Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Mickey's Backyard Bar-B-Que!
 
Want to tell someone about Mickey's Backyard Bar-B-Que? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Mickey's Backyard Bar-B-Que
Description:
Mickey's Backyard Bar-B-Que is held outdoors, near Pioneer Hall at Fort Wilderness. Run only during the summer when an overflow for the usually-booked Hoop Dee Doo is needed. Country music and a lot of characters provide the atmosphere. The food includes ribs, chicken, burgers, hot dogs, ribs, corn bread, barbecue beans and more served buffet style.
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 2 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/14/08
Reviewer: FMTX Dallas, Texas     September 19, 2008
Food 4 planets; Service 4 planets; Price 3 planets; Atmostphere 5 planets.

We went to the BBQ for the first time. I was hesitant as you get totally mixed reviews on it. We had some friends go last year whose kids loved it so I somewhat reluctantly planned it based on their recommendation. We have 6 & 8 year old boys and they loved it particularly the younger one who asked if we could go back to the BBQ everyday the rest of our trip. Before I go into my rundown I would say if your kids like character interaction, you like BBQ type food and you and your kids dont mind dealing with chaos than I would highly recommend it. If you do not particularly like any of that, than I would avoid it.

Get there early. It starts at 6:30 but get there by 6:00 and leave plenty of time for travel. We stayed at WL and got to the boat dock just a little after 5pm, but everyone else going to the BBQ and Hoop-Dee-Doo or the campfire had the same idea so we had to wait about 45 minutes for three boats. They had Cowboy Goofy and Chip & Dale doing autographs and pictures until about 6:00pm. I heard a CM say they come out about 5:30pm. You wait in an area outside the pavilion where there are games for the kids and they bring you free drinks (beer, wine, lemonade, fruit punch, etc.). At about 6:20 or so they did the come and get it call and open up the pavilion. It is a mad rush to the tables. The stage is in the middle of one side of the pavilion with the dance floor right in front of it so everyone rushes to get in front of the stage. I had read reviews here on mouseplanet that it can get pretty hot so we went to a table close to one side where the breeze was coming into the pavilion and we were just two tables from the dance floor and near the stage with a constant breeze. If you were in the middle of the pavilion with no breeze I can see how it could get hot but we were fine. After you get your seats it is a rush to the food lines. They had I think 4 lines with all the same things. It was very good BBQ food. The thing I really like about the food, drinks including beer & wine and desserts is it was out the entire time right up to 8:30. As we left just after 8:30, they were just putting the last of the hot food away but still had the non-alcoholic drinks and ice cream desserts available. We took an ice cream for the road which the CMs were encouraging and most people were doing.

The show consists of a county band playing, Cowboy Mickey, Minnie & Goofy, Picnic Chef Chip & Dale dancing with the kids in chaos on the dance floor, doing line dancing with the kids and a cowboy roper which was awesome. The characters come and go several times throughout the night and during the second half of the night Mickey and Minnie come by all the tables. For the first hour or so it is complete chaos particularly during the character dancing segments where kids and parents with cameras run to the dance floor and crowd the characters. However, a lot of people left early (?) so the second half of the evening wasnt bad and my wife got some really good pictures. Mickey and Minnie make it to all the tables quickly because about ½ the crowd left by that time.

In all we will go back our next trip because the kids liked it so much. Myself and my oldest son dont handle chaos very well but I prepared myself for it and the latter half of the evening wasnt bad with so many people leaving early so my oldest son got into it. My youngest loves chaos and thought the whole night was awesome. A side note here is we stayed to the very end and spent some time looking at the animals at Circle D Ranch and walking around that part of Fort Wilderness. We ended up taking the 9:30 horse wagon ride which you can catch near the front of the Hoop-Dee-Doo and is a first come first serve line. This was probably the best value of your trip. It was $8/adult and $5/child and for the 9:30 ride you go on about 15 minute ride around Fort Wilderness than they take you to the lakefront for a perfect view of the Electric Water Parade than they get the wagon into position to watch the 10:00pm fireworks at MK which you have a perfect view of. They start up a generator at a nearby building and feed in the soundtrack (music and dialogue) that is played in MK so it is like watching the fireworks in the park but with no noise which is great for us since our 6 year old hates the bangs. After the fireworks you take a short ride back to near the Hoop-Dee-Doo building. It was my favorite part of the trip and I would highly recommend it especially if you go to the BBQ and stay for the whole thing.
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 2003
Reviewer: luvmyboys Marysville, OH     February 08, 2005
This was a fun experience - picnic style food (hot dogs, beans, corn on the cob, corn bread, etc) and a lively environment. But it was so HOT and CROWDED that it really distracted from the fun! The concept is a BBQ with Mickey and friends. When the characters come out, you are allowed to dance with them...but there are so many others there that it is just a swarm of people. And this is held in an open-air (read HOT) pavillion. We've never gotten so sweaty over dinner! The singing, dancing, and music were fun, and some of the best pictures of our trip, but we ended up leaving a little early to go back and take a swim to cool off. The kids really enjoyed it, and they did have all-you-care-to-drink wine, so it's not without it's perks!