Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Olivia's Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Casual table service restaurant at Old Key West featuring crab cakes, grilled yellowfin tuna and Key Lime pie.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 6 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 6 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 18, 2007
Reviewer: kwdancer26 Missouri     January 06, 2008
Unfortunately, before our President's Day weekend visit to Disney, we hadn't booked any reservations for restaurants. Although every other restaurant in the world was booked, we got one at Olivia's for dinner. We were welcomed warmly when entered the restaurant and seated right away, even though it looked busy. A waitress immediately came to take our drink orders. I ordered the chicken pasta and it was wonderful! I had been feeling sick the entire vacation, but was feeling better that day and it was such a blessing to have a delicious meal!

Our waitress was one of the best we've ever had at Disney. She was extremely friendly and brought us whatever we needed. On this vacation we had also gone to Concourse Steakhouse and Big River Grille at the BoardWalk. Even though Olivia's seems like it would be the 'worst' of these three, it was our favorite. The service, wonderful food, and cozy atmosphere was perfect. Not to mention the coconut bread is amazing.

We are planning another Disney vacation and can't wait to go back to Olivia's again!

 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/22/07 - 6/24/07
Reviewer: AndyMan Atlanta, Georgia     June 27, 2007
A friendly airy eating house, we went for breakfast (as you do) I had the Olivia's special whereas my wife went for poached eggs on hash something or other

My breakfast was acceptable, the wife's on the other hand lead a lot to be desired, the eggs were cold and the hash had burnt pieces in it. The staff were apparently getting ready for an invasion of some 15 or more people, lining tables up and resetting the tableware, it took a while to get their attention before my wife had totally gone off her breakfast.

The next day, we decided to eat out of plastic (the same kitchen preparing the meals just not the same table meals)... this was outstanding, the food was hot and very palletable (and at half the price of sitting down in Olivia's)

Obviously with the same kitchen preparing the meals for both indoor and outdoor eating I would have to say overall the food was very good although we did eat "out" rather than "in" after our first days experience.

On a final note... BEWARE THE COFFEE OUTSIDE IT IS NUCLEAR HOT!
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 19, 2005
Reviewer: vbarbieri Philadelphia, PA     January 02, 2006
This time we had lunch prior to heading home. I had the chicken fried steak with country gravy and it was outstanding my wife had a burger and my daughter had a salad. This is a warm friendly place. It is by far my favorite breakfast place in all of WDW. Lunch is also outstanding and dinner is very good too. A wonderful family place that should be a must for everyone.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 14-20, 2004
Reviewer: startwithamouse Bangor, Maine     November 22, 2004
We love staying at OKW and Olivia's is one of our favorite parts of the resort. Of course, the staff is Disney service so it's incredible. The food here is good, and I especially reccomend the coconut shrimp. It's very relaxing to take an afternoon break at Olivia's and enjoy one of their wonderful key lime smoothies on the patio. I could spend my whole vacation sitting out there, because there is something about being there that takes you back to a much simpler time. The whole atmosphere is very calming and holds so many memories for my family and I.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 3-10, 2004
Reviewer: tumuluscrux Bangor, Maine     November 19, 2004
The first week of November, 2004 my family enjoyed a week long stay at Old Key West and we had such an extraordinary experience that we wanted to share it with you in this review in hopes that Olivia's employees might be recognized for their commitment to the "Magical" experience that Disney promises you when you stay on Disney properties.

Before we arrived my wife, Lori and I were concerned about our daughter Alison's allergy to dairy products and how we would deal with this during our stay at Disney. Alison is allergic to eggs, milk, peanut butter and other dairy byproducts. My wife called and spoke with several Disney employees that promised her it would be alright, but we were still nervous about how it would all work out, especially during a lengthy stay away from home.

Our first night at Old Key West we chose to have dinner at Olivia's Cafe and the chef, Kenny, personally came to our table and assured us that he would make sure that she had a dairy-free meal. He showed us an allergy sheet that included the ingredients of all the meals served in the Cafe along with his personal guarantee that her meal would be safe for her to eat. He was wonderful and he even went so far as to cook her french fries in new fat so that any residue from other foods cooked earlier in the day would not contaminate her meal.

In all the years that we have been dealing with her allergies I don't think anyone has offered to change the fat in their fryolators. It is rare that a chef would take the time to visit with us and reassure us, let alone work with us and help prepare a meal that is satisfying and enjoyable for Alison to eat. You can imagine the anxiety that comes with the fear of an allergic reaction during a meal and not being at home to deal with it all. On top of everything Kenny did, we got one of the best surprises of the trip.

We usually forego desert because of Alison's allergy and if we get desert she usually has a few cherries in a cup from the cocktail bar while her little sister eats vanilla ice cream, but to our surprise Kenny had Alison's brand of dairy free ice cream in the freezer! You can't imagine how thrilled Alison was to find that she could order from the menu like her little sister and how pleased her mother and I were that she could participate in desert with the rest of the family. Rice Dreams is the brand that we keep at home and Kenny had the brand and flavor that Alison enjoys the most on hand. Service from Olivia's wait staff was no different than our experience with Kenny.

Karen served us breakfast every morning during our stay and she was wonderful. We had all the confidence in the world that Karen would make certain that Alison's meal was safe for her to eat. She asked questions about her needs and made sure that Alison's experience was safe and enjoyable. Karen would pick-up on the little things and remember them from day to day.

Alison like's to pretend that she has french toast or pancakes by taking a normal slice of toast and dipping it in maple syrup. Karen noticed this one morning and the next day she had the kitchen trim the crust and shape it so that it appeared more like french toast to Alison. It is these kinds of little touches that made our vacation special and worry free.

We are so accustomed to people being inconsiderate and uncooperative when it comes to Alison's allergies that we don't expect things to be any different when we go out to eat. To have Kenny and Karen show so much care and concern for our daughter's allergies my wife, Lori and I were deeply touched. We look forward to staying at Old Key West again in the future.

After our stay at Old Key West we joined the Vacation Club upon arriving at home. The girls are asking us when we can go back to visit. It truly lived up to the "Home away from Home" advertising that they promise.

 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/3/2002 - 8/9/2002
Reviewer: vbdad55 Chicagoland     August 16, 2002
Olivia's remains a family tradition for our first meal upon arrival at WDW every year. The reason being is that it is offers one of the best atmospheres, casual and tropical, coupled with some of the best fare at WDW. As a family with 2 children 10 years apart and with different tastes there is always something on the menu to please all. Start with the Conch Chowder -- a savory soup with just the right amount of spice and a great wake up call to the senses. Warm rolls and butter are brought to the table and are very welcome after a travel to the Mouse House. Olivia's always offers specials -- the only shame is that they are usually some of the best items offered but are gone the following year. For tried and true order the 2 Blue Crab Cakes-- some of the best you have ever eaten, on savory greens. They are always available and consistently excellent. No extra fillers, or lots of cheap vegetables like lots of onions to give these taste-- but seasoned tastefully and you really get a lot of crab. For the smaller kids-- they offer a grilled cheese sandwhich on rainbow bread-- a nice addition to the usual -- although the kids chicken strips are excellent here- no mystery meat involved in them. One of the specials this year was a plates with smashed garlic potatoes / baked chicken and a white cream sauce-- basic yet comfort food +. My teenage usually orders the special-- although if the staff is reading this-- bring back the chopped steak with wild mushroom sauce over potatoes -- Wine selections are excellent as is the range of smoothies -- ( if you are a Disney Club member-- check your cards as they currently are offering one of these free with each adult entree-- a very nice perk) -- Olivia's offers comfort in the way Prime Time Cafe does -- with even better food and the surroundings that let you know you are on vacation
 
28 out of 29 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page