Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

French Market Restaurant

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
Pasta, salads and entrees with a New Orleans influence.

    
 

We welcome reviews of French Market Restaurant . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate French Market Restaurant?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5  Number of French Market Restaurant Reviews: 20
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 30, 2008
Reviewer: ralfrick By the SF Bay     December 03, 2008
There aren't as many items on the menu that interest me anymore, but I do love chowder in a bread bowl. As always, it was fresh and tasty, and left me full long before the bread was finished. The included garden salad was eaten by the wife, while the boy had the roast beef platter. We divided 2 big slices of chocolate cake between us which was layers of moist cake and thick mousse. The bottom layer was with nuts, which I wouldn't want if it was optional, but they could be avoided. With drinks, it was about $40; spending over $30 got us a free "Nightmare Before Christmas" tree ornament. Entertainment was provided by the Royal Street Bachelors; they had a singer last time, but were just a trio on this visit. Even though it was 12:30 on a holiday weekend, the line was not out the door as on our previous visit, and we had trays in hand within a minute or two after arriving. All in all one of the better lunch spots in the park.
 
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 17, 2008
Reviewer: gawama Cypress, Ca     July 21, 2008
This visit to The French Market was my third since the big menu change. On this date the Citrus Chicken was as I remembered, not greasy and it was very flavorful. However, I think the size of the chicken piece has gotten smaller since the dish debuted. The potatoes were tastier than before and the seasonal veggies were very good. Then there's the subject of the corn muffin thingie. I am glad to announce that the lumps of coagulated cheese were smaller and thus not as chewy as before. Avoid the muffin thingy. All-in-all as a hungry park guest with an AP Discount the Citrus Chicken meal at The French Market is a good choice.
Only one serving line was operating but they were setting up the other side. The counter staff were, as usual, helpful and prompt. Everything was clean and well stocked. I will dine there again
 
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 4, 2008
Reviewer: cstephens Los Angeles, California     July 05, 2008
French Market wasn't very crowded when we got there shortly after noon in what turned out to be a surprisingly less-than-normally-crowded Fourth. They had both sides open, and there weren't a ton of people in line, so we were a bit surprised that the line moved so slowly, until we got closer up and figured out what the problem was.

Previously, most of the dishes came with a side salad, so the first station you encountered was the salad station. They would take your order, call it down to the hot food stations and then make your salad. By the time you got your salad and moved down to the hot food stations, your order was either already waiting for you or just about to be ready, so the line moved pretty smoothly.

Now, however, none of the entrees come with a side salad, but it's still the salad station that you encounter first. The line is backed up because you don't give them your order until you get to the hot food station, so the line is at a stop while they're making each person's order. Meanwhile, you're standing in front of the salad station, with the poor CM asking if anyone wants salad with their meal and most people saying no, so she was mostly standing there with nothing to do.

One other change is that in addition to the menu at the front, they used to have samples of each dish set out, so you could get a better idea of what each dish looked like, since sometimes, the description doesn't necessarily give you the full picture. Now, it's just the menu up, so I think people might not necessarily decide until they get to the actual hot food station, where you can see the various dishes, or they might change their mind once they see another item. I found myself trying to look at the trays of people who were paying, to see what they'd gotten to get a glimpse of what the entrees looked like.

I was trying to decide between a few different items, but because I like jambalaya so much, I just couldn't pass it up. The husband decided on the citrus chicken. I glanced at the desserts, but nothing really appealed to me. I wish they'd have signs up indicating what each dessert is. Sometimes, it's obvious (like the cup of berries and the mini cheesecake), but sometimes, it's not, like this square flan-looking thing they had. I asked a CM what it was, and she said it was an apple tart. It would just seem a lot more convenient to have signs in front of each row of desserts.

My decision to have the jambalaya was cemented because I had actually gotten a glimpse of it on someone else's tray, and I was not disappointed in the dish in the least. They actually have the rice and the meat/vegetables cooked separately, so they put the rice on the plate first, make a little hole in the middle of it, and then scoop the meat/vegetables in to fill the hole. There was a nice combination of chicken, fish, sausage and crawfish - the crawfish is a bit harder to distinguish because it looks very similiar to the shrimp, but they're a bit smaller and the tail looks a little different. It also had some nice big chunks of okra, which I love. Generally, it had very good flavor, and it had a bit of a kick to it too, which I liked. Even though it was a warm day out, I still very much enjoyed the jambalaya, and I would expect it would hit the spot even more when the temperatures cool. The dish comes with a side of vegetables and a mini-loaf of cheddar corn bread. I'm not particularly fond of corn bread, but I really liked this version - it was moist and very tasty. The vegetables were ok - it was a bit more heavy on the carrots than I normally prefer.

Here's a picture of the jambalaya: http://www.colddeadfish.net/images/DLR/dining/frenchmar02.jpg.

The husband really enjoyed his citrus chicken. He found the seasoning on the chicken to be very tart, which he really liked, but he wasn't sure if most people would like it that tart. He was also a little surprised to discover that the mashed potatoes had cheese and onions cooked into it. It wasn't a problem for him, but for anyone who might have issues with either cheese or onions, it's something to keep in mind. It probably would have been good for the menu to indicate those ingredients as well.

Here's a picture of the citrus chicken: http://www.colddeadfish.net/images/DLR/dining/frenchmar01.jpg.

There are a few other items on the new menu that I'm interested in trying, so while I'm sad that the fried chicken is gone, I'm glad that I'll at least be able to continue visiting French Market.
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page