Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Shades of Green
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
On-property resort reserved for members of the military and their families.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 12 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 17 - 24, 2008
Reviewer: Mouse Fan Grand Forks, ND     September 04, 2009
I gotta tell you I have to disagree with negative comments on the transportation system. If you ask me we have it better than other on-site properties. We have a private dedicated bus system and at our disposal for use AND all of the transportation Disney operates. It has frustrated me when staying as SOG that people complain about waiting for a bus. Goodness, hop on any bus going to a monorail resort or the TTC to get to SOG or walk to the Poly and use the buses there or the monorail to get to the parks or DTD. It is really nice to have a bus that only caters to SOG guests. We don't have to stop at other resorts before arriving at our destination.
We were unable to secure rooms at SOG for our November trip and will be staying at Port Orleans. We know that we will be wishing we had more transportation options. Maybe we can figure something out!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 21-26
Reviewer: funmama North Carolina     March 29, 2008
We recently went to Disney World and stayed one night in an all stars resort which is one of the chepast disney hotels. We spent the rest of our vacation at SOG. We paid about $40 more a night to stay at the All star resort than at SOG.
We had 2 rooms poolside on bottom floor. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We had a patio outside our room and it seemed everyday we had had a visit from the wildlife. One day was a duck and her babies. another was a possum. another was wild turkeys.
I was originally nervous about staying at SOG because I didnt want to stay at a "military resort" but it didnt have a military feel at all. It felt like a high class resort.
The only complaint I had about the resort was the transportation. Since SOG is not a "disney resort" it does not run on the Disney tranportation system as the other resorts do. Instead you have to get ont he SOG bus system which is much slower. For most parks you have to wait for a bus to take you to Disneys transportation center which isnt very far away but. once you get there you find your monorail bus or ferry to where you want to go. Often once you get there you have to monorail somewhere to catch a bus to somewhere else..It can be a real pain.
Even with the poor transportaion system I would stay at SOG again.. It was a very nice hotel and well worth it. Of course it doesnt hurt that its very economical as well.
 
15 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 2006
Reviewer: cat323 Buffalo, NY     March 16, 2008
We first stated staying at SOG when it first opened back in 1994, we have been back everyother yr since, we absolutely LOVE it there. The first time back was right after they reopened and it was a little confusing at first trying to find where everything was and how to get to it, but after the first couple days we were fine. The rooms are so big and now that our kids are a lot older we always ask for view of the golf courses, with a balcony, we had a ground floor once and we had a "visitor" the pool views seem to be a little noisy for us now also. We really enjoy the restaurants, esp. the express cafe, so nice to be able to grab something quick before hopping on one of the buses. Transportation is always right on time and the staff is so very friendly. The pool areas are very clean and the water always the perfect temp and the jacuzzi was always available. We pay the E-7 rank and to me it is soooo worth it. Love being able to walk to the Polynesian and hop on the monorail if we want to or go rent one of the mouse boats and cruise around the lagoon and see some wild life as we walk over! I just wish it could have more of a Disney atmosphere, they do have a very large Mickey in the foyer which comes in handy for pictures, but I do understand they really cant bring too much Disney inside since it isnt owned by WDW. I am thrilled there is such a great resort for our military men/women/families..........keep up the great job!!!Our last stay was Dec 06 and it was beautifully decorated, hated to leave! We are coming back in a few weeks, May of 08, just hubby and I for our 22nd wedding anniversary!!
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 24-27,2007
Reviewer: Nala27 New Jersey     March 28, 2007
I haven't been to the SOG since their remodel and all I can say is WOW! The hotel is beautiful! Our group included 4 adults and 2 children under 3. We had connecting standard rooms with a view of the 18th hole. The rooms are so large - glad to see that they didn't downscale anything since the remodel. Each had 2 double beds and a couch that pulled out along with a small refridgerator and a table and 2 chairs. This room also had a balcony - and I believe all rooms have either a balcony or ground floor patio. The bathroom was large and included double sinks. There was also a shower with tub and a toilet that you could close off from the sink area. Shampoo and Shower Gel is provided in dispensers on the shower wall.

I would have to say the shower was the only small negative about the room. Water pressure was horrible and the faucet was backwards (hot for cold and vice versa) but these were all minor issues.

We parked our car for $5 a day and as a special note...make sure you go to the top level of the parking garage at 9pm to see the fireworks from Magic Kingdom!

We purchased our park tickets on site and always used the bus transportation from SOG. It was great and on time. As you make your way to the bus there is an Express Cafe to pick up coffee, drinks and snacks. At the transportation center SOG has one of the first spots for drop off/pickup which is a great bonus! No extra walking from the parking lot.

As for restaurants on site...we ate at the Italian place our first night and enjoyed it. Good size portions, delicious food and friendly waitstaff.

We ate at the Garden Gallery buffet the second night and enjoyed their "Beefeaters" theme. The prime rib was very good and there were several other options for non-beef eaters like pasta and chicken. There was also a small children's selection that included pasta, mac 'n cheese and popcorn chicken. I believe it was $16 for adults and children under 4 were free. They rotate the buffet selection each night and it varies from $16-$19.

Our last night we ate at the bar restaurant Evergreens. Decent pub fare with burgers, pizza, sandwiches, wings, and fries. If you like onion rings - make sure to get those! They are delicious and include 3 dipping sauces. We took the kids to the America ice cream parlor that night. Good ice cream.

We used the Mickey shaped pool (outside of Evergreens)2 of the 3 days we were there. It was very warm and the kids loved it. They have complimentary towels too poolside.

We also visited the AAFES store a few times. Prices on WDW trinkets were a little less than park prices but the selection is far less. They did have a wide variety of food, beverage and drugstore items too.

At the Guest Relations desk they were able to print out our e-ticket boarding passes for $1 each the morning we left.

Overall, Shades of Green offers an exceptional value for the level of servce and the convenient location in the park. We will continue to stay at this hotel on future trips to Walt Disney World!!!!
 
63 out of 63 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 15 - 19, 2006
Reviewer: wesp Maryland     March 20, 2006
Shades of Green is conveniently located near Magic Kingdom in Walt Disney World. Our extended family stayed in three standard rooms. We had two connecting rooms and a single room, all on the fifth floor. The connecting rooms had a view of the golf course, and the other room looked out on the courtyard. The rooms are large, with two queen size beds, and a sleep sofa for one. We added a crib in one room and still had plenty of room for suitcases and coolers, etc. The room also included a small refrigerator. The bathroom had a double sink, with the toilet and full size tub in a separate inner room for privacy and convenience. The hotel uses liquid soaps and shampoos from dispensers. There are no individual items provided.

Transportation was provided with shuttle buses to the Magic Kingdom via the Transportation Center every fifteen minutes, and direct service to the other parks on a less frequent basis. If you miss a direct bus, it is possible to catch a bus to the Transportation Center and take one of the Disney buses to the other parks. We spent most of our time at Magic Kingdom, so we usually walked over to the Polynesian Resort and used the monorail. As others have mentioned, you can also use the Shady Shuttle from the lobby to the end of the drive and walk a short distance to the monorail.

We only ate three meals in the hotel. One was at the Italian restaurant, one was pizza from the poolside lounge, and the other was take-out from the little lobby shop in the bus waiting area. The food was good, but nothing special.

The staff was very helpful. You can buy your park tickets tax free and this saves money. Guest relations also assisted with printing my e-ticket boarding passes for fifty cents per page. We shopped at the AAFES store for some personal items.

Overall, Shades of Green offers exceptional value for the level of servce and the convenient location in the park
 
51 out of 51 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   31July2005 & 05August2005
Reviewer: lrmcneely (raymcneely@bellsouth.net) North Augusta, SC     October 05, 2005
Hi - my family of 3 had not been to WDW ever, this was our first trip! - and the plans were to stay off-site the first and sixth nights and spend the 4 middle-nights (had reservations) at POP Century...but as we were 3 hours out from driving into Orlando, it crossed our minds to call SOG and see if we could get a room for one night (Sunday the 31st). We had been told that reservations had to be made months in advance - well not in our experience...we called and we had a room waiting! We arrived at the gate, the guard did not have our name (no problem though), we passed and rolled up to the entrance. We were the third vehicle from the entrance and as I exited the car - one of three valets yelled over for me to leave the keys in the car...? I wasn't sure, so I asked - he explained that if they needed to move the car, they would do it...I agreed of course...as we entered the doors there was a pugent smell from the flow of water over the rocks at the entrance...as we entered, children were running through the main lobby...we found the check-in line and spent a longer than usual time in line - which gave my wife and I the time to split searching the first floor with our daughter - the AAFES store was great. We made it to the counter and the help was outstanding. They answered our questions. We didn't get a parking tag (learned that we should have had one when we came back 5 nights later). Our room was located just around the corner of the parking deck - ask for that! Very convenient as our second night, later that week, our room was down 3 very long halls. The rooms were large and for an E-5 rate, VERY GREAT. Fridge, large 2-vanity bath with dispensers. We had room service the first night (Sunday) and it took For Ever! No kidding. Nearly an hour! We almost canceled but it showed up and cold. We didn't complain, we were hungry. The next morning we were awakened by the maid, even with the DNDisturb on. (We weren't sure about that, I think she wanted to clean the room at 0800?) She didn't apologized, just walked away when I answered. But the room was large, clean, and the convenience SOG provides outweighs the minor problems we had...oh, just after we parked the car in the deck the first night - we unloaded, went to the room and then made it to the Eagles Bar - the bartender accomodated our request for frozen Baileys and Bananna Rum - he had not heard of that drink, but was happy to make it. We sat with the pool in view that night, grand, as we were the only ones in the lounge. The bartender came out to us and said that it was last call and he made us another round. We enjoyed it. On our way out on Monday morning, we slipped by the check-in counter and reserved a room for five nights later...The second stay was uneventful (they were ready for us at the guard shack) and we had a view of the golf course...we didn't eat in any of the restaraunts in the hotel - just had the room service that first night, which was not worth it...at least with our experience. But since we've been home, I have been promoted to E-6, so SOG will not be on our list unless we just have to do it...we are going back December12-16, 2005 because we loved WDW that much! And since we love the outdoors, we are camping at Disney's Wilderness (made the reservations tonight!) SOG will only be used as a ticket counter agency for us...nothing more, hopes this helps..
 
9 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7/26/05-8/1/05
Reviewer: Tracylyn66 (malibu6000@aol.com) Southampton, Penna.     August 12, 2005
Wow! What a great place to stay if you are military or DOD. We absolutely loved this place and plan to return next year. My husband and I stayed here with our 3 children ages 11, 3 and 1. There are 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. They will also provide a full size crib if needed. There are fridges in all rooms free of charge.
The room itself is huge. I have stayed at the Contemporary and the Polynesian and the rooms at Shades are bigger. With 5 of us in the room, we weren't even close to tripping over each other. The bathroom is also large. Instead of leaving the complimentary shampoos and soaps, they have dispensers in the shower.
We also had a beautiful view of the golf coarse. Even the balcony is large!
The setup of the hotel is a little confusing. It took us a couple of days to figure out how to get back and forth to the lobby.

I would also recommend the Garden Gallery buffet within the hotel. What a great deal. They have breakfast and dinner. We ate here most days for both meals. The food is very good and the prices are great. Breakfast was under 10.00 per adult and dinner varied with the most expensive night being 19.99 per adult and that was for all you could eat seafood night. (King crab legs, shrimp, clams, etc.) American night was 11.99 per adult.
Children 3 and under are free. 4-12 are childrens price.
Drinks are included with the exception of alcohol. They also have a seperate small buffet with all kinds of kid friendly stuff. Even an ice cream bar!

You can also purchase your Disney, Seaworld and universal tickets here at a discounted rate with no tax.

Shades of Green is across the street from the Polynesian. We walked over to the Polynesian and picked up the monorail. You can also ask for their shuttle(a glorified large golf cart) and it will take you to the end of the propery. This reduces your walk time. Probably about a 5 minute walk from there. The total walk is probably 20 if you don't use the shuttle. They do have buses but we didn't use them.
If you drive in, they do charge $3.00 per day to park.
We were there during our sons first birthday and I heard a lot of the on property hotels do something special for kids when its their birthday. We asked at the desk, but they don't participate in that. That was the only dissappointment of the stay. Minor.
Our stay was great and I highly recommend Shades of Green.
 
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct 16-24, 2004
Reviewer: derobimom (derobimom54@yahoo.com) Peru, Indiana     May 20, 2005
This visit (our third to SoG and too many to count to WDW) included the wedding of my younger sister and her fiance. We were party of six, three couples, so we reserved three standard rooms at $97 each. As on previous visits, the SoG did not disappoint.

We were assigned rooms in the old section but ran into friends that were staying in the new section so got to compare the old and new. There's really not much difference except the table and chairs in the new section only has two chairs as far as I could see. The old section has four chairs and a half wall between the beds and the pull-out couch/table and chair area. The addition of a small refrigerator in all the rooms at no charge is a great thing. All the rooms are large and are very comfortable. The lobby is large and comfortable with lots of seating and the grounds and pools were beautifully maintained.

The SoG personnel are very helpful and can provide dining and golf reservations pretty much like the Disney Resorts. The week we were there the Funai Classic was being held and staying at the SoG allowed us free access to the gallery so the men in our group (we women too, but we chose not to go as often) got to go on the course and follow some of the pros. It was the first time my husband or I had seen PGA golf in person and was a bit of unexpected "magic".

The SoG has a beautiful gazebo that you can rent if you need to; we had such a small party and it was not rented for the time we needed it so we just went out there to conduct the wedding ceremony. It was very nice and Linda, in Shades of Green Marketing, was extremely helpful - she kept us informed about the availability of the gazebo and actually came out and took some pictures with our cameras so we had some with all of us in them.

We ate at the Evergreens on Oct 16 for lunch upon arrival and then again on Oct 23 for pizza at dinner time and both times the price was reasonable and the food was very good. We also ate at Garden Gallery for the breakfast buffet on two mornings and found that to be worth the cost both in quality and quantity of food. We did not try room service on this trip.

Transportation from SoG was frequent and smooth. The only complaint here is that the bus stop for SoG at Animal Kingdom was hard to find and was actually out in the parking lot, uncovered. Hopefully they have moved it to the covered waiting areas with the rest of the Disney buses but we were told it was because it's considered a contract not Disney owned so I doubt they'll change it. The Shades of Green is in easy walking distance to the Poly and we walked there to catch the monorail without trouble. The SoG had a large golf cart called the Shady Shuttle that took us out to the end of the SoG drive a few times and that saved some steps but I couldn't find a schedule for it and thought maybe it was only running during the Funai.

The SoG had just implemented a program that you can check your bags at Baggage Services (by the Registration Desk) and for $10 per person, they will take the bags to the airport for you and check them in with your airline. This service was only available for some airlines and when my brother-in-law tried to use it, they had trouble with the computer and computer access so he ended up not using it after all. That experience was frustrating and disappointing but we hope it was due to the newness of the program and hopefully they have worked it out with time.

 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   1st week June 2004
Reviewer: shooter Birmingham, AL     August 16, 2004
We made reservations for and received confirmation
(ADA with roll-in shower) for a handicapped room (we have a 6 yr old daughter with cerebral palsy). On arriving, we found our room at the top (5th) floor at the far end of the new building (3 LONG corridors). A long walk for a child in a walker, but since she wasn't walking (foot blister), Daddy gets to be OK with it.
Entering our room, we found that not only was the
bathroom NOT a roll-in shower, it wasn't even handicapped accessible (no grab bars around tub or toilet). My wife couldn't get the A/C to go as low as she wanted (65, best we got was 72ish). Night maintenance told us (1) if the hallway or balcony doors were opened or no movement in room for 10 minutes, A/C would shut off (huh?) and (2) day maintenance would put a "magic box" on the A/C to get it down to 65. 2 days later, day maintenance still hadn't showed up. Note to self: being on 5th floor, twin daughter does NOT go unsupervised on balcony for any reason!!! After 2 days, wife goes and gets us another room, in the original building. This room at least has grab bars and the A/C works, yea us.
The restaurant was nice with good food. However, in
keeping with its government roots, there are NO bathrooms at the restaurant. You have to go upstairs (what's up wit dat?). The pool snack bar food was quite good. There were supposed to be 2-3 other snack areas open (they weren't), but I guess the 4 month delay in opening wasn't enough time to get them ready.
The main pool was large and very nice. The kids loved it
(our CP daughter loves swimming and it's good exercise for her). We didn't try the others.
The bus schedule was convenient (15 min. runs). and
the pick-up/drop-off point was well thought out. I do wish that someone had thought to put fans to move air around, but maybe someday.
The capper came when I (Daddy) did the check out.
Front Desk said that we were checking out one day early and would be getting an early check penalty of one day's rate. I signed agreeing to that not knowing what the wife had arranged. Wife, on hearing this, went into ATTACK mode. She told the front desk (1) we were not leaving one day early, she had the confirmation notice with her, (2) we had stayed one day later than the original reservation, for which she had contacted reservations to make the change, (3) we were NOT paying ANY penalty, and (4) if anything, we should be getting a generous discount for putting up with the crap that had gone on that week. After several minutes of the desk clerk going to check with her manager (I'm sure), she informed my wife that her manager had approved what my wife wanted. Nice try, guys.
It was the first bad Disney trip we have had, but I chalk
it up to being their shakedown cruise. We will be going back to SoG the 1st week of September, so we will see if this trend continues. Tune in again for the next thrilling episode of The Adventures of SoGman. Same SoG time, same SoG channel.

 
6 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   04/29/04 - 05/03/04
Reviewer: a-mad (amadsen@novell.com) Cedar Hills, Utah     May 17, 2004
We recently returned from a trip to WDW, and our 1st time at Shades of Green. We were fortunate to get rooms in the newly constructed building, and they were accomodating enough to get all four of our groups' rooms in an adjoining area.
This is a wonderful facility. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. We got maximum usage out of our mini-fridge (which wasn't cluttered and full of mini-bar crap.) The service was friendly and attentive.
I personally did not eat any meals there, but others in our group tried the sports bar and said the food was decent.
Transportation-wise, it looks like they've improved from their early growing pains. Basically there are 2 bus routes: A and B. "A" goes to the TTC every 15 minutes (very convenient), and "B" goes to AK, BB, and Studios every 30 minutes on the half hour. Just be aware that if you're headed to the studios in the morning.... it is the last stop on the route, so it takes about 35 - 40 minutes to get there.
The pool area was big, uncrowded and comfortable. You don't get the themeing of a Disney resort, but it is fine, nonetheless.
The walk to the Polynesian was so short, we opted to walk to and from there a couple of times, to hop on the monorail, instead of being bussed to the TTC... we didn't see any alligators in the famous pond... but at night we could definitely hear the "clicking sound"
The only negative? The fire alarm went off one night at close to midnight... we had to haul all of our kids out on the fire escape, only to learn it was a false alarm..... apparently it had happened a couple other times the week prior to our arrival. Obviously its a new system, and they were trying to get the kinks out.
All-in-all, I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here. It is certainly affordable - an incredible deal considering its proximity, and the amenities afforded.
 
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page