Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Picabu (formerly Tubbi's Cafeteria)
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Quick service restaurant featuring American favorites at the Dolphin.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 3 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 3 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 8-15, 2007
Reviewer: dmwang9 San Francisco, CA     September 06, 2007
Note: Tubbi's was recently renovated and renamed Picabu. It's a 24-hour cafeteria-style counter service restaurant with both hot and cold items and a grab-no-go case. There's also a convenience-store area near the cashiers that sells candy, snacks, and sundries.

I stayed at the Dolphin for a week and ate all my breakfasts and a handful of my dinners at Picabu. The breakfasts I had were all standard American fare -- scrambled eggs, toast, sausage, grits, oatmeal, cold cereal, pancakes, and so on. All were on par were good diner food, something I am very fond of. The chefs were very accommodating. For example, one time my scrambled eggs turned out very loose and runny. When I asked if they could be thrown back on the griddle to make them drier, it was done with quickly and with a smile.

Another nice thing about breakfasts at Picabu was that they serve Starbucks drip coffee there. There isn't a full Starbucks menu -- no espresso, lattes, etc. -- just drip coffee made from Starbucks beans, but this was a HUGE improvement over the Nescafe dreck served by most other counter service places at WDW and the stuff that the in-room coffee maker produced. I need good, strong coffee in the mornings, and having access to Starbucks brew definitely hit the spot.

I also liked that the restaurant stocked soy milk (Silk brand vanilla). I'm lactose intolerant, and having easy access to soy milk was an unexpected plus.

For lunches and dinners, I mostly had grab-and-go sandwiches (the turkey sandwich meal was a particular favorite-- I had this three times over the course of a week) and a few hot entrees. I tried the meat loaf dinner and chicken pot pie dinner. Both were simple, lightly seasoned (which is what I like), wholesome, and filling.

The staff was uniformly friendly, outgoing, and helpful. I ate breakfast there every morning at about the same time each day, and after a few days, the staff came to recognize me, ask me what I planning to do that day, and so on. Some of them even remembered what I had told them I was going to do the previous day and asked me what I had liked, if I had ridden certain rides, and so on. Clearly, they were fans of Disney as well as cast members.

The decor was "casual festive" -- lots of bright colors and simple, uncluttered layout and design. The place did tend to get crowded during peak times, but turnover was fast.

The one somewhat negative thing I have to say about Picabu (which is why it gets 4 planets rather than 5) is that it was slightly more expensive than other counter service restaurants, maybe $10 - 15 per meal rather than the $8 - 12 I paid at other CS places during my trip. (FYI, I drank only water and never had dessert.)

Overall, I was glad that Picabu was in my hotel during my stay. It proved to be a convenient, reliable source of food. While I wouldn't make a special trip to the Dolphin to eat there, if I stay at the Dolphin in the future, I'll definitely go back to Picabu.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/6/04
Reviewer: eponine119 Salt Lake City, UT     December 09, 2004
Tubbi's Cafeteria in the Dolphin hotel offered a large variety of items when we visited for lunch. I ordered the lasagna, which had a large portion size and included a breadstick. My dining companion had a pre-made tuna sandwich and a bowl of chicken noodle soup. The quality of the food was decent, not terribly special. Our meals, including 2 canned drinks, cost about $25.

The cafeteria also has a small convenience store, with a wider variety of items than a typical gift shop, including bottled Starbucks coffee and packets of Huggies diapers.

The seating area was extremely quiet -- only one other table was occupied in the early afternoon.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 2002
Reviewer: susieqintexas Texas     August 01, 2002
Great burgers, fun atmosphere...great place to grab a late bite after checking in or a late day at the parks!
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page