Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Victoria & Albert's
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The most exclusive restaurant at WDW, this Grand Floridian restaurant features American cuisine at its finest.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 6 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 6 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/10/2012
Reviewer: OneForTheTeam Boston, MA     May 02, 2013
There are only four tables in the Queen Victoria Room, the inner sanctum of Victoria and Albert's that serves only a 10-course tasting menu. Its quiet. Maybe too quiet as we initially felt like we had to speak in a whisper so as not to disturb the other diners.

Our servers, a man and a woman (not named Victoria and Albert) were the only people to serve the table. They were very pleasant and attentive. And this is where we encounter the first reason they have no Michelin stars: We have found that in the fine dining world there is a kind of shorthand used when serving food to people who know food. At V&A, every little thing is explained with an unnecessary bit of pomp and circumstance.

The food, however, is really good. With its basis in French, the cuisine also pulls from Asia and America. Each course was perfectly cooked and the pacing of the meal was good.

The flavors are not adventurous, but they did have some nice combinations. The chef leans toward comforting rather than surprising. Chicken liver pâté, Lamb and curry, salmon and soy. Nice cuts of meat with rich sauces. The presentation is pretty and simple. No molecular gastronomy. No French Laundry-esque play on words. Thankfully, it is also not based on Victorian era British food.

Service is unique in that the waitstaff is given a table-side task for almost every course. At times, this presents a nice opportunity to speak with the servers and learn more about the food or the operation of the restaurant. Unfortunately, the responsibilities of our waiter were limited to some fairly mundane tasks: warming croutons, shaving bonito, shaving truffles, and pouring sauces. The interaction seemed forced, as if, because its Disney we must include a bit of showmanship. A little bit is good. Knowing when to stop is what separates great restaurants from Victoria & Alberts.
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 25, 2001 (Christmas Day)
Reviewer: Akyriel Celebration, Florida     December 02, 2004
Living in Celebration, Florida affords me the opportunity to spend many days at Walt Disney World and I have become friends with many of the cast members there. In particular, I befriended the manager of Victoria & Albert's and was granted a special request on one of the busiest days at the restaurant.

Some Background:
As a Celebration resident I usually dine at least 4 times a week for dinner at the Celebration Hotel's Plantation Room restaurant which is one of those secret places you share with only the best of friends. Now you are my friends and can share some incredible dinners, too! I had made reservations for myself and two friends to enjoy Christmas Dinner at the Plantation Room on Christmas Day at 7PM and was looking forward to an exceptional offering as usual (They had a huge Christmas feast planned with duck, turkey, ham, pheasant, you get it, the works). However, when 7PM rolled around, I was informed by the Catering Manager (also a friend) that they had run out of the sumptuous dinner and only had the normal menu left available for me and my guests. Needless to say I was a bit disappointed (steamed is more like it).

I immediately called my manager friend at Victoria & Albert's, hoping against hope that he could perhaps squeeze in one more table for a late sitting at the restaurant (remember this is 7PM on Christmas Day and none of the 20 tables could have been available). I was in shock when he said that as a favor he would hold open a table for us if we could get there right away.

Are you kidding me! My friends were impressed that I could even pull off such a feat (I was too) and off we went to the Grand Floridian!

For Christmas, Victoria & Albert's pulls out all the stops for a dining treasure that is unparalleled - truly earning their 5-diamond rating!

Everything was impeccable. Victoria & Albert's wine list is one of the most extensive in the country featuring wines from $25.00/bottle up to more than $10,000/bottle.

I remember that I had the Lobster Bisque for my soup course and Roasted Lamb for the entree, several bottles of wine (we were celebrating Christmas and making merry), and all the usual culinary delights Disney prepares for special dinners such as this.

The experience was unforgettable and ranks as one of the best meals I have ever eaten.

Date(s) of Stay: 12/25/2001
Type/Class of room: N/A
Accommodations Review: N/A
Rate/Night (for your stay): N/A

Concierge Parking At Grand Floridian: $15.00
Special Suit For Christmas Dinner: $900.00
Christmas Dinner with Wine for 3 : $3,000.00
Making emergency reservations at Victoria & Albert's on Christmas Day: Priceless
 
12 out of 37 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/10/2002
Reviewer: Lashbear Sydney, Australia     September 23, 2003
Here's our experience with V&A. It was nice to see that two guys dining together for an anniversary dinner wasn't an issue (not that it should be).

The day was sunny and fine, and we spent most of the day at EPCOT - leaving our suits stashed in the lockers at the Epcot bus station.

We then went and changed into our suits, hopped on the Monorail to the TTC, and swapped over to the Resort Transport monorail loop.

Straight off the monorail, and we were in the elegant lobby of the Grand Floridian Hotel. Being Christmas, there was a giant tree dominating the scene, as well as a huge gingerbread house (how we were tempted, but it would have spoiled out appetites).

We went around to the entrance to Victoria and Albert's and peeked in to make sure the Maitre D was expecting us. He was, and we were soon shown to our table.

The dining room is small, and the arrangement was such that we felt quite private, and not at all "on show". We were situated to the right of the main entrance, against a beautifully upholstered wall. The other diners were unobtrusive, and their quiet chat was absorbed by the delightful music being played on a classical guitar to the left of the entrance.

The guitarist played a warm gentle mix of Disney songs ('When you wish upon a star' nearly brought me to tears) and seasonal carols, which enhanced the experiene no end, but never intruded into conversation or became distracting.

We were welcomed by our Victoria (Anita) and our Albert (Don), and given our menus (each one customized with our name written in flowing gold script and our names and the occasion printed inside each menu) to peruse. While Victoria gave us the run-down on each dish on the menu, Albert was off fetching Champagne for us. We gave Victoria our choices, and settled in for an evening of luxury.

The first course was an 'Amuse bouchee' - to entertain the mouth. It was a single morsel, dainty, but with many mingled flavours. The Champagne was real French Champagne (Duval-Leroy Brut Non Vintage - http://www.asiacuisine.com.sg/Reviews/Wine/2002/3/137/ ) and was light, frothy and foamy - not at all like the dull flat "Champagnes" we had been used to.

Our plates were cleared, and we settled in for a chat. Our next course arrived, and it was the Smoked Buffalo Tenderloin with Fennel and Apple Salad. We had both ordered this, as we had always wanted to try Buffalo - it was tender and tasty. The portion was not huge, however with 5 courses to go, we decided that bigger is not necessarily better in this case. The wine to accompany this course was the Hartford Pinot Noir, Sonoma 2000 ( http://www.hartfordcourt.com/hartford/wines/pinotnoir ), and was perfect in tandem with the buffalo.

For the third course, I went with the South Florida Rabbit "Cassoulet" with Leek Fondue, which was accompanied by the Pinot Blanc Lucien Albrecht, Alsace 2000 (a nice light white). Greg (who has a soft spot for rabbits) decided to order the Soy Glazed Duck (NOT Donald, thankfully) with Sugar Snap Peas and Miniature Corn, accompanied by the Mordagio Albarino, Rias Baixas 2001 (I found out that the finest Albariño wines do come in fact from the Rias Baixas zone of Galicia in Spain and are in great demand). Greg was certainly impressed. The sommelier at V&A certainly knows his job !

The Rabbit was as tender as you could want, and the leek fondue was totally inspired as an accompaniment (now, if only they gave away their recipes). Greg assures me the Duck was done to a turn, and was not overwhelmed by the soy glaze.

Fourth course was a shoe-in, as we are both lovers of cream soups. (although the Pheasant Consommé nearly tempted me) In the end, though, we both had the Yukon Gold-Marscapone Cream This was served with freshly ground black pepper, and was velvety smooth and delicious. There was no wine with this course (*hic*).

Now it was time for the Entree (Main Course to us Aussies). I had the Porcini Crusted Veal Tenderloin with Wild Mushroom Risotto, which was served with the Haut-Médoc Château Lanessan Delbos-Bouteiller, Bordeaux 1998.

Greg had the Grilled Prime Filet over Potato Pillow and Cabernet Jus which was served with a glass of the Dolcetto Di Diano D'Alba, Montagrillo Piedmont 2000

After we were done with the entrée, they waited just the right amount of time before bringing out the Colston Basset Stilton with Burgandy Poached Pear. I LOVE stilton cheese, and the port that was served with this was the Ferreira Tawny, Porto, and I have never tasted a nicer port (and Ive tasted a few ! )

Dessert, dessert, dessert !! Never have we been more tempted, and this was one of the hardest decisions to make !! The Apple Mousse Tart with Calvados Carmel Sauce was served with a fabulously sticky Sauternes LaFleur D'Or, Bordeaux, 1999. Greg was over the moon with his sinful Hawaiian Kona chocolate Soufflé, which Albert served at the table by breaking open the top, and pouring a stream of Hot Chocolate Fudge sauce into.. he just kept pouring, and pouring, and pouring, until Greg finally stopped him We recommend everyone should try this opulent dessert ! It was also served with the Sauternes LaFleur D'Or, Bordeaux, 1999, which Greg liked, even though he is not normally a sweet wine type of guy.

Coffee was served with dessert, and we would advise that you get it, whether you drink coffee or not, simply because of the theatrical value of the fascinating coffee-pot that it is brewed and served in. They are made exclusively for Victoria & Alberts and make really good coffee !! (I believe Swiss Water Decaf is also available).

Gorgeous handmade chocolates arrived at the end of the meal with the cheque, and we were surprised by that special Disney Touch a single Red Rose for each of us, and a chocolate Anniversary card for us from the staff of V&A. We have never felt so pampered or special ! We also got to keep the Souvenir Personalised Menus.

Here was the menu, including the full list of choices offered that night:

Happy 3rd Anniversary
Welcome to Victoria and Albert's
10 December 2002

Course 1 - Both
Amuse Bouche - Prawn
Duval-Leroy Brut, Champagne NV

Course 2 - Both
Smoked Buffalo Tenderloin with Fennel and Apple Salad
Hartford Pinot Noir, Sonoma 2000

Also on offer for second course were
Herb Marinated Quail with French Lentils and Elephant Garlic Aioli
Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc, Marlborough 2002
Iranian Karabarun Golden Osetra Caviar ($35.00 1/2oz - $70.00 1oz extra)

Course 3
Rob:
South Florida Rabbit "Cassoulet" with Leek Fondue
Pinot Blanc Lucien Albrecht, Alsace 2000

Greg:
Soy Glazed Duck with Sugar Snap Peas and Miniature Corn
Mordagio Albarino, Rias Baixas 2001

Course 4 - Both
Yukon Gold-Marscapone Cream

Also on offer for the soup course was
Pheasant Consommé

Course 5
Rob:
Porcini Crusted Veal Tenderloin with Wild Mushroom Risotto
Haut-Médoc Château Lanessan Delbos-Bouteiller, Bordeaux 1998

Greg:
Grilled Prime Filet over Potato Pillow and Cabernet Jus
Dolcetto Di Diano D'Alba, Montagrillo Piedmont 2000

Also Available for Course Five were:
Alaskan King Salmon with Artichokes, Wild Rice and Beet Ragoût
Guenoc Chardonnay "Genevieve Magoon Vineyard", Guenoc Valley 1999
Petit Poulet "Coq Au Vin" with Fingerling Potatoes
Côte de Brouilly Château Thivin, C ru Beajolais 1999

Course 6 - Both
Colston Basset Stilton with Burgandy Poached Pear
Ferreira Tawny, Porto

Also Available for Course six was:
Terrine of Sorbet with Pomegranate Seeds
Brachetto d'Acqui Banfi "Rosa Regale", Piedmont 2001

Course 7
Rob:
Green Apple Mousse Tart with Calvados Carmel Sauce
Sauternes LaFleur D'Or, Bordeaux, 1999

Greg:
Hawaiian Kona chocolate Soufflé
Sauternes LaFleur D'Or, Bordeaux, 1999

Also Available for Course seven (all served with the sauterne) were:
Pyramid of Tanzani Chocolate Mousse with Strawberries
Caramelized Banana Gâteau
Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée
Grand Marnier Soufflé

Coffee and Chocolates

Our Victoria: Anita
Our Albert: Don
Chef de Cuisine: Scott Hunnel
Pastry Chef: Erich Herbitschek
Maitre d'Hotel: Brian Koziol

It was a truly memorable evening, and the only hitch was that they used one merchant number to check our credit card before the meal, and a different one when we paid, which tied up some $300.00 for a week on our card !

I believe this doesnt happen to everyone, however it was a bit of a shock for us (we thought we had been billed twice).

That aside, I would still recommend Victoria & Alberts as #1 for a romantic and eternally memorable evening perfect for that ultimate Special Occasion.

Cheers,
Rob :o)
 
29 out of 32 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 8, 2002
Reviewer: AVP Anaheim, California     September 21, 2002
* Date of visit: September 8, 2002
* Type of meal: Dinner
* Service: Singular
* Price: $65.00 per person, w/o wine pairing
* Food: Exceptional
* Atmosphere: Elegant

After hearing rave reviews of V& A, we were convinced that we needed to try this restaurant. We made reservations for a late Anniversary celebration dinner.

Valet parking is included with your meal, so we decided to drive to the hotel. Being early September, with temperatures in the high 90's, we did not relish the though of using resort transportation. (Can you imagine sweating your way to V&A on the monorail while dressed in formal clothing?)

We arrived a few moments early, and walked to the restaurant. A hostess at the PS counter in the center of the lobby immediately went to open the door for us. This surprised me until she said, "you're obviously dressed for here".

Upon entering, we were greeted by name, and shown to our tables. We were presented with our personalized menus, and wished a Happy Anniversary. Our Victoria took our drink order, and explained the menu to us.

We had several choices for each course - at least three options. Once we ordered - everything from our starter, all the way to dessert - we were left to enjoy the atmosphere.

The circular room is incredibly tiny, with no more than 20 tables. The tables are arranged in two rings, with a private dining room off to one side.

A classy touch - the butter is molded into a rose shape, and served in a slotted bowl. Albert explained that the chef hates to be served cold, hard butter. The slotted bowl allows the restaurant to serve soft butter, without it melting into a greasy puddle.

Our meal was amazing - I won't bother listing the dishes, because the menu changes daily. Each course was just superb, and the portions were exactly right for such a long meal.

As we dined, our Victoria and Albert were wonderful about refreshing our drinks. When I needed to visit the ladies room, Albert escorted me there. We noticed this happen with other guests - no one was left to wander around lost.

We were offered coffee before dessert, but neither of us drink coffee. Once I saw the coffee pot, I was almost willing to start. I called it the "Coffee Hooka", and it looks like an hourglass. Water is from the lower bowl is brought to a boil over sterno. When it reaches a boil, it percolated up a glass pipe into the upper bowl, which was filled with loose coffee grounds. The water drained back into the lower bowl, and the upper bowl was set aside as the coffee was poured. Truly classy. I wonder if it will work for loose-leaf tea.

Dessert was awesome - we both ordered the chocolate souffle cake that we have heard so much about. It was amazing. Albert punched a hole in the top, and poured in a rich cream sauce.

When the check was presented, the Maitre d' came over to wish us a happy anniversary once again, and to leave us with a chocolate bar in a black folder - a souvenir of our visit, and a long-stem red rose for me.

We went to retrieve our car, the valet was wonderful and wished us a good evening. We went back to our hotel stuffed and happy.

I think V&A is something that you must do at least once, if you are a foodie, but could get stale after a few visits. The food is certain to be amazing each time, but I wonder if the novelty of the same-named waiters, and the surprises of the coffee hooka would wear off after repeated trips. On our next trip, we are going to request the "Chef's Domain" - a table in the kitchen.

Side note: When we left the restaurant, we asked about the coffee pot. They are available for sale at the restaurant, for just over $300. I guess I'm glad I don't drink coffee after all.

 
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 2001
Reviewer: kennyhues Campbell, CA     August 16, 2002
If I could give it 6 planets, I would. I echo GusGlitz's sentiment that it's a bit of a pain to pack formal wear you're only going to wear once during your WDW vacation, but it's fun to get all dressed up with your sweetie and go out for a decidedly grownup activity in the midst of all the stuff inviting you to be a kid again. At V&A's, you get to revel in your adulthood. Not only are reservations required, but a credit card number as well to further underline the idea that this is not a casual drop-in thing. Because the dining room is so small, demand exceeds the supply of tables. If you flake, they'll charge you 50 bucks for the table you prevented someone else from occupying. We were running late due to the slight hassle of getting transpo from the Wilderness Lodge to the GF. We elected to take the boats, since it was near sundown and we liked being out on Bay Lake at sundown. We should have taken a cab. Anyway, a quick call by cellphone from the water (Wearing a suit in WDW, with the attention that gets you, and calling V&A via cell from a boat in the middle of Bay Lake is a surreal experience. You feel like a total bigshot) let the Maitre D' know we were on our way. We were greeted by name at the door, and shown to our table. Reason #2 to take a cab: After the boat ride and the rushed walk from the dock, I wanted to lose my jacket. V&A requests politely - but firmly - that your jacket remain on you.
Like GusGlitz's, our meal started with the single shrimp as well (an "Amuse Bouche" - "mouth amusement"). Our Albert explained that it was simply for our enjoyment while the first course was being prepared. A word about the menu: This is Prix-fixe dining, which means that for a fixed price, the whole meal from soup to nuts is largely pre-planned with just a couple options for you to choose. Trust the chef. Your menu will also be hand-lettered in gold with your name. Ours read, "Happy Anniversary" as well. We opted for the wine pairing, which added a further $60 or $80 to the bill, but it was well worth it. Victoria and Albert told us a bit about each wine as they poured it. Dessert came with a delicious tawny port - because of it, ports are now a bit of an interest for me. We were also served Millennium Fairytale Cuvee, a delightful champagne made in the Napa Valley only for V&A's.
Service is royal. The Victorias and Alberts stand sort of at attention at various points along the walls of the round dining room. They spring into service as if they're psychic. They are friendly but stringently professional and surprisingly well-spoken. They don't "uhh" and "um" their way through anything. These folks are clearly career waiters and waitresses, in their 30s and beyond. But they're not stuffy. Vic snapped our picture for us before we left - I expected her to politely decline, to avoid the flash bothering the other diners. At one point my wife excused herself, and I watched our Victoria come over to fold her napkin and then head straight for the kitchen - We had both ordered the sea bass, and rather than deliver it to the table while Megan was away, Vic apparently delayed the main course until Megan returned. Somehow when it arrived it was still piping hot and perfectly cooked despite the delay.
We discovered that V&A's is one of the only places to get proper brewed coffee in all of WDW. After dessert, Albert brought a beautiful glass sculpture to the table and lit a flame under it. We watched with amusement as it boiled the water up into the coffee grounds. Not only was it the best cup of coffee we had on the trip by far, it was one of the best cups of coffee we've -ever- had. Same goes for the meal and the service. At over 3 hundred bucks, it was the most expensive meal we've ever treated ourselves to, and one has a reasonable expectation of flawless food and service for that kind of money. Lemme tell you, we got it.
An excellent, tuxedoed harpist played a really eclectic mix of music, including to our great amusement a current rock/pop song by the group Cake in a tango-ish style. Somewhat surprisingly, there were no Disney selections in his repertiore the evening we were there.
This is the kind of thing most working people like us will do once in a lifetime - and it's worth every last nickel as a fun indulgence. If you can swing it, go for it. It will be a great memory. Unless you're very wealthy and dining like this is commonplace for you, it will not fail to impress and delight you. And no, I don't work for the Walt Disney Company! lol!
 
13 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/30/02
Reviewer: GusGlitz Anaheim, CA     July 10, 2002
I can't recommend this restaurant enough. While it may be a little bit of a pain to pack a suit or evening gown, it is well worth it for this very special treat. The restaurant is relatively small and reservations are required. A harpist adds to the atmosphere and the entire dining experience took us just over 3 hours. It's a seven course meal, served with 4 glasses of wine, so hopfully you're not driving home. The menu changes every day but both times I've dined there, the food has been incredible. Seven courses sounds like a lot, but being very gourmet, they're quite small. The first course on this visit, for example, was a singular shrimp. It was by far the best shrimp I've ever had, so if you're only going to have one, this is the one to have! On a previous visit I had ordered the chocolate soufle for dessert which takes about 45 minutes to make. When it was done I had not yet finished the previous course, three slices of cheese, so the server (which are all named Victoria and Albert) offered to throw the soufle away and "fire up another one"- incredible service. The dinner is certainly expensive, but I believe the experience meets the highest expectations. I highly recommend choosing the wine pairing, where they select wines perfect for each course, it adds an element to the dinner. I hold my two visits to this restaurant among my best WDW memories.
 
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page