Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Shades of Green
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
On-property resort reserved for members of the military and their families.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 12 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 12 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   3/1/04 - 3/11/04
Reviewer: Hillbilly Middletown, PA     March 17, 2004
Shades of Green was under construction when we were there. The resort is for active and retired military and federal government employees. My father is a retired US Marine and was our sponsor during this visit. If you have family thats qualifies for this benifit, try to take advantage of this. The rooms were fairly large, bigger than most of the disney property resort rooms and much cheaper. They charge by the rank of the sponsor. The higher the rank the more you pay. This ended up for us about 200 cheaper per night than the cheapest room at the polynesian resort. Rooms are bigger than the ones at the polynesian. I would probably rate this a 5 if it wasn't for the construction. This is going to be fantastic when it's all completed.

Outside our 1st floor patio was a complete view of the Magnolia PGA championship Golf Course. I am an avid golfer and I made sure I played both the Palm and Magnolia courses before I left. For the price, you won't find a better place. There were two pools and a hot tub to enjoy. Also a playground for the kids. The restraunt just opened and was decent. Don't get the Pizza though. We had problems with the bus service. They recently contracted their own bus service apart for Disney and it wasn't very reliable. We were stranded at Blizzard Beach for all but two hours before we decided to take another resort bus back and then a cab from there. The managment compensated us to rectify this by giving us a nights stay off plus what we spent on the Cab. Very resonable.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we are considering buying into the DVC. I'm not military and we can't count on this luxury forever. For those who can, I would say this is the way to go. People were so friendly and the daily maid service was excellent. Discounts were available for park hopper tickets. Also, complimentary coffee, lemonade, cookies and a USA today paper were at the front desk. They have a mini PX that you can't beat the prices for things.

One last thing, I can't tell you how much I appriciate the folks like my dad that serve or served our country. This is just one nice thing that the government did to say thank you. So let me do the same. Thanks.
 
34 out of 34 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7-12 August 2001
Reviewer: shevys Tucson     July 20, 2002
This hotel is exclusively for the use of Active Duty military, retirees, and Department of Defense employees. The Shades of Green occupies what used to be the Disney Inn/Golf Resort (two different names at two different times). The resort itself is very well-maintained and is in excellent shape. Since it's one of the older resorts on property, the rooms are much larger than the rooms at some of the newer resorts. Our standard room had a spacious bathroom, a very large sleeping area, and a smaller area that had a table and an easy chair (that folds out to a single bed). The room also had a balcony with a beautiful view of the golf course. My kids loved swimming in the Mickey Mouse swimming pool and walking the grounds. There is also a quiet pool and a Jacuzzi for use, along with a playground and game room.

Transportation to and from the resort was very good and very consistent. There is a bus that leaves every twenty minutes from the hotel that takes you to the TTC, and also leaves every twenty minutes to SoG from the TTC. All in all it was very reliable. The rare occasions that we missed the bus was not a problem, as we took a very leisurely walk to the Polynesian (5-10 minutes away by foot) and hopped on the monorail from there. The walk from the SoG to the Poly is very relaxing and picturesque.

Dining at the SoG is limited to a restaurant that serves menu and buffet items and a bar/grill. The food quality at the restaurant was good, but certainly not great. However, for the money, it was exceptional. The bar/grill at the back of the resort serves dinner items and snacks, and the food there was excellent, and again, inexpensive.

The resort also has a small base exchange, where you can buy plenty of souvenirs and essentials tax-free and much cheaper than you would find at other resorts. The ticket office sells discounted tickets and was very helpful. We purchased length-of-stay Stars and Stripes passes (basically the Ultimate Hopper) for a bit less than the cost of the UH.

All in all, I highly recommend SoG if you can stay there. The prices for the rooms alone are well worth it, and you can't beat the location.
 
63 out of 64 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page