Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Kona Cafe!
 
Want to tell someone about Kona Cafe? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Kona Cafe
Description:
Moderate table service cafe featuring Pacific Rim cuisine. Don't forget to try the Tonga Toast for breakfast!
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 18 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 2010
Reviewer: stan4d_steph Glenville, NY     January 31, 2010
Breakfast at the Kona Cafe has become something of a tradition for me when I visit WDW, especially if I have competed in a race. This visit it was a couple of days after I had completed the WDW half marathon.

We had breakfast on a Monday morning, and it was not crowded, although I had used the online system to reserve our place. Our server was attentive, but the wait did seem longer than usual for our food.

We had the Kona coffee press pot and split an order of Tonga Toast. It's a lot to finish off for one person! The coffee seemed a little bit weaker this time, which was a little disappointing. I always look forward to the good coffee they serve there. I've also had the Samoan before, and it was delicious.

Overall, I still would highly recommend a trip for breakfast. We took a cab there from the Animal Kingdom Lodge to avoid the long time via Disney transit. Cost was about $22 with tip, but well worth the time savings. From there it's just a quick monorail ride to the Magic Kingdom!
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 31, 2009
Reviewer: Jodieileen6 Mechanicsburg, OH     June 12, 2009
We ate dinner here May 31. It was very busy outside the restaurant--people were waiting for seating at O'hana. Our food was excellent. I had the scallops and shrimp, my boyfriend had the teriyaki steak, and my son had yogurt and rice and something else from the kids menu. For dessert we had banana chocolate creme brulee' and chocolate fondue.

As good as the food was (I'm still dreaming about that creme brulee'), our server was just that bad. She disappeared for long periods of time and repeatedly forgot the coffee I ordered for dessert. Finally, the fourth time by our table after delivering dessert, she actually stopped by and said, "At this point, do you want your coffee to go?" Um, NO. I wanted it with my dessert!

All that said, you should definitely go to Kona Cafe'. The food is some of the best I've had at Disney World and as long as you don't get our server, you should have a good experience.

In summary:

Service: Absolutely horrible. I did notice other servers giving good service to their tables.
Price: The food was of excellent quality, and so I would say the price was fair. We used the Dining Plan.
Food: YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY. The food is what saved my opinion of the Kona Cafe. All of it was delicious, and I'm sure anything from the menu would have been as well. We will definitely go back to the Kona Cafe on our next trip.
Atmosphere: Quiet it ain't. If you want to experience the Polynesian or an open-air pastry shop, go to the Kona Cafe. If you want a quiet intimate dinner, go somewhere else.