Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Kona Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Moderate table service cafe featuring Pacific Rim cuisine. Don't forget to try the Tonga Toast for breakfast!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 18 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 2010
Reviewer: stan4d_steph Glenville, NY     January 31, 2010
Breakfast at the Kona Cafe has become something of a tradition for me when I visit WDW, especially if I have competed in a race. This visit it was a couple of days after I had completed the WDW half marathon.

We had breakfast on a Monday morning, and it was not crowded, although I had used the online system to reserve our place. Our server was attentive, but the wait did seem longer than usual for our food.

We had the Kona coffee press pot and split an order of Tonga Toast. It's a lot to finish off for one person! The coffee seemed a little bit weaker this time, which was a little disappointing. I always look forward to the good coffee they serve there. I've also had the Samoan before, and it was delicious.

Overall, I still would highly recommend a trip for breakfast. We took a cab there from the Animal Kingdom Lodge to avoid the long time via Disney transit. Cost was about $22 with tip, but well worth the time savings. From there it's just a quick monorail ride to the Magic Kingdom!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 31, 2009
Reviewer: Jodieileen6 Mechanicsburg, OH     June 12, 2009
We ate dinner here May 31. It was very busy outside the restaurant--people were waiting for seating at O'hana. Our food was excellent. I had the scallops and shrimp, my boyfriend had the teriyaki steak, and my son had yogurt and rice and something else from the kids menu. For dessert we had banana chocolate creme brulee' and chocolate fondue.

As good as the food was (I'm still dreaming about that creme brulee'), our server was just that bad. She disappeared for long periods of time and repeatedly forgot the coffee I ordered for dessert. Finally, the fourth time by our table after delivering dessert, she actually stopped by and said, "At this point, do you want your coffee to go?" Um, NO. I wanted it with my dessert!

All that said, you should definitely go to Kona Cafe'. The food is some of the best I've had at Disney World and as long as you don't get our server, you should have a good experience.

In summary:

Service: Absolutely horrible. I did notice other servers giving good service to their tables.
Price: The food was of excellent quality, and so I would say the price was fair. We used the Dining Plan.
Food: YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY. The food is what saved my opinion of the Kona Cafe. All of it was delicious, and I'm sure anything from the menu would have been as well. We will definitely go back to the Kona Cafe on our next trip.
Atmosphere: Quiet it ain't. If you want to experience the Polynesian or an open-air pastry shop, go to the Kona Cafe. If you want a quiet intimate dinner, go somewhere else.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 19, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 29, 2007
Date: Tuesday June 19, 2007 with 7:50am ADR.
Meal: Breakfast
Service: Friendly and engaging.
Price: $34 (used dining plan credits).
Value: Average for resort table service breakfast.
Food: All had good flavor.
Atmosphere: Nice ceiling fans. No wall facing the lobby and lots of people waiting for the Ohana character breakfast made it much too loud.

We arrived early for our ADR and were seated almost immediately as the restaurant was still mostly empty. It was pretty clear this would have been one meal on the trip that we wouldnt have needed an ADR. The number of people waiting for the Ohana character breakfast seemed immense and walk-ups for that meal were being told there were no available spots and that is how it seemed that many of the guests came to eat at Kona.

Our waitress was very friendly and clearly explained their specialties and what we could get that would be included on the dining plan. We were surprised to learn that the fruit smoothies were included and so we each ordered one. We had the orange passion fruit, and strawberry banana smoothies and were quite pleased with the nice fruit flavors and full creaminess of them both.

We both ordered the Tonga Toast which is a very thick slice of sourdough bread stuffed with bananas and coated in sugar and cinnamon. This was the draw of the restaurant for us and it was a good start to the day. The Tonga Toast was almost a bit dry but the flavor was good and the pineapple wedge helped round it out. Each came with a choice of meat and both the bacon and ham were thick and moist cuts with plenty of flavor. A diner at the next table had ordered the Macadamia Pineapple Pancakes and expressed to her family that she had never had such good pancakes in her life. Something we can add to the to-do list for the next trip.

Even though it was a bit noisy the food and service would bring us back to try other dishes. The Tonga Toast is also available at Boatwrights inside the Port Orleans Riverside resort but with a strawberry banana sauce rather than the cinnamon sugar.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7/15-7/21 (2007)
Reviewer: skodousek Wisconsin, USA     July 24, 2007
On our week long trip to Disney World, we dined at the Kona Cafe 3 times. Once for breakfast and twice for lunch. It was so good that I would make a special trip out to the Polynesian from Epcot to eat there. The food is amazing (especially the deserts!) and the prices were great too. The only drawback is the service. Almost everyone except our waitress for breakfast was rude. Other than that, this place is highly recommended! :)
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   06/14/2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 09, 2007
Date: Thursday June 14, 2007 with 7:30pm ADR.
Meal: Dinner
Diners: Anthony and son (13 y/o)
Service: Fair and not overly friendly.
Price: $85 for two dinners, no appetizer, one alcoholic drink, one dessert w/ tip.
Value: Average for resort dining.
Food: Most all had good flavor.
Atmosphere: A bit dark and is open to the main lobby area and was quite loud.

We arrive right at our ADR time of 7:30pm and are told it will be a ten minute wait and receive a pager. The couple behind us is a walk-up and is told the wait will be at least 40 minutes without an ADR. Who would think you need ADRs just for average resort dining good thing I decided to call a few days in advance!

Our server is not overly friendly and I need to ask a number of questions about drinks and entrees. I order a Glowing Bluetini and my son orders a strawberry-banana smoothie that comes about 10 minutes later with the bread. The glowing plastis cube in mine is very bright and illuminates the entire table seems popular as I can count at least another ten tables with them! Flavor is good in the Bluetini and smoothie and the whip cream and paper umbrella in the smoothie makes my son happy. The slightly sweet Hawaiian bread is served with macadamia nut butter. Bread is great but we both pass on the butter after testing it.

We skip ordering appetizers as none of them jumped out at us. For entrees I order the Char Crusted Filet Mignon with mashed Yukon gold potatoes, broccoli replacing the listed asparagus, and a 5-spice mushroom sauce on the steak. My son orders the Beef Teriyaki, a 10 ounce sirloin strip, grilled with pineapple teriyaki sauce, mashed Yukon gold potatoes, and stir-fried broccoli florets. The entrees seem to come faster than the drinks and bread and everything is hot. The filet is crusted with the right amount of pink in the middle just as I ordered. Very fresh broccoli with great tasting potatoes. The mushroom sauce contains just two small pieces of mushroom and has little flavor. The beef teriyaki is also cooked perfectly as ordered but has also come with some chopped pineapple and onions on top (I believe as part of the sauce) that are not to his liking. Portion sizes are good and the food is displayed nicely.

Dessert is a Caramel-Banana crème brulee topped with fresh sliced bananas. It was a bit bigger than expected but tasted great and goes down as the best brulee we had on the entire trip!

The greatest drawback here is the full-open dining area onto the main resort building entry common area. The noise level was far too much and large numbers of people standing just outside the railing waiting for seats at Kona and Ohana becomes annoying during dinner. I believe if we had a friendlier waiter and the noise was less we would give it another star and definitely consider eating dinner here again but now we may only try it again if its very convenient for us.

If you go, dont forget the ADR and the crème brulee!
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/9/06
Reviewer: Mazonine Tampa, FL     September 11, 2006
We love the Polynesian so we may be biased :)

Shrimp and Scallops (myself): Not a lot of food, but it suprisingly filled me up.

Teriyaki steak (wife and oldest daughter): We thought it might be chopped up steak, but it was a whole piece. Pototates were very good.

Chicken Tenders (youngest daughter): No complaints.

Pros: Located right off the monrail entrance to the Polynesian. Very accessible for a late lunch, early supper. Any other time... Make reservations. Service is usually great (see Cons).

Pros/Cons: Typcial Disney dinner prices.

Cons: Our third time to Kona and this time the service was less than great. It wasn't all that busy, but our waitress seemed to disappear for 10 minutes at a time.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 25, 2006
Reviewer: wishiwasthere New Jersey     September 04, 2006
Service: Quick and Attentive
Price: Not expensive for a great breakfast
Food: Can't go wrong with Pancakes and eggs, but the French toast and Tonga Toast were delicious!
Atmosphere: Wasn't loud at all and it was very laid back and relaxing

We went to the Kona Cafe for Breakfast. It was 2 adults, two 20 year olds, and a 15 year old. We were there on the free dining plan that was offered during our stay so we were allowed one non-alcoholic drink, appetizer, entree, and dessert. None of us ordered an appetizer and because there is no dessert if we ordered a non refillable drink we could have two. The adults ordered the Kona Coffee, me and my boyfriend ordered the orange-passion fruit smoothie, and my younger sister had apple juice. The smoothie was fanastic and if you want a different drink for breakfast I highly reccommend it. Our order was pretty simple with 4 of us getting the Big Kahuna and my mom ordering the Tonga Toast. The tonga toast is HUGE, and my mom thought it was amazing and raved about it our entire vacation. The Big Kahuna had a little bit of everything and the french toast that came with it was delicious. My dad likes toast with his eggs, but they just bring you french toast. He didn't want to wait to see if he could get regular toast though. So if you like real toast with your eggs make sure to inquire about that before ordering! Our server was very nice, had everything out to us quick and she was very attentive. It wasn't noisy at all even though it was open to the resort. I can't wait until I can get back there again!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 5 2004
Reviewer: wyomom Casper, Wyoming     July 21, 2006
At first we were hesitant about dining at the Kona Cafe, thinking it was more like a coffee shop diner. Not checking reviews prior to our DW vacation, imagine our delight with the outstanding menu and display of food! Our second morning we ate breakfast at the Kona and it became our favorite dining experience (love the Tonga Toast)!! In seven days, we ate breakfast at the Kona four times and dinner twice. Everything we ordered was delicious. What really sticks out in my mind (besides the Tonga Toast) was the wonderful staff. The hostesses were smitten with my year old daughter and five year old son. Since we were staying at the Polynesian, they saw us frequently and everytime we passed by the Kona Cafe, they would visit with us, asking what our plans were for the day. They made us feel like "family". The prices don't stand out in my mind because we were on a dining plan. (Everything in DW is priced fairly high so I don't understand the disappointed & surprised remarks on food costs!) The wait staff was very plesant and meals were some of the best we experienced in DW. Every time we ate there, it was without reservations and I don't recall ever waiting. We are visiting DW in December 2006 and I am almost embarassed to say that a percentage of our wanting to return is to eat Tonga Toast!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 2005
Reviewer: manofsteel75 McLeansville, NC     December 11, 2005
Our first full day in Disney we ate at Kona for breakfast, and then ate dinner there 2 nights later. There were 6 in our party (wife, 2 kids, mother, grandmother and myself) and we were on the all-inclusive gold plan which is no longer around. On the gold plan we each got 1 hot drink, 1 cold drink, 1 appetizer, 1 entree and 1 dessert per person per meal all three meals everyday of our stay. I will go with breakfast first. IT WAS FANTASTIC. My kids are picky eaters and dont usually go for anything out of their comfort zone as far as food goes, but they were open to try some new things. They both ordered the tonga toast and did everything short of licking the plate clean. The adults ordered everything from eggs to french toast, and as was the ritual on this trip we all tried each others food to compare it to our own meal. I did not taste one single thing that was bad. My oldest daughter was wearing her " It's my birthday" button that she had been given by someone at the front desk of the Wilderness Lodge, and the hostess noticed it when we walked in. As soon as the dishes had been cleared and we dove into another cup of coffee to help guard us against a 37 degree January day to be spent at EPCOT ( Yes it does get that cold, even in Mickey's place) The wait staff came out with a "Koko puff" pastry for her. She looked at me and asked it was OK for her to eat what appeared to be 4 pounds of chocolate for breakfast, to which I replied "Only if I get some too.". So breakfast there is great, now let's talk dinner. Dinner, not so much. We told the waiter that we were on the gold plan, and that we just wanted entrees and maybe dessert and that was it. We all wound up with espressos, appetizers, entrees, desserts and cold drinks. Why, you may ask? Because the gold plan also includes the servers tip, so the more food he piles on, the more he gets. Also if he knows his tip is a given, he is much less attentive. This is not the norm, most servers in the other restaurants are great. The food at dinner with the exception of dessert was so-so. I would have definitely had qualms with the price if I actully had to pay for it. So, in closing, you have to try breakfast, but venture elsewhere for dinner. Side note: the coffee bar next door has great coffee and pasties for all my fellow caffiene junkies out there.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   31 March 2005
Reviewer: LindaR Alamogordo, New Mexico     April 05, 2005
We decided to try Kona Cafe for breakfast. DD16 ordered the Calabash breakfast and I ordered biscuits and gravy. DD did not like what she ordered and normally we would just switch meals, but she doesn't like b&g either! So I told her to just order something else (french toast). Our waiter asked her if there was something wrong with her food and she just said that she tried it and just didn't like the taste. Not even two minutes later, she received her french toast and ate all of it. Our waiter did not charge us for the calabash! Our service was excellent (too bad he wasn't cloned to work at a few other places!) and our bill was about $18. I was so pleased with our waiter that I tipped him $10. We absolutely will return.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page