Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Beaches and Cream Soda Shop
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Sundaes and other ice cream treats, burgers. Sit at the counter or booths for table service. At the Beach Club Resort.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 9 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 9 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 17, 2007
Reviewer: CraigC Memphis, Tennessee     February 24, 2007
The burgers were great, and the ice cream even better. We sat at the counter and had a great time in the fun atmosphere.

Our lunch did, however, take a very long time. First we had to wait about 20-30 minutes to be seated. Then, the nice lady who was our waitress just seemed to be overloaded. It seemed like she was taking care of almost everyone in the place, while other workers were just standing around.

We got to see a table order the Kitchen Sink (HUGE sundae with every flavor of ice cream and topping). It was a large table with about 10 people celebrating a birthday. They seemed to finish it off, but just barely. Lots of fun. We will definitely go back, but probably just for ice cream so it won't take so long.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 27, 2006
Reviewer: coconut wireless Honolulu, HI     September 25, 2006
Myself and former WDWCP trailermate went for a visit. He had a basic burger. I had the Kitchen Sink. Jim enjoyed his burger. I managed to finish off the KS in 50 minutes by myself. I can truely say that I understand what gluttony is now. I did get it for free. It tasted really good up until about 1/2 way though and then the flavors started mixing together.

The atmosphere was wonderful. Understand that being an ice cream place it was very noisey with lots of kids running around, but that is what helped make it. The wait staff was friendly and attentive to both myself and Jim as I attempted to complete the task at hand. Our waitress was impressed when I completed the KS and said that only about 3-4 people per year manage to do what I did.

I don't know if I should be ashamed, embarrassed or proud of what I did.

I would recommend eating here.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 30, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
They used to have a great hamburger here. Things have really gone downhill. My wife remembered them making the hamburger patties by hand now they use preformed patties. They are not anywhere as juicy nor tastey. However if you like icecream this is the only place I know of in Disney World that makes sundaes. So it is not a total loss. Enjoy!
 
4 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 16-25, 2005
Reviewer: MattyMouse330 Massachusetts     September 08, 2005
Beaches and Cream is a splendid little restaurant! Staying at Disney's Beach Club Resort just made it all the better. The burgers were tremendous and the staff was extremely friendly. The ice cream is great and they have a huge selection of choices ranging from the "Kitchen Sink" a monster in the form of dessert to small cups of your choice flavor. It is also great for a midnight snack or lunch by the pool! While I can't exactly give it 5 planets (like Spoodles), I'll give it 4 (4 1/2 if I could!) for it's food and fun presence.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 24, 2004-August 4, 2004
Reviewer: Melissa G. (melg8@yahoo.com) Medford, NY     July 15, 2005
I cannot believe that no one has ordered the Kitchen Sink at Beaches and Cream in any of these reviews yet. This huge ice cream monstrosity has all the toppings you could ever think of and 6 scoops of different flavored ice cream and when they bring it out to you, they dim the lights and make an announcement. We finished it but it wasn't without pain and strife. We made the mistake of getting it after the huge buffet at Cape May. Lets just say there were 6 of us and a few of us had to make pitstops to the bathroom before we could finish it all. We persevered though and ate it all to the last drop. It was funny and memorable. To make everyone feel better after all the sickness and pain, I reminded them that this was a story we could all tell for years to come and it was something we all did together.
I highly recommend ordering the Kitchen Sink on an empty stomach or you may receive the same fate.
We even took before and after pictures. If you would like to see those, you could shoot me an email and I can see what I can do.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   17 & 18 December 2002
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 08, 2003
Dinner, 17 & 18 December 2002

Service: Excellent, especially if you sit at the bar!
Price: Extremely reasonable for Disney!
Food: Wonderful - the best vegetarian burgers on Disney property!
Atmosphere: The best!

Beaches and Cream is based in the 1950's, complete with a jukebox and little booths, as well as tables for you to sit at. It's very brightly coloured and the whole place just screams "fun" at you the minute you walk in. There are also seats available at the bar and it's worth asking about those when you arrive, if they tell you it's full. Usually by full, they mean that all the tables and booths have gone.

This place is such good value and I think it says something that we went back there, two nights running and had exactly the same thing on both nights.

On both occasions, we had a Caesar salad between us to start off and then for main course, I had the veggie burger (still the best Ive ever had), while DH had Burger Heaven. When the server brought over my veggie burger, she did warn me it would taste like meat, but she'd got the order right and it was in fact vegetarian. I'm glad she gave me the warning, because otherwise I think I'd have sent it back, claiming it was meat!

We love sitting at the bar and watching the servers prepare all the food. I couldn't believe how much cream went on the desserts and watching them put together the Kitchen Sink is terrifying! It's great fun at the bar and it's a lovely opportunity to chat to the servers as well and find out a bit more about them, which we always enjoy.

The total cost for the first meal was $32.41 and the second one came to $34, both including tip. I think that's reasonable for a very good quality meal. If you haven't tried Beaches and Cream, you must do. It is hidden away, but it's certainly a hidden gem with great food, excellent prices and a wonderful atmosphere that takes you right back to the 50's.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 10, 2002
Reviewer: LauraD Alberta, Canada     November 18, 2002
Meal: Dinner
Price: Average

We were seated at the counter. We ordered hamburgers. Excellent and filling. The fries are the big kind. Milkshakes are excellent! Our server was funny and did a lot of teasing us. It felt a bit crowded, but the 50's music was wonderful, with everyone behind the counter grooving and gossiping to the music. We would definately go back.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 6-14, 2002
Reviewer: disneygirl1955 Mammoth Lakes, CA     August 12, 2002
We decided to walk over to this place for dinner after a day at Epcot because we'd heard they were the best burgers in the 'World'. The burgers were indeed fresh, large, and delicious. Though not the best I've ever had, I think it is true they're the best you'll find in Walt Disney World. The only disappointment with our food was dessert. We decided to get chocolate cake ala mode, but the cake was dry and not that great. The ice cream sundaes looked great, though, and next time we'll go with one of those.

According to our server, this restaurant can't seem to decide whether to be a counter service or a table service. Since it's officially considered 'counter service' you can't make PS reservations, and I couldn't get the Cast Member discount I had gotten at all table service restaurants. Yet like a table service restaurant, we were seated by a host after a short wait, had a server, and got our check after the meal. But the prices were very reasonable and more in line with counter service prices (just over $20 for our meal).

Our server, Tim, was friendly and outgoing, and the place is bright and cheery (though much smaller than I'd guessed - just a handful of tables). Check it out if you're in Epcot (or leaving it) and want a good burger, or especially if you're staying in Epcot area hotels.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 2002
Reviewer: susieqintexas Texas     August 01, 2002
Outstanding! Super, super friendly staff! The best ice cream sundaes ever...but they are big enough for a meal!!! Absolutely huge!!!! One is enough to share. The chocolate and peanut butter is the best! Definitely a fun way to end an evening...ice cream and then a stroll along the lake.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page