Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Victoria & Albert's!
 
Want to tell someone about Victoria & Albert's? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Victoria & Albert's
Description:
The most exclusive restaurant at WDW, this Grand Floridian restaurant features American cuisine at its finest.
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 6 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/10/2012
Reviewer: OneForTheTeam Boston, MA     May 02, 2013
There are only four tables in the Queen Victoria Room, the inner sanctum of Victoria and Albert's that serves only a 10-course tasting menu. Its quiet. Maybe too quiet as we initially felt like we had to speak in a whisper so as not to disturb the other diners.

Our servers, a man and a woman (not named Victoria and Albert) were the only people to serve the table. They were very pleasant and attentive. And this is where we encounter the first reason they have no Michelin stars: We have found that in the fine dining world there is a kind of shorthand used when serving food to people who know food. At V&A, every little thing is explained with an unnecessary bit of pomp and circumstance.

The food, however, is really good. With its basis in French, the cuisine also pulls from Asia and America. Each course was perfectly cooked and the pacing of the meal was good.

The flavors are not adventurous, but they did have some nice combinations. The chef leans toward comforting rather than surprising. Chicken liver pâté, Lamb and curry, salmon and soy. Nice cuts of meat with rich sauces. The presentation is pretty and simple. No molecular gastronomy. No French Laundry-esque play on words. Thankfully, it is also not based on Victorian era British food.

Service is unique in that the waitstaff is given a table-side task for almost every course. At times, this presents a nice opportunity to speak with the servers and learn more about the food or the operation of the restaurant. Unfortunately, the responsibilities of our waiter were limited to some fairly mundane tasks: warming croutons, shaving bonito, shaving truffles, and pouring sauces. The interaction seemed forced, as if, because its Disney we must include a bit of showmanship. A little bit is good. Knowing when to stop is what separates great restaurants from Victoria & Alberts.
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 25, 2001 (Christmas Day)
Reviewer: Akyriel Celebration, Florida     December 02, 2004
Living in Celebration, Florida affords me the opportunity to spend many days at Walt Disney World and I have become friends with many of the cast members there. In particular, I befriended the manager of Victoria & Albert's and was granted a special request on one of the busiest days at the restaurant.

Some Background:
As a Celebration resident I usually dine at least 4 times a week for dinner at the Celebration Hotel's Plantation Room restaurant which is one of those secret places you share with only the best of friends. Now you are my friends and can share some incredible dinners, too! I had made reservations for myself and two friends to enjoy Christmas Dinner at the Plantation Room on Christmas Day at 7PM and was looking forward to an exceptional offering as usual (They had a huge Christmas feast planned with duck, turkey, ham, pheasant, you get it, the works). However, when 7PM rolled around, I was informed by the Catering Manager (also a friend) that they had run out of the sumptuous dinner and only had the normal menu left available for me and my guests. Needless to say I was a bit disappointed (steamed is more like it).

I immediately called my manager friend at Victoria & Albert's, hoping against hope that he could perhaps squeeze in one more table for a late sitting at the restaurant (remember this is 7PM on Christmas Day and none of the 20 tables could have been available). I was in shock when he said that as a favor he would hold open a table for us if we could get there right away.

Are you kidding me! My friends were impressed that I could even pull off such a feat (I was too) and off we went to the Grand Floridian!

For Christmas, Victoria & Albert's pulls out all the stops for a dining treasure that is unparalleled - truly earning their 5-diamond rating!

Everything was impeccable. Victoria & Albert's wine list is one of the most extensive in the country featuring wines from $25.00/bottle up to more than $10,000/bottle.

I remember that I had the Lobster Bisque for my soup course and Roasted Lamb for the entree, several bottles of wine (we were celebrating Christmas and making merry), and all the usual culinary delights Disney prepares for special dinners such as this.

The experience was unforgettable and ranks as one of the best meals I have ever eaten.

Date(s) of Stay: 12/25/2001
Type/Class of room: N/A
Accommodations Review: N/A
Rate/Night (for your stay): N/A

Concierge Parking At Grand Floridian: $15.00
Special Suit For Christmas Dinner: $900.00
Christmas Dinner with Wine for 3 : $3,000.00
Making emergency reservations at Victoria & Albert's on Christmas Day: Priceless