Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Wilderness Lodge Wilderness Lodge
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 1 - 3, 2003
Reviewer: RagDahl Ft. Lauderdale, Florida     January 08, 2004
My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights last month in a Standard room. We are both Florida Resident Seasonal Passholders, so we were able to get the room at a rate of $109 per night (total was $121 after taxes & fees). It had been my wish for at least 10 years to stay at the lodge, but I didn't think I'd ever be able to until we got this great rate.

Neither of us are too picky about the view, so the Standard room was fine with us. We didn't spend too much time in the room anyway. Our view was of the woods between the lodge and the Contemporary Resort. If we looked down, we did see part of a service parking and loading/delivery area, but there was never much activity going on there, so it didn't bother us. The size of the room was fine for the two of us, but I can imagine that it would be a tight fit for a family with children. The design of the beds caused us to knock our knees on the corners a couple of times as we walked by, but no big deal. The room itself was handsomely decorated and very cozy. We could even see the fireworks at the Magic Kingdom!

Unfortunately, we only ate in the resort once and it was a snack at Roaring Fork. We had friends staying in another resort, so we met up in the parks for dinner. Whispering Canyons just seemed to rowdy for us, but I think it's great for kids. As we walked by, we laughed watching the kids march in line around the dining room. We do regret that we were not able to eat at Artist Point while we were there. It looked like a gorgeous restaurant.

I can't say enough about the beauty of this resort. The Christmas decorations were up when we got there. It was so wonderful that it almost felt like a dream. To get to our room, we had to pass by the fifth floor overlook of the courtyard and pool area. After a quick look around our room, we rushed out to go exploring before it got to dark. The grounds of the resort were amazing. We loved the stream and the waterfall. One evening while walking along, a small rabbit darted past us. It was fantastic!

I loved the wooded area and walkway going out to the dock. We took the ferry to the park twice. The first morning we just missed the boat and had to wait about 10 minutes for the next one. The next morning, we had a PS for breakfast earlier then the ferry to the Magic Kingdom. A Castmember recommended that we take the smaller ferry to the Contemporary and then walk to the gate. As soon as we got out there, the boat was waiting. The trip was very short and we got to the park in plenty of time.

The weather was wonderful the entire time we were there. It went into the 40's each night, so it was nice to cozy up in front of the fire. There are plenty of nice quiet areas around the resort. One night we decided to try to heated pool. It was wonderful, but even heated it was a little too chilly, so we switched to the hot tubs. Believe it or not, they're hot enough to keep you warm in cold weather and even once you get out!

Other small details like the arcade and the store are nice too. The store has practically everything you could need including some assorted groceries. For now, I don't plan on staying in any other resort then the Wilderness Lodge the next couple of trips. I'm already planning to go again!
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Nov. 15 - 22, 2003
Reviewer: pkbosworth     December 03, 2003
Our party included 3 adults (including 1 grandmother) and 4 kids (1, 5, 7,8). We received a AAA rate of $167 on a Standard room for 2 rooms (discounted from $199). We joined AAA just to receive the discount. Four days before arrival we faxed a room request asking for connecting rooms and one of the rooms to have a bunk bed. When we arrived, we were assigned 2 rooms that connected and one had a bunk bed. They were on the 4th floor with the door opening on to the lobby. I thought this would be noisy, but at no time during the stay could you hear the lobby noise.

The rooms were clean. We brought our own portable crib and had to move some furniture around to find room to set it up. There were plenty of drawers to put clothes in. There were 2 sinks located out side of the bathroom.

The lobby was fantastic!! It was already decorated for Christmas with a huge tree in the middle. The kids loved the stream and the wooden bridge in the lobby. All of our spare change for the trip was thrown into water.

The grounds were well landscaped and the pool was great for younger kids. They loved the slide. We rented the surrey bikes and rode to Fort Wilderness - this was a nice diversion.

The restaurants were good. We ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner in Whispering Canyon on different days and the food and service was good. This CMs were great entertainment for the kids. We had no wait for any of the meals. We also at the Snack Bar for breakfast on several mornings. We used the refillable cup frequently - stopping off at the snack bar on the way to the boat to the Magic Kingdom. Breakfast items were not cheap.

The transportation to the Magic Kingdom was by boat which we waited on average for about 5-10 mins. We took the bus to Animal Kingdom, MGM, and Epcot. We also took the bus to the TTC and caught the Monorail to Epcot. On a couple of occasions, we drove to the BoardWalk Hotel and took the boat to Epcot.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and we would stay here again.
 
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 26 - October 3, 2003
Reviewer: GusMan Chicago, IL     November 11, 2003
This was our second trip to WDW and found that with the FaryTale package, this was a great deal. It was like buying the room and then getting the tickets for free. (Around $200 per night.) For a standard room on the 4th floor, we did not have much of a view, but that was not a prob since we were hardly there. The beds were really soft and the place was nicely decorated and clean. The check in process was quick and the CM's were always friendly, answering questions night and day.

Whispering Canyon is great for breakfast as the food is tasty and pleantiful and in my opinion, a good value. Its also lot of fun for the kids too as the CM's get the guests in on some fun wilderness action. Great gift shop as well with a great selection. Transportation to the parks was good with a boat option to MK. We found that the busses were also good for the other parks as well. The pool / spas were great and clean.

To be honest, the decorum of this place was just wonderful. Not a single compaint except that the ice machine on the floor did not work most of the time. Whoopie - had to go up one floor for ice. Would I stay there again? In a heartbeat.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 26, 2003
Reviewer: nile6000 NYC     November 07, 2003
This was our 2nd stay at wilderness lodge and we were not disappointed. Clean rooms, excellent service, beautiful decor & awesome pool which the kids loved. Last time we had a water/pool view and I did like it better than the woods view we had this time. Go for the lake view its worth it.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/12/03-9/19/03
Reviewer: PineapplePrincess California     October 29, 2003
Upon entering WL I was dumbstruck and all I could think was WOW! This hotel is absolutly beautiful. We checked in and everything was easily done. Our room was nice, with a cute balcony, overlooking the pool for the villas. It was easy to get to all of the parks, and we had no problems with transportation. Our only issue was with the many bugs that were around, especially the kind that like to suck blood and leave you itchy. Bring bug spray!!
The pool was very nice, and I loved how the stream seemed to flow right into it. The food court left much to be desired, so we only ate there 2 times.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/16/2003-6/25/2003
Reviewer: sheerema Hawthorne, Nj 07506     June 13, 2003
hi all....just wanted to say what a great time my new wife and i had at disneys wilderness lodge. we got married on the 18th and spent our trip staying on the Concierge floor in the honey moon suiet that had a view of the fireworks from the magic kingdon. only thing i could say even remotely bad was that the rooms are a tad bit small. service was fantastic what great people they had working there. access to the parks was pretty easy and it helped that it wasnt overly busy there too. magic kingdom by boat and by bus to all other parks. buses took alittle time sometimes to show up but on a whole it wasnt bad. food wise all the Concierge food was great, breakfest was great and what a easy way grab a bite instead hitting a resteraunt. afternoons ran snacks and sodas and nights had wine and different types of cobblers. overall a great choice by us and we look forward to going back to the wilderness lodge soon
 
11 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 2002
Reviewer: Music Mole Fort Worth, Texas     April 27, 2003
We resort hopped on this trip, with our first night at WL (4 nts YC, 1 nt AKL). This is a wonderful resort. The CM checking us in was friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is just gorgeous.

The room was nicely themed, but felt a little small - not sure why though. The bed was the least comfortable of the three hotels we stayed at this trip - but I don't know how it would have been had we been there more than one night.

We used the spa after we returned from the park and really liked the pool/spa area.

We used the boat transportation to the MK on the first day - we liked that alot. The next morning valet services took care of transferring our bags to the YC, and we caught a bus to TTC to transfer to the monorail in order to get to MK. Little to no wait for the bus and we got there in plenty of time to make our 8:20 AM PS at Tony's Town Square for our character breakfast.

I would like to stay here again sometime because I liked the theme and the relaxed feel of the resort. But first I have to convince my husband to stay that far away from Epcot again ;-).
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/22/02 12/25/02
Reviewer: cally troy, ohio     January 07, 2003
We have always wanted to stay at the Wilderness Lodge and we finally did. We got in on the special Disney was having. We paid $134.00 a night for a courtyard view on the fifth floor. Which normally runs about 350 anight at that time. Our room looked out at the pool and the lake, with the little creek starting out right under our room. We were right off the lobby, which was noisy at times. We enjoyed our balcony every chance we could. The sound of the water running under our balcony was very relaxing.
We found the pool nice and warm and we both enjoyed the slide. (yes they let adults use the slides) Where it looks like the creek comes into the pool they have jets to give it a current into the pool and the feel of it coming into the pool. There was a moderate amount of people in the pool. The hot tube always had people it it even late at night.
Boat service to the resorts around us and the Magic Kingdom was great. We only used the bus once when we went to Disney/MGM studios. We had to stand but the bus ride didn't take long. Since we were there during a busy week the crowds were not a problem. We did about eveything we wanted to do.
The room was very nice. We apprectated the two sinks we had. We had the king size bed, which was nice since it was just the two of us.
We did eat at Whispering Canyons. The food wasn't that good, but it was all you can eat which made up for food.
I would be more then happy to stay there again. It was everything I hoped it would be.
 
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/4/02-12/13/02
Reviewer: lisareneeo Maryland     December 18, 2002
We stayed at the Wilderness Lodge during the value season, from 12/4/02-12/13/02. We paid an annual pass rate which was $121 a night (this included tax) Our room was a standard room on the 5th floor overlooking the lobby. The resort was decorated beautifully. The Christmas tree in the lobbly was huge. There were also smaller decorated trees in the lobby as well. There were wreaths and garland all over the lodge as well. The decorations were top notch.
Our room was about the same size as rooms that we previously stayed in at Dixie Landings and Port Orleans. It had double sinks in the bathroom. We had a queen bed plus bunkbeds. There were three big drawers and three smaller drawers. We had an iron and ironing board plus a hair dryer. We were in a standard room which over looked some rooftops and part of the parking lot. This did not bother us. We did have a balcony which we really didn't use. Our door opened up to the lobby. I was concerned that this would be noisy (Whispering Canyons gets pretty rowdy) This was not a problem at all. We could faintly hear the hooting and hollering going on at Whispering Canyons but it was not a problem for us at all.
We did eat in The Whispering Canyon one time for breakfast. The food was good. It was a lot of fun. I would eat here again. We ate in Roaring Forks Snack Bar several times. The food was average snack bar type food. We ate burgers ,chicken fingers and typical breakfast items. An average foodcourt ,not a huge selection.
The pool was very pretty. We did swim a few times. It was never crowded. The slide was good for my children who are 4 and 6. They enjoyed it very much. There were two hot tubs and we used them as well. It is a beautiful view to sit in the hot tub in the evening and look at the lodge.
The transportation worked well for us. We took the boat to Magic Kingdom. You did have to stop at Fort Wilderness. This was not a problem for us. We have stayed at moderates in the past that share buses, so it didn't bother us. It was a relaxing ride to MK. We took a bus to Animal Kingom. We did stop at the Grand Floridian and picked up guests there. The driver did ask if anyone was going to Blizzard Beach and if someone was it would stop there first. We did play mini golf at Winter Summerland so we did get off at Blizzard Beach. There was also a bus that went to MGM and Epcot. We stopped at Fort Wilderness first. We also had the option to go directly to the TTC and could get on the monorail or a bus there. We thought transportation was great. We never waited more than 10 minutes (either going to a park or coming home) The busses were never crowded. Overall, I thought the transportation was very efficient and everything ran smoothly.
I enjoyed my stay at the Wilderness Lodge and hope to stay there again.
 
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/6-12/14/02
Reviewer: kew Maine     December 16, 2002
The service and atmousphere for this hotel was outstanding. We had booked at courtyard view room and were lucky to be placed on the fourth floor overlooking the stream. Every night we left the balcony door opened to hear the waterfall. Very relaxing. We had a bunk bed room, and while the room wasn't overly spacious there was plenty of room for a famiily of four. The closet was huge and there was enough drawer space for all of our clothes. The pool was great. It was kept warm and the hot tubs were hot. We started almost every morning in them. There is also a kiddie pool that is close to the main pool, in fact, the main pool, hot tubs and kiddie pool are so close that you could stand near one and see the rest of your famiily even if they are all in separate areas. We never did get to eat at Artist Point something we will do on our next visit. Whispering Canyon is fun. The food is good, hearty, kid friendly but really the waitstaff and festive atmosphere is why one would eat here. We used the cafeteria alot. It was very convenient especially if we were at the pool. I cannot say how much I enjoyed it here. The castmembers were all extremely helpful, The valet and luggage service especially. Bus and Boat transportation were convenient and easy. The only complaint that I had the entire trip was that on one occasion, housekeeping came very late and basically just did a once over. Other than that, everything was what you would expect of a first class hotel. Also, one more thing. My husband and son rented a mouseboat one afternoon for an Hour and claimed it was the best $35 he spent the entire trip. If you get the chance, stay at WL. It is beautiful.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page