Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Artist Point
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Upscale dining at Wilderness Lodge featuring steaks, seafood.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 11 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 12th 2006
Reviewer: Thymeczech (jneuhoff2000@yahoo.com) New York City     March 14, 2006
Every year we (my fiance, her sister and brother-in-law) go to Disney and every year we try and pick out one restaraunt that will best fit our love of food. I would have to say Artist Point is probably in my top 3 meals of all time. The whole experience was pretty cool. We made priority seating for 7:30 on a Tuesday. We did have to wait about 20 mintues after our priority time but it wasn't too bad. The dining room was beautiful and quiet and I felt spacious but not on display. Jack our waiter came up, a native of NJ, (where I am from, please no jokes) immediately came over and was awesome. He was funny but not vulgar, knowledgable but not demanding we try something, and friendly but not phony. All through the meal he made some suggestions but mostly stayed out of our way and popped up when he was needed. He knew a lot about the wine list which was impressive. I give the service a 10. The meal was laid out perfect so we didn't feel rushed to finish a course.
The food itself was INCREDIBLE. As an appetizer I got the Venison Spring Rolls. Which were so delicious. I could have ate a whole meal of these. My fiance had the mushroom soup which was also unbelievable, it was creamy and thick but not heavy and filling. Our other friends got salads and they seemed to enjoy them very much. The entree was equally impressive. Myself and My friend Andy got the Buffalo Sirloin with an Onion Remouladde (spelling?). The meat was perfectly cooked and the onions were to die for. We had it paired with the wine and it really brought out the flavors. The dish was perfect, not tough or gamey it was truly a gret dish. My fiance and her sister got the Cedarplank Salmon (a specialty there) and Scallops respectively. The salmon was also phenomenal, and although I did not try the scallops her sister was very impressed. I also liked the size of the portions as i didn't feel it was too much but also was not starving at all. For dessert of course we had the Berry Cobbler and I had it paired with the Ice Wine ( ihad never had ice wine before but mixed with the cobbler it was so great!!!). They had handmade black rasberry ice cream. The dishes from top to bottom was exceptional. I give the menu and food a 12 out of 10. Just superb. Also the price was not too bad. The four of us ate at California Grill a couple years ago and spent well over 250 dollars, our meal at Artist Point only came to 180. It was reasonably priced. IF you are planning on having a nice family dinner or private dinner this is a great spot. From the service to the menu to the ecor to the food it was a top rated and MAGICAL experience. I would go again and again. It has a great view of the Wilderness Lodge courtyard so even the ambience is quite good. Go, you will love it!
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 2005
Reviewer: manofsteel75 McLeansville, NC     December 11, 2005
My family unit (wife, 2 kids, mother, grandmother and myself were staying at the Wilderness Lodge Villas as a last minute switch from the Boardwalk Villas. My wife and I were supposed to have a nice quite romantic dinner at San Angel Inn in the Mexico Pavillion but switched our priority seating with the accomodation change. I can not say enough about this restaurant. The decor and themeing of the lodge go right into the restaurant and it's view of the pool/creek area is great. We were seated promptly in a cozy booth and the server appeared almost instantly. We ordered cocktails and looked over the menu. We were there on the gold plan which has since been discontinued and the nearest equivalent is the Disney Platinum plan or something like that. We were able to get an appetizer, entree and desert each on the plan, we only had to pay for the drinks. I think the final total was around $140 including the drinks, which is not bad at all considering that included the taxes and tip. I started out with the smoky portabello soup which was fantastic, just enough earthy mushroom flavor to make it interesting. I ordered the scallops as an entree and they were cooked to perfection, not the least bit chewy. My wife ordered the "safe" selection of pork chops as she is not a big fan of beef or venison. She told everyone who would listen and some who would not about how good it was. We both skipped the dessert course in favor of coffee, and just decided to sit and lounge for awhile since the kids were in good hands with grandma. We never felt rushed or hurried by anyone on the staff unlike some other restaurants on Disney property where they want you to eat fast and leave so they can pack another family in. Our server checked on us every 5 minutes or so to see if we needed refills or if we needed anything at all. We insisted that everything was just fine, but she went the extra mile and brought us out some small cookies and assorted other noshes for us while we enjoyed the coffee. She was so attentive that as we left I gave her an extra twenty dollar tip on top of what was included in our plan and what we had already given her. She seemed almost embarresed by this and thanked me profusely. I also sang her praises to the manager. He was interested in hearing any feedback that I could give him and even took notes at one point. If I had anything negative to say it would have to be the portion size of the entrees. Yes, they were awesome but I only got 4 scallops. Other than that there was absolutely nothing I would change about this place at all.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7/2005
Reviewer: roseofhisheart (tink180@aol.com) Long Island, New York     November 20, 2005
We were a family part of 8, with 4 children/teens. We expected to be every waitress's nightmare. But we received the best treatment in the world and the food was fabulous! The King Salmon and Buffalo are DEFINITELY not to be missed. Service EXCELLENT. Price was fine considering the food. You must try this place.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 2005
Reviewer: AndyComputerGuy Charlotte, NC     November 15, 2005
Service: 5
Price: 1
Food: 5
Atmosphere: 5

If you are looking for a WDW restaurant that is the embodyment of excellence, look no further than the Artist Point at the Wilderness Lodge Resort. After seeing Samantha Brown rave about this hidden gem on the Travel Channel, my wife and I had to give it a try this last visit. Be prepared to drop some serious cash while dining here - you can order straight off the menu with excellent entrees ranging from salmon to buffalo or you can do what my wife and I did and order the $49 Chef's Fixed Price Dinner. This selection lets you enjoy a soup, salad, your choice of 3 entrees and a dessert. To enhance the meal, I ordered the Crispy Venison Spring Rolls with hot sweet and sour sauce (very very good appetizer - you won't believe that you are eating deer meat). In addition, I ordered the Wine Feature Flight, which is a perfect way for those of you who have trouble deciding what wine goes with what course to add a touch of elegance to your meal. Before each of the three courses your server will bring out a selection of fine wines from the Pacific Northwest that compliments each course - it is so worth the $18 price tag that it is a must if you enjoy fine wines. They start off your meal with Smoky Portobello Soup - I loved it and highly recommend it, it has just the right smoky flavor. Since eating it, my wife and I have looked all over for a comparable store bought brand that tastes like it to no avail. For the salad, I ordered the Living Lettuces with cucumber, radish and lemon vinaigrette, it feels more like you're grazing than eating a house salad - it was tasty nonetheless. For the entree, I ordered the Grilled Buffalo Sirloin Steak with sweet potato-hazelnut gratin. All I can say is "Wow, buffalo meat is goooooood!" Cooked with just the right spices to liven it up, I'll take it over a regular steak any day of the week. To close out the meal, I ordered the Artist Point Berry Cobbler which has all kinds of what taste like fresh picked berries (blackberries, blueberries, etc) with black raspberry ice cream - YUM! The price for the meal for 2 people was over $120 plus tip (which may give some of you sticker shock) but if you factor in the service (which is second to none that I've experienced while dining at WDW), the atmosphere (for a romantic getaway for 2, ask for a table near the huge windows and enjoy the spectacular view), and the quality of the food, it was worth every penny. Put this on your list as a must see if you enjoy the finer things or if you are looking to really treat yourself and a loved one with a romantic night out. Enjoy!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Late Oct 2004
Reviewer: whitewd Wilton, CT     July 07, 2005
I wholly agree with all the positive reviews given here. Food, ambience, boat ride, resort decor all combine to make a fabulous experience that's one of a kind at the World. An under-mentioned menu item...the Artist's Palette dessert for kids...it's spectacular and not to be missed. I don't want to spoil the surprize, but save room!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   5/2/05
Reviewer: bthomas Alexandria, VA     May 30, 2005
Artist Point was excellent! The food was delicious and the service impeccable. We were particularly impressed with the vegeterian options. One of us had the pork chop with macaroni Tillamook cheese and thought it was just wonderful! The ambiance was also very pleasant.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 12, 2005
Reviewer: azgdave Massachusetts     May 17, 2005
This was our fifth dinner at Artist Point; we always dine here on our last night at DW. As in the past, the meal was excellent, the service attentive and the atmosphere eligant but relaxing. We ordered the mushroon soup and a salad as starteres, then the salmon and buffalo steak as the entrees. We also enjoyed the three choice wine selection - nice idea when you can't make up your mind. There was no room for dessert. Coffee was served with a French press. Very enjoyable.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 10, 2004
Reviewer: Joanna Virginia     December 02, 2004
When I asked DH to rank the meals he enjoyed the most, this particular restaurant stood out. We arrived and were seated immediately. We did not order appetizers but only entrees. I got their signature dish, the Cedar Plank Roasted Salmon with fennel and a roast potato hash. It was wonderful! It was prepared perfectly and I all but licked the plate clean. DH ordered Pan-Seared Ahi Tuna which he continually commented on throughout the rest of our trip. He LOVED it! Our food was excellent. The service was attentive and we loved the quiet beautiful surroundings. After dinner we took a tour through the resort; checked out the fitness center and the pool. We drove the rental car to dinner but decided to catch the bus from Wilderness Lodge to travel to Downtown Disney/Pleasure Island because we thought it would be more convenient. Big mistake! The bus had so many stops and took too long. Price for the meal for 2, including tip: $68.64
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Aug.21/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Dinner
Very good service
Fairly expensive
Tasty for the most part
Wonderful atmosphere

Overall, we really enjoyed our dinner here. The rustic yet elegant ambience added greatly to the whole experience. Our server was enthusiastic and very funny. I ordered the chicken with succotash. The chicken was delicious but I had never tasted succotash before and, based on what I tried here, I never will again. My son had the pork chops served on macaroni and cheese and said that it was wonderful. We shared a berry cobbler for dessert. Whatever you do, don't miss ordering this incredible dessert. There is more than enough for two to share and it's now my very favorite dessert. In fact, it would be worth the trek over to Wilderness Lodge just to have dessert at Artist Point so you could savor every morsel of their sensational berry cobbler.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 1999
Reviewer: Fngoofy     July 08, 2002
We stayed at Wilderness Lodge that year, and had to try Artist Point!! As a appetizer we had Duck Confit!! Saw it on Emerils show, we had to try it... It was excellent , I wanted more... but we had more courses to go!! LOL! My wife had Steak... (BORING) I tried the smoked Prime Rib... For me it was just a bit to smokey in flavour!! It sort of over powered it!! Since I never had smoked PR before I can't say it was not cooked properly!!! Overall the meal and service were excellent!! .... Goofy
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page