Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1960 N Magnolia Way, Lake Buena Vista
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 8 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 8 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 5, 2010 through April 8, 2010
Reviewer: BrandonHRich (brandonhrich@gmail.com) Nashville, TN     October 02, 2010
I am a DVC member and Saratoga Springs is one of my two home resorts and I have stayed here several times. This particular trip I was in a stuido on the top floor in The Grandstands section. This room had a fabulous view of the main Saratoga check-in building, the preview center and behind that, Downtown Disney. Also, the room had a view of the golf course. Saratoga Springs, like other free-standing DVC resorts, is not a hotel. It is more like a condo-style resort. The DVC marketing is quite clear that studio accomodations, such as mine on this trip, have a kitchenette, which consists of a mini-fridge, sink, microwave and a few disposable plates, forks, etc. Only 1 bedroom or larger accomodations have full kitchens. I love the aquestrian, Saratoga Springs, New York-inspired theme. The buildings are beautiful as are the grounds and surrounding LBV golf course. If you are planning a stay at Walt Disney World and you want a beautiful setting with the privacy and convenience of a condo-style resort with close parking, kitchen or kitchenette and a large resort grounds to explore, then this is the place for you. If, on the other hand, you prefer a hotel-style stay but want to stay in a DVC resort, I would suggest Animal Kingdom Lodge-Jambo House, Bay Lake Tower or perhaps the Villas at Wilderness Lodge. As for pools, Disney caters to families with children. Shallow pools discourage rowdy behavior and may prevent danger to little ones. Most guests can appreciate this Disney touch. Disney does a great job in their resorts and I would encourage guests to research their prospective resort to know what it is before you stay there. Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa is a great place!
 
14 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   April 23-30, 2008
Reviewer: OneForTheTeam Boston, Massachusetts     May 09, 2008
My wife and I recently took advantage of a passholder discount on a studio at Saratoga Springs. We usually stay at deluxe resorts on property, so we figured that staying in a Deluxe Villa could only be an improvement. We were wrong. Here is our list of complaints:

1. Disney's web site suggests that there would be a full kitchen. There is no stove and only a mini fridge in the studios.

2. The studio is equivalent in size to any other hotel room on property. What makes this a studio? The microwave?

3. The pools are only 3 ft. deep. Can't there be one pool for adults?

4. The complex is massive. It's a hike to get anywhere. Yes, there are busses, but we spent enough time on the bus going to the parks. And waiting for the bus...

5. The bus service is erratic. With all on Disney's automation and technology, they still have done nothing to make the busses arrive on a regular interval. The wait could exceed 40 minutes.

6. There is really no theming here. Disney suggests that there is Victorian architecture (it isn't) and breathtaking views of the night sky (there is, but they can't take credit for that). A bronze horse is the only artifact unique to this resort.

7. Bell services are inadequate. Upon arriving (with no bags), we were told to wait 30 minutes for a ride to our room. I asked if we could walk, but were asked to wait. I still don't know why. We were not even shown to our room.

8. Overall, the term "Deluxe" is misleading. In a comparison to all other Disney resorts, Saratoga better compares to a "Moderate" resort. There is nothing deluxe about it. The pools are not elaborately themed. There is no room service other than pizza delivery. The grounds are unmemorable.

Our recommendation is not to stay at a DVC resort unless you are splurging on a 1 or 2 bedroom. Or stay at Port Orleans. You will have a better experience for less money. Otherwise, stay at a true Deluxe resort.
 
26 out of 82 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 16th-22nd 2006
Reviewer: dwelty     February 02, 2007
We Stayed at Saratoga Springs December 16th thru 22nd 2006. The party consisted of myself, wife, 3 kids (16,3, and 5 months) and my parents. We found our 2 bedroom villa to be luxurious an roomy. My wife would have liked a little more closet space to store the suitcases. Beds were very comfortable and the grounds were beautiful. We ate at Artists Palette and found the food to be very good, with a nice selection of items. The pool area was well theamed with a large water slide. My 2 oldest kids enjoyed this resort so much, that they asked to spend 2 days out of the parks to enjoy it. The resort is within walking distance to Downtown Disney. The staff was professional and helpful. We had no problem with the bus system, and the busses ran in a timely manner. I would recommend this resort to anyone!
 
66 out of 67 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   First week of December, 2005
Reviewer: KathyRN137 Livingston, New Jersey     April 04, 2006
This was our family's first DVC vacation; we chose Saratoga Springs Resort because it is our home resort. We have stayed at WDW resorts before, (Caribbean Beach, '03; Port Orleans French Quarter, '04) and love staying on site. Our family consists of my husband and me, both in our early 40's, our daughter, age 9, and our son, age 7. Our son is autistic. We stayed in a one BR in the Congress Park section. I had requested a room in The Springs section in order to be close to the theme pool and the Carriage House. This did mean a longer walk to to these, however, we did have a spectacular view of Downtown Disney and a very short walk to the same. The spacious 1BR was perfect...seperate sleeping area for the kids let us stay up later to talk, watch TV, "etc." after they went to sleep (difficult if not impossible in a double room), and I LOVED having a washer/dryer in the room--we only had to pack half of the clothes we normally would bring for a week and no trudging back and forth to the laundry room to put yet more (!) quarters in those dryers to get clothes completely dry. A full kitchen allowed us to eat a quick breakfast in the room each a.m. and not waste valuable early a.m. touring time in a crowded food court or expensive theme park restaurant. Like many autistic children, our son has very rigid food preferences and is on a special diet; the kitchen was very helpful. We like to go to one park in the a.m., come "home" for a nap/rest after lunch, and then go to a different park in the p.m. (usually to take advantage of EMHs). This year, my daughter found it easy to nap but my son just couldn't fall asleep,despite the quiet environment. I found the whirlpool tub to be a blessing...he could "decompress" by soaking in the tub just as well as a nap and thus avoided meltdowns in the evenings. Having extolled the many virtues of the 1BR vacation home, let me now talk a little about the rest of the resort. Although beautiful, I thought this resort lacked the whimsical theme/ ambiance of both the CBR and the POFQ. The tranquil, restful "spa" feeling would be better appreciated by adults vacationing without kids. "This place is boooring!"...9 yr. old dgt. We did not try the spa facilities (sigh!), so I cannot give a review. We also did not get to use the High Rock Spring theme pool because it was cool and often rainy during our stay, although others were enjoying it despite the weather! It certainly looked fun. My only real disappointment was the transportation service...definitely sub-par;worse than the 2 moderate resorts (all 3 vacations during value seasons). We had excellent bus service at CBR and POFQ, yet on this trip we had very long waits for buses, at the resort stop and at the theme parks, esp. at park closing. Every a.m and eve. the buses were jammed; lots of people standing and everyone having their kids sit on their laps...not so bad when they're toddlers but murder when they weigh 70 or 80 lbs.! We ate at The Artists' Palette once or twice; the food was tasty but there was not much selection. The lack of dining facilities is probably because of the many options available just a short walk/boat ride away in DTD. We made a stop at a local food mart on our way in from the airport to stock our kitchen with lots of snacks so I did not find the limited dining options to be a problem. As far as service is concerned, I found all resort CMs to be of typical Disney caliber; friendly and helpful. Check-in was exceptionally slow, however, despite a relatively late check-in time of 9p.m. there was only one CM behind the desk at the time and he was training a new CM. The room and the common areas were clean and well maintained, and the resort was beautifully decorated for the Christmas season in a Victorian/equestrian theme.
 
54 out of 54 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 14-19, 2005
Reviewer: vbarbieri Philadelphia, PA     January 02, 2006
We are DVC Members and this is our 3rd time at Saratoga Springs. This stay was just ok. Like OKW it is very spread out and requires a car or the willingness to wait for a bus or walk a good distance to most areas. We have points at 2 other DVC resorts and this is my least favorite of the 5 on property DVC resorts. Not great for families with small children. Still a good quality product and deserving of 4 planets
 
12 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/23/05
Reviewer: Sweetsys (sweetsys@carolina.rr.com) Matthews, NC     December 26, 2005
We are members of DVC and just returned. Our room was a 2 bedroom at The Springs, close to the bus stop, pool and restraurant. The staff was great and service wonderful. Buses arrived quickly and we even went to Downtown Disney by boat one night. We had 6 in our 2 bedroom unit plus a baby. I love the way the bathrooms are situated. Three people can take baths/showers at the same time because the master bathroom has a door between the tub/sink area and the shower/sink area. Beds are very comfortable. There was a huge patio that overlooked the lake and fountain. It was very quiet, not a lot of people staying in The Springs. We made a couple of extra requests, like a high chair and it was delivered immediately.

I also ordered groceries (a little pricey, but worth it) before we left home and they had them in the room before we returned from the park that day at 6pm with a note making sure everything was included and a number to call if we were missing anything.

I highly recommend Saratoga Springs. The other thing we found out while there is even though the life guards go off duty at 8 pm the pool/hot tub are available all night which was great for tired parents with tired feet.

We also attended the DVC Christmas Party. If you are a DVC member don't miss it. My grandson had a ball. He danced with the characters. They had reindeer, elves, the characters, games for the kids, cookies, punch and entertainment. It was great. They had drawings for give aways and gave each family a pewter ornament. This party is held each Thursday in December from 3-5. It was so much fun.
 
27 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   June 30-July5,2005
Reviewer: purdue77 New York, New York     October 10, 2005
My family and I (wife and two teen-age daughters) are DVC members and chose the Saratoga Springs to stay at. We have visited DW 4 times before and had a better stay at the moderate hotels (Carribean and French Quarters). The rooms were nice we had a one bedroom suite but the service was not Disney like. I believe they opened this resort too early and it showed in the front office and at their restuarant. One big negative is the restuarant is too limited with food selection. There is no full service restuarant although that will change in the future. Also the resort is very spacious and depending where you stay it can be a long walk to the main area (restuarant, pool and check-in). The bus service was not as good as when we stayed at other resorts and the walk to DD is not as short as they want you to believe. We love Disney and plan to go back but Saratoga Springs will not be a choice both the Boardwalk and Old Key West where we have also stayed are way better options. I hope this review is helpful to any one who is going with kids that are teenagers like ours you just do not feel the Disney spirit and magic as you do at the other resorts that I have mentioned in this review. My whole family feels the same. Go and have fun but stay at one of the other resorts.
 
15 out of 27 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept 20-23, 2004
Reviewer: bouncingstripes South Carolina     May 22, 2005
This was my first trip to WDW after becoming a Vacation Club member. Saratoga Springs is my home resort. When I pulled up to the security station, he gave me my pass and said the famous motto of the DVC "Welcome Home." I started swelling up with pride. I went to go check in. There is an amazingly relaxed atmosphere about the place, which I was told was their goal. The lobby is very spacious with wonderful vaulted ceilings. Check-in was quick and the cast members answered all of my questions, which were many. I had a one-bedroom vacation home reserved. I used my vacation club points for the stay (20 per night). My home was on the second floor and had a great view of Downtown Disney. The rooms were all quite spacious with very well-chosen decor using the Saratoga Springs theme. And the jacuzzi worked great. That night, I headed over to DD on the boat. The ride was smooth and quick. The next two days I hit the parks. The bus stop was just a minute walk from my building, and I never had to wait more than a few minutes for a bus. One time, I was waiting at a park for a bus when a light rain started. A bus driver on the Old Key West route offered to take me on to Saratoga Springs so I wouldn't have to wait in the rain! The only bad part of the entire trip was that I had to leave at the end.
 
59 out of 61 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page