Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Jiko at Animal Kingdom Lodge!
 
Want to tell someone about Jiko at Animal Kingdom Lodge? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Jiko at Animal Kingdom Lodge
Description:
Table service restaurant featuring "New African Cuisine", South African wines.
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 10 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 26, 2008
Reviewer: OneForTheTeam Boston, Massachusetts     May 02, 2008
This is the fourth time my wife and I have eaten at Jiko in three years and they have yet to let us down. They are absolutely one of the best restaurants in WDW.

This time we tried the flatbread and the ostrich appetizers. Both were very good, but the ostrich could have been pork.

Our entrees, the Berbere Braised Lamb Shank was very good and the Braised Beef Short Ribs are to die for. I hope they never take the short ribs off the menu.

The service at Jiko is very good. The waitstaff know their wine, too. Our waiter did an excellent job of pairing a glass with each course.
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 18, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 29, 2007
Date: Monday June 18, 2007 with 9:20pm ADR.
Meal: Dinner.
Diners: Two adults.
Service: Attentive and friendly.
Price: $166 for two including wine and tip (used credits from our premium dining plan).
Value: Slightly overpriced.
Food: Good food served hot and quite attractive.
Atmosphere: Has a nice warm feeling but lacks some excitement and class for a high-end eatery.

First thing you need to know is that those on the Disney Dining Plan will be required to use two credits for each person. Those on the Disney Premium or Platinum Dining plans only use one dining credit. We made our reservations a full 180 days out and then changed to a later time just 80 days out without issue. When we arrived a couple had entered just ahead of us and was told that they had no spots available for that evening but did have available times just a few days out.

We were checked in for our ADR and seated within just a couple minutes. Our table was located near the front and close to the kitchen entrance right next to the wood burning oven. Our waiter engaged us soon after we sat down and focused in on some of the wine selections of which we settled on two glasses of a red wine that ended up being a little too strong for our liking.

For appetizers we ordered the Taste of Africa (Kalamata Olive Hummus, Durban Tikka Masala, and Malay Spinach-Lentil Dip with several breads) and the Maize and Sweet Potato Tamales. The spreads were quite good with the hummus being mild and the other two being more flavorful with a more complex array of spices. For the description of corn and sweet potato tamales I was surprised how much I liked them with a perfect balance of flavors and moisture to make everything come together quite nicely.

First entrée was the Chermoula Roasted Tanglewood Chicken that was not very memorable and had a plain flavor. Second was the Oak-Grilled Filet Mignon with macaroni and cheese that was better than expected with a thick rich cheese used with the macaroni and the meat was perfectly cooked and quite tender.

Desserts were good but we were filling up quickly. The first dessert was the Jiko Dream Pyramid that consisted of white chocolate mousse inside a dark chocolate pyramid with roasted banana and pineapple that was very rich and also quite beautiful to look at. We also had the Pistachio Crème Brulee that was layered with a fine cookie chocolate bottom. This crème brulee is not at the top on the list of our dessert favorites at WDW but the unusual chocolate bottom made it different enough that I would consider ordering it again.

There were almost no children there creating more of a quiet and more romantic setting and we were allowed (if not encouraged) to linger over our meal. The complete dinner took just under two hours and was one of the most relaxing meals we had on the trip. Some of that may have come from the late ADR we made but the warm atmosphere and service would be the same most any time.