Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Big River Grille and Brewing Works
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Table service restaurant offering American cuisine, micro-brewed beers. At the Boardwalk Inn.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 7 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 7 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   04/05/08-04/11/08
Reviewer: brs214 Philadelphia, PA     April 13, 2008
My husband and I love beer, so we were very excited about this brewery, however we were very disappointed. We arrived at the Brewery around 9 pm with no reservations and got seated right away. We started with the Jalapeno Spinach Cheese Dip, and I think this was the best part of the meal. The dip was OK; it was creamy with a little kick to it. I originally chose the Wowzers Wheat beer, but was quickly informed that it wasnt available yet, so I chose the Sweet Magnolia Brown ale, which was pretty good. Then our main courses came. I ordered the Hazelnut Crusted Chicken and my husband ordered (a special) Seared Ahi Tuna. My chicken was rubbery and not good at all, there was no flavor to it. My husband ordered Seared Ahi Tuna and that wasnt properly seared and it was completely unseasoned. For my second round of beer I choose the Steamboat Pale Ale, and it really wasnt good at all, there was no flavor to it. We opted not to get dessert because we were so disappointed in dinner. I would not recommend this restaurant.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 4, 2007
Reviewer: celtfiddler Everett WA     February 08, 2007
We were very impressed with the quality of service and food at the Big River Grille. The Hazelnut Chicken with Sun Dried Cherry sauce is outstanding. The quality of beer selection is excellent.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Oct 05
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
They were all but empty the day we went (Hurricane Wilma was on the way and everyone was heading in). The host called my son a girl, which didn't go over well with him, but he apologized profusely, both on the way in and out of the restaurant.

Our server was eager to give suggestions. We had the spinach and cheese dip for an appetizer. It was spicy and slightly hot, but not overy zesty. It was just enough to whet our appetites (party of 6).

Meals ran the gamut--meatloaf, salmon, chicken, salads. Everything was fine. None was outstanding; none was poor. The interior looked a little shop-worn to me. The floor should've been vacuumed, and there was no reason they couldn't have since there were so few patrons.

Our seat was against the windows overlooking the Boardwalk, and with the rain letting up temporarily, the boards glistened in the neon lights. That was cool.

Our food came in a timely manner. Entrees ranged from $10-20 pp. Micro-brewed beer selection was good; flavor was pretty good.

This restaurant is no Flying Fish, but it doesn't pretend to be anything more than what it is--well-prepared, simple American food. On that term, it is just fine.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 26, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
We got in early to the Beach Club so we had some time to explore the Boardwalk. We decided to have lunch here at Big River Grille. The hamburger was about the best and biggest I had in a while. The micro beer was excellent. But and I mean but ... the burger did not come with fries. They only offer thick potato chips with their sandwiches. While these kettle potato chips have a nice potato flavor they are very greasy. Order the great cheeseburger and forget the chips. I still recommend the place. Enjoy!!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   02/27/05
Reviewer: Tara13 Memphis, TN     March 08, 2005
Service - 5
Food - 2
Atmosphere - 5
Price - 4

My family and I ate here on our second night in WDW. We were staying at the Boardwalk Villas and had no plans for dinner this night. We walked up and were seated immediately. We chose to sit on the boardwalk. The atmosphere was great we were able to see some of the fireworks going off at Magic Kingdom and even more at Epcot. We also enjoyed the people watching. The service was great as well. Mike, our server, was polite and eager to please! The food, however, was a disappointment. My chicken Caesar salad was bland, and my moms alfredo pasta had no taste. I cant remember what my dad and sister had, but they werent really impressed with the food either.

For 4 adults, one glass of wine, no appetizers or desserts, I think we spent about $100.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   10/24/04
Reviewer: Eppinger South River, NJ     November 15, 2004
Had lunch outside. Had a micro brew that was pretty good. I had a chicken sandwich that was more vegetables than chicken, although tasty. Chocolate cake for dessert. My guest had a chicken salad. The bill with tip about $42.00. Nice place to sit and relax over a light meal. Service was very good.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 2001
Reviewer: poweraap Millburn, New Jersey     July 30, 2002
This is a great place to sit outside, have a cold beer and a great salad or sandwich. In the evening, when the Boardwalk is not too crowded, it is a very relaxing place to dine. Their salads and sandwiches are delicious. The waitstaff is very pleasant. We ate there on the day that we were engaged and our waiter brought us some complimentary champagne. The beer that they brew there is also very good. I particularly enjoy their pale ale. They also have delicious pretzel bread.
 
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page