Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Spirit of Aloha Luau at the Polynesian Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Dinner luau featuring grilled meats, fruit, Polynesian entertainment.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 7 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 7 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 30, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
We arrived early and a somewhat peaved girl told us it would be another forty minutes until they started letting people in. When we were let in no one welcomed us with leis before being guided to the photographer. When seated to our table we noticed that just about all the rest of the people were wearing them. The waiter arrived and he was very nice and brought the three of us alot of food. Beer and wine is included in the ticket price but the beer is Budweiser which always gives both my wife and me headaches. We ordered special drinks and the cost is high for the small amount of alcohol in the mixed drinks.
The show started and the drinks ceased. The show includes rock and roll numbers now and was somewhat disappointing. Most of the girls were not Polynesian and did not have the hand signal elegance of true Hawaiins. Disney used to recruit Polynesians years ago for the Luau. However some of the traditional dance is still good and the fire dancer is excellent. It saved the show. For the price you still can't beat this. Food, drinks (bad beer and OK wine) and a show that includes the server's gratuity is an amazing value. Please tip your servers extra anyway as they work hard to prepare for this package. We arrived for the 8:00pm show very early and noticed how much they hustle to get things ready after the earlier show. Not as good a show as it used to be but still a good value and a decent show. Enjoy!!
 
7 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 21
Reviewer: rob hanson1979 Ottawa, Canada     October 13, 2005
We attended the late (8pm) dinner-show on Sept 21. We arrived about 45 minutes early, and when we asked at the hotel front desk where we should go, she proceeded to check us in for the show right there.
We were told to wait for a while before they called us to go, so we enjoyed the Polynesian Resort lobby and gift shop, which were quite nice.
Once it was time to line up, we stood in line for about 20 minutes, and then were walked down to the luau area, where we stood waiting for another 30 minutes. Once we finally we seated, the surroundings were quite nice and picturesque. I was hoping you would be able to see the beach, but the landscaping prevented that. Nonetheless, the surroundings were nice.
When we sat, the table already had a platter with salad and fresh pineapple bread. Our waiter was quite rushed, as he had lots of tables, but our service didn't suffer because of it. He was already fun and friendly, and very attentive. He took our drink orders quickly, and once the salad was gone he brought out the main platter or chicken, ribs, rice, and veggies.
The chicken was sort of bland, not really much flavour or moistness to it, but the ribs were delicious. We quickly finished them off, and our waiter brought out another platter of just ribs. The rice and veggies were good too, but nothing special.
Dessert was just as every described already. A chocolate mousse with raspberry sauce. It was alright, but at this point we were all so full, we didn't eat much of dessert.
As for the show, I will agree with everyone and say the first part was a little boring. There is a quasi-storyline of a girl returning from the mainland and rediscovering her roots. There is no real finale to the storyline though.
After dessert, the main show takes off, with various dances from across the Polynesian Islands, and the big finale is the Samoan fire dancer, who is worth the price of admission alone.
So if this was strictly dinner, I would only moderately recommend it, however with the atmosphere, the service, and the amazing closing to the show, it is definately worth checking out.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9-10-03
Reviewer: PineapplePrincess California     October 30, 2003
My husband and I had a wonderful time at this night time dinner show. While we had to wait a long time to go in, as they had us arrive very early, as soon as we were seated there was salad, pineapple, and pineapple bread waiting for us. The salad had an interesting dressing on it, and was very good. The pineapple was the best I have ever tasted. The bread was ok. The show started, and we were made to feel like guests in a Hawaiin home.Then the main dinner was served, ribs, rice, grilled veggies and chicken. Neither my husband or I eat pork, but the people around us seemed to have found the ribs to be excellent. The chicken was very yummy, the rice and veggies were ok. There was no problem with getting extra chicken, and our server kept our drinks filled. The show then went on, and the dancers were surperb! The grand finale were the steaming volcano cakes. I found them to be very different but very good, and my husband found them to be too sweet, he couldn't eat them.
I highly reconmend this show, especially for couples, as it is in a very romantic setting.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Feb. 27/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     April 06, 2003
Perhaps our expectations were a little too high about this luau but we were extremely disappointed with it. The setting was lovely - we did feel like we were in the Polynesian islands somewhere. The service was okay and the food again was just mediocre. The best thing about it was the pineapple bread and the ribs. The rest of the food was not terribly good. The chicken was dry, the vegetables rather soggy and the dessert was sickeningly sweet. However, the biggest disappointment of all was the actual show. We got to see the new "improved" version so I have no idea about the quality of the original show but this one was boring with a capital B. We had expected to enjoy traditional Hawaiian music and dancing. Instead, there was very little of this and the largest part of the show consisted of this story about a girl who had returned from the mainland. Aunt Winnie, who acted as the hostess of the show and was the main instigator in the plot to convince Leilani that she should return to her roots, was rather annoying in her brash portrayal. The rest of the performers were all bland and not terribly talented. They looked like they would rather be somewhere else than on that stage. When it FINALLY came time for the more traditional Hawaiian music and dancing, that was quite lovely. But it was far too small a part of the show. I wouldn't recommend the Luau to anyone. If you want to experience a live dinner show at Disney, go to Hoop De Doo Revue. It is far superior! The only really positive thing I can say about the luau show is that it was exceptionally well-organized and the entertainment only occurred before, during and after the meal courses, which is a lesson the Hoop De Doo Revue could learn.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   November 12, 2002
Reviewer: LauraD Alberta, Canada     November 18, 2002
Price: Expensive
Service: Hit and Miss
Atmosphere: Wonderful entertainment

We did get a deal on our tickets with 10% off with our AAA card. Came out to about $80 for 2 adults. We were asked to arrive 1/2 hour early. It had started to pour rain on our way back from MK (on the boat) and we had to wring out our clothes and change quickly. When we got there we discovered they were going to make us stand out under the leaky awning until 8:00. Not impressed! It got crowded and smoky. When we were finally seated, we had lucked out and got the second row (incredibly low chairs). My husband had been standing in the back later to stretch his back and the server found out. She brought him a taller chair with a back support. The food was good. Hard to serve yourself, the plate supports are bolted to the table, so you have to balance your plate or make a mess. It rained through the entire meal and didn't stop until the fire dance at the end. The entertainment would be the only reason I pay that much for a meal.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Nov,2002
Reviewer: sflowers Schenevus,NY     August 15, 2002
Hi, My Husband ,I and my boys ages 10 & 12 enjoyed the Luau we were staying at the Polyenesian so this only seemed appropriate. I had gone as a child. Although there were no whole roasted pigs or similar authentic quisine The food BBQ Ribs ,Chicken etc. were very good they bring you plenty and even will make other things for the kids if they don't like the food. The waitress we had was great and made everything fun. The food is presented nicely and tries to keep the luau theme going. Lets not forget the show it was very good and kept even the boys interested. The expense would be quite high but it was part of our magic package so we didn't have to worry about that.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   6/13/2002
Reviewer: T R Wolf West Chester, PA     June 21, 2002
The Luau is a fun show but not outstanding overall. The service was fine and attentive, but the food is not the main draw here. Everything was a bit overcooked and basic-not a real south seas type of meal. Polynesian dessert was chocolate cake????? However the entertainment was very good and once dinner was completed, it went smoothly. Our son had fun each time they called children to the stage to learn a dance. At the end the dancers came out for photos with guests. As we left, the MK fireworks were starting, so we stood by the little beach cove for a great view of the castle and show. It was a nice way to start our vacation at WDW (first night), but I wouldn't recommend this at all for families with small children as it is a bit long and the seating is a bit tight. Total cost was $120 for 2 adults and one child.
 
11 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page