Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Picabu (formerly Tubbi's Cafeteria)!
 
Want to tell someone about Picabu (formerly Tubbi's Cafeteria)? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Picabu (formerly Tubbi's Cafeteria)
Description:
Quick service restaurant featuring American favorites at the Dolphin.
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 3 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 8-15, 2007
Reviewer: dmwang9 San Francisco, CA     September 06, 2007
Note: Tubbi's was recently renovated and renamed Picabu. It's a 24-hour cafeteria-style counter service restaurant with both hot and cold items and a grab-no-go case. There's also a convenience-store area near the cashiers that sells candy, snacks, and sundries.

I stayed at the Dolphin for a week and ate all my breakfasts and a handful of my dinners at Picabu. The breakfasts I had were all standard American fare -- scrambled eggs, toast, sausage, grits, oatmeal, cold cereal, pancakes, and so on. All were on par were good diner food, something I am very fond of. The chefs were very accommodating. For example, one time my scrambled eggs turned out very loose and runny. When I asked if they could be thrown back on the griddle to make them drier, it was done with quickly and with a smile.

Another nice thing about breakfasts at Picabu was that they serve Starbucks drip coffee there. There isn't a full Starbucks menu -- no espresso, lattes, etc. -- just drip coffee made from Starbucks beans, but this was a HUGE improvement over the Nescafe dreck served by most other counter service places at WDW and the stuff that the in-room coffee maker produced. I need good, strong coffee in the mornings, and having access to Starbucks brew definitely hit the spot.

I also liked that the restaurant stocked soy milk (Silk brand vanilla). I'm lactose intolerant, and having easy access to soy milk was an unexpected plus.

For lunches and dinners, I mostly had grab-and-go sandwiches (the turkey sandwich meal was a particular favorite-- I had this three times over the course of a week) and a few hot entrees. I tried the meat loaf dinner and chicken pot pie dinner. Both were simple, lightly seasoned (which is what I like), wholesome, and filling.

The staff was uniformly friendly, outgoing, and helpful. I ate breakfast there every morning at about the same time each day, and after a few days, the staff came to recognize me, ask me what I planning to do that day, and so on. Some of them even remembered what I had told them I was going to do the previous day and asked me what I had liked, if I had ridden certain rides, and so on. Clearly, they were fans of Disney as well as cast members.

The decor was "casual festive" -- lots of bright colors and simple, uncluttered layout and design. The place did tend to get crowded during peak times, but turnover was fast.

The one somewhat negative thing I have to say about Picabu (which is why it gets 4 planets rather than 5) is that it was slightly more expensive than other counter service restaurants, maybe $10 - 15 per meal rather than the $8 - 12 I paid at other CS places during my trip. (FYI, I drank only water and never had dessert.)

Overall, I was glad that Picabu was in my hotel during my stay. It proved to be a convenient, reliable source of food. While I wouldn't make a special trip to the Dolphin to eat there, if I stay at the Dolphin in the future, I'll definitely go back to Picabu.
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/6/04
Reviewer: eponine119 Salt Lake City, UT     December 09, 2004
Tubbi's Cafeteria in the Dolphin hotel offered a large variety of items when we visited for lunch. I ordered the lasagna, which had a large portion size and included a breadstick. My dining companion had a pre-made tuna sandwich and a bowl of chicken noodle soup. The quality of the food was decent, not terribly special. Our meals, including 2 canned drinks, cost about $25.

The cafeteria also has a small convenience store, with a wider variety of items than a typical gift shop, including bottled Starbucks coffee and packets of Huggies diapers.

The seating area was extremely quiet -- only one other table was occupied in the early afternoon.