Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Mara at Animal Kingdom Lodge
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Counter service eatery offering pizza, burgers, sandwiches. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 6 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 6 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 28-October 5, 2006
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 18, 2006
We were staying at the Animal Kingdom Lodge so we ate at The Mara multiple times. Lunch/dinner entrees we had were the double bacon cheeseburger and the fish and chips. For breakfast we had the platter with eggs, potatoes, bacon or sausage and a biscuit. All were hot, fresh, tasty and plentiful enough to share between two people. We also had many snacks from The Mara including donuts, fruit and yogert parfait, Chip & Dale Trail Mix and Boma desserts (chocolate mousse crunch and zebra domes). The ability to get the Boma desserts was the absolute best part of The Mara. The seating area is pleasant and nicely themed, although we often took our meals back to our room. Usually it was easy to get in and out of, but on Saturday morning at about 10am it was jam packed. We also bought a refillable mug and refilled it many times over the course of our stay. I thought that The Mara was very nice for a counter-service location.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 8, 2005 to June 12, 2005
Reviewer: badgerfam Wisconsin     June 13, 2005
We ate breakfast at the Mara each day of our vacation and the selection was fair--cold cereals, bakery rolls and a small variety of hot entrees. We usually just chose simply doughnuts, juice and cereal. The cost for three of us was over $20 each time. In the evening we returned for a snack. The chicken strips were good, the macaroni and cheese we ordered was cold. The fruit cup is always great! I like the fresh fruit/healthy choices that are available. Except for the fruit, nothing else was outstanding. The selection at the Pepper Market in Coronado Springs was much better, although also much busier. If we return to Disney, we'll go to Coronado again.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   March 31, 2003
Reviewer: AVP Anaheim, CA     April 10, 2003
*Date of visit: March 31, 2003
*Type of meal: Lunch
*Service: Fair
*Price: Fair, for Disney
*Food: D-R-Y
*Atmosphere: Nice, if you like birds

We stopped at Mara for a quick bite before heading into Animal Kingdom. We were the ONLY people eating in the restaurant, with the exception of a handful of Disney suits. We placed our order at the counter, and were directed to "pay the cashier" - who turned out the be the same person who took our order. (She ran around the counter)

Perhaps Mara has just added this, but we were able to buy fountain drinks without buying the refillable mug - the paper cups were $1.79 each, but did not have lids or straws. I think the point of the mugs was to reduce the possible litter in the very-nearby animal enclosures.

We took our drinks onto the patio, and waited for our food to be served. My chicken sandwich was dry beyond all reason, and needed lots of condiments to make it edible. Hubby ordered the famed suger-cane chicken, which was also dry. It was served with corn meal "pap", which he said was quite good.

As soon as our meals were served, we were suddenly surrounded by some very curious birds. Apparently AKL birds like pap, and were quite happy to eat any tossed to them.

In all, the food was standard quick-serve cafeteria, but the patio was very relaxing.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Dec 8-14-02
Reviewer: cirquelover Oregon     February 06, 2003
We had lunch, dinner and snacks here. The chicken pepper pot, their specialty soup, was wonderful and my husband had it a few times. They had a good variety of hot food items and a lot of ready made cold items in a refrigerated case. We had soups, African beef stew in breadbowl, Fish and chips, hamburgers & chicken strips in the hot foods, and yogurt, pudding, cereal and milk, fresh fruit, wraps, simba brownies, carrot cake and cheesecake in the refigerated and a few juices and such along with the refillable mugs(which went up to 10.95). The employees were always friendly and Benny was a riot,he was always telling jokes or doing tricks and really brightened my day! The prices didn't seem any higher than anywhere else in Disney and it was a nice touch that they bring the food to you! My family actually missed the Mara after we got home!! We loved the Mickey krispie bars with ears dipped in chocolate on a stick. We didn't see them anywhere else, only Mara seemed to have them on a stick (which was less messy).
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   December 12, 2002
Reviewer: akdisney Cal.     December 15, 2002
December 12, 2002
I stay at the animal kingdom lodge and want a fast food so I can injoy My last hours ant the resort.
type of meal: fast lunch
Price $10.00 with no drink
atmosphere : the price and fast food there is much blue and green walls

Last year I got the sugarcane chicken and It was dry.
so this time I got the chicken pizza.
I have a apple and bottle of water with me.
if you want a soda you will need buy one of refill mugs, I have no room in bags to take it home.
I sat down and start reading the news paper, about 15-30 min have pass no pizza. service forgot to put the pizza in the oven. The time I check on my pizza to I reciver my pizza it took about 5 -10 min. the pizza need about 3 min. more the topping was little cold.
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   7/29/02
Reviewer: Jenny Drake (peacepast@aol.com) Lancaster, TN     September 01, 2002
Having heard such WONDERFUL things about the Sugarcane Chicken, I dragged hubby, nieces and nephew to Mara. They ordered personal pizzas, and I, The Sugarcane Chicken. Mara was different from any other food court I had been to in that you palce your order, and it is brought out to you-you don't wait for it. We were the ONLY people in there. Literally-the ONLY people, 1:30 p.m. It took a solid, fifteen minutes to get our food. All pronounced the pizzas to be "just like" pizzas at the All Star Sports. The much hyped Sugarcane Chicken was TERRIBLE. The chicken was cooked DRY-no moisture whatsoever left in it. The squash medlay that accomplanied would have been fine ahd it not been overpowered with black pepper. The corn mush type side dish on the other hand, was quite good. Lunch for 5, with drinks was about $50.00. NOTE: You could NOT buy soft drinks of ANY kind without a refillable mug.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page