Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Yachtsman Steakhouse
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Upscale American steakhouse featuring steaks, chicken, seafood at the Yacht Club resort.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 11 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 6, 2011
Reviewer: jonesin4Dland Seattle, Washington     October 09, 2011
Ate here for my Bday dinner on my solo trip. After wandering around the resort for half an hour, I showed up right on time for my 7:15pm ADR. The hostess politely informed me they were running about 20 minutes behind and invited me to wait in the lounge. After 20 minutes my pager went off and I was shown to a window seat looking out over the pool area. The waiter came and described the various steaks. I settled for a Caesar salad and the New York, medium rare, with a brandy peppercorn sauce. There was some mashed potato gratin included. After the waiter's description I also added a side of the Zellwood sweet corn with butter and fines herbes.
The salad came as 6 leaves of fresh Romaine with the dressing and cheese already on. I was able to cut the lettuce to the size I wanted! The steak was perfectly cooked and the sauce and potatoes complemented it well. The corn was very sweet and tasty. I was too full to order dessert, although I was brought a little cupcake on a Happy Birthday plate. Just a little sweet to top off a great meal.
Overall the service was very good. I did not feel at all uncomfortable being a solo diner, nor feel rushed in any way. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a good steak at WDW.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Dec 13 2008
Reviewer: hawaiian mickey Laguna Hills CA     January 08, 2009
We went to eat here because of the reviews that were given. We were on the deluxe dining plan.
We got there on time but was not seated until 20 minutes later. Once seated we had to wait 5 minutes until someone even acknowledge us, The restaurant was not that busy either.
When our server finally greeted us she said I'll be right with you an disappeared for a few minutes. When she finally took our order she did not even give us the specials of the day. We had to ask for it.
We ordered some appetizers they were the best part of the meal. We asked what a wagyu steak was, she said it it was very similar to the Kobe steaks. So we ordered it. It was really bad. All four of us ordered it an it all came out wrong. 2 ordered med rare and it came out rare and 2 ordered rare an it came out raw. We complained about it they took it back. They just reheated it. One of the steaks still came out still to raw. For the price of the steaks you think the quality of it would be great, not so.
For a steakhouse know for its steaks it was really disappointing. We came of DCL an we had better steaks on the ships. Also the next day we went to La Celliar an the steak was soooo much better. We even talk to the Executive chef an told him his steaks were so much better.
We tried talking to the manager but he was too busy talking to his friend to even acknowledge us.
We don't plan to eat at the yatchman's steakhouse or even recommend it because of our poor experience.
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 3 2006
Reviewer: ls3015 Michigan     December 24, 2006
Very Pricey, if useing the dinning plan you have to use 2 tickets per person but still a good value for the excellent meal, Great steak and service. We left stuffed.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 26, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
This used to be a 5 planet restaurant. The first time at the Yachtsman was about 20 years ago. We had the chateaubriand. It was excellent and came with two sauces a bernaise and a beefy wine sauce. The server carved the meat at the table and it came with plenty of vegetables. Eight years ago it only came with the bernaise sauce. Now it is presliced by the cook in the kitchen and there is only one vegetable, mushrooms I think it was . They have totally lost the romance of the server carving the meat before you at the table, something that makes the dish more special. Oh yes this filet mignon roast is still very tender and you can order a side vegetable of the brocolini (an elongated look like brocoli with a milder taste vegetable) but it is apparent that the dollar has indeed shrunk in value in this highpriced restaurant as well as the service. I guess we might try Le Cellier steakhouse in Epcot's Canada pavilion next time instead. The romance has ebbed away at the Yachtsman. Enjoy!
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 17, 2005
Reviewer: vbarbieri Philadelphia, PA     January 02, 2006
This is my WDW favorite. I am very particular about the way my steak is cooked and it is ALWAYS cooked to perfection. The filet was outstanding. My wife and I make this a must on all of our trips. We are DVC members and get to WDW 4 times per year. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. The maitre'd who has been there atleast 5 yrs is also very pleasant and helpful. All in all it is a great restaurant.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   July 2005
Reviewer: sdhenck Florida     November 20, 2005
Service 2 planets
Price 1 planet
Food 1 planet
Atmosphere 3 planets

Overall 2 planets

For a Disney restaurant, this place was the biggest disappointment. The decor and atmosphere are nice, but the service was a bit on the stuffy side. My husband and I each ordered the lobster bisque and the filet mignon. Our daughter ordered from the children's menu. The lobster bisque was simply awful. It had a burnt aftertase. Soup out of a can tastes better. We each ordered our filets cooked medium and when we received our meals, his was undercooked and mine was overcooked. While my husband decided to eat his medium rare, I did send mine back. He finished his steak before I received my new steak. This time it was prepared correctly. We complained about the soup and our server removed it from our bill. Le Cellier in Epcot is a much better steakhouse. We probably would not eat at Yachtsman again.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/4 - 12/12/04
Reviewer: sphallx2 Tupelo, MS     December 19, 2004
OUTSTANDING! My husband and I were both very impressed with the quality of food we had here. Both of us had a filet mignon with wine sauce - Was served with a spinich type side and mashed potatos. It was all absolutely wonderful!! I ordered medium well and my hubby ordered well. His butterflied (his choice) to cut down on cooking time - Both were done to perfection. We had a red wine recommended by our server, which was very good. We also had dessert - me, creme broule and him, key lime. The desserts were perfect, just like the meal. The prices are high, but you get what you pay for - The lighting is dim (was just right), there was not an abundance of noise (this is a good thing after being in the parks all day) - The service was outstanding - even though our server did not speak english well and was hard to understand, he did a great job getting us what we asked for. This is a MUST visit location!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   October 25, 2004
Reviewer: Eppinger South River, NJ     November 04, 2004
This was without a doubt, the worst WDW dinning experience I have ever had. Took a client to dinner, as she is a steak fan. Waited 20 minutes past our PS time to get seated. Our waiter started out fine, but drifted into space quickly. Forgot to bring numerous items. Steaks (at $45 a piece) were not cooked as ordered. Baked potatos were small and cold. Key Lime Pie was so bitter, it could not be eaten. When we complained to the manager about my client's undercooked steak, he offered to reheat it!! Eventually he knocked the steak part of the bill in half. Still total with tip and no drinks $117. Never ever will eat here again.
 
4 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 25, 2003
Reviewer: uncle al Panama City, Florida     July 31, 2003
This was not our first visit to Yachtsman, in fact we have eaten there numerous times over the past ten years. We have consistently found the food & service to be very good. The prices are expensive but consistent with what would be expected at an upscale restauraunt. On our last trip the service was superior. Shamir was friendly, but not overly so as to be intrusive. He saw that we had everything we needed or wanted almost before we wanted or needed it. I enjoyed The Yachtsman Filet & garlic-smashed potatoes. My wife had the ceasar salad & creamed spinich - she was also able to shame me into letting her taste my filet. The fillet was cooked perfectly - medium rare in the center yet not burnt beyond recognition on the outside. It literally melted in my mouth - use of the knife was optional. The potatoes were excellent. We also enjoyed a nice bottle of California Cabernet from their extensive wine list.
As I previously stated the food is always excellent and the service is great. There have been occasions where the srevice did not quite meet the level of our previous visit - but never was it bad enough to keep us from returning. I would highly reccommend the Yachtsmen for a nice quite dinner or for a special family dinner with children. Our children have been visiting since they were 4 & 5 (they are now 14 & 15) and still insist that we eat there at least once during our visits to WDW.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 3 2002
Reviewer: akdisney Laguna Beach Cal.     December 26, 2002
I book a PS for that night for 5:30 pm and found out It will be the first siting for the place to open for dinner. So I show up at 5:15 pm and it was not open. I went to the bar and Have the beer. There was only two of use there at the bar. the bartered was slow and only working on one person, Not me.
So the time can to open the Yachtsman steakhouse with the Ps I was give a windor seat. the view was good and the decor was very nice with the stain glass dome. the table and wood chairs. the atmosphere is nice with wood wall and decord of the places. That night I was going to MVMCP and pland be ther at 7:00 pm and I need to be at the bus stop at 6:20 pm. Now back to the dinner, so toll the waiter and he under stand time restant and I knew what I like the order. I had the Caesar salad (at $ 7.99) the black angus new your strip steak midian and the bake potato ($30.99) and side order of sauteed mushroom caps- smothered in sherry and cabernet wine sauce.($5.49) the sauce on that mushroom was realy good.
beer about $4.50 a bottel.
the service was good with one serving the food a the waiter. If I have more time I would stay for dessert.
the waiter help to to stay on time and it is a good palce to eat at the yachts club resort.
Alan
 
1 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page