Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For no longer accepting new reviews
Spoodles
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Mediterranean cuisine featuring braised lamb, pizza, pasta. At the Boardwalk Inn resort. As of September, 2009, closed for business.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 8 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 8 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 6, 2009
Reviewer: Jodieileen6 Mechanicsburg, OH     June 23, 2009
We ate here June 6, the last night of our stay. We rode a boat from Epcot(Or maybe the Magic Kingdom?)there and back and it was a very relaxing time.

Barb was our server and she was EXCELLENT. She engaged with my 5-year-old son and us and offered menu suggestions and answered our questions.

I had the shrimp with preserved lemon, parsley and garlic-cream sauce and the pasta seemed a little dry. Barb was back on the double with a little side of the garlic-cream sauce for me. That pasta was delicious! The bread they bring you with your meal is good as well. My son ordered the fish with yogurt and green beans and Barb even brought him his own make-your-own-sundae with our desserts. Speaking of which, were AWESOME. My boyfriend and I both had the chocolate espresso cake and it was the best dessert I had all week (tied with the banana-chocolate creme brulee' at Kona Cafe). For his entree, my boyfriend had the pork tenderloin and it was tender and flavorful.

I was initially a little leery about coming here, because I have seen some not-so-flattering reviews of Spoodles. On a recommendation from a friend, I made a reservation about ten days out and am so glad I did. I am sure Kouzzina will be a great restaurant, but Disney World is losing another great one.

Service: Service was very very good. Our server, Barb, met our every need and offered menu recommendations. She also upsold my son a flashing Lightning McQueen for $4.99. While I did not especially appreciate this as a parent, I did as a business owner and salesperson.
Price: We were on the Dining Plan but the prices seemed in line with most Disney Restaurants. The food here was fresh and flavorful so I would not have minded paying cash for my meal.
Food: Excellent. I wish I could find the recipe for that chocolate espresso cake. My shrimp/pasta dish was flavorful and fresh and the pork tenderloin melted in your mouth. The focaccia and olive dip is yummy.
Atmosphere: It's loud. The kitchen is an open-air kitchen and the waiting area opens right out onto the boardwalk. But it's bright and sunny and it's enjoyable to watch the people in the kitchen.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/28/07
Reviewer: wdwmartin Irvine, CA     September 04, 2007
Let me just start by saying Spoodles rocks!

We were staying at All Star Music so getting to and from Spoodles was a bit of an adventure, but it was worth every second. We arrived and were seated promptly, our server was friendly, efficient and quick with a drink refill. The atmoshpere is open and a little loud and we really enjoyed the open kitchen.

We started with appetizers, fresh hummus, garlic lemon shrimp and four cheese flat bread. We enjoyed them all very much. I even liked the shrimp and I am not a shrimp eater, it was cooked perfectly.

For main courses, two of us had the steak kabobs and I had the pork chop. This was the best pork chop that I have ever had in my life! All future pork chops will be compared to Spoodles. The steak kabobs were cooked as ordered and very tender and tasty. The morrocan sauce that they serve on the side with the kabobs, was very different and I can see some people not liking it, but we really enjoyed it.

For dessert we had the white chocolate orange cake, the creme brulee and the home made gelato. We all really enjoyed the desserts and DD is still raving about the gelato, it was very good!

Like I said the trek to Spoodles was a little long, but worth it.

Spoodles will be on the list for every trip from here on out!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 19, 2007
Reviewer: CraigC Memphis, Tennessee     February 24, 2007
We had a great dinner at Spoodles. The atmosphere is comfortable and inviting. The location is great - after dinner we enjoyed a stroll on the Boardwalk and enjoyed some of the entertainers.

My wife and daughter enjoyed the garlic shrimp appetizer, and I had the greek salad. All delicious. I had the lemon chicken with orzo for an entree, and it was perfectly prepared. My daughter had the four-cheese flatbread. While it had too much garlic and feta for my daughter's taste, I had a piece and thought it was perfect. My daughter's disappointment with the flat bread was definitely not the restaurants fault, it was yummy. Next time, we will just make sure that she orders something more to her taste.

We skipped dessert and opted for ice cream later along the Boardwalk. The service was relaxed, prompt, and helpful. Just a great experience. Spoodles is now one of our new favorites for Disney trips.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 16-25, 2005
Reviewer: MattyMouse330 Massachusetts     September 08, 2005
My family and I went to quite a few restaurants in Walt Disney World, but one of my favorites was Spoodles located at Disney's BoardWalk. Spoodles gets an A+ for location, considering we were staying at Disney's Beach Club Resort and it was about a 5 minute walk there. The first time we ate there, we had dinner. The dinner food also deserves an A+ in itself. I had the Fettuccine Alfredo, which was ABSOLUTLEY to die for. My dad had a more spicy pasta dish, my brother had the shrimp, and my mom had the pork. Everyone loved their meal, and our server was very nice and attentive. The second time we ate at Spoodles was for breakfast. I'd say this earns an B+. The food was very good and plentiful, and our server was very nice, but for one thing, the place had a lot of small children, upping the noise level way up there, and I, myself am not a breakfast person. My meal, the Mickey waffles were small, but about as wide as a mini dictionary. If you are in the Epcot/BoardWalk Resort area, I highly recommend this tremendous restaurant, and cannot wait to return!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Aug 7, 2004
Reviewer: MouseMom Freeport, IL     August 09, 2004
We had no problems getting a table for dinner. We shared the tapas sampler for two and had the paella. The food was fresh and the spices just enough to wet your palate. No complaints. Our daughter had the shrimp (excellent, not like fried batter shrimp). She made her own sundae for dessert and I had the pistachio white chocolate. Wine can be on the high side but excellent. Our dinner was about $85 before tip. We were hesitant at first when you don't know what your child will eat but we saw lots of happy kids eating. Their kids menu was excellent. Our waitress was sharp and attentive.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   29 December 2002
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 08, 2003
Dinner, 29 December 2002

Service: Very good
Price: Expensive, but we did enjoy our meal
Food: Excellent
Atmosphere: Very loud, but had a great time

We booked Spoodles on the advice of a CM. Wed been there on our honeymoon in 1999 for a late lunch and hadnt been too impressed with it, but as the CM told us, chefs do come and go and it wasnt the first good review wed heard about Spoodles during this vacation, so we decided to give it a go, especially as I kept being told they had a lot of items for vegetarians there!

For appetiser, we both had flatbreads and were stunned by the size of them. They took up all of the plate and looked more like a main course to me! They were both delicious and we pretty much finished them, although I think it would have made more sense if we'd shared one. We'll know for next time.

For entrée, I had the Spanish stuffed peppers and DH had the oak grilled porterhouse pork. Mine was slightly spicier than Id hoped for, but DH loved his. I did manage mine, but I'd have liked a little less spice on them - I had to keep drinking water as I ate!

While enjoying all of this, we were working out way through a pitcher of sangria. The pitcher did seem to go on for a long time, meaning it was good value for money. Id never had sangria before and it was lovely, if a little strong!

For dessert, it just had to be Haagen Dazs (I was having withdrawal symptoms after two weeks without it), while DH had Walts favourite, lemon meringue pie. Of course, you cant go wrong with HD, but DH was disappointed with his pie and didnt finish it.

The service was very good - there were no long gaps between the courses coming out and our server, whose name escapes me, was very happy to help us and try and advise on what we should have.

Including tips (and the pitcher of sangria), this three course meal for both of us came to $95.26. Pricier than usual, but then again its rare that we both have three courses and alcohol with the meal.

I'm glad we gave Spoodles a second chance, as it really has changed from our experience three years ago and now it's a lot better. We will be returning there at some point.
 
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 31,2003
Reviewer: pa-mom2twins (lsalem@netcarrier.com) Pennsylvania     February 11, 2003
Our family of four ate at a different quality restaurant every evening we stayed at DisneyWorld. Spoodles was by far, the most inexpensive with the most excellent food quality, quantity, and variety. The decor and surroundings were beautiful from start to finish. I had the Fettuccine Alfredo with peas and prosciutto which was the best I've ever had, and my husband had a slightly more spicy pasta dish which he also loved. Another member of our party had the Porterhouse, which was out of this world, good. I also have 5 year old twins with very different tastes, and Spoodles had the most extensive children's menu of any of the resorts we visited which was nice because they were quite tired of Cheeseburgers, Macaroni and Cheese, and those dry chicken fingers by the last day. This is definitely a winner among Disney restaurants, and when we visit DisneyWorld again next year, Spoodles will be our first and last stop.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 2001
Reviewer: susieqintexas Texas     August 01, 2002
Beautiful surroundings...great location on the Boardwalk...Fantastic, unique menu...Great service. All the dishes, from the break to the appetizer to the main courses were wonderful...Dessert was a disappointment...Apple pie/streusel/cobbler isn't supposed to be served cold.
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page