Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Whispering Canyon Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Fun and boisterous restaurant featuring barbeque chicken ribs and other American cuisine at Wilderness Lodge.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 18 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 11, 2009
Reviewer: littlej North Wales, PA     March 11, 2010
I've been here twice before, once for lunch and once for breakfast. It's a relatively good value for the money. I've had mixed experiences here before, but on this occasion, we had lunch by my parents' request. My 3-yr-old son enjoyed his grilled cheese, and the rest of the party said they enjoyed their burgers and bbq sandwiches. It was an unusually hot day for October, and I had no appetite. I'm not a vegetarian, but I wanted something light, so I ordered the quinoa platter (Sautéed Quinoa Cakes - Edamame, Cucumber Salsa, Grilled Zucchini, and a Tortilla Crisp $15.99). This is truly one of the best meals I have ever enjoyed at Walt Disney World, and I've had quite a few! Every facet of this meal was divine, and for having no appetite, I nearly licked the plate clean. The sauce on the cakes was the standout: a roasted red pepper based sauce, with just a perfect amount of kick. It was just outstanding. The service on this day was not bad, but not great either. I will return, but only to order the quinoa cakes again.
Service: 3 planets
Price: 4 planets
Food: 5 planets
Atmosphere: 3 planets
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   3/13/08
Reviewer: csuwyn Sacramento, CA     October 16, 2008
The most entertaining dining experience in all the Disney Parks! My family chose to eat at Whispering Canyon because we were staying at the Wilderness Lodge and because it sounded like a good place for our almost 3 year old daughter to have a good time. And that's exactly what she did. We had the seemingly never-ending Canyon Skillet, with tons of grilled fare. The food was not great, but pretty good. The service was great, our waiter was always checking on us, making sure we were treated just right, and all of the staff were entertaining. If you want to have a good time, ask for the ketchup, trust me, my daughter did, and she loved it. As for price, if you're not on the dining plan, it might seem a little pricey, but if you can eat a lot of food, or just take your time, you'll get your money's worth.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   April 27, 2007
Reviewer: Imjusta babyduck Pace, Florida     May 15, 2007
We ate here for the first time this trip. I will be honest and tell you that this type of food does not rank very highly on my list, but I was with a large group and everyone else wanted to eat there. First of all, long wait (with ADR). Secondly, this place is very loud and rowdy -- don't expect your kids to want to sit and eat. Third, the food was bad, bad, bad. Once dinner was over, I wasn't the only one who didn't want to eat there -- no one did. Several of us had nachos to start -- do not order them -- yuck! For entrees most people got the all you can eat canyon skillet, served family style -- no one asked for seconds on any of the food because it was just so bad. A couple of people got the meatloaf and didn't eat it. The service was okay, not good, not great, but just okay. I know that the reviews say it is loud and rowdy and you should expect that when you go, which I did. I did not expect to not even be able to talk to the person next to me, much less keep up with my kids due to the craziness of the place. We will never eat at this restaurant again. However, I would recommend the hotel to anyone -- love, love, love Wilderness Lodge. Disney most definitely got it right with this hotel.

 
4 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct 05
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
How fun was this experience? Tons! I think your reception to eating here is completely and totally dependent on your server. Ours was loud, obnoxious, and chatty.....that's a good thing! Interactive eating is the best way to describe this joint.

The kids had a parade of wooden horses, dances, etc. Heaven forbid if you ask for ketchup; you get at least a case of it on your table. The next time someone else asks for it, some CM yells, "Ketchup" and you have to get everyone at your table to grab a ton of ketchup bottles and take them to the requestor. Lots of fun.

The family-style platters went over well with most of our group. 3/6 ate the platters; the other half ate off the menu. The food was good, but not spectacular. The star was the "show."

If your children are shy, this is not the place for them. There's a lot of sound, teasing, yelling, and interaction. They'll be expected to join in or they'll be ridiculed. It's all in good fun, but if you have a child that is somewhat sensitive, you may want to look elsewhere.

What a great opportunity to check out another resort, too! The WL is a beautiful resort and the lobby is truly breathtaking. You can't get to the restaurant without going through the lobby.

Service: 5 planets
Price: 4 planets
Food: 4 planets
Atmosphere: 5 planets
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 31, 2006
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     June 25, 2006
We met some friends here for lunch and it was definately a unique experience. My friend secretly asked the waitress to have his teenage daughters and our teenage babysitters ride the "stick ponies" around the restaurant, which she saw to it but had him do it with them. I thought that was hilarious until the girls got revenge by asking the waitress to have innocent me sing "I'm a little teapot" in front of the entire restaurant. At that point, my thoughts were beginning to change about the place. After my embarrassing singing debut, we ate average food from the menu. The service was good but I was expecting better quality food. Maybe I'll have to order something different next time, if there is a next time. Just don't go with mischievious teenagers -- you'll have dinner but you might BE the show.
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/26/05
Reviewer: burnell316 Elizabethtown PA     December 07, 2005
A-la-carte menu is very good, the buffet was OK. The wonderful endless milkshakes and the constant entertainment make this place a special and unique dinning experience. Very fun for families. The fish dinner of Grouper and white beans was far far better than the entrée I had at the California grill. The disney dining plan made our $160 bill for 4 come down to about $60, the dining plan is a great value.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/24/05
Reviewer: fredtom Biloxi, MS     November 14, 2005
Whispering Canyon Cafe has some of the best food and at exceptional value. The all you can eat Canyon Skillet is one of the best deals to be found anywhere. Many people think this is primarily a "barbeque" restaurant, which it isn't. They do have some barbequed and grilled items on the menu, but they offer much more than that. However, the barbequed and roasted dishes they do have are outstanding-- the ribs, pulled pork and chicken especially. The Cowboy Beans are delicious along with the corn on the cob.
Since my wife and I were dining alone for dinner, we asked for a quieter table, which you might think would not be possible at this venue, but it is. We had to wait a few minutes since the restaurant was full, but it was well worth it. We were seated at a cozy table for two next to a fireplace. Our server, "Lazy" Susan, was wonderful and took great care of us.
This is one of my favorite restaurants-- delicious food and great service. I never need to look at the menu-- I just say "I'll have the skillet, please".
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   04February2004
Reviewer: Simon Templar North Carolina     January 27, 2005
We have visited WDW yearly ever since opening. Although we stayed at a myriad of hotels, on and off property, the Wilderness Lodge has been our favourite. Indeed, we have made it our WDW home for the past five years running.

We have often eaten at Whispering Canyon. Clearly not the place for those wanting a nice quiet meal. However, our experience at this restaurant on this date is one I will never EVER forget.

Our party consisted of myself, my wife, her sister and husband, their two kids (ages 3 and 4). We had been at the parks all day. The children were without their naps and understandably cranky. All of us were hot, exhausted, and too weak to bother going elsewhere for dinner.

We arrived at WC and were seated about as had been usual. My sister-in-law asked for high-chair seats for the kids. The waiter seemed a bit put out that we would make him run for such things. We ordered beverages all around and settled down to our menus.

As above, we were all quite hot and tired, myself especially as I had been schlepping cameras, kid bags, and etc., through MK all day. When my soda arrived, it took me little time to down it. Certainly faster than anyone else at the table.

When I caught the waiters' attention for a refill, his repsonse was "drank that already? We have just the glass for you!". A bare 5 minutes later he reappeared with what appeared to be an ice jug from from a soda fountain machine (capacity: approx 1 gallon...maybe slightly more.)....filled with soda, a handful of straws were floating on the surface. With great ceremony and shouting to all within earshot about the 'Big Guy At This Table with the drinking problem' here was a mug just for him!

While this may sound amusing to some, bear in mind that I am unfortunately more than a little overweight. To be very honest about it all.....I found this to be MOST humiliatilng and embarrassing beyond description. Even now, nearly a year later, I still feel this to be probably the worst treament I have received at ANY restaurant..ANYWHERE.

I still feel this was clearly an example of 'lets-make-fun-of-the-fat-guy'. I am generally a pretty level headed, even-tempered, fellow and normally quite willing to be the brunt of a joke from time to time. But this was uncalled for and, to say the very least, unprofessional.

Everyone at the table was embarrassed by this behaviour. Indeed, 2005 may be the first year since the early '70's that we have not made the trip to WDW. And it WILL be all because of this event.

I would not reccomend Whispering Canyon to anyone....regardless of meal, time-of-day, or any other circumstance.
 
7 out of 88 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   October 31
Reviewer: momof2princesses Appleton, WI     November 04, 2004
I was very disappointed with this restaurant. We went here solely because of great reviews. It sounded like so much fun. We decided to go on Halloween because we thought that would be even more fun. The place was a dud! We tried all the tricks to get our waitress (Gran) to play along - asking for ketchup, a spoon, a large drink. What we got was no fun at all, but simply ketchup, a spoon, and normal size drinks. Perhaps they've changed, but I thought it was simply an overpriced restaurant with no fun added at all. We will not go back nor will we recommend this place to others.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 14
Reviewer: SouthflLady South Florida     March 24, 2004
Whispering Canyon is GREAT. We had 5 PM reservations and were called to be seated almost immediately. When they open they ring a bell and yell; it's hilarious.
Our waitress was "Headalettuce" and she was fantastic. The whole staff here is amazig. The food was decent, but the staff really makes Whispering Canyon a 5 "Planet" restaurant. It was the most fun we have EVER had a a restaurant, in and out of the "world."
I ordered the vegetarian pasta, and it was ok. The other people in my party had the ribs and steak. The food is overpriced, but the experience makes it worth. I can't imagine anyone not getting a kick out of the atmosphere!! I laughed the whole time. :)
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page