Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
'Ohana
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Upscale dining at the Polynesian featuring Pacific Rim cuisine. (Please see Character Dining / 'Ohana for reviews of the character breakfast.)
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 30 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Aug. 25/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Dinner
Mediocre service
Good value for what you get
Nice atmosphere (until show starts)

We had a very difficult time enjoying our meal here. This was mostly due to where they sat us in the restaurant - right on the edge of the open floor area where all the entertainment takes place. That would have been fine except for the children's hula hoop contests and coconut races. Enthusiastic kids are concentrating so hard on what they're doing that they easily forget there are diners sitting only inches away from them. I was repeatedly bopped with hula hoops and bashed with brooms. It makes it exceptionally difficult to enjoy one's meal while trying to keep one eye out for flying weapons. This is probably a great choice for families with children but for parties containing only adults, it's likely you will find the entertainment to be more than just a tad juvenile. That being said, however, we did really enjoy watching the Magic Kingdom fireworks from 'Ohana's windows. And the food was quite tasty with tons of it - an all you can eat extravaganza particularly geared to meat lovers. If you're dining here, make sure you request a table at least slightly removed from all the action.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 2001, August 2002, March 2003
Reviewer: disneygirl99 Northern Indiana     September 27, 2003
Everytime we go we have such a great time from the hula hoop contests to the "cousins" we meet upon arrival. It's wonderful food combined with a a tropical atmosphere and wonderful service. We have never left there thinking that we shouldn't have gone. They feed you till you burst and then bring out the pineapple with caramel! (my hubby's favorite!) The views of the lagoon and the Magic Kingdom are gorgeous and you are so excited to hear the music in rythym with the fireworks. We have been lucky enough to get window views everytime we go! It's one of our family's traditions now.. And we are heading back in 23 days....so here we come!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 29, 2003
Reviewer: AVP Anaheim, CA     April 12, 2003
*Date of visit: March 29, 2003
*Type of meal: Dinner
*Service: Poor
*Price: Good value
*Food: Excellent
*Atmosphere: Unique

Just as our group was called, one member received a call on their cell phone. The hostess was great - she said, "remember, 'ohana means nobody gets left behind," and waited for our last person to rejoin us. As we walked to our table, she showed us the dessert selection, and the grill where skewers of meat were roasting.

When we made our PS reservations, we requested a window table with a view of the fireworks. We were given the closest table available for a group of six, just one row away from the window.

Our waiter came to take our drink order, and he took a rather long time to return with our beverages. When he did return, some of the drinks were incorrect, and he had to make another trip to fix them. In the interim, another server had dropped off our appetizer tray. The appetizers were wonderful, and our party quickly finished them off. Until I read the prior reviews, I did not realize that we could have asked for seconds of the appetizers, and our waiter never offered - nor did he clear the obviously empty bowls from the table.

When the meats were brought around, the waiter served them almost sparingly. He would give each of us whatever we asked for, but he did so one piece at a time. We had to get really specific - "five shrimp and two pieces of beef, please." He also brought half-empty skewers, so our group divided up whatever was left.

On several occasions, the waiter said he would return with something - a drink refill, wet napkins, more skewers - and didn't return. Then he'd walk by our table again, remember whatever it was he was supposed to bring, and go to find it.

At some point, our waiter decided we were done, and stopped serving - or even coming by the table. Since a few people in the group were not done, we had to flag the waiter down and ask for some of the items.

Despite the inefficient and indifferent service, the meal was quite a lot of fun. We had a good view of the fireworks, (the music is piped into the restaurant, and the lights are dimmed so we could really see them), and the games and music all around made for a very friendly atmosphere.

The dessert that comes with the meal - pineapple with caramel dipping sauce - was so good, we're all glad we didn't order a dessert from the menu. And we were entirely too full anyway!
 
12 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Several times (4-5) between 6/02 and 1/03
Reviewer: bleudiva99 (bleudiva99@hotmail.com) Portland, Oregon     February 11, 2003
I was on the WDWCP (Walt Disney World College Program), so money was tight, but my roommate suggested O'hana's because she had been there in the past and had remembered it being great. Boy was she right!! I am definately a meat lovin' girl and the grilled tiger shrimp is the best there. The appetizers alone would have been worth the price. They have the most amazing wings, shrimp and vegetable wontons that keep coming and coming. Even with our CM discount, it still came to about $23 a person, including tip. Even though that was about 4 hours of work pay, it was definitely worth it and the service is definitely Disney Quality. Thanks.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 2002
Reviewer: snwarf North Carolina     January 03, 2003
We ate here twice, once for breakfast and once for dinner. We were impressed with the quality of food. Portions were HUGE! and they kept bringing more. My family are big eaters, but we couldn't even finish everything. For breakfast, they brought a skillet with eggs, biscuits, sausage, bacon, waffles....and I'm sure there was even more. We ate all the waffles and wanted more and good grief...out came another skillet full of food! We aren't crazy about character breakfasts, but if you have small children it would be great. The food was worth it though!
The dinner meal was my favorite. All of the appetizers they bring out are fantastic and the meat was terrific. Like a previous reporter said: even kids who are meat and potatoes would love this restaurant! Also, for adult drinkers...they have excellent tropical mixed drinks. A little pricey, but they are GOOD!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 8, 2002
Reviewer: LauraD Alberta, Canada     November 18, 2002
Meal: Dinner
Price: Expensive
Service: Average
Atmosphere: Energized

This was our first evening in the parks and our first meal. What a welcome! We sat right by the grill, which was lots of fun for my husband. Service was a bit lax, we found we would be waiting for more meat to be brought to us. But it was all delicious. The dessert of fresh pineapple and caramel sauce has now spoiled us for pineapple. No more canned for us! We were sitting on the edge of the noisy children section. It wasn't constant and added entertainment. At 7:00 when the fireworks happened at MK, the lights were dimmed and the music pipped in. That was an extra treat!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 11, 2002
Reviewer: Poohfan28 Jacksonville, FL     October 15, 2002
My husband and I went to the character breakfast. We arrived by monorail about 10 min earlier then our PS seating time. There were about 8 families ahead of us. They invite you in and call you cuz and tell that Ohana means family then they offer you the sweet bread with pineapple which then becomes part of your meal. Then the waiter asked if we wanted anything to drink, we got water and oj. Then the waiter brought out syrup. Next he brought out a big bowl filled with sauage, bacon, eggs, bisquits, and mickey waffles. Also he brought out a bowl of fresh fruit. Chip and Dale visited us. Then Goofy also came by for pictures with us grown up "kids". I left to go to the restroom and when I returned Chip was asking my husband where I had gone. Then after that Mickey came by dressed in a Hawiian shirt and offered to fill up our glasses of oj. The food was okay, we tend to like the buffet because then you can pick and choose what you want to eat. The price was good. With tip it came to $45.00. Before we left the gang of characters and all the kids in the place had a parade around and sang a song. We will probably not go back here. It was neat to try something new this trip.
 
3 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 25, 2002
Reviewer: Jenny Drake (peacepast@aol.com) Lancaster, TN     August 28, 2002
We went to O'hana for an evening meal with 3, midwestern, farm meat-n-potatoes kids who are not particularly adventuresome eaters and they LOVED IT. the meats (turkey, pork, beef and shrimp) are all you care to eat, and the kids sure took advantage of that. The side dishes are served in small bowls, and everyone tried everything. The big hit was the desert-fresh pineapple with caramel dipping sauce.
there is no need to worry about salmonella or e coli from these meats are they were very, very well done. Kids and hubby loved it, but I prefer mine still flinching a bit.
The servers were very friendly, but not attentive. We had to ask for refills several times on our drinks and had to ask for the pork to be brought (for the first time) on 3 different occasions.
The cost was ~$22.00/person, not including the tip. Well worth it to fill up 3 teens.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Feb 2000
Reviewer: Fngoofy     July 08, 2002
Enjoyed every minute of the meal!!! Way way to much food and dessert!!! All excellent and cooked to perfection! First time back since they remodeled, it was our first dinner of the stay!!! Always enjoyed it when it was Minnies Menahune Room!!! I think I have that name right... We had some great breakfasts there with the characters in years past, they did a beautiful job with the room!!! Have A Disney Day!!! Goofy
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/1/02
Reviewer: Aethan Boston, MA     June 28, 2002
This was one of the best meals we ate at the World. The decor has a wonderful South Seas feel to it (love those gigantic tiki heads!) The server was attentive and prompt, even though the place was pretty crowded. There were games keeping the kids amused, and a strolling fellow wih a guitar came by and chatted with us for a while. As anyone who's seen Lilo an stitch knows, 'Ohana means "Family", and the servers kept calling us "cuz," which was a nice touch. And then there's the food...oh, man, it is just excellent! Servers bring around skewers with grilled shrimp, marinated turkey, pork roast, and steak. It's all delicious and wonderfully prepared. In addition, there's a sort of "pu-pu platter" of sauces and tidbits like spring rolls and chicken wings. All of it is all-you-can-eat, and, then, just when they have you packed to the gills, dessert comes out, in the form of pineapple wedges served with a caramel dipping sauce. Trust me, it is well-worth finding a few corners in your belly to pack this into. The price is not high considering the quality of the food. All-in-all, this was wonderful.
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page