Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Hoop Dee Doo Musical Revue
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Hoop Dee Doo Musical Revue dinner show features a mix of vaudeville, slapstick, and music rolled into a wild west frontier package. Bar-B-Que ribs, fried chicken, corn on the cob, and strawberry shortcake round out the meal. Presented at Pioneer Hall at Fort Wilderness
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 9 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 9 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 15, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 10, 2007
Date: Friday June 15, 2007 with 5:00pm ADR.
Meal: Dinner show
Diners: Two adults and one 13 year old child (adult price).
Service: Average waiter with almost no time spent at table.
Price: $177 for the three of us (used credits from our premium dining plan)
Value: Cost was all for the show as the food is available by itself at Trails End.
Food: Was hot and more was brought when requested.
Atmosphere: Old West singing and dancing comedy show.

First thing you need to know is that those on the Disney Dining Plan will be required to use two credits for each person and are limited to sections two and three. Those on the Disney Premium or Platinum Dining plans get to choose any section and only use one dining credit. No matter how you will pay for your meal (dining plan or cash) you should make reservations as far in advance as possible to get the best seats.

This was dinner for our first full day at WDW. I had made our ADR on day 180 so we could get a close table in category one close to the stage. We arrived almost a full hour before the show started to check in only to find they changed us to category two without our knowledge. After a number of people got involved they placed us back into category one but pretty far back.

They take family pictures of your group before the doors open and will offer you the photo package to purchase during dinner. Photos are not included in the price of the meal and are an additional purchase.

It was a very hot day and there was no seating or much shade outside to wait in prior to them letting people in. The doors did not open until just five minutes before the official start time even though the instructions were to arrive at least thirty minutes prior to show time. We were seated third table from the back, in the center of the first floor.

Beer, wine, and sangria were included with the dinner price and we had two sangrias and lemonade to drink. Bread with honey butter was quite tasty and the salad was fresh with a house dressing already applied. The ribs were just OK with the sauce not being put on until they were in the bucket ready to be put on the table and the chicken was very hot but lacked some flavor with the white meat being a bit dry. Also included with the meal were some baked beans that were pretty good and some corn that tasted as if it had sat in water for quite a long time. Strawberry shortcake was the dessert and has a good taste seemed as if the strawberries were frozen rather than fresh.

The entertainment was very slapstick singing and dancing with some audience participation including those in the second and third sections and some minor interaction with guests in the balcony during the opening section of the show. There were some major microphone issues at the start but that was fixed within a few minutes. The show is staged in three main parts with the first just after being seated, the second just before dinner, and the last part at the start of dessert and into the finale. In all, over the 1 hour and 40 minutes we were in there the show only took up about 45 minutes of the total time. When the performers were on stage it was funny and enjoyable most of the time.

For the cost I would pass on this in the future and just eat at Trails End next door. Entertainment was fair but the large spans of time with nothing happening was a bit of a drawback. Overall we give this just three planets some is the seating issue we had at the beginning but mostly because of the basic food and limited entertainment we had.
 
9 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 30, 2006
Reviewer: wishiwasthere New Jersey     September 21, 2006
Service: Great. Our server was really funny and nice.
Price: We were on the DDP and it was a Signature Dining Experience which was two meals. You are really paying for the show. Now you pay by where you want to sit, so if you have the extra cash and have never seen it, splurge for the front.
Food: You can get the same exact food at Trail's End. The bottom of the rib bucket didn't get the BBQ sauce that the top of the rib bucket did so they were drier. I hate cornbread, but I thought there's was delicious.
Atmosphere: Great! It's like having a huge family BBQ.

We were there for the second seating of dinner.· I got to be in the show as a dancer, and I am a dancer so it really gave me a great feeling which might make me a little biased on this review. We were sitting in the second row of tables so our view was great. They really pack you in there though so don't expect a lot of room. This was my second time and the cast I had the first time seemed a little bit better, but this cast did a great job as well. As I said in the beginning, you aren't really paying for the food because it is just fried chicken and ribs. Also don't expect anything fancy when it comes to glasses and plates, especially if you order wine! If you go with a good sense of humor and ready for a hysterical show then it will be a great night for your whole family.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 18, 2006
Reviewer: wesp Maryland     March 20, 2006
What a great evening! I booked this show for the last night of our stay and it was a perfect ending. The food was standard fare, as mentioned by others. But the value is in the entertainment. We were a group of twelve with six adults and six children ages 3 months to 8 years, and all had a good time. The service was friendly and prompt and the atmosphere was appropriate for a western-style show. I was concerned about the cost (over $400), but that vanished once we saw the show. It was worth the money to see the constant smiles on our grandchildren's faces and hear our one son laugh so much.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11/25/05
Reviewer: gusie97 (gusie97@yahoo.com) Erie, PA     December 01, 2005
We had alot of fun--even Mr. Grumpy (the Husband) was laughing. It is a bit pricy for fried chicken and ribs--he had two (tiny) glasses of wine and I had Sangria (they do put that in a larger glass). Use the dining plan for this one--we didn't feel so ripped off! The show is very nice and the performers are excellent. Would do this with a large group!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   07/29/05
Reviewer: Bassgod76 Delray Beach, Florida     August 02, 2005
Ever since I was a kid, I wanted to see this show. I've heard nothing but good things about it, and my wife suprised me with tickets for my birthday.

PROS:
FOOD QUALITY: The food was excellent, considering it was BBQ and fried chicken. The ribs were the highlight, as they fell off the bone.
FOOD QUANTITY: This is all you can eat and drink (alcohol included)!
SEATING: We were seated at the edge of the stage, so we felt like we were in the show.
SERVICE: The servers were very attentive, and my glass was never empty.
SHOW: Keep in mind that this show is fun and corny. If your expecting Cirque Du Soliel level entertainment, you will be dissapointed. I found the slapstick and corniness to be enjoyable.

CONS:
Going to the bathroom requires you to leave the building. This is inconvenient when you're seated near the stage.

They give you loaves of bread. To me, buttermilk biscuits would be more authentic.

The price is $50.00 a head. This is a bit steep for dinner.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   May 1999
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, Arizona     January 14, 2004
I was very disappointed, perhaps because of the hype, perhaps just because I didn't like the show. The food is plentiful and good, I had no complaints about that. The servers were very good, always there when we needed them. I was very disappointed with the show. It is very corny, slapstick. The entertainers are enthusiastic and talented, and if you like extremely corny, you may like this, my parents love it. But for the cost, you can get a much better meal at many WDW restaurants and if you want a top notch show, spend your money on the luau (but the food isn't as good) or Cirque de Soleil.
 
2 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/4/02
Reviewer: yecats New Orleans, Louisiana     September 18, 2003
We are not an advocate of this show. We had PS for the 9:30 show. We parked in the front lot and took the bus to the proper stop.

They open the doors right at 9:30 and you have assigned seating. We were up against the stage right next to the piano and banjo players.

We were served bread (maybe a salad as well) ribs, chicken, baked beans and corn. Ribs and chicken were okay and you did get plenty (we took home left overs) but beans and corn I did not like but rest of family was okay with it. Dessert was strawberry shortcake (I am allergic but other family member enjoyed it).

A few of the show performers came out to sing x-mas songs when food was first served. They do have beautiful voices. However, IMHO, when the show began, we couldn't believe that we stayed. We hated it, it is a very corny show. Families with children seemed to enjoy it as the kids can relate to the jokes and the show. My family was bored out of its wits. I will never go to this show again as it is not worth the money to see it. I now refer to this show as the Hoop Dee Don't.

Reason that I gave it 2 planets was because the x-mas singing was very nice and the quanity of the food and service was okay. Can't deal with the show.
 
3 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Feb. 28/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     April 06, 2003
This was our last meal experience at Disney World and what a grand way to end it all! It didn't start off that well with a long wait in the rain before they let us into the hall but everything was up from there. They led us to a table that was in the front row, dead center. Our cast member was efficient and the food was good. I was particularly fond of the ribs, the rolls with apple butter, the mashed potatoes and the corn not to mention the strawberry shortcake. My daughter's fave was the chicken. The show was amazing. Sure, the jokes were a tad corny but they were delivered with such honest enthusiasm by the cast that the whole experience was delightful. The way audience participation was blended into the mix simply served to make the show that much more entertaining. My sole complaint about the Revue is the way it is organized - much too rushed for the diners. Instead of having the performance occur solely between courses, it ends up overlapping large portions of the meal so that you are left with the dilemma as to whether to look away from the stage to eat your meal or abandon your meal to enjoy the show. My daughter made the huge mistake of dashing off to the bathroom immediately after dessert got to the table and by the time she got back, the show was over and the servers were clearing the tables. They really were scooting everyone out of there so that they could prepare for the next show. I think that Disney should consider limiting this to two shows a day instead of three so that there would not be such pressure on the audience members to either eat quickly or lose their food. Other than that one glitch, we found the Hoop De Doo Musical Revue to be wonderful fun with excellent, albeit ordinary food.
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb 1986, March 1998
Reviewer: Fngoofy     July 08, 2002
First year we went the kids were small 5 & 6 yrs old!!! Once they gave them the washboards, they never touched their food!!! LOL!! A country down home barb-b-que all you can eat dinner!! You have a comedy guest interaction show to enjoy after your meal!! This has been a Disney World main stay since their opening!! Ribs and chicken and corn.... all you can eat, they just keep bringing it on!! And you top off your meal with a huge Strawberry Shortcake for dessert!!! This time the only complaint I have is with the time they give you between the preshow and the real after dinner show!! When the preshow finishes, they tell you to eat up and enjoy! Only they dont give you enough time, I felt rushed!!! The next time I made sure I got my fill.... But overall, this is a must stop for first timers to Disney World!!
 
16 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page