Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Wilderness Lodge Wilderness Lodge
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 7-14, 2013
Reviewer: Mike Cloud Houston, TX     November 09, 2013
This will be my third visit staying at the Wilderness Lodge. I'm returning because service and the room are first rate. And the hotel decor is my favorite of all hotels in Disney World. The lobby's stone fireplace is made of rocks representing the geology of the Grand Canyon. A geyser behind the pool erupts every hour on the hour. The rocks that make them up are beautiful at night with colored lights. This would make a great hotel even without the parks.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   06/17/12 to 06/23/12
Reviewer: rcb31768 Lexington, SC     August 03, 2012
Whole family love Wilderness. We had a standard view and we actually had a partial lake view. Room was beautiful and clean. Can not say enough about housekeeping. Our little boy got sick the last night, and housekeeping bought up new linens in about 5 minutes. GREAT!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 4th thru 13th, 2010
Reviewer: thedarceys28 Myrtle Beach, SC     June 14, 2010

Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Steve, Christina and Phoebe Rae Darcey
Wilderness Lodge
Review of our trip
June 4 thru June13, 2010

Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Let me first start this off by saying anyone who ever states this lodge has problems with the rooms, service, amenities or the cast at the Wilderness lodge needs to take a long hard look at themselves. We spent from June 4 thru June 13, 2010 in this wonderful resort. In this review one will easily see the reasons this is now our favorite resort and we will be staying there many more times over our life.
When you first walk in you are overwhelmed with the beauty of the lodge. The place is amazing not just in a Disney Magic kind of way just in its own beauty. The main lodge area seems to go up and up forever with a beauty unmatched. We have stayed on many properties and while everyone has his or her own opinion, we have yet to see a resort of this initial beauty.
As for parking, I would and did self-park and the walk was never a long one to the resort. There is plenty of parking and if you have ever stayed on any other property, the parking lot is a lot closer. The resort will park your car for you yet 12.00 dollars a day was a little much for me. However after one particularly long day I spent the 12.00 dollars, it was worth it.
The check-in service was easy and the cast member Mark was a joy to interact with as he seemed as if we were old friends coming home for our vacation. We checked in and were assigned a room. When we went to the room we realized the room was right across the hall from the ice machine (4104), so we went back down stairs, bell hop in tow and asked to be moved because the thought of hearing the ice machine for 9 days was not a pleasant one for us. Mark without hesitation moved us to room 5143, which I highly recommend. Great view of the pool, lake and fireworks from Disney every night, room 6143 may have been a little better as you could only see the top of the fireworks from the park from out room yet still a great room and Mark was awesome.
I read many reviews saying the rooms were dark. Well they are if you do not turn on the lights on the bed posts. The light switches are hidden in the post and I could easily see how some people could have missed these. When we turned them on and the hall light, the room had plenty of light, besides in most rooms you have a 12 foot sliding glass door which can let in all the light you need.
Food wise, I highly recommend the Whispering Canyon, the food was great and the show the servers put on as the wait on you is a blast. Couple tricks Ask for ketchup and a large drink and then sit back and watch. We loved this part of the trip. As for the counter service restaurant, it was more than sufficient to our quick food needs. It gets crowded at normal dinner times yet what do you expect?
As for the pool, well it was awesome. The slide was a favorite of ours and my 6 year old could not get enough of the slide. There are ducks which swim in the pool and are around the pool yet over 9 days I never saw anything that made me be concerned about this aspect. The area is clean and there is very little hint of ducks being there other than the fact they swim sometimes with you and your kids. There are two great hot tubs and a kids pool area that were both nice for us after a long day and we felt very safe with the kid pool. As for the life guards, they are spot on, I have never felt safer for me own well being and my childs. The life guards are very watchful of everything and I do mean everything and everyone.
Lastly, the staff there was wonderful; Mark, John (housekeeper), Bruce, Michelle and Cody all were stellar in their performance. Do not get scared when you read the negative reviews about the Lodge. This is a wonderful place and if you do happen to have an issue, the cast there will make things right for you.

Thanks for a wonderful time,
Steve, Christina and Phoebe Darcey
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
 
29 out of 29 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 2006
Reviewer: ccarter Spartanburg, SC     March 25, 2010
Although I had visited WDW twice prior, this was my first experience staying on-property. We chose Wilderness Lodge because of the location and what we'd heard from others about the resort.

The resort could not be more beautiful. I remember gasping when we drove past the guard gate and seeing the resort. It happened again when I entered the lobby - few hotels can compete with that lobby.

As we made our way to our rooms, I remember thinking "Wow, this just looks like a 'hotel'". This continued as we got into the room. The hallways and rooms just seemed "un-deluxe" to me. Don't get me wrong, I loved the room, but for the price I expected a little more.

We had paid for a pool veiw. When we entered the room, the only pool I could see was the Villa pool through the trees. I contacted the front desk and we were promptly given another room. Front desk service at all times was great!

Wispering Canyon was a blast - we ate there twice. We ate at Roaring Fork each morning for breakfast. Very crowded at that time but the food was good and the service was quick.

We took the boat over to Magic Kingdom which was very pleasent and convenient. The buses to other parks seemed slow to arrive and because they had to service Fort Wilderness, they were often crowded and took a little longer to get where we were going than I had expected. A few times we found ourselves standing for the duration of the trip.

MK was good - room was clean at all times. I would have liked to had a few more towel animals - the kids were a little disappointed when we got back to the room and there wasn't one waiting for them.

Overall, I loved this resort - I think its a bit pricy for the room, itself, but the grounds and the other parts of the resort make up for it.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/23/09 thru 1/1/10
Reviewer: Rainwater     March 09, 2010
This is a review that I never thought I would write. We have been going to the Wilderness Lodge for the last 7 to 8 years. But the last 2 visits have been anything but Disney. First off the CM's at check-in have been completely unprofessional. They have the I don't care attitude, and become insulted when you ask them to correct a problem. The housekeeping has become a major problem. It is now accepted by Disney standards to just make up your bed, provide some towels, and leave the room. When you pay over $350.00 per night, you expect more. I don't think its to much to ask for the sinks, bathtub, and toilet to be clean. Also, changing the sheets would be nice. The restaurants have shown a steady decline in service and quality of food. Artist Point has made the attempt to become something its not, a 5 star restaurant. The only item that remains a positive, is the lobby. From now on we will be staying at a different resort. It will be awhile before we ever come back to the Lodge.
 
9 out of 23 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   August 16-24, 2008
Reviewer: dsmolij Philadelphia Pennsylvania     September 30, 2008
Length of Stay 8/16 to 8/24/2008
Accomodations: Courtyard View
Rate: Disney Package deal including Deluxe Dining Plan

Well I am afraid to say that this years trip was very disappointing. My son and I arrived at the hotel to check in at 12:00 noon, I was all excited about getting a great view like we did last year, but that didn't happen. We checked in proceeded to our room to find out the courtyard view I had paid for was a room that overlooked a roof, I proceeded to call the front desk, and they said that we needed to come down and re-check in. We then went down to the front desk, the young lady wanted to know what the problem was, I let her know that I paid for a courtyard room and wanted what I paid for, she did find a room for us, unfortunately the room was a woods view, which was fine, it was quiet, except for at night, we could see the fireworks from our balcony.
Our next problem we had with WL was Housekeeping or the lack of it. Our room did not greet us with towel animals like most rooms did. Our room was clean when we arrived, not a problem but in the days coming, the housekeeping lacked any initiative. Day 2 of our trip, we decided to sleep in had our little door hanger outside informing we did not want to be disturbed, at 10 AM the housekeeper called and asked if we were leaving yet! We were actually getting ready to head out in a few minutes, but to think she had the nerve to call! For the next few days our room was made up, but not to the prior trips I had taken to WL and other resorts on property. (This was trip #101 for me and #10 for my 9 yr old son). Please also note we were vacationing while TS Fay was there (30 inches of rain). Day 4, 5, 6, and 7 we would leave the room early and get back 2-3pm to rest up and pool time (yes even in the rain the pool was open) then shower for dinner, the room was still not made up and no clean towels. We would leave the room and head down to the front desk to complain. It would fall on deaf ears (mouse ears I should say), finally on the last night we were there we returned to our room at 8pm, soaked from all the rain, to find that the room was still not made up, no dry towels, nothing. I called and spoke with mousekeeping and they said no one was there and that someone would be up by 10pm to clean upthe room. I hung up and called the front desk to speak with the night manager, she apologized up and down and someone would be up shortly, and they were there in minutes including the night manager. The manger again apologized and would find out what had happened, whether the staff member neglected her post or what the issue was. I still have yet to hear from the manager, but have since heard from Disney Executive Offices with a very sincere apology for the staff and how we were treated.
As for the rest of the trip, what can I say. Bus service was excellent, with hardly any wait, with one exception of going to Downtown Disney, a 30 minute wait. Still not too bad. We only did the boat 2 times during out stay to the MK, we opted for the bus due to the heavy rains.
The restaurants: Whispering Canyon - fun in a silly sort of way, jsut don't ask for the ketchup, if you do you end up with 30 bottles of it. Modestly priced, even if you are not on the dining plan. Food is good and tasty, more family style type. My son loved it too!. Artist point - Higher end restaurant, Excellent food and atmosphere, good kids menu too! Be prepared to drop a few $ here or 2 of your sit down on Dine Plan. I had the venison spring rolls one night and the scallops of which are both outstanding. My son had the buffalo steak both times and loved it. The portobello mushroom soup was like a taste of heaven and salmon was a bit dry for me on night #2, but good. Any of the deserts were you chose were superb! The servers in both of the restaurants were of outstanding quality and did excellent jobs.
The food court was always great in a pinch for snacks and stuff, and the folks at the register were very helpful and nice.
Room service-quick and they were also very nice to deal with.
The pool is an essential part of our vacation, we would always come back from the park to cool off, but with the rain, we stil made it to the pool, not as much as last yr. It is great, the water slide is the best and my son loved it, even in the pouring rain. The bar by the pool was also good, and they even have non-alcoholic drinks (fruit smoothies for the kids.
As for out trip next year, we will not be heading back to the WL we have decided that we will try another resort to see what they have to offer and hopefully it will be a better trip this time.
 
11 out of 33 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   August 1-6, 2008
Reviewer: MrPenguin South Florida     August 21, 2008
My wife, Son 9, daughter 6 and I stayed at the Wilderness lodge from 8/1-8/6. We paid the Fl. rate of 174 for the first 2 nights and 265 for the rest. It was OK, but not a Deluxe, nor worth the extra expense. We previously stayed at and preferred the Caribbean (a moderate) last year.

The central air was great, quiet better than window ones. The beds were really comfy. The carpet was also well padded. The layout of the room was nice, if you (or kids) are laying in the bed, you cannot see anyone at the bathroom. Free USA Today and the hairdryer was nice and portable. Honestly though, I think the only reason they can call this a deluxe is because of the ferry service and the boat parade. The common areas were also well kept and pretty neat looking. The pool and slide area was also pretty nice. The geyser was OK. Neat idea, but honestly, it was weak. We've all had the summer lawn toy that shoots water in the air, well, that's pretty much what it looked like to me.

First off, there was 4 of us and we had a bunk forest view room. Our room was on the first floor, 1008. The decor is really neat and the wooden bunk bed was really cool looking. The table in the room was only a side table that could barely fit 2 for a meal let alone 4 of us for pizza, (Carib. had full table with 4 chairs) The room seemed cramped. We also did not receive any towel animals (no biggie, got many last time) There was only a pen by the phone, but no paper. There also seemed to be less storage area (drawers) in this room. The tv was a HD widescreen, but it had NO HD programming to it! The Alarm clock was allowed for mp3 input, but the backlighting was too bright.

The bathroom area was not that great. The sinks were set back and I think a bit higher, so much that even my son had to stretch to reach the faucets. The shelf in the rear of the sink was nice, but, when my wife bent down to wash her face, she almost smacked her head on it! This all the fixtures in the sink area surrounded by calcium and lime deposits! The common bathrooms by the restaurant had none, so they know how to use lime-a-way or CLR. Our shower leaked, pretty steady stream, and after that was fixed, we saw the one sink also dripped. To close the toilet room door, we had to lean back and put a lot of weight on the door. Every time you opened the door to the toilet room or even walked into the bathroom, the motion sensor on the ceiling fan would turn on. It was loud and did not turn off for 5 min.

The fridge was std, but was set cold and it froze our stuff. Midway through our stay, an door to the pool closed for repairs and the jackhammers started! It was loud by the pool. While in the room for the afternoon siesta, there would be a huge bang every few minutes, really loud for about an hour. MK put the door's latch open to keep it unlocked. Every time they went in/out of the rooms - BANG! The curtains were difficult to shut 100% and keep sunlight off the head of the bed. Early Tues. morning they were mowing the lawn outside our room.

Transportation's quality depended on where you were headed. The ferries were great, not a long wait. The bus to Typhoon took at least 30 minutes to show up, then, it took over 40 minutes to get to the park! We would have liked to take the foot trail over to Fort Wilderness, but nobody we asked knew where it was, One staff member said "it's over there, but it's not labeled", so we skipped that.

The morning after the first night, I went to the front desk. I politely told them about the issues and there was not a rush. They fixed the shower, but nothing else was done. We received no communication from the front desk stating the items were repaired or anything. On the last night, we received the std msg saying how they hope our stay was good and contact them etc. So the last morning I went back to speak with a manager. I told the woman about my situation and disappointment about the "deluxe" resort. She asked why I didn't come back to the front desk to complain more. I was on vacation and should not have to. She said thank you for bringing the issue up and it will not happen again and wished me a good day.

Overall, I was quite displeased in this "deluxe" resort. As far as I am concerned it was not worth the extra cost at all.

I know this was more negative than positive. I had more written, but the 100 line limit cut it short. If I was not paying the premium for what I received I would not have been as bothered by these things. Either that, or the other dwarfs let me out of the coal mine, just call me Grumpy!
 
7 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 7, 2008 - June 16, 2008
Reviewer: Hacketthornet (vyates@hackett.k12.ar.us) Hackett, Arkansas (God's Country)     July 11, 2008
We loved the Wilderness. We booked a Woods View for 9 nights. Our room was spotless, three towel animals greeted us, we couldn't see the castle because of the trees but we did have a great view of the fireworks. The bus system was adequate but the boat to MK was a ride in itself, we experienced only minimal waits. My eight-year old loved the pool complete with water slide. The Roaring Forks snack bar was fine, lunch at Whispering Canyon was good, the atmosphere was funny and light. Again, my eight-year old loved it and held his own with insults from the staff--a fun lunch and not much more expensive than a counter meal. We have only stayed Value at POP in the past, but we will never stay anyplace but the Wilderness again, hopefully room # 5022--also ask about being the "flag family"--we were on our 8th morning--what a honor, what a treat. The view was amazing, the staff was so patient and informative and they treated us to breakfast!
Also, if you are planning a trip you might consider a limo service. We booked Happy Limo, a towncar picked us up at the airport and drove straight to the Wilderness, we paid $100 for the round trip. No hassle with Magical Express and no delayed luggage.
We booked "room only" for a AAA discount rate of $225 per night, we made this reservation through Disney then we purchased our admission tickets at check-in. By doing this instead of Disney's package deal we saved apprx. $400 on our nine night stay. The room rate was a little expensive for my family's budget but we all agree it was well worth it, we are Wilderness Lodge fans forever!
 
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/11/08 to 6/19/08
Reviewer: FMTX Dallas, Texas     June 21, 2008
We loved this resort. The service was great and a higher level than what we are use to at the moderates which is where we have stayed on all our prior trips. The convenience of getting to and from MK was great (a direct boat or bus) and the boat drop off at MK is the closest to the entrance you can possibly get. Getting to other MK resorts was easy as well. On a previous trip we went to the Hoop-Dee-Doo at Fort Wilderness and it was tough to get to and took forever. This time we went to Mickeys Backyard BBQ at Fort Wilderness and we could just catch a boat or bus directly to Fort Wilderness in just minutes. Since the hotel is only about 730 rooms and everything is in one building (two if you count the villas) getting to the restaurants, boat dock or bus stops, lobby, pools, parking or anywhere else in the resort is just minutes away which is very different from many of the other sprawling mega resorts. Since it is a deluxe resort it has all the amenities you could want including a great high end restaurant in Artist Point which my wife and I loved while the kids were at the Cubs Den the on property child care location. The look and feel of the hotel was unparalleled for us since we do a lot of out doors activities and this resort gives you that same feel of being at a National Park. We spent a full day at the resort and did not get everything done that we wanted to and we have never done that before on prior trips. It is a very relaxing and dare I say cozy little resort compared to the others we have stayed at. One minor knock is the pool gets very busy and people come from other resorts especially Fort Wilderness to go to the pool so it gets over crowded and hard to find a place to sit during the prime afternoon hours. There are signs clearly posted that the pools are only for WL or Villas guests but still Fort Wilderness guests feel like they can use it also. With that minor issue aside, it was great and we will definitely stay here again.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/3/08 - 1/5/08
Reviewer: Sansarc Pacific Palisades, California     April 30, 2008
We booked a standard room with a forest view for 2 adults, 1 child. It was a great room. We especially appreciated the decor, from the carved wooden bed posts to the Native American style linens and carpeting. This truly was like staying in the Old Faithful Lodge in Yellowstone, except a hundred times better! It was cold when we visited (January), so we did not use the pool, but it looked fantastic. The geyser was fun, too, and the lobby was extraordinary. It was still fully decorated for Christmas. The grounds, decor, upkeep -- everything was perfect. The service was also fabulous, from the moment we pulled up in our car to the time we checked out. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly and ready to answer all of our questions, including providing maps and pre-printed directions to the Kennedy Space Center, the airport, shopping, etc. Our main complaint about this hotel was its location to the Parks. Boat service runs between the Wilderness Lodge and Magic Kingdom, however, because it was cold, these boats proved to be very uncomfortable. The most timely boats were the open-air boats -- which left us freezing. The larger, glass-enclosed boats, arrived less frequently. We also spent quite a bit of time waiting for these boats to arrive either at the hotel, or at Magic Kingdom. In the cold (and wind), this was very uncomfortable. Transportation to Epcot was difficult, too. We took a boat to the Contemporary resort, transferred to a monorail, disembarked at the transportation "hub" and switched to the Epcot monorail. This took a lot of time. Since we were only in WDW for 2.5 days -- we were extremely conscious of the time and felt that we wasted a lot of it on transportation. We took a taxi from Epcot to Downtown Disney one night, then returned to the Lodge via a Disney bus. Even though the Lodge was the first stop, the drive took about 30 minutes. This was extremely frustrating. Because of our problems with transportation, we will not stay at the Wilderness Lodge again. It was a beautiful, luxury hotel in every way, but our frustration level rose each time we tried to navigate somewhere. On the plus side, the Lodge has great views of the electric parade on the lagoon, there's a pretty beach and the lobby and restaurants were swell. The Lodge was well worth the money in that respect -- but not in terms of transportation and time.
 
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page