Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Flying Fish Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Table service restaurant featuring American cuisine, seafood, steaks. At the Boardwalk Inn resort.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 7 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 7 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 17-25, 2009
Reviewer: Joel Nelson Minnesota     October 27, 2009
Our visits (2) this trip were wonderful. Our second visit did require help from management because of an anniversary. It went great. We highly recomend this great place, from Keith the manager to Andrew, Dave, and Curly they are all great. We look forward to February 2010.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 26, 2004
Reviewer: marryy Pennsylvania     May 27, 2004
This is one of the best restaurants at Disney World! Not as chic as the California Grill, which can have a cocktail attire feel to it. It is located right on the small boardwalk area by the Boardwalk Hotel (easy walking from the Swan/Dolphin). A boat travels from Epcot right to the dock by the restaurant, so it's a wonderful choice for dinner. Just take the boat that leaves from the Epcot International Gateway between England and France. This is a "fancy" restaurant, so you would feel uncomfortable in tank tops and shorts. Children are welcome, and we took ours. It is a hoppin' kind of place, so the kids won't feel like they have to sit with their hands folded. Our waiter (Jon) was fabulous!!! He made us feel so welcome, and the service was the best we ever had! That is such a hard combination: friendly, yet impeccable. The decor was very nice. Pillars around the room helped to break up the large open space and buffer noise. We had a party of 9, so we sampled almost everything on the menu. The potato-wrapped snapper was delicious, the crusted N.Y. strip steak was superb (wish I'd gotten it!), and all the other food we tried was perfectly prepared. I found that the Tuna Tartare was not to my taste, but this was more my own taste than any fault in preparation. We had soup to nuts (Banana Napoleon was tasty), and spent a bundle. But we all agreed it had been worth it. We would go back in a minute. One small thing was that we did wait 45 minutes after our priority seating time, but they had several large parties ahead of us, and they were obviously hustling and doing their best.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 11 2002
Reviewer: akdisney Laguna Beach Cal.     December 26, 2002
I was walk around boardwalk and did a walk up to the flying fish cafe for dinner(5:00 pm or 5:30 pm). It was the first seat for dinner. if you a single or couple and doing a walk up there is alway seat at the bar or by the kitchen. for dinner I order the Tuna tartare with Soy-Cilantro vinaigrette wasabi creme Fraiche and sesame crackers ($12.00). for Entrees I pick for the chef's thunder a Oak fired dayboat scallops with Lemon- tarragon risotto, rapini and ruby grapfruit emulsion ($29.00) and had the chef's pick of wine for the scallps a Ironhorse vineyards chardonnay green valley 99 ($11.50 a glass)
the tuna tartare was best I have eatting. the scallops you only get four or five and no taste the emulsion did not help much. I have to ask for more of the sauce. After that I till was hungey so I order the dessert. First was the Warm valrhona chocolate suffle' cake with Pistachio ice cream on a vanilla tuile ($8.00)
It was so good and I found out why people like the pistachio ice cream. I may found a new flavors of ice cream. Well I did not stop there the waitress toll me about the winning contest of desserts, the Banana napoleon with Crispy Phyllo dough, vanilla cre'me brulee and warm caramel sauce ($8.00)
Now I know it was a winning dessert. you can you can die for.
the service was great and hard working. the atmosphere is like you step of the broadwalk and in to a sea side place and have dinner. there is a a lot of room you not to close togetter.
the head chefs is new from calf. and it was he four night.
know for the dessert chef the planets rateing be lower.
Alan
 
3 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 2002
Reviewer: gottiv Boston     November 12, 2002
When we came to Disney, we expected great food and service, but our experience at the Flying Fish ranked right up there with the best meals we've ever had in Boston and New York. We started with the Ahi Tuna Tartare with Cilantro Vinaigrette. I must say this is the first time we've ever ordered tartare and it was to die for. Next, we ordered the the potato wrapped snapper (even if you don't think you're interested in Snapper, this dish is a MUST)..it was delicious, creative and beatifully presented. My husband also said his crusted steak filet was the best he'd ever had. Even if you are not a big seafood fan, DO NOT miss this amazingly creative restaurant that will thrill your taste buds in a refreshingly relaxed and unpretentious atmosphere.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 6-14, 2002
Reviewer: disneygirl1955 Mammoth Lakes, CA     August 12, 2002
I was hesitant to eat here because I don't eat seafood, but this was the best meal of our trip for sure. I love a good cut of beef, so I tried the char-crusted New York Strip. If you are a steak fan, DO NOT miss this one. It is the best steak I have ever had. It was seasoned and prepared perfectly, and the presentation was great, too. (Just writing about it makes my mouth water.) My husband ordered a bowl of soup for a starter and a ravioli entree. His meal was very good, but he was jealous after he tried a bite of my steak and said he should have went with that instead. The portions of our entrees were perfect, but the $8 Lava Cake we ordered for dessert was much too small (though delicious).

The atmosphere was finely appointed, yet comfortable. It is a bright, airy place with lots to look at on the walls and the ceiling. Our service was excellent, and the pace of the meal was good. The price of the meal was high (nearly $70, not including gratuity and with ordering non-alcoholic beverages), but we agreed it was worth it. We will be back.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 11, 2002
Reviewer: disneyfamily Convoy, Ohio     June 30, 2002
The Flying Fish is an excellent choice for an evening of fine dining while at Disney World. We called ahead for Priority Seating for a late dinner at 9 p.m. and were promptly seated with only a 5 minute wait. The restaurant itself was more upscale than we had expected for being at Disney (we took our two children, ages 3 and 8, along); however, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there due to one of the friendliest and most attentive waiters we have ever met (John).

I had an appetizer of crab and baby shrimp rolled into tiny "cakes" and served with a sweet and sour sauce, and for the main course, I chose the Oak-Grilled Mahi-Mahi, served with shrimp and asapragus, and my husband had the Blackened Grouper which was the chef's special for the eveningand had a Cajun flare. We allowed our waiter to choose our wine for us, and he did an excellent job, choosing a wine that was delicious and refreshing. The kids were impressed by the "grown-up" atmosphere of the restaurant and their meals were tasty, but the portions were too large. Of course, we weren't complaining!

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to experience fine dining and who is willing to pay for it (our total bill was around $150, not including the tip). I would not, however, recommend taking young children unless they are well-behaved and can sit still without being disruptive. The restaurant had an intimate, quiet atmosphere which is not always conducive to little ones.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/27/01
Reviewer: Andy123     June 17, 2002
Absolutely one of the best 10 meals I've had anywhere... this was our 4th time here, and this was the best. I had Oak Grilled Wahoo with Rock Shrimp and Wild Mushroom Risotto. Absolutely divine!!! I contend (never haven eaten at Victoria & Alberts) this is the best restaurant in WDW.
 
6 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page