Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Kona Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Moderate table service cafe featuring Pacific Rim cuisine. Don't forget to try the Tonga Toast for breakfast!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 18 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 18 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   october 7th 9th and 12th 2003
Reviewer: hksmith999 (hksmith999@yahoo.com) Salt Lake City Utah     December 30, 2004
yes we ate here 3 times it is probably our favorite place to get food at disney. The food is not at all expensive I love the ceasar salad for $4.95. It is my favorite anywhere, also the breakfast is great with enough to share. We ordered the veggie omlet even though it wasn't on the menu and it was perfect both times we ordered it. This is fun to get to before the mass of people arive after the fireworks at MK and watch them in a daze while you are peacefully enjoying your salad.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 22, 2004
Reviewer: Klutch Colorado Springs, Colorado     October 31, 2004
Party of 7:
Dear Wife (DW)
Dear Son (DS), age 21
Dear Daughter (DD), age 16
Dear Mother (DM)
Dear Father (DF)
Dear Brother (DB)

Our party of seven arrived for dinner on a Friday evening at 6 PM. We had a priority seating and were brought to our table almost immediately. The restaurant was full, but I saw only a few people waiting for a table.

Kona is on the second floor of the Polynesian resort very near the Monorail station. The center of the floor is open to the first floor lobby below. This creates an interesting, open atmosphere, but it can also be noisy.

Our server, Kim, was very attentive and professional. I was looking forward to trying the Kona coffee. Kim explained if I ordered it by the cup, it would be a blend and not 100% Kona. If I ordered a pot, it would be 100% Kona. I opted for the pot, since it was only a few dollars more, and shared it with DM. It arrived in a glass brewing pot which had to sit for a few minutes to steep. This was a nice touch and provided very fresh coffee. DM and I agreed that the Kona coffee was good, but not quite as good as the Kenyan coffee we had at Boma (I'll have to look for Kenyan beans at home).

DW and DM had the New York Strip which they reported as very good and cooked perfectly. DD ordered prime rib. Hers was a generous portion served lean and rare; just as she likes it. DD is a big beef-eater and, for a petite young lady, can devour large servings. She said her prime rib was very good and also perfectly cooked.

DD opted for the Filet Mignon. His steak was obviously smaller than the New York Strip, but was a good size for a filet. DD was very pleased with his steak.

DS wanted to try the Blackened Tuna ahi Oscar. Kim told him it was served rare, but was a sushi-grade tuna and asked if this was OK. DS enjoys trying new, exotic foods and said this was fine. His tuna steak was quite large and, indeed, rare in the center. DS dug in and ejoyed it thoroughly.

DB and I wanted to try the Shrimp and Scallops since Kim assured us the seafood was fresh and not frozen. This would prove to be the only disappointment of the evening.

While everyone else had plenty of food, the Shrimp and Scallops was big on presentation and small on portions. It consisted of a large scoop of rice in the center of the plate topped with bean sprouts and a spicy sauce. Surrounding the rice were three jumbo shrimp and three medium-sized scallops; not what I would call value for twenty dollars.

The rice was cooked perfectly; not sticky or dry. The sauce was good and appropriate for a Polynesian restaurant. The scallops were also tasty and topped with a strong horseradish sauce. While I'm not a big fan of horseradish, it went well with the scallops.

I tried the first jumbo shrimp immediately after tasting the rice. It was good, but not by no means hot. The second shrimp was downright cold in the middle, but somewhat cooked. The third shrimp was outright raw. I found this to be a big disappointment. Since my dinner had only three shrimp, it was a bummer to get one cold and one raw. I don't like being a problem guest, but felt compelled to notify Kim.

Kim was very sympathetic. She saw that I had taken only one, small bite of the shrimp and eaten only one of the scallops. She agreed the shrimp looked raw and took my plate to the chef. She returned and reported the chef also agreed my shrimp was undercooked and "more like a cocktail shrimp".

Kim later brought me another plate with two shrimp and two scallops. I'm sorry to say that these two shrimp were also completely and undeniably raw. Kim said it was no problem and that she would take my plate to the head chef.

About 15 minutes later, the head chef personally brought me another plate. I apoligized for being difficult, but he insisted he saw the shrimp and completely agreed they were NOT cooked. These two shrimp were indeed cooked and hot in the middle, but not overcooked. I thanked the head chef who again apologized. I told him I was sorry for the situation, but that he had make it right. He seemed to appreciate this. Kim also removed my meal from the bill.

Throughout the entire shrimp ordeal, DB said only that his shrimp were OK. I'm not sure if his were properly cooked, or he just quickly ate them without caring.

While I wouldn't recommend ordering the Shrimp and Scallops due to small portions and so-so taste, I recommend the other dishes at Kona Cafe. The service is first-rate. The atmosphere is interesting, but a bit loud. Eating at Kona is a good way to experience the Polynesian Resort and is a little less expensive than Ohana.

 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 3rd
Reviewer: kat408 Atlanta,Georgia     June 16, 2004
The Resturaunt had an OK atmospher,but the food was average.I think Disney could of done better. The food was expensive! Go for Dinner it's the BEST time. The lobby is magical at that time, and usually there are people singing next to the waterfall!
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 13, 2003
Reviewer: SouthflLady South Florida     March 24, 2004
We had dinner here following Fantasmic. Our priority seating was for 8:45. We got there at about 8:20 and were seated early. The place was very busy. The decor is very nice and chic. I ordered a strawberry smoothie, which was delicious. I also had the Macadamia Nut Encrusted Mahi Mahi, which is HANDS DOWN, the best fish I have EVER had. Well, maybe it's not the BEST, but it's MY favorite! I've been to many great seafood restaurants in FL, and have never tasted anything like Kona's Mahi. Our table also ordered the sticky wings and crab cakes, which were supposedly delicoius as well. While Kona is expensive, the prices are reasonable for the quality of the food. Our server was also great. It's definitely my favorite restaurant in the "world!"
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Aug. 24/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Breakfast
Excellent service
Excellent value for your dollar
Wonderful food
Lovely setting

This was by far the best breakfast we had at WDW. The service was attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was tropical and welcoming. Both my son and I ordered Tonga Toast and pineapple juice. The pineapple juice was the best I've ever tasted and the Tonga Toast has to be sampled to be believed. It's this heavenly concoction of banana stuffed sauteed sourdough bread. I had mine with bacon which was cooked to perfection - nice and crispy and my son had the sausages which he was not all that fond of. The portions were humongous and the prices extremely reasonable. This is one place I'm adding to my must-do list for every trip.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   March 30, 200
Reviewer: AVP Anaheim, CA     April 10, 2003
*Date of visit: March 30, 2003
*Type of meal: Breakfast
*Service: Good
*Price: Good
*Food: OK, parts were cold / dry
*Atmosphere: Coffee shop

This WDW trip was all about checking out the restaurants that our friends enjoy so much. The Kona Cafe was our breakfast destination, because we *had* to try the famed Tonga Toast.

We were seated immediately, and our waiter took our drink order and left us to read the menus. I got the Tonga Toast, of course, and my hubby got the Big Kahuna. (Eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, french toast, pancakes - a basic heart attack on a plate)

Our waiter was efficient, but not friendly. Didn't smile or make eye contact at all. When our meals were served, my husband tried to shake some pepper onto his eggs, and the entire cap of the pepper shaker fell onto his plate- along with the contents of the pepper shaker!
We expected that our waiter would be back to check on us, but he didn't return. My husband ended up getting up to find him, and instead found the manager, who immediately took the ruined plate away.

The meal was replaced quickly, but most of the food was now cold. (We suspect that they only replaced the eggs, and reserved the rest of the items)

My tonga toast was good - not the craving-inducing experience that other people report, but very good. It is served with butter and syrup - completely unnecessary. The ham slice was completely dried out - nearly inedible.

All in all, it was a nice meal, but the food and service could have been much better.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 6-14, 2002
Reviewer: disneygirl1955 Mammoth Lakes, CA     August 12, 2002
We choose to take the monorail over to this restaurant from the Magic Kingdom for lunch, and it was such a nice break (and much better than any food we had in the MK). The atmosphere of this whole resort is beautiful and relaxing, and this carried over into the restaurant, which was open and airy (but quiet during the time we went). Service was paced well and friendly.

We had trouble deciding on our entrees and dessert because the menu had a good variety and everything sounded great. I ordered the Asian noodle bowl with chicken, which was flavorable and a perfect lunch item (filling, but not too heavy). My husband had the barbeque sandwich, which he enjoyed. We each had an iced tea, and then split a delicious creme brulee for dessert. All together (without gratuity), the meal was just over $30. The atmosphere was just what we needed after our busy morning, and the food was great and a good value.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   july 6, 2002
Reviewer: boudmp metairie, la     July 15, 2002
cafe was updated and airy and food and price was exceptional. a must visit. get the steak with the terriacki sauce, delicious.
 
2 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page