Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
'Ohana
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Upscale dining at the Polynesian featuring Pacific Rim cuisine. (Please see Character Dining / 'Ohana for reviews of the character breakfast.)
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 30 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/8/05
Reviewer: heidiwhr Salem, Oregon     December 11, 2005
We had a 5pm ADR for Ohana before going to the Magic Kingdom for Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party. I'd heard great things about this place and wanted to try it out. I was not disapointed! I liked the fact that it was all-you-can-eat, but it was all brought to your table so you didn't have to get up like a buffet. The reason I gave it 4 planets instead of 5 was that it seemd like the meal was full of meat, and very little in the way of fruit, veggies, or bread. I'm not a vegetarian by any means, but there's only so much meat you can eat! I did enjoy the salad with honey-lime dressing, and the honey-corriander chicken wings were probably the best of all the dishes. The Sweet and Sour shrimp would have been great, had we not had to peel them too! We are not bread budding fans, but the bananas foster sauce over the ice cream for dessert was yummy! My 4 y/o was not really into participating in the coconut races or limbo contest, but next time he should be at the perfect age for all the fun! I will definitely go back, but will remember to request the veggies and potatoes w/o onions and maybe get more salad so that our meal is not strictly meat.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 3, 2005
Reviewer: luvmsudogs Brandon, MS     November 22, 2005
Because we had the free dining plan on this visit, we were able to try several restaurants. This was our absolute favorite. It was fun, the assortment of food brought to the table was different and wonderful. Shrimp, wontons, steak, cheesey potatoes - a really great change of pace. We look forward to doing this one again.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 19, 2005
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, AZ     August 25, 2005
Overall an excellent experience. A meal could have been made on the pineapple bread and appetizers alone. The shrimp and veggie wontons and cheesy potatoes were great. Then came the meat. The steak was a little rare for my taste, but the flavor was good. The turkey was OK. The pork and shrimp were excellent. We were able to get shrimp with no problem, and I am about as far from a vegetarian as you can get. The service was good. It was hard to choose between Ohana, Boma and Cape May Cafe, but you can't go wrong with the food here.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 7, 2005
Reviewer: Pegsterq Yorba Linda, CA     January 20, 2005
We visited this restaurant during our last stay to WDW in 1998. We loved it then and loved it even more this trip. I think it was a great value at $25 per adult. We went to a Moroccan restaurant at Epcot the night before and paid about the same amount. We thought the food and atmosphere was much better at Ohana. An earlier post said shrimp was only for vegetarians. We had no problem getting shrimp, although our waiter said that was the thing he brought last. I would have liked to have the shrimp brought with the other meats. We saw people just ordering appetizers in the bar while we were waiting for our table. That looked like a fun and tasty alternative to the Ohana dinner. We also noticed that there would an incredible view of the fireworks at Magic Kingdom if you plan your dinner time right and had a window view.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 2005
Reviewer: Mooshu Alameda, California     January 15, 2005
To arrive at Ohanas' by monorail, boat or bus to Ohanas is very easy. One day we took the boat from Magic Kingdom the next day we took the monorail.

The food was excellent, all the MEAT (Turkey, beef & Pork) you could eat but the only down point was that they only had shrimp for non meat eaters. The Pu Pu's (appetizers) were delicious (salad, fried shrimp & vegetable won tons, chicken wings, green beans with bacon) and our waiter was very attentive when we asked for no bacon on our beans and plain salad with no dressing. He even went next door to get us a side of ranch dressing.

For $25 I think it was well worth it for all you can eat. But remember they only have shrimp for non meat eaters. I would not recommend for a vegeterian to eat here.
 
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 2004
Reviewer: dawnosif Centerville, Ohio     January 11, 2005
We visit Ohana on every trip to WDW. We like to wait until day 3 or 4 when we're tired of eating burgers and fries. What a treat it is to sit down and enjoy such a large variety of foods for one price. And with 3 growing boys, all you can eat is definitely a plus. Don't miss the coconut races and make sure you order desert!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 9 2004
Reviewer: DisneyDec Newark, Delaware     December 13, 2004
Meal: Character Breakfast
Service: Fair
Price: Upper Moderate
Food: Good
Atmosphere: Excellent

This was the only character meal of the trip, and the first one at the Polynesian.

We were late for our 9:40 seating, but were paged only about five minutes later. Our hostess brought along some pineapple bread, which was devoured very quickly (a second loaf was brought later, which was scarrfed down mostly by myself). Next, the server (known as Cousin, as they all were) brought us orange juice and a bowl of fruit. As this was going on, Mickey came up to our table for pictures. A few minutes later there was a parade, led by Goofy, around the restaurant. Each child received a maracca to shake as they marched around. These were the highlight for both of my daughters. Shortly after the parade Goofy came right to the table.

Breakfast was finally served. I didn't each much of it, but my wife and eldest daughter loved the bacon and sausage respectively, while my youngest daughter enjoyed the Mickey Waffles. I had the eggs, but they were a bit too salty for my taste (most likely, they soaked up the salt from the bacon and sausage). They also had biscuits, but none of us touched them.

Overall, I found 'Ohana's a better value for the dollar than Chef Mickey's. the food was better as well as the atmosphere.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 3, 2004
Reviewer: laurenblythe Shreveport, LA     June 27, 2004
Went for dinner. The food was quite good and the presentation great for families-could share and try different things. Coconut races and hula hoop contests for kids. Grilled shrimp was quite good. One can eat as much as they like here-go with an appetite. Service was very good.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   03/06/2004
Reviewer: tonyrr1 Wharton NJ     May 10, 2004
I was in Orlando on business for a few days and spent all of my "off time" at WDW just saoking up the atmosphere. I chanced upon this establishment and decided to give it a try, and it was AWESOME!!!!!!!

First off, you had better be MIGHTY hungry when you go here because you will DEFINITELY leave full. Once they start bringing the skewers, they just keep on bringing them until you tell them to stop. Also, for you adult types, their MaiTai's are EXCELLENT!

Now, here's another cool thing about this restaurant. I happened to be there in the evening on the norht side of the place, and so what was I in perfect position to enjoy? Why, the fireworks show over the lagoon of course! Talk about making the evening. This restaurant was all about making the magic happen and getting a GREAT meal. All in all, I think I spent about $43 for all the food, drinks, alcohol, and a dessert (I have no idea where I fit that dessert in me... lol), but you don't have to go quite that crazy. Also, they periodically had little shows. There was this one where a portly Hawaiian gentleman was signing an appropriate tune while strumming the ukalayli (I know I butchered that word), and all the little kids could come up and hula-hoop to his tune. Talk about hilarious!

Anyway, that's my story, and I'm stickin' to it. YOu absolutely MUST try this place if you've never been. I had a GREAT time...!!!!!
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 16, 2003
Reviewer: mom22gls Jenkintown, PA     November 23, 2003
A friend had recommended Ohana, based on the food, and also the games for the kids. We took our 2 and 5 year olds, and had a pretty good experience. We were seated at the 5:00 PM opening, and I asked a waiter about the games, when none had been started, after almost an hour. He said that the games would be at 6:30-well, we would have wanted to leave by then, and there were also quite a few other children in the restaurant who would not have had any games. They did one round of the coconut race, at about 6:00, and may not have done that, if nobody had asked. The food was basically good, and we enjoyed it. I knew that a light dessert was included (pineapple with caramel sauce), but it was not mentioned on the printed menu. I am sure a lot of people ordered the fairly pricey desserts, without knowing that a sweet was included. The air conditioning was also turned up too high-I actually stood by the grill to warm up at one point.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page