Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About California Grill!
 
Want to tell someone about California Grill? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
California Grill
Description:
Dine at an authentic "California Style" restaurant located at the top (15th floor) of Disney's Contemporary Resort while overlooking the Magic Kingdom.
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 16, 2010
Reviewer: tabbypanther13 Houston, Texas     June 07, 2011
We loved the experience! The food was great and the servers were very friendly and ready to serve. We had an early reservation (around 5:45pm). There are are two great things about this place: 1) the view is amazing! you can see the Magic Kingdom off in the distance (where we sat). 2) if you ate there you can come back to watch the Wishes Fireworks from their viewing deck! This was also amazing.
I am glad that we went early because the night time crowd was a little snooty. When we went back to view the wishes fireworks the wait time (even if you had a reservation) was extremely long and the people were a little too cranky.
But as a whole the experence was great!
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   May 12 and 13, 2009
Reviewer: ForU2know Chicago, IL U.S.A.     May 26, 2009
During our recent anniversary celebration at WDW, we scheduled four dinner reservations at the Contemporary Inn's California Grill during our week-long trip (rooming at Grand Floridian). We love the place that much; enjoying fabulous meals, wine, and service numerous times within each of the six visits made to WDW in the previous nine years. Their food, we tell friends, is five-star; top notch; heaven on a fork.

However, this year's visit could be our last to California Grill for dinner. We had two miserable dinners in succession, and cancelled our last two reservations. Something big has changed. The menu still has some of the familiar offerings -- the Grilled Pork Tenderloin and Oak-fired filet of Beef -- but a longstanding favorite is no more: their selection of Brick Oven Fired Flatbreads. If a one and a half planet option had been available, THAT would be our rating; but certainly not two planets!

We ordered different meals our first night, the entrees disappointed. The filet of beef was too heavily salted to be enjoyed or eaten, and the grouper was slightly above room temperature while the vegetables below it were steaming hot. We were told the chef cooks the fish to a medium-rare heat unless instructed otherwise; thats why it wasnt warmer. Hmm... the fish had been cooked through, but cold. But per the explanation we'd received, we reordered.

The filet wasn't salted on the second service, while the fish was now too undercooked. We requested to please fire this just five more minutes, which should have allowed us to dine together. INSTEAD, nothing come back for about twenty minutes. So one of us ate without the other having any meal before them... They redid the entire grouper order (NOT what the customer requested!).

When the fish finally returned, it was fully cooked but the vegetables beneath were not of the same wonderful quality the first two servings had been. In fact, had they offered to leave the vegetables on either the first or second service, that would have been a good gesture.

We ended-up spending over 2 hours simply to have an entree each; and over 3 1/2 hours from our seating through dessert and coffee (sashimi and cocktails, or coffee and dessert). It derailed our evening entirely.

The manager and server were as good as they could be over it. But alas, being on Disney's Deluxe Dining Plan, we'd already prepaid for dinner, so "comping" wasn't an option to help wipe away that disastrous first dinner tab ($170.00 + gratuity). We also tip generously, in cash.

Because the front of the house staff had been so gracious about the ordeal, we returned the next night, certain that the first evening had been a fluke and that we had nothing to worry about.

We both ordered the pork tenderloin, a meal each of us has enjoyed on numerous visits over the past six years; I substituted carrots for the polenta because I'd ordered a cheese appetizer. My appetizer (Sonoma Goat Cheese Ravioli with sun-dried tomatoes, pesto, shiitake mushrooms and basil) came out with parmesan and another (?asiago) cheese grated onto it. I do not care for parmesan cheese. I explained this to the server, and noted to him that there was no mention of parmesan or additional cheeses for this item as it appeared on the menu, otherwise I would have asked them not to be included. I requested that another be prepared without the added cheeses atop. He wondered if we might just "push them aside?" I pointed-out that I'd be losing all the other wonderful flavors -- tomato, pesto and spices; because the grated cheese was covering everything (the waiter earned distinct demerits for his insensitivity). The second service on the goat cheese ravioli was fabulous ... even worth the inconvenience of waiting twice.

Then the entrees came. Again, we were served salty food. The pork was salted; too much for our liking, but edible at least (NOT enjoyable). My carrots were another story. They were served in little diagonal disks. I'd expected something more "earthy" in presentation, but the problem was this: each little orange disk was carrot turned salt lick; entirely inedible. Each little sliver of carrot was so salty as to be entirely devoid of carrot TASTE.

What has happened to this fabulous restaurant is beyond our comprehension. Some of the staff have been there for many years; we spotted some familiar faces this trip and still recall their excellent service from years past. But the food has suffered. Each meal we enjoyed over the years had been a harmony of fabulous flavor; pure delight. Proper food prep does not include over seasoning so as to overwhelm on the taste buds. The food served at California Grill was never salted as such before; if at all, it was quite subtle -- so as you would barely notice it. We are hoping things improve before our next WDW visit. And we'll remain hopeful, but we might share a meal to play it safe if we dine there again, just to ensure that we can dine together.