Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Yacht Club Resort Yacht Club Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1700 Epcot Resorts Blvd, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 8 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 8 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   2/18/2011
Reviewer: mrnelsonbuck Cincinnati, Ohio     March 16, 2011
We were guests at the Yacht Club during the President's Day Soccer Festival at the Wide World of Sports. We had a standard room that we paid $178/night for. I have traditionally stayed at the value resorts so I was happy that the festival allowed us to stay at a resort like this. I found everything about this resort to be outstanding until there was a major maintenance issue that Disney handled in a subpar fashion. Saturday night my self latching door lock refused to engage and after several calls I was told by the woman who answered my first call "That we have not received a call about that!". An hour later the engineer finally swaggered up and relieved me of my door watching duties. Sunday afternoon the lock and phone situation happened again. I finally went down to the front desk which was a labyrinth of a walk from the room and sat another half hour with the front desk agents and the front office manager, the mgr. spoke with the engineering guy and was told he was on his way and would meet me at the room. I get back to he room, nobody there, I walk back to the front desk ten minutes later. The office manager finally offers to come stand outside my room till he gets there. During all of this I end up being a half hour late to the championship game!!! We attempted to talk to someone at check out but was told to leave feedback on the website when we got home. It took over a week before I was able to talk to a real live person who finally did refund us one night stay. They really did leave a sour taste in my mouth.
 
1 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/8-12/11/2008
Reviewer: laurele philadelphia, pa     August 25, 2009
we loved this place! we celebrated my husbands 40th birthday with my inlaws and the yacht club accomodated our connecting room request. the staff is friendly and the rooms were clean. nice walk to boardwalk and epcot. the kids 1&3 loved taking the boat to hollywood studios. our favorite restraunt is the cape may buffet at the beach club for dinners and even without adr they got us in when they started serving. we booked our next trip for the boardwalk villas and cant wait!
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 17 - 23
Reviewer: liroi Katy, TX     October 24, 2007
First time staying here and it was great and bad at the same time.

First the good-the location is terrific! Easy walk into the world showcase at EPCOT, easy walk/boat to the boardwalk and easy boat access to the MGM Studios. Our room was nice, larger than expected (but we've been in the mods lately) and on the first floor overlooking the small pool. We were at the end of a hall with no traffic to speak of and it was wonderful. For our little ones, the pool was great, though the sandy bottom confused them. The slide from the pirate ship is awesome. And the beach parties they have cooking s'mores and watching a movie on the beach at night was great fun. We also had terrific luck with the bus system..we never waited more than about 5 minutes for a bus at the parks and, since only two buses come to the front, the wait there was fine too.

The bad: if you have little ones and like the grab-n-go type eateries, there are none. There is no place in the Yacht to fill up the refill cups and only a small place off the main lobby to grab some pastries in the morning. Over at the Beach, there is a SMALL (and I mean small) bakery and grab-n-go place (the only place to refill mugs), but the options are tiny and there is virtually no seating. That said, the sit-down dining is terrific with options for most pallets and ages.

I found the desk staff to be fine, if not a little green. We had great confusion over which cards were charge-able and which card should be ultimately charged. There were also issues with the room temperature that we could not manage--either freezing or hot, but we like it cold anyway, so not too large a problem. The staff in the shop (fittings and fairings) was dreadfully slow to get packages delivered and had I been in a hurry, it would have really irked me.
Two of the five of us got sick on this trip, so having the extra space and the daybed was a true blessing as was having EPCOT and MGM close by..so those who weren't sick could go enjoy and still be close if needed.
I think this is a great hotel for those without kids or who don't need/enjoy the grab-n-go style of eating. It's easy to navigate and close to so much.
 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 21 - 28, 2004
Reviewer: katmac974 Boston, Ma     August 31, 2004
We just returned from a seven night stay on the concierge level of the Yacht club, and we loved it! We were upgraded to a pool view room, so our balcony overlooked Stormalong Bay and Epcot. The staff was wonderful, we never had to ask for anything more than once. The lounge was a great place to take a break. We had our breakfast from there each morning and would take evening cordials back to our balcony in the evening while the kids watched TV and chilled out. Our initial cost was $450 / night, not exactly a bargain, but worth it to us. We ended up getting to 7 for 5 deal that came out, so that helped. Our three children, ages 10, 9, and 5 LOVED this resort and can't wait to go back. I was a little nervous because I had read less than glowing reports about the staff here, but we had absolutely NO issues, whether on the concierge level or not. My parents like our room better than theirs at the Dolphin! They will stay at the Yacht club next time!
 
22 out of 23 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 2002
Reviewer: Music Mole Fort Worth, Texas     April 27, 2003
We resort hopped on this trip (WL, YC, AKL). If not for the staff here, we would give this a rating of 5. The room, recently renovated, was lovely, with a great view of the boardwalk and the garden with gazebo from our balcony. Bell services were great. But the front desk personnel - yikes! I was grateful after our trip when Disney emailed me to participate in a survey regarding our stay there. These CMs ought to go work at the WL - someone at WL is doing something right in terms of having a happy team who seem to enjoy what they are doing, provide a wonderful welcome and are happy to answer questions. Not the YC folks!

When we were talking about where to stay on a future trip, my husband wanted to go back here because of the location - we love Epcot and love being able to walk or take a boat to Epcot or MGM and to get breakfast at the Boardwalk Bakery. My vote was to try Beach Club or Boardwalk, because even months later, the "bad taste" from those negative encounters with their front desk CMs lingers.

Will we stay here again? Probably. My husband prefers the BC/YC location and of those, he feels like YC is quieter than the BC (maybe I should have him read the review about the coventioneers ;-). So there is a good chance we will stay here again. But it will probably be awhile before we bring ourselves to do it and then only because they have the location that we want.
 
17 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   8/13/02 to 8/17/02
Reviewer: rxdisney holt, michigan     March 28, 2003
Stayed in a standard room 3rd floor very close to elevator($228/night AP rate). 2 forty-somethings & 2 16-year-olds. Check in-great! Got a card to call back and get room # after 3 pm-worked great! Room was nice, though we just came from 3 nights at the HARD ROCK HOTEL-which was much nicer. This was our 3rd stay at the Yacht/Beach Club The Best Location for people who like to be able to just walk to 2 parks. Walk is short and enjoyable and the boardwalk has lots to do and places to eat. My husband & I could go to the parks and the girls could sleep in and meet us for lunch with no problem.

Now for the problem-remember these are resorts that have convention facilities-on TWO SEPERATE stays groups of convention goers have come back late (after 11:30pm) and been VERY LOUD in the hallways-woke us up! Called the Yacht desk last time and they checked it out for us and apologized. But the convention goers thought it would be fun to call our room around midnight also. I had opened our door & asked them if they could use inside voices-people were trying to sleep-before I called the desk-so they knew the rm#. Should have asked for a rm change, but we had all our stuff unpacked and with teens it's a lot of stuff!

So, nice resort, but pricey and can be noisy due to convention people. BEWARE of rooms by the elevators! Like all the resort restaurants-pricey-but good food. We are staying next time at the wilderness lodge(may03). PS the pool here is fantastic!! hot tubs!!
 
13 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/30/02-10/07/02
Reviewer: monte Copper Moutain, Colorado     October 14, 2002
My husband and I checked into a room on the second floor (don't recall room #) and I noticed that it had not been renovated yet & the view was obstructed. I called the front desk and they graciously moved us to room 1036. I can't say enough about this room, it was lovely with a great view of the private pool. All cast members, from front desk, bellmen, housekeepers and gift shop attendants were outstanding in making our trip "magical" and memorable. The housekeepers left different towel animals in our unit every day and made sure that the room was clean and fresh. The resort is beautifully themed and maintained and we loved it so much we are planning on going back 10/04. I can't thank the castmembers enough.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   August 2001
Reviewer: asadowski Massachusetts     August 16, 2002
I received one of the postcard mailers from Disney with an incredible offer for the Yacht or Beach Club for about $170/night. It worked. We actually had a week booked at Cape Cod and cancelled that and rescheduled at Disney. I tried for the Beach Club but it was booked for the week we wanted (just before Labor Day) and so got the Yacht Club. When we arrived, which was around noon, the room was ready, which was nice. However, it was a smoking room and we had requested a non-smoking. I realize none of this is guaranteed but the odor was very strong. They offered to send an ionizer up but never did (even after several calls over the next few days). But that wasn't the best part. When we first opened the door to our room, there were about 4 CM's using it for a break room! Lying on the beds and eating at the table! We decided to have lunch while they "cleaned up". When we got back to the room, things were in order and our bags were there. However, once again as we unpacked, my husband found that a six pack of beer that he had with him (we stopped at a store on the way in for some snacks and beverages) had been broken and the broken mess was left for us! We called the front desk and they apologized and promised to replace it. Which, over the entire week, they did not. I did something the 3rd day which I have never done before - I went to speak with the hotel manager. I told him about all that had happened. He apologized and promised to send both the ionizer and replace the beer. Again, nothing was done about it.

All in all, our stay was pleasant. The room was nice (except for the stale smoke smell); on the first floor. It was near the gazebo where they hold weddings. We actually saw 3 weddings that week while we were there. The first one took us a bit by surprise. It occurred our second day there, at about 9:00 am and we woke to brass instruments out our patio door (I thought I was dreaming!) We even got to see Mickey in top coat and tails!

We've stayed at other Disney Lodgings, both moderate and deluxe, and have always had a wonderful experience. I would not stay at the Yacht Club again. I was extremely disappointed with the general service and attitude there (with the exception of an older gentleman, whose name I cannot remember, that helped with the baggage when we checked in. He was very personable.) The saddest part is that about 6 weeks after we were home we got a survey asking about our stay. I was very honest and asked for a reply but never got one. I realize Disney is a huge place and things are bound to happen. But the thing that they are most well known for is their hospitality and I did not see that during my visit then.

However, don't think this will deter us from coming again! As I said, we had stayed at other properties and had wonderful experiences, and are planning on going back this November (just my husband and I) to stay at the Wilderness Lodge and over the Christmas Holiday (with my husband, daughter, and mother-in-law) and will be staying at Old Key West!
 
57 out of 64 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page