully expected a very long wait, if they could even seat us at all. We did not have priority seating and the resorts were at 100% capacity so we just knew we wouldn't get in. Not only did we get in, the pager went off within 15 seconds of her handing it to us, literally! As it was our anniversary, and we were still wearing our anniversary buttons, we were given a happy anniversary card signed by all the cast members in their respective African dialects-pretty cool. Overall the staff was very friendly, from reception to the waitstaff to the food service/preparers. The food was amazing. There is a huge selection. My husband is not an adventurous eater and he found more than enough (and then some!) and we both loved it. The soups were amazing. My husband enjoyed all of the meat selections. The selection overall was huge, (and it included macaroni and cheese and such for kids or those who just didn't want to try anything new). Our waiter, Paul, was so nice and very attentive. We never had to want for drinks or anything. We were seated in a quiet table by the window which was great since we were without children and wanted a quiet, romantic dinner. Next time we will probably come for lunch instead of dinner as the price was a little high, but it was well worth it. And we will definitely return! We both enjoyed Boma and ate way too much. Everyone raves about the Zebra Domes, and they were good, but I have to say the Cheese Flan was my favorite dessert.
We had a great experience and some very delicious food.
 
9 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 16, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 10, 2007
Date: Saturday June 16, 2007 with 8:15am ADR.
Meal: Breakfast
Diners: Two adults.
Service: Waitress didnt have a good attitude and manager didnt care.
Price: $39 for two of us with tip (used credits from our premium dining plan).
Value: Good breakfast buffet price for a resort location.
Food: Good selection and everything seemed fresh and hot.
Atmosphere: Large seating area nicely themed to the African village idea.

The theme here is that this would be an eating and gathering place within an African village. The seating area is large and open with a large wall of windows facing the outside plants and bordering the pool area of the lodge. ADRs are always recommended as a dinner location there seems to seldom be any stand-by seating available and breakfast will cause you to wait. Food is set up in sections like meats, main dishes, sides dishes, fruits, soups, desserts, and such with plates being available at each of the sections. There are many dishes available that have an African flair to them but picky eaters will find something also.

We have eaten here a few times for dinner in the past and have always loved it with the wait staff going out of their way to describe the odder dishes available. We arrived on time for our ADR and were seated rather quickly. It seemed walk-ins were waiting for about 15 minutes even though there was a large part of the seating area that was empty.

Our waitress was a bit surly and when she seemed as though she was not going to give a rundown of the unique dishes available I asked as was simply told they offered an African fruit juice and there was some African porridge available. I asked if the hot tea press-pot was included with the dining plan I was told no (It is a $6 carafe and has been included in the DDP in the past).

As it turned out there were a number of African breakfast dishes available including a corned beef hash type dish called Bobotie with corned beef, spices, eggs, and potatoes, another dish that was a french toast type with cinnamon and raisins, and a spicy pork loin. The previously mentioned African porridge had a good flavor but the texture was a little watery for my liking. I did choose the African fruit juice blend and it was tasty and refreshing. The rest of available food included many traditional American breakfast buffet dishes and there was also a make-your-own omelet available with just a short line.

The food was good and worth the price. Our experience could have been better if we had a better waitress. As we were leaving the manager was at the reservations podium and I expressed my concern over the waitress but he didnt seem to care an unengaged manager results in unengaged employees.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 12, 2007
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, Arizona     June 22, 2007
This is the third trip we've had breakfast here and it's one of our favorites. The food is plentiful and delicious and there's a wide variety to try. I had a cooked to order omelette which was very good. There is a lot of traditional breakfast foods so if you don't want to try something exotic, you'll still get plenty to eat. There is quinoa porridge, pap (tastes too much like grits, yuck!) and boboti, which is like a corned beef casserole and is pretty good. The price is also decent for a breakfast buffet at WDW, since there are no characters.

The only thing I wish would have changed was that they changed their juice from our last visit. It used to be "frunch" which was a combination of several juices like pineapple, mango and others. They now have "Jungle Juice" which is passion fruit, orange and guava. It's good, but I preferred the frunch. But that is a very minor complaint about one of the best breakfasts at WDW.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/13/2007
Reviewer: jayetee Royalston, MA     June 07, 2007
My husband's favorite by far. Offers a tasting of a variety of dishes ... buffet delivered to your table. Well worth the visit. The amount of food delivered was unbelievable. Again, staff was absolutely delightful and helpful. You will not go wrong trying this place. Make sure you make reservations well in advance of your trip (we made them three months before and was glad we did).
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/6/07
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 17, 2007
Checked in for our dinner ADR 10 minutes early. Still waited 30 minutes for our table. Waiting area was extremely crowded. Once seated however, things looked up. I wanted to try an Africian wine and our waiter suggested a wine flight. You could chose red or white. Four sampler glasses with the names and descriptions noted on each. I chose white and they varied from dry to sweet. All nice-nothing outstanding IMO. The waiter described each "pod" of the buffet with suggestions at each-and we were off to sample. The green salad was the same as you could have at any salad bar, but the vinegarette was apple raspberry-very nice. Tried the mashed white and sweet potatoes-nicely done with a bit of ginger. Different but good. Soups were a big hit. I tried both the ginger soup and the seafood chowder-very very good. Oldest son went back for more chowder. The roasted chicken tasted like all the other roasted chicken I would try throughout our vacation. Oldest son enjoyed the salmon; youngest son really enjoyed the creamy mac and cheese and prime rib. Desserts? I tried the zebra dome and the cherry tart-delicious. I don't usually like buffets-but I throughly enjoyed Boma. Different enough for a non-buffet fan but traditional enough for my non-adventureous eater of a youngest son.

The setting is lovely. Fits very well into the beautiful AKL. Dark woods, low lightning, lots of glass. Waiter came back 3 times to check on us and delivered the check promptly.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 3, 2007
Reviewer: Imjusta babyduck Pace, Florida     May 15, 2007
We ate here for the first time on this trip and this was the place I was most looking forward to eating. Unfortunately, I was really disappointed. My husband and I love exotic foods and we were hoping that this would be fun and the foods enticing. It was not. The food was mediocre at best. The prime rib was too fatty to eat and the remainder of the meats were bland, as was pretty much the entire buffet (except the soups). We thought that the food would be well spiced (not necessarily hot, just spiced) and that was not the case. The only spice we noticed was some very mild curry and the salt and pepper on your table. However, if you do eat here, the soups are not to be missed. Even if you are not a soup person, try the soups -- all of them. This will likely be the best part of your meal. Everyone raves about this buffet, especially the soups and desserts. The soups I do understand, the desserts, just boring, bland stuff. The wait for our table was long (nearly an hour with ADR) and everyone got restless. The service was good; not great, but good. I hate to say that we will not eat here again; I really wish we were. Another opportunity to be great lost by Disney, and although this rarely happens, it is still disappointing when it does.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 7 and 9
Reviewer: NeilPage Columbia, Maryland     May 14, 2007
The pastries were excellent, great variety including omelettes, delicious marinated pork, fresh fruit and the normal breakfast buffet staples.
Staff came to our table on our 2nd visit and took my ~4yr old son into the kitchen to be a Junior Chef. Gave us a photo and certificate of him preparing his food (chocolate covered strawberries).
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 1 - dinner and October 3 - breakfast
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 18, 2006
I had heard so many great things about Boma that I expected it to be somewhat of a let-down, but it turned out to be just as good as everyone said and more. We first went to Boma for dinner on Sunday night and our waiter Seth was amazing! It was my birthday and he made it very special for us. Try the Bluetini if you drink, it is excellent and comes with glowcubes. The food was fantastic and I couldn't get enough. Even my fiance, who can be a picky eater, loved the food. There were so many options that there is something for everyone. The desserts were fabulous and that was not counting the special birthday platter our waiter brought out to me. We loved Boma so much (the food, atmosphere, service...everything) that we ran out and had concierge book us a breakfast for a couple of days later. Breakfast was just as good, if slightly less adventurous than dinner. I think that Boma was our favorite restaurant of the whole trip. We were staying at the Animal Kingdom Lodge and it was hard to not be tempted to just come back for every meal.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page