Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Narcoossee's
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Upscale dining at the Grand Floridian featuring lobster, filet mignon and crab fillets.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 10 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   September 2008
Reviewer: ameliah08611 South Yorkshire, United Kingdom     September 15, 2008
While the restaurant certainly boasts a perfect location that offers wonderful views across the Seven Seas Lagoon, the food and customer service at Narcoossee's left a lot to be desired! Although our evening got off to a wonderful start as we admired the fireworks display from a spectacular position, things very quickly went downhill; When our lobster bisque starters (finally) arrived they were almost stone cold and had formed a thick skin! We informed a server who whisked them away and told us we would be brought fresh ones shortly. However before these arrived, our main courses turned up so we explained the starter situation and they were taken away. The second round of bisques were warm and very tasty, but when our mains arrived (at the correct time) the $59 'Surf and Turf's we had ordered were stone cold! We could only come to the conclusion that the mains that were mistakenly brought to us 15 minutes earlier were the same that now sat in front of us!
Finally we were brought meals that were warmer and a manager approached our table. Having barely heard a single apology all night from the servers, we assumed this was the reason for the managers visit. We were wrong! He simply explained to us (in an extremely patronising tone) that a cream-based soup such as a bisque is not meant to be served piping hot and forms a skin quickly. He then went on to inform us that the restaurant never sends out food that has been left standing..so we therefore must be mistaken.
All in all we had a long and unpleasant evening of cold and disappointing food in addition to rude and unapologetic staff who refused to take any kind of responsibilty for mistakes made by the restaurant that night.
For the high prices you pay at Narcoossee's it is not unreasonable to expect high quality service and food. If you are looking for a disney restaurant that provides in both these areas you should travel across the lagoon to the California Grill in the Contemporary Resort where both the food and service is exceptional!
 
6 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   02/22/2007
Reviewer: Disneydiehards (focook@bellsouth.net) West Palm Beach, FL     March 04, 2007
Because this was an anniversary dinner for us, the chef came to our table to greet us. We told him that we had never eaten there before and could not decide what to have. He selected our menu for the meal and gave us a split entree dinner plate(s). The food was incredible. We had a four cheese appetizer, a salad with pears, blue cheese and endive. We would have not selected these things for ourselves-but they were incredible!! Our entree was a seared tuna and a grilled scallop dish-We could only say, WOW! For dessert we were served an almond crusted cheese cake with champange. The overall experience was perfect. right down to the fireworks! We can't wait to go back!
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   5/1/2005
Reviewer: bellefan Upstate NY     May 09, 2005
I have to say I was a little disappointed in Narcoossee's after reading all the great things. First, let me say - if you're not staying at the Grand Floridian - be prepared to WALK! The hotel parking is across the street, a good block away and once you enter the hotel, the restaurant is at the farthest end of the property. We only had 2 people in our party and requested a window view, (we had PS) and offerred to wait until one was available. When we got seated, it was behind a wall and with one person's back to the window. We talked to the manager who brought us back up front and asked that we wait for another table. No biggie for us, though the hostess wasn't pleased that we were back and even managed a "too bad" when the waitress told her why we returned. The food was good and the Strawberry Dream drink was EXCELLENT! We saw only a portion of the Eletrical Water Pagent from our new seats right next to the window. When the fireworks went off, most people in the restaurant went outside to watch them and of course, stood right in front of the windows, thereby blocking our view. It was nice and the food quality was good, but for the price and lack of "Disney" feeling, I wouldn't return any time soon.
 
3 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   March 28, 2004
Reviewer: Melanie Downing Delaware Ohio     April 20, 2004
We had priority seating at 7:10 pm for a party of 5; we requested a window seat when we checked in at 7:00 pm. Around 7:30 pm we were called for our seating, I asked about the window seat and she said it would be a little longer for a window seat. We agreed to wait a little longer so we could see the fireworks at the Magic Kingdom. We waited until after 8:15 pm and were seated at the opposite side away from the MK; we were seated in the hostess area beside the kitchen. I requested a manager stop and see us; he was rude and said we would have to wait longer and than be moved. And of course we could not see the fireworks at all but yet a party of six was seated immediately after us in a center of the window seating. The service was terrible we requested water two or three times during dinner and finally received it after eating. We began to think the lady was not going to return at all. The food was mediocre at best. Our final bill for seating in the hostess/kitchen area for a worthless meal was $240 for two adults and 2 children. We will never return. We never skimp on vacation meals and were very pleased with the Brown Derby, Boma, Artist Point, Chef de France and Le Cellier.
 
8 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 8, 2004
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, AZ     April 02, 2004
On every trip to Disney World, I try to find some new surprise and, on this vacation, Narcoossee's was it. The food and ambience were outstanding. I am not normally a big fan of upscale restaurants because of price and portion size. However, Narcoossee's impressed me.

The restaurant sits out on the water with a great view of the Magic Kingdom and Contemporary Resort. The food is outstanding and the portion size was perfect. I had the swordfish for dinner which was outstanding. My wife and the couple we traveled with loved their food as well. For dessert, the Key Lime Creme Brulee was delicious and I'd recommend this to anyone.

If you have children, don't worry about bringing them here. We saw families with infants to teenagers and they even serve the chicken nugget kids meals to satisfy discerning tastes!

The best time to be there is during the fireworks. Don't wait too long to get a window table because guests are encouraged to go outside on the deck to enjoy the show, so you may still get a blocked view. However, they pipe the music in and you get an excellent view of the fireworks across the entire horizon. I've always said that my favorite place to watch the fireworks is from the top of the Contemporary, but this rates right up there and you get a different perspective from ground level.

The service was not that great, our server was a little stuffy, but overall Narcoossee's was great. I'm going back in December with our two daughters and already have that on our itinerary.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 2004
Reviewer: dmejtesch Seymour, Wisconsin     January 28, 2004
This was easily the best meal on our trip of 10 days. For starters, I had the seafood chowder, which was outstanding. My husband had what he called "the best" steak of our entire trip as an entree. I had the scallops which were also excellent. Portion sizes were good, not huge, but sufficient. We didn't have room for dessert, but certainly wish we had. The best part of this dining experience was that our dining time was during the "Wishes" fireworks at the Magic Kingdom. During this presentation, they dimmed the restaurant lights and played the audio for the fireworks right in the restaurant. Our 4 and 8 year old children thought this was great! They liked seeing the fireworks from the restaurant better than from the Magic Kingdom itself!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   30 December 2002
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 25, 2003
30 December 2002, dinner

Service: Not great.
Price: Expensive.
Food: Very good, but pricey.
Atmosphere: Lacking something.

For appetizer, I had the Butternut Squash and Blue Crab soup, which I couldnt fault, so I asked for the recipe. Come to think of it, I never got it...! Our server promised us faithfully shed sort it out and took all our contact details, but nothing ever arrived. She wasnt the best server in the world, taking some time in sorting out drinks for example. DH had the mussels as an appetiser, which were very nice and there were certainly plenty of them. I dont think youll ever hear us raving about the mussels at Disney, as weve been spoilt with the quality of the ones in Brussels. Once youve tasted those, nothing else comes close!

My entrée was the shrimp and fettuccine pasta, but the moment I started it, I knew I wouldnt be able to finish it, as it was just too rich for me, but having said that, I couldnt fault it either. I did manage to eat all the shrimp and most of the vegetables, just pretty much leaving the pasta. DH had the lamb with mashed potato and a side dish of asparagus. The meat was slightly underdone, as he had asked for it to be medium to well done and it was rare to medium. Still, it didnt seem to bother him too much, as he polished it all off!

Including tip, the meal came to $105 (and that included our 10% discount for being DVC members!), easily our most expensive meal of the vacation so far. And was it worth it? Well, the starter was superb, but Im not sure either of us felt main course warranted the price. It was good to eat there and I'm glad we experienced it, but I dont think were planning a quick return there. There are better high quality restaurants on Disney property, like the California Grill and Artist Point that we prefer.

 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 2002
Reviewer: disnygrl00 CT     September 24, 2002
I had wanted to try this restaurant for a long time and I was not dissapointed!! Although even with a priority seating time (highly recommended) we did have to wait a short while for our table, the time passed quickly as we sipped on drinks at the bar. Our waitress was very helpful and patient in answering our many questions about the menu and gave good suggestions. The butternut squash and blue crab soup was absolutely incredible. It had a slightly spicy taste, but for someone who hates spicy food it was barely noticable. The shrimp and lobster pasta was also very good. The portions were generous.
Could not fit in dessert but would love to return to try again!
A tip, try and arrange to be there the same time as the electric water pagent. It was a nice added touch.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 2002
Reviewer: poweraap Millburn, New Jersey     July 30, 2002
Narcoossee's is one of our favorite restaurants at WDW. First, the view is fantastic. Located on the Seven Seas Lagoon, you get a great view of the fireworks and of the Electrical Water Pageant. Second, the wine list is very nice and the service impeccable. Our particular service was such a joy. We had a large party (10 people) but it did not phase him at all. The surf and turf was so delicious. The Sea Bass was amazing. Between all of us, we probably had about every dessert on the menu and everyone was satisfied. This is a very sweet restaurant. Particurly for a party of adults. I had dinner there two nights before my wedding in WDW and it was very memorable. I highly recommend it.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/3/02
Reviewer: GusGlitz Anaheim, CA     July 10, 2002
The dinner here was a true joy. The wine list was quite extensive and the service was impeccable. Our particular server was very sweet and even bordering on motherly. The food itself was delicious all the way from salad to dessert. You also can't beat the view. If you can plan your meal to coincide with the Magic Kingdom's fireworks, you'll be in for a treat.
 
9 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page