Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Boatwright's Dining Hall
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Port Orleans Resort - Riverside full service restaurant serving up home-style meals for breakfast and dinner.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 7 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 7 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct 05
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
Great place for breakfast. We stayed at POFQ for 10 days and ate breakfast here on our way to the airport. It was a sweet and satisfying end to our magical trip.

I was disappointed when they closed the FQ full-service restaurant. It was a drag to go to Riverside to eat full-service and that ended up being why we only ate here once. However, our favorite items from the FQ menu have made it on the Boatwright's menu.

The strawberries and cream, although easy to prepare, were wonderful. You were brought a little creamer (with truly heavy cream, not 1/2-n-1/2), a bowl of berries, and a bowl of brown sugar. You mixed them up to your taste. YUM!

The sweet potato pancakes were delish. They were not overly sweet and had toasted pecans sprinkled on top. The french toast was also to die for. This was my favorite (we all take tastes and move the plates around). DH had a made-to-order omelet and said it was great.

Our server was harried. She seemed to be the only server who showed up that day. She was very friendly, but it did take a really long time to get our order in and to get our food. This is why I rated 4 instead of 5 planets.

Atmosphere is rather non-descript, but it was light and fresh in the restaurant. Not a Mickey, hidden or otherwise, could be found.

I was very happy with breakfast here. I have never had dinner or lunch here.
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   5/21/05
Reviewer: relaaxedwheniamthere (dustycheatham@hotmail.com) jax fl.     June 02, 2005
Started our night at River Roost Lounge. Saw the great Bob Jackson performing. He has to be seen, what a showman. While waiting for our table in Boatwright's, we shared a shrimp cocktail for the price of $6.95. Best on property. For dinner, Joann was our server. She was magical. Service was good our whole trip. Wife had crab stuffed salmon, by the look on her face it was delish. I had the pot roast. It was more than I could eat, but I did it was that good. Total with tip, $43. If you stay at Port Orleans, you must give Boatwright's a try.
 
51 out of 51 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 25, 2004
Reviewer: Tinkerbellegirl Milford, CT     March 08, 2005
My daughter was sick for 2 days, and was really craving some food-other than crackers and sprite. We walked over to Boatwright's without a priority seating and were seated right away. I got the meat with some sauce and mashed potatoes, it was great. My daughter was craving grilled cheese and though it was not on the menu it was not a problem. We had dessert packed for us, as my daughter was tired which was not a problem. Would deffinitly go back and would love to try breakfast.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 30, 2004
Reviewer: tinkertoad Marietta, Georgia     July 23, 2004
Dinner this night was soup to nuts and every morsel was DELICIOUS! We were seated and then moved at our request to be away from a large party with crying children. We were greeted and served our beverages promptly. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. We never felt rushed. We started our meal with hot bread and French Onion Soup. The cheese layer of the soup was wonderfully soft and stringy as it should be. The broth was infused with lots of onions and sweet onion flavor. It was steaming hot. All of us ordered the prime rib which was around $20. It included a generous cut of beef prepared exactly to our specifications and flavorful au jus. The baked potato was fairly routine, the usual toppings, nice and hot. What I remember most was DESSERT which we had with coffee. The brownie sundae is HUGE - enough for two to share easily and was loaded with hot fudge and whipped cream. The Pecan Explosion is a wonderfully old fashioned giant cookie-pie served upright. It was fairly new to the menu and we were glad we followed our server's suggestion to try it. Throughout the evening we were aware of a manager's presence walking through and chatting with guests. We will definetely go back to BOATWRIGHT'S!

OUTSTANDING - In late Janaury of this year we once again had a delicious breakfast at Boatwright's. The service was warm, friendly, and attentive. We were seated promptly. Our Disney refillable coffee mugs were kept full at no cost to us. The triangular stuffed french toast was served upright making for an awesome plate presentation. It was served with strawberries and a side of bacon and was an enormous portion, served piping hot. The bacon which I requested extra crispy was exactly that. The sweet potato pancakes were large, fluffy, and served with maple syrup and fresh fruit. Both items were excellent values for their price.
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Feb. - 2003
Reviewer: Musicmixer Palmer, Texas (a suburb of Dallas)     March 20, 2004
HORRIBLE!!! My wife and I stayed at PO-FQ for 7 nights and made the huge mistake of eating at Boatwright's one evening for an early (5:30pm) dinner. Our waitress was not very nice and we could barely understand what she was saying (she spoke very broken english). I forget what my wife ordered but I do remember her saying it was terrible. I ordered the prime rib and when it was brought to me it looked more like a VERY thin slice of chuck roast. Not only was the food bad but it is VERY over priced. We love staying @ PO Resort but we will never eat at Boatwright's again.
 
1 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Jan. 2004
Reviewer: MrsGrumpy San Diego, CA     January 16, 2004
VERY DISAPPOINTING! :(

We had dinner at Boatwright's one evening in early January. The hostesses were nice and friendly, and we really liked the atmosphere. The food, and the waitress...was another story...

Our waitress, (whose name I remember, but don't know if it's proper to include in this review), was less than friendly. I tried to be cheerful & smiley to her, but I couldn't get her to crack a smile. She and another waitress stood by the kitchen staring at their tables...watching all the diners like hawks. It was really strange to me! When it was time to pay, she dropped off the bill, stood by the kitchen, looked over at us and as I pulled my traveler's cheques out of my wallet, and began to sign them, she came to our table and hovered over us waiting for the money and tip...I have never had anyone do this before! I don't know if she was ready to go home, and we were her last table of the night, or what...but the hovering annoyed me, and reflected in her tip!
I ordered the Jambalaya...their specialty...(about $17) I was disappointed in it...overpriced and not very flavorful. My husband ordered a Bayou Bloody Mary, which was pretty good, and Peppercorn Crusted New York Strip (about $19), which was yummy, but very fatty. The kids enjoyed their meals: Say Cheese Please Grilled Cheese, and How Now Round Cow (burger). (over $5 each).

I thought for the prices we paid, the food should have been better, and the waitress friendlier.

We will never eat there again.
 
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/17/02 & 9/19/02
Reviewer: WildGrits (wild_g_r_i_t_s@hotmail.com) Cape Fear, North Carolina     September 22, 2002
Our first visit to this resturant was for dinner. The menu is very select. My husband and I each had the French Quarter Filet while our daughters had the Spagetti and the mini hamburgers. Both childrens meals were very big portions as were ours. The presentation of each plate was absolutely beautiful. Our meals came with the filet laying on a bed of cheesy polenta and sauteed squash circled by portabella mushrooms. Very impressive.

Our second visit was for breakfast. If you eat breakfast here, chances are you will not be needing lunch. I had the Blueprint Omelet. On the menu it says three eggs. I think they lie, unless the are ostrich eggs. It was over have the size of my plate. I ate half of it. It came with hashbrowns that were just wonderful. My husband had eggs, pancakes and ham. Each of our girls had the pancake in the shape of Mickey's head with bacon. They had no problem finishing theirs.
 
21 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page