Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
'Ohana
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Upscale dining at the Polynesian featuring Pacific Rim cuisine. (Please see Character Dining / 'Ohana for reviews of the character breakfast.)
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 30 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 2011
Reviewer: 3Princesses1Prince Modesto, CA     September 26, 2011
We had dinner here. It was a last minute reservation I added when we decided to add the dining plan. I had read mixed reviews about it being overrated so I was okay with not going, but glad I changed my mind. I think this was our favorite meal the entire trip. We had a great server. The kids really enjoyed the hula dancing. The food was fabulous. I really enjoyed every single item on the menu. I was hesitant about the bread pudding because 1) I don't like bananas and 2) I'm not found of wet bread. But it was seriously to die for! I think I'd book this again even for the price.

Service: 5
Food: 5
Price: 4
Atmosphere: 5
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   may 31st 2006
Reviewer: disneyworlddrummer (disneyworlddrummer@yahoo.com) hope rhode island     February 17, 2008
ive been going to walt disney world every year since 1996. up uptil 06' i never have eaten at ohana. i know it existed but never thought about going there for dinner, didnt look to much into it. my brother called from ohana oh his senior trip and asked why we never ate there and began to tell me how great it was. after his great review i wanted to give it a try. we had it booked from the day we arrived but i wanted to try and get out of the reservation. i never ate there and didnt wanna waste a disney dinner on a place i never been, however i couldnt get reservations anywhere else so we were stuck going to ohana. little did i know it ws the best thing that could have happened to me. we were seated as soon as we arrived and little did i know we were about to be seated in the best seat in the house. we were seated right in front of the window that had a view if the magic kingdoms castle. on top of that the atmosphere and feel the restuarant gave was unbeleivable. we reseaved leis from the lady that was singing, and the way the hotel and restuant was decorated was grat an d really set the mood. our servers were great, always around asking what they could do for us, and always there when we needed anything. they called us cousins which gave us the feeling that we were surrounded by our family and really made the expericance more delightful. then the food started coming. first we had awesome chicken wings wantons with all differnet kinds of dresseings, it was great. then the meat started coming, it was sirlon steak, turkey, saugage and porkloin. all the meat was delicious especially the staek and turkey. i like my steak well done so my waiter had a whole skewer of well done done grilled just for me. the best part was it was all you can eat, our waiter kept coming by with all the meats making sure we had all the food we could eat. then to end it off they have bread pudding that should put ohana on the charts. they put icecream and a delicious hot caramel sauce over it. i can remember how good it tasted as soon as i bit into it. the whole ohana experiance was totally awesome. chef mickeys was always my favorite restutaunt but after visiting ohana, chef mickeys was #2 and ohana was instantly#1. form the great amosphere, the fabulous and over friendly service and the exelent food ohana is def the best restutant in disney world.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 15, 2006
Reviewer: mickeysgirl17 Jacksonville, FL     October 25, 2007
I had a late dinner reservation here after a day at Mgm studios. We arrived early and spent some time on the polynesian resort beach. There were lovely hammocks and benches to relax while we watched the electrical water pageant. After this, we headed to dinner which was a bit of walk from the beach but it wasn't hard to find. We checked in at the podium and was given a pager. We sat in the lounge area overlooking the castle at MK from the window. I then remembered that the fireworks were scheduled to go off in a few minutes so I requested a window table too.
We were called in 10 minutes and we were seated near the window. I didn't have a perfect view of MK though. It was obstructed by lots of trees.
The fireworks began and we could see some of it so it was okay.
First, they brought out salad followed by chicken wings and potatoes. The salad was okay, but didn't have enough dressing on it. The chicken wings and potatoes were delicious. Very very good.
Next came all the meats. All were good, but I didn't like the turkey or sausage as much as the others.
The meats were flavorful. They continued to bring more but we were so full, we couldn't eat another bite. Service was outstanding and they made sure we were okay every so often.
I didn't think I would like the dessert, but it was okay. I ate some of it and my husband thought it was great.
After dinner, my 3 year old wanted those little umbrellas they put into the adult drinks, so the server went and got her some. We loved how they called us cousins too.
Unfortunately, I heard that there was live entertainment and games for the kids at this place, but they weren't doing it while we were there, maybe because I had a late reservation.
My husband thought this was the best of all 8 sit down meals we had at Disney all week and it is my 2nd favorite. We will return for sure!!!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Friday,August 10,2007
Reviewer: lisakb22 Prospect Heights,IL     August 30, 2007
It was the last night of my best friend and my week long trip to WDW. All I can say is YUCK!!!!! We sarrive on time and waited a very short time (long enough to get a cocktail) and were seated by a mute host who did even take us on the tour of the restaurant! The server started filling our table with food too quickly. I barely had time to choke down one thing before the next thing came. I do not know why a fresh plate is not given to each diner in-between courses,there is so much food garbage,you don't want to continue. The appetizers and salad were Ok,nothing memorable. All of the meat I tried was gross and I could not finish the beef.The dessert was the best part but a $80 meal should not be some decent bread pudding! I was so looking forward to this and it was a huge disappointment.
Find someplace else to go !
 
2 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 16, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 10, 2007
Date: Saturday June 16, 2007 with 8:10pm ADR.
Meal: Dinner.
Diners: Two adults.
Service: Attentive but not overly friendly.
Price: $74 for two of us with one alcoholic drink and tip (used credits from our premium dining plan).
Value: Lots of food and a view of the Seven Seas Lagoon at a good price.
Food: Good food served family style.
Atmosphere: Very tropical feel and three sides of windows provide for a great view.

We arrived a few minutes before our ADR and were given a pager and told the wait could be up to twenty minutes so we joined the other 200 people wandering around the second floor waiting to be seated. Walk-ups were being told the wait was over a full hour. The pager went off in only fifteen minutes and we were seated along the main walkway not too far from the kitchen entrance and the windows along the west wall. There was also an OK view of Cinderellas castle and the Seven Seas Lagoon.

For drinks we order an alcoholic drink called the Backscratcher and an iced tea. The drinks arrived with the salads and fried wontons. The salad was quite good with a fresh citrus dressing and the fried wontons can with a selection of three dipping sauces that were just average. As more food started to arrive the wandering show started with the hostess having all the children join her in a hula-hoop event that was out of our viewing angle. We started in on the honey chicken wings and some very tasty (but a pain to peel) sweet and sour large shrimp. Just after we received some out-of-this-world Maui Scalloped Potatoes and mixed vegetable dishes the hostess sang a short song and invited people up to do a limbo again in an area we were unable to see from our table. We cleared out the potatoes and got seconds as the meats started to arrive by this time we are both already getting full. Turkey, pork, beef steak, and sausage are delivered to the table from giant skewers just pulled off the open pit fire in the center of the restaurant. All the meats are great with exception to the sausage that I find to be a little fatty and oddly spiced. Now its time for some coconut races that run around the entire path in the restaurant so we get to see this and enjoy the people being silly. Dessert is a fantastic bread pudding with vanilla bean ice cream and a rich bananas foster sauce that you get to poor over the top.

Good food and a fun family experience. This place seems better for families with kids or larger groups as just a couple can seem out of place. Be prepared to participate and know that it can be loud during the singing or events as they use speakers throughout the restaurant.

 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 24, 2007 and June 1, 2007
Reviewer: WDWFANATIC New Lenox, IL     June 09, 2007
We love O'hana's so much that our tradition is to eat here our first and last nights of our WDW stay. The cost for a family of four was $130 including tax and tip but no alcoholic beverages. We love the honey lime dressing on the salad that is brought out first with the honey BBQ chicken wings. The sweet and sour shrimp is alot of work to peel and eat but definitely worth the work. The cheesy potatoes are a family favorite and we usually have to ask for a refill on this dish. We are usually getting full when all of the skewers of meat start coming out. Our family favorites are the Turkey and the pork. The steak is somewhat rare for my tastes usually and the sausage is somewhat fatty. All of the meat is good though. You MUST save room for the awesome dessert of bread pudding with banana's fosters sauce. I don't even like bananas but this dessert is one of my favorites. This is a family style restaurant with a set menu. The entertainment is great too and O'hana means family and that is what they treat you like here. This is a definite must do for our family.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   08-29-06
Reviewer: juliasacco pennsylvania, philadelphia     June 04, 2007
We go to Disney every year and have been to almost all the restaurants yet this was our first time at 'Ohana, and boy were we missing out! We thought the food was a little bit exotic before going but having been there I must say it is by far the best meal we have ever had on Disney property. Everything was delicious and in abundance. Plus the kids were entertained by learning to hula and and playing instruments and doing the limbo. It was their favorite also even over the character meals. All I can say is DON'T MISS IT !
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 30, 2006
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 18, 2006
We had to wait a bit to be seated but did not mind because the bar area had football on the TV for my fiance and and tropical drinks inside an actual pineapple for me. When we were seated we got a seat right next to the cooking station and the place where all the children got to dance and play. It was cute at first but after the third pass with the maracas, it was a bit annoying. The food, on the other hand, was plentiful and delicious. I loved the salad and chicken wing starters the most of everything. By the time the main courses arrived I was already stuffed so I only took a small portion of each type of meat but the servers kept trying to give me more. All of the meats were good but I liked the turkey and sausage the best. I thought it was nice that they had different sauces you could put on the meat as well. The potatoes were excellent. However, I wish they would have brought a fresh plate between appetizers and entree because I had chicken bones all over my plate. I don't normally like bread pudding or bananas but the dessert with the bananas foster sauce was amazing! Don't skip it even if it doesn't sound good to you, you will be surprised at how delicious it is. We will definitely return to 'Ohana.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 28, 2006
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     June 25, 2006
We ate at Ohana's due to the dining plan, and we are glad we did. We loved the experience! We were seated at a window seat overlooking the Seven Seas Lagoon with a view of the Grand Floridian. Come ready to eat because the food just kept coming and coming and coming. We enjoyed the chicken wing appetizer and the salad. For the main course, we really liked the steak, pork, and scalloped potatoes. The turkey and pork sausage were not real good. Bread pudding alamode did not sound too appetizing but it was tremendous. The entire experience was enjoyable and the food was excellent. We left stuffed and happy!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/23/2005
Reviewer: caseybea Milwaukee, WI     December 19, 2005
We had dinner at O'Hana the first evening of our trip, and met some other family members there. While it was very crowded, we were able to get seated without waiting too long (we had priority reservations).

Our table server was timely! We got our drinks and appetizers quicky, and they were great. The marinated shrimp were a bit on the soft (overcooked) side, but were still very tasty.

O'Hana is, as most people should be aware, a "meat frenzy". If you like meat, this is a good place to go. My teen sons were looking forward to it.

Sadly, we did not feel that the meat was all that great. The beef was undercooked and far too over-marinated. The roast pork was very tasty, but then we got to the turkey, and it was like shoe leather. Only my son had the sausages, and he said they were "OK". Considering that the MEAT is the "focus" of this restaurant, they need to do a better job at it. The group concensus (out of 7 of us): The pork was great, the other meats were fair to poor.

The restaurant's atmosphere is quite fun, and the entertainment for the little ones is also cute.

We ate here once a few years ago- it was better then, and overall, a bit disappointing this time. When we return, we'll be eating somewhere else.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page