Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Whispering Canyon Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Fun and boisterous restaurant featuring barbeque chicken ribs and other American cuisine at Wilderness Lodge.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 18 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 18 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 26, 2003
Reviewer: muzicman md11 Minneapolis, Minnesota     March 13, 2004
I'll admit, when I first saw this place, I did not want to eat there. It looked very loud, as at certain times a lady would shake a bell loud and call out 'dinner!!' It was our final day at Disney, and we were headed back to MN in a few hours, and I knew we would get nothing on the airplane, so I figured why not?? We were seated towards the back, the theme is real nice and western. I ordered a chicken with BBQ sauce and cheese. It was excellent!! At the end, we decided to order a desert which consisted of a baked pie with ice cream which was delicious! We chatted with the server who was familiar with the area that we live in MN. Towards the end, a waiter named 'Doc Willis' asked everyone to make an animal noise. As much as I degressed, he chose me! I had to make a cow noise in front of the whole restaurant! All in all, it was a great experience, and a great way to end our stay in Disney! Turns out that I would love to go back to the restaurant!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Aug. 22/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Breakfast
Wonderful, friendly service
Good value
Excellent food
Rustic atmosphere

When we entered the Whispering Canyon Cafe, I felt like I was about to eat at the Ponderosa Ranch - it's a very rustic, very western, yet very pleasant setting. Our server was great - efficient and friendly. And the food was excellent. I had the fruit platter which was so huge that I couldn't finish it all (our server kindly offered to pack up the rest of our fruit for us to munch on as we headed off for the theme parks for the day). My son had the all you can eat skillet and pronounced it to be amazing. It certainly looked amazing: scrambled eggs, various assorted breakfast meats, hotcakes, hash browns, and a variety of delicious breakfast breads. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast here and would recommend this establishment to anyone.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 12, 2003
Reviewer: Cindywannabe Littleton, CO     May 20, 2003
Party of 10 (6adults, 4 kids) seated within 15 minutes of our priority seating. Our waiter was okay, some were louder. Five of us had the family style dinner which was really good. Salad with apple vingrette dressing, ribs, shredded pork, smoked sausage, beef stew, baked beans, corn on the cob, plus biscuits and cornbread. My dad had the chicken penne which he wasn't impressed with. Kids had the typical kid stuff, macaroni and cheese, hot dog, chicken fingers. Kids had a wooden stick horse race around the restaurant, one of them had to stand on a chair and shout for ketchup. Our waiter made hats out of the bandanna napkins. Try to get seated in the main room of the restaurant it seemed like the happening place to be! I would definitely eat there again!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/22/03
Reviewer: cally Troy, Ohio     January 16, 2003
A fun place to eat. Food was good, but the ribs could have been better. They were a little dry, everything else was very good. We had a party of 11, so it took a little bit of time to get seated. We all had the all you can eat skillet for dinner.
Our server was good she was able to keep all of us stocked with ribs, corn and all you can drink shakes.
The setting is wonderful, being that it is in the heart of the Wilderness Lodge, which I think is one of the best resorts.
My two nephews really enjoyed the "pony ride" around the place. This is where every kid in the restaurtant gets a stick pony and circles around the place. A lot of fun.
For two of us it ran about 65.00 with tip. Which is just a little more then what I normally send at a rib place. A place I will go back to one of these days.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 15, 2002
Reviewer: pmurphy713 Mobile, Alabama     January 05, 2003
What an awesome place to eat and have fun, too! This was our second visit to Wispering Canyon. After eating breakfast there on our previous visit, this was a definite do over. No only is the Wilderness Lodge one of the most beautiful resorts, but the servers are out of this world. It is such a fun place to eat at that my usually antsy children (girls, ages 7 & 8) had a ball. Total cost for the all you can eat skillet and drinks for the four of us was $42.00. While this may seem like a lot of money just for breakfast, the food taste and quantity is absolutely awesome. The skillet includes biscuits, sausage gravy, pinecone shaped waffles, bacon, link sausage, hash browns, eggs and breakfast bread. The waitress will bring you more of just one thing or more of everything, your choice.

The atmosphere is definitely loud and boisterous, but you are NOT rushed at all. The servers keep up lots of fun! At any one time you may be requested to wave your napkin in the air and sing happy birthday to someone, get up a hand another table a bottle ketchup or have the kids invited up for a stick pony ride.

On this visit, we did notice a new character in the dining room, a Tattle Tale! If she was walking by your table and asked if you needed anything (Ketchup) and you said yes, she immediately announced to the entire room to "Get up off your behinds and bring this table some ketchup." At one point after this table had approximately 12 bottles, she loudly asked if that were enough! Don't try to get around her by sneaking to an empty table to get your own bottle, she'll see you and announce to the room that you are a Ketchup Thief!

Our server was awesome and brought my two girls another glass of OJ at no charge when she overheard me tell them that I wasn't going to order another glass because I didn't think they would drink it all. She made them promise to drink it all and they did without hesitation. Thanks, Mustang Sally!

As you can tell, we absolutely love this restaurant and plan to make it a stop on every trip. The food, service, price and atmosphere are A1!
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   November 11, 2002
Reviewer: LauraD Alberta, Canada     November 18, 2002
Meal: Dinner
Service: Slow

We were seated in the back away from all the chaos. Nice and quiet. Our server was a little odd, he may have fit in better in the busier area. He did spend a lot of time helping people with their selections, but he was always throwing straws. The food was good. Beef, chicken, sausage, beef stew, potatoes. Well cooked and hot.
 
0 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 26, 2002
Reviewer: Eppinger (eppinger6@comcast.net) South River, NJ     August 31, 2002
Dinner for six adults and one child was $150.00 before tax. Five of us had the all you could eat homestyle buffet which featured chicken, ribs, beef. Included also were soft drinks, baked beans, corn on the cob fresh biscuts. One children's meal and one chicken ceasar also included. One of the most enjoyable dinning experiences we have had as a family. The food was excellent and the entertainment has to be seen to be believed!! Be prepared if you go, you may be part of the show.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/15/2002
Reviewer: T R Wolf West Chester, PA     June 21, 2002
If you plan to have a quiet lunch, this is the last place you want to eat. This restaurant is a blast for lunch or dinner, if you have kids in the 4-8 range. I don't recall what we ate but it doesn't matter- the main menu item here is fun. The stick pony race my son loved- especially the vow to never-ever visit Universal! It is especially nice to get away from the theme parks and spend some time at WL, which has a huge but quiet hotel lobby. We came over on the "launch" boat from the MK, which was also very relaxing. Total cost was aroung $50 for 2 adults and one child.
 
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page