Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Spirit of Aloha Luau at the Polynesian Resort!
 
Want to tell someone about Spirit of Aloha Luau at the Polynesian Resort? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Spirit of Aloha Luau at the Polynesian Resort
Description:
Dinner luau featuring grilled meats, fruit, Polynesian entertainment.
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 7 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 30, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
We arrived early and a somewhat peaved girl told us it would be another forty minutes until they started letting people in. When we were let in no one welcomed us with leis before being guided to the photographer. When seated to our table we noticed that just about all the rest of the people were wearing them. The waiter arrived and he was very nice and brought the three of us alot of food. Beer and wine is included in the ticket price but the beer is Budweiser which always gives both my wife and me headaches. We ordered special drinks and the cost is high for the small amount of alcohol in the mixed drinks.
The show started and the drinks ceased. The show includes rock and roll numbers now and was somewhat disappointing. Most of the girls were not Polynesian and did not have the hand signal elegance of true Hawaiins. Disney used to recruit Polynesians years ago for the Luau. However some of the traditional dance is still good and the fire dancer is excellent. It saved the show. For the price you still can't beat this. Food, drinks (bad beer and OK wine) and a show that includes the server's gratuity is an amazing value. Please tip your servers extra anyway as they work hard to prepare for this package. We arrived for the 8:00pm show very early and noticed how much they hustle to get things ready after the earlier show. Not as good a show as it used to be but still a good value and a decent show. Enjoy!!
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 21
Reviewer: rob hanson1979 Ottawa, Canada     October 13, 2005
We attended the late (8pm) dinner-show on Sept 21. We arrived about 45 minutes early, and when we asked at the hotel front desk where we should go, she proceeded to check us in for the show right there.
We were told to wait for a while before they called us to go, so we enjoyed the Polynesian Resort lobby and gift shop, which were quite nice.
Once it was time to line up, we stood in line for about 20 minutes, and then were walked down to the luau area, where we stood waiting for another 30 minutes. Once we finally we seated, the surroundings were quite nice and picturesque. I was hoping you would be able to see the beach, but the landscaping prevented that. Nonetheless, the surroundings were nice.
When we sat, the table already had a platter with salad and fresh pineapple bread. Our waiter was quite rushed, as he had lots of tables, but our service didn't suffer because of it. He was already fun and friendly, and very attentive. He took our drink orders quickly, and once the salad was gone he brought out the main platter or chicken, ribs, rice, and veggies.
The chicken was sort of bland, not really much flavour or moistness to it, but the ribs were delicious. We quickly finished them off, and our waiter brought out another platter of just ribs. The rice and veggies were good too, but nothing special.
Dessert was just as every described already. A chocolate mousse with raspberry sauce. It was alright, but at this point we were all so full, we didn't eat much of dessert.
As for the show, I will agree with everyone and say the first part was a little boring. There is a quasi-storyline of a girl returning from the mainland and rediscovering her roots. There is no real finale to the storyline though.
After dessert, the main show takes off, with various dances from across the Polynesian Islands, and the big finale is the Samoan fire dancer, who is worth the price of admission alone.
So if this was strictly dinner, I would only moderately recommend it, however with the atmosphere, the service, and the amazing closing to the show, it is definately worth checking out.